Heyneke warns against arrogance

Heyneke Meyer has stressed that assuming the Bulls’ run of home games early in the Super 14 will automatically translate into success could prove fatal to his side’s championship challenge.

Speaking to keo.co.za, Meyer did not believe that the draw which sees the Bulls start the competition with a run of four home games following the away trip to Bloem favoured his side.

“If you look at last year, we had five games away to start and only won one of those five. We were totally written off, and then we came back and won all our home games,” Meyer said.

“I actually prefer to tour early, because then if you suffer a few injuries you’re playing top sides that you’re not expected to beat anyway. Whereas when you’re at home, the presure is really on. Also, a lot of the teams that tour later – say for example the Reds last year – are out of the competition and it makes it very difficult for them to tour here. They don’t have much motivation.”

The Bulls start their home run against top Aussie contenders the Waratahs and Brumbies, with Meyer warning against over-confidence spurned by the Bulls’ unbeaten run at home last season.

“This year we’re playing some very strong teams at home, and we are under pressure to beat them. If we lose those games, we are going to put ourselves under pressure for the away leg.

“The draw is not something I’m factoring in as either a positive or a negative. I will prepare the side to win every game and won’t target any games. All the sides visiting Loftus will still be in the competition and will be fresh, so we have our work cut out. The mistake South Africans make is assuming a home game equals an easy game, but when your visitors are the likes of the Crusaders, the Brumbies and the Waratahs it couldn’t be further from the truth.”

Meyer believes his side has learnt from last year’s disastrous away trip, and is far more mentally tuned to what is required to excel in the extended competition.

“We must be more mentally tough this year. Whatever the draw is you must be able to cope with it.”

BULLS’ SUPER 14 DRAW

10 Feb vs Cheetahs Bloemfontein
17 Feb vs Brumbies Pretoria
25 Feb vs Waratahs Pretoria
11 March vs Highlanders Pretoria
17 March vs Hurricanes Pretoria
25 March vs Force Perth
31 March vs Blues Auckland
8 April vs Chiefs Hamilton
15 April vs Reds Brisbane
22 April vs Cats Pretoria
29 April vs Sharks Pretoria
5 May vs Crusaders Pretoria
13 May vs Stormers Cape Town

110 Comments

• 51.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Aaah, dis weer tyd vir ordentelike rugby!!! Komaan 10 Feb, kan nie meer wag nie!

• 52.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

“heyneke warns against arrogance…”

was this article written specifically for blueblood?

• 53.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

damn for StP to take the humble approach should tell some blue bull supporters something…

• 54.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

tackler

and NZ totally SUCK at world cups!!

idiot.

4 more years……….

• 55.jondood: Reply to this comment

TheTackler

Your mother also sucks on the road.

• 56.Ig: Reply to this comment

STP – imagine how we feel down here ! If the bulls are nervous we shitting !

• 57.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ok, thanks Ig :D

• 58.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Genade, you guys still get upset with old Tackles? Just ignore the d**s… Don’t know where he lives. Probably NZ by the sound of it. I actaully pity these people, shame… :( Running for their lives in the famous ‘Chicken run’ when we became a democracy.

• 59.Stan: Reply to this comment

Ig,
    You took the words out of my mouth. If the Bulls have reason to be concerned, then the rest must be shitting themselves.

Duiwel my ou maat.
    Goed om van jou te ****. baie dankie en geseend en voorspoed vir jou en jou span stokers aan daardie kant.
    Ek het ook vir Kersvader gevra( nie dat ek aan die boef glo nie, want ek dink dis net n geldmaak skema wat daar van Israel af oorgewaai het)dat die Sperm Whales hierdie jaar goed moet doen in die S14, waarop sy antwoord was dat ek realisties moet wees.Sy antwoord was dat hy sy bes gaan probeer om te keer dat julle nie gerelegeer word nie.

• 60.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Boys, is there nobody out there that wants a season ticket at Newlands?? I have one left. Only problem is you will have to sit pretty close to a Cat.

• 61.McPhisto: Reply to this comment

Grrr, he is Saffa, from the Cape Flats.Probably Bishop Lavis or something like that!

See the excuses for the Bulls for not playing in the S14 next year has already started!

• 62.Stan: Reply to this comment

Tackler,
    How is the remainder of the family? Alive and kicking?

• 63.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Stan seems to know a lot about pillow biting???

• 64.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Also, withregard to the Bulls.They are a big target, everyone wants to knock them over.

The first game against the Cheetahs is my biggest concern. I am not particularly worried about the Brumbies or Hurricanes.Beating them at Loftus is seemingly straight forward.If our pack shows up on form it should be fairly comfortable.

The Highlanders we owe one, given the pisspoor performance last year.

The Cheetahs requires our backs and forwards to play well.

Of course, the Stormers knocking over the Brumbies and Hurricanes first up would do us a big favor.

We need to stop foreign teams being allowed to build momentum in SA.We need to stop them dead in their tracks.

• 65.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

McPhisto

Ja, anything can happen but IF (and it’s only an ‘if’ it will never happen…) I was a Bull supporter I wouldn’t have sleepless nights. They won’t win but they won’t be relegated. The rest, well… Sleep pills, it helps… :D

• 66.Baastard: Reply to this comment

keo and his sidekicks see that the hits are low and who makes a appearence?Tackler.This is getting lame and past its sell by date.Kiwis are very knowledgeable about rugby and if he realy lived in NZ even as a Saffa he would have morer knowledge than harping the same tune.Kiwis are nice people,know rugby,always ready for a beer.Girls are ugly most of the time but they can be one of those female friends that you have *** with from time to time.

• 67.Ig: Reply to this comment

Baastard, i see you are from the bliksem school for planks and idiots – Tackler is from kiwi land – his IP admits as much so to finally end your last and seemingly only train of thought here is the info that will help you realise that we don’t need idiots like tackler to get hits when we have idiots like you

IP: 218.***.***.***
    City: Auckland, Auckland

• 68.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Baastard

What’s wrong mate? You seem very agry at Keo, what did he do to you??

• 69.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ok, I will admit it, I’m Tackler!!!!

• 70.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

No….I’m Tackler!!!

• 71.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

K@K, I will prove it! NZ rules, everybody in SA is boneheads. Boneheads caren’t like to be flying. NZ rocks!!! See, I’m Tackles!!! :D

• 72.Baastard: Reply to this comment

Ig everyone knows that you guys have a bunch of aliases to up the hits like 3rd day,nancy,bbd etc.Have you read the decent articles that are being posted on ruggaworld?DavidS,Donner,Kandas etc is writing better articles than you guys.Just because someone studied journalism doesnt mena they will be a good journo.simon is a case in point.Grrr ek is so kalm soos n daggawalm.

• 73.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

We have the All Blacks and Gandalf, and hobbits!!

• 74.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Auckland rules!!!!
    Quotas suck!!!!!
    Crusaders…blahblahblah.
    Dutchmen ugly stupid Bulls = absolutely bloody snotting zero.
    Wonderful attractive intelligent Highlanders= massive smashing super 23.

You see, it’s me,

I’m the Tackler!!!

• 75.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Issie!!! Ek is Tackles!!!!

• 76.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Can’t we both be Tackler?

• 77.Baastard: Reply to this comment

OK I am Tackler.I live in Wairoa.I am on the dole,my wife too.I drink Lion Red handles at the Wairoa Working Mens Club.I believe the best cure for a hangover is kinnis and L&P.I drive a Holden that is souped up.People keep on telling me that i am too old to be a boy racer but I know that they are just jealous.

• 78.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ok, St.P… You can be today, I will be tomorrow! :)

• 79.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Ig, why take it personally?

• 80.Zero: Reply to this comment

Grrr…

Good to see that u r still at it :-) )

• 81.Stan: Reply to this comment

St Pete,
    Ja, julle kan albei Tackler wees, want julle praat nou genoeg kak vir 2 mense!

• 82.Ig: Reply to this comment

Baastard – then why you here ? As to the alias in the face of concrete proof you blow it away – maybe you been at the school of bush too….ferking clown

• 83.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Zero

Morning sonny! How’s it hanging there in the Staat???

• 84.Ig: Reply to this comment

Stawm – don’t take it personally – but if he can have a pop ….so can i 8)

• 85.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

so you can see where i live ig????

okay if you okes are tackler i am StM

mind you my spelling suck like tackler’s mommy.

• 86.Baastard: Reply to this comment

Stawm i must have hit a nerve.Ig I like some of the comments that the posters make.As a site to get info or credible sports journalism this site is pathetic to say the least.Why you so edgy.have keo been on your case?Imagine that,keo as your boss.You surely lie to people when they ask you about what work you do.

• 87.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I just come here for the smiley’s!!! :)

• 88.Zero: Reply to this comment

Grrr…

Looking good! Don’t live in the Staat though, only grew up there. CT is looking peachy though!

• 89.Ig: Reply to this comment

Pissant – an IP can be very revaelling if you know what to do with it ….surely you do ?

• 90.wls: Reply to this comment

**** it im the tackler LMFAO sorry i can also prove it.
    I have stubby fingers, im short and fat, live in NZ, wish i was living in SA.Wank when i hear the word Justin Marshal :D LMFAO

• 91.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

‘Van die Os op die Jas’, do any of you guys own a bakkie up in Pta? Jondood offerd to lend us the Bulls trophy cabinet after the Super 14 so that the Lions don’t have to build new cabinets for this season. He says the Bulls won’t be needing theirs. I would help but my mom can’t take me…

• 92.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Zero

Same here boet.

• 93.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

but of course ig.

i can tell for instance you are in CPT,

StP is in russia somewhere

vleis is still in paris

grrrr is in CPT with you

etc etc

• 94.Baastard: Reply to this comment

Grrr I own a bakkie,but Ill help you after the Lions have won.That will not happen.Freestate to retain the CC.

• 95.Zero: Reply to this comment

Grrr…
    I’m sure that Blueblood has a bakkie that he will be willing to oblige with, him being such a pleasant fellow and all! Only problem is that Rassie and the boys intend on keeping it for a while longer :-0

• 96.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

You can keep the CC fot this year, I’m talking of all the other one’s. Super 14 etc… Next year we want the CC too, Ok??

• 97.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

blueblood is still driving around in his bakkie outside kaplan’s house in order to effect an ‘accidental’ hit and run move

• 98.Baastard: Reply to this comment

Grrr,are you on drugs?

• 99.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

LOL@ PA

Ja, he is still VERY sore!!

• 100.Zero: Reply to this comment

LOL @ PA

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.