Young Lions snubbed by selectors

Only one Lions player has been selected for the SA Schools team, despite their dominance at Craven Week.

The Lions won all three of their matches at Craven Week, including the unofficial final against EP, yet had only one player selected for the 22-man squad.

Eight Lions players come from Hoerskool Monument, SA’s No 1 school in 2005.

South African Schools:

Z de Kock (Flacons),D Kapp (Pumas), J Oosthuizen (Free State), H Roodt (Leopards), M Nkozi (Lions), C Britz (SWD), P Meyer (Blue Bulls), D Potgieter (EP, captain), M Lewis (EP), A Smith (WP), R Walters (Griquas), S Watermeyer (Blue Bulls), P Vermeulen (Griquas), C Juries (EP), C Micklewood (KwaZulu-Natal), E Maritiulle (Leopards), R Ellerd (Griquas), H Moolman (Pumas), V Gwavu (EP), M Tile (Border), M Jooste (WP), A McDonald (EP).

SA Schools Academy:

H Eedveldt (Bulls), M Lockyear (WP), F Kirsten (Blue Bulls), M Van Huysteen (Lions), M Mabeta (Blue Bulls), J Van Deventer (Lions, capt), K Frieslaar (EP), O Kruger (Blue Bulls), G Paulse (Boland), B Francis (Leopards), C Prinsloo (SWD), JJ Pienaar (Lions), S Sibiya (KZN) W Willis (Blue Bulls), J Jackson (Leopards), A Lodewyk (SWD), C du Plessis (Lions), B Wuth (KZN), C Peverett (WP), R Boshoff (Pumas), M Christians (WP).