Grey on Grey in massive schools weekend

Grey Bloem (in their 150th year anniversary) host Grey PE in one of two monster derbies this weekend. The other is in Paarl, where Boys High take on Gymnasium.

FNBclassicclashes website has full details on all the matches, with player profiles and captain’s views.

Last year the PE side won a thriller when Warren Bell scored all Grey’s points, but usually the Bloemfontein side have been on top.

This year may be different again because Grey PE have been in great form, while Grey Bloem have uncharacteristically struggled.

Both sides are without a star or two.

Grey Bloem have Joseph Oosthuizen propping for SA Schools while Kirwan Frieslaar, Grey PE’s bustling flank, is in the Academy side for the weekend’s clash between the Schools and the Academy at Securicor Loftus.

Then Bloem are also without flank Fritz Kamffer and centre, captain and goal-kicker JW Jonker who broke his leg in the last minute of the last match at Craven Week when he was the Free State captain.

Both sides had players at Craven Week. Bloem had 13 there but then two were from lower teams, one from the 7th XV!

Craven Week players:

Bloem: Kevin Stevens, Joseph Oosthuizen, Sybrand Mostert, Fritz Kamffer, Coenraad Pieterse, Donald Stevens, JW Jonker, Wayne Stevens, Roux du Toit, Fana Malebo, Kemsley Wesso, John Mothiba.

PE: David Wannenburg, Morné van der Westhuizen, Jacques Naudé, Stephen de Villiers, Kirwan Frieslaar, Marlin Ruiters, Matthew Tayler-Smith.

Academy Week players:

Bloem: Joe Greyling, Nelis Wilken, Gerhard Swart

PE: None

Bloem have one who has played higher than all these – Frans Steyn, their flyhalf with the big boot, who was in the World Champion Under-19 team this year, a strong player whose omission from SA Schools and Academy sides last year was something of a surprise.

This year Grey PE are third on the FNB Top 20, Grey Bloem seventh.

Bloem have played 11. They have won eight and lost to Outeniqua, Maritzburg College and Affies.

PE have played 17, winning 15. They drew with Paul Roos and lost by a point to St Andrew’s in a thriller in Grahamstown.

Maritzburg College are the only opponents they have in common. PDE beat College 28-16 in PE but College beat Bloem 15-13 in Pietermaritzburg.

There is not much to choose between Bloem and PE – as far as Grey rugby goes.

In all 24 Grey PE rugby teams will entrain from PE to Bloemfontein. There will also be hockey, golf, chess, debating, squash and tennis teams.


Grey College: 15 Joe Greyling, 14 Roux du Toit, 13 Wayne Stevens, 12 Gerhardt Smith, 11 Nelis Wilken, 10 Frans Steyn, 9 Donald Stevens, 8 Coenraad Pieterse (captain), 7 Paul Roux, 6 Gerhard Swart, 5 Waltie Vermeulen, 4 Sybrand Mostert, 3 Coenraad Oosthuizen, 2 PW van Vuuren, 1 Kevin Stevens.

By the way, the Stevenses are not related.

Grey High School: 15 Warren Bell, 14 Peter Furstenburg, 13 Ross Goedhals, 12 Wade Roos, 11 William Heydenrych, 10 Matthew Tayler-Smith, 9 Marlin Ruiters, 8 Stephen de Villiers, 7 Y Ntola, 6 Monte Taljaard (captain), 5 Jacques Naudé, 4 Morné van der Westhuyzen, 3 G Bonner, 2 N Motha, 1 Michael Denuilly-Rice.

Date: 30 July 2005
Kick-off: 13.20
Venue: Grey College, Bloemfontein
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 21°C and a northwester of 18 km/h
Referee: DJ Cloete (Free State)

Results down the years:

1974: Grey Bloemfontein won 24-16
1975: Grey Bloemfontein won 32-12
1976: Grey Port Elizabeth won 13-12
1977: Grey Bloemfontein won 21-18
1978: Grey Bloemfontein won 19-17
1979: Grey Bloemfontein won 28-6
1980: Grey Bloemfontein won 24-12
1981: Grey Bloemfontein won 50-7
1982: Grey Bloemfontein won 27-9
1983: Grey Bloemfontein won 30-3
1984: Grey Port Elizabeth won 18-10
1985: Grey Bloemfontein won 41-12
1986: Grey Bloemfontein won 26-6
1987: Grey Bloemfontein won 57-0
1988: Grey Bloemfontein won 16-9
1989: Grey Bloemfontein won 39-17
1990: Draw 6-6
1991: Grey Bloemfontein won 30-17
1992: Grey Port Elizabeth won 20-16
1993: Grey Bloemfontein won 38-3
1994: Grey Port Elizabeth won 18-10
1995: Grey Bloemfontein won 38-10
1996: Grey Port Elizabeth won 13-3
1997: Grey Bloemfontein won 23-13
1998: Grey Bloemfontein won 10-3
1999: Grey Bloemfontein won 39-6
2000: Grey Bloemfontein won 31-6
2001: Grey Bloemfontein won 18-15
2002: Grey Bloemfontein won 41-3
2003: Grey Bloemfontein won 51-16
2004: Grey Port Elizabeth won 17-14