Quota confusion resolved

There is a common belief spurned by incorrect reports that each South African franchise must field a minimum of four players of colour in their starting teams. Saru CEO Johan Prinsloo has clarified the situation to keo.co.za.

As originally reported on this site, each franchise must include four players of colour in their match 22, but a minimum of two are prescribed for the starting XV.

“There has been some confusion and the situation needs to be clarified,” Prinsloo said. “A minimum of two players of colour must be on the field at all times, but at no time have I or anyone else said that the minimum in the on-field XV is four.”

Thus the situation whereby the Bulls in particular may be stretched has been alleviated. With first choice loosehead Gurthro Steenkamp out with injury, they would have been stretched to name four players of colour in their first choice XV without sacrificing vice captain Fourie du Preez in favour of Heini Adams.

Additionally, Tim Dlulane would have had to start every fixture as the overwhelming majority of the Bulls’ players of colour are wing specialists.

114 Comments

• 1.Zero: Reply to this comment

Quota dragons

• 2.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Is this an official statement?
    If it is, then that settles that! No more confusion.
    Let the games begin.

• 3.Zero: Reply to this comment

Agree, lets just get on with it!

• 4.KWV: Reply to this comment

So why not strech the Bulls???

• 5.wpw: Reply to this comment

The Bulls must be over the moon… LMAO. So i guess its 2 black wingers for most of the SA teams. The bear minimum…

• 6.wpw: Reply to this comment

So that means that nothing has changed since last yr… Ag, whatever, i’m tired of this quota shite!!!

• 7.hobo: Reply to this comment

Is that not the same as last year??

• 8.Groen_en_Goud: Reply to this comment

Totally agree wpw!!!

• 9.jj: Reply to this comment

Only two out of 15 – the cricketers need 4 out of 11, what a lot of bull.

• 10.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Cricketers??? I spit on thee!!!

• 11.wpw: Reply to this comment

Grrr…
    We playing the Lions on Sunday at Newlands, so you better watch out… I’m talking about the 20/20 match.

• 12.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Wpw

I will be there, care for a beer?

• 13.hobo: Reply to this comment

Wpw

The real match is on Friday at Supersportpark (Centurion) Titans & cobras……

• 14.E.Diddy: Reply to this comment

This is a lot of bull! I’m black, and I foreone dont care if the whole Sharks and Springbok teams are loaded with whiteys..as long as they perform, I’m down for whateva…How does a Bryan Habana or Guthro Steenkamp feel knowing that even if they in the Bulls team on merit, they’re seen as quota players? The same joke is happening with the cricket team…maybe they should have the same clause within the Bafana Team and all PSL club teams…have min 4 whites to start, 9 in the squad…

My heros of the past included James Small and Henry Honniball…not because of the colour of their skin, but because they were in the team on merit, and were dropped occasionally when they didn’t perform…that should be the basis for selection…no quota’s, or coach’s favourites…but players on merit…

I should be president of Sarfu one day…to clear this mess once and for all…

Elton-Reagan Swartz,
    Sharks and Sprinbok Supporter

• 15.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

I would say 3 on the field with 2 on the bench should be no problem, and would have been a bit bolder by SARU.

I’d like to see the Cats and the Stormers consistently exceed the quota, given the quality black players in their squads. Sharks should maanage it easily enough too.

• 16.wpw: Reply to this comment

Grrr…
    I dont drink alcohol…

• 17.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

E.Diddy

Hear hear!!!!

• 18.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Wpw,

Ok, you can get milk :)

• 19.Zero: Reply to this comment

Does anybody have stats with regards to the racial slip in SA rugby, i.e. Percentage white players vs. coloured players?

• 20.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

The Bulls are never strecthed. We are perhaps the most dominant force in world rugby today.

How’s that for my first post after typekey ?

Prepare for a smashing in the Super14. Bulls to take the silverware, Cats to be relegated.

• 21.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

And the Cape ‘Molslange’ got very lucky this last Friday. The Highveld Lions are going to kick ***!!!

• 22.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Blueblood
    How can the Bulls be the dominant force in world rugby when they cant even win the Currie Cup?

• 23.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Blueblood

Kan jy sien ek is kwaad?? :(

• 24.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Oops, >:(

• 25.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ag, frack it…

• 26.Zero: Reply to this comment

LMFAO @ BlueBlood

…the most dominant force in world rugby…

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, Yassus I wish I had some of the **** that these guys are on!

• 27.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

>:-(

• 28.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Damn!!!

• 29.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Zero

So who do you support?

• 30.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

The only dominance the Bulls have are over cows!

• 31.wpw: Reply to this comment

Blue Blood
    You are probably the dumbest Bulls supporter out there… Dominant Force in World Rugby… In SA rugby the past few years maybe but World rugby? Are you nuts?

You made the semi’s in the S12 last yr for the 1st time and you are the dominabt force in world rugby… BWAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

So where does that leave the Sharks, Cats and Stormers? They have a better S12 history than you. What a plonker!!!

OK, let me calm down. I have two words for you blue blood:

JONATHAN KAPLAN!!!!

• 32.wpw: Reply to this comment

lol bloem leeu

• 33.Zero: Reply to this comment

Grrrr…..Vrystaaat!

• 34.Some Bloke: Reply to this comment

How come a cricket team of 11 players has no problem fielding 3 to 4 players of colour yet a rugby team of 15 still only asks for 2 on the field?

11 years on and this is the progress we’ve made?

• 35.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Hey Grrrr I see u r cooking today let’s hope the Cats/Lions can do the same this year.
    Cats – Top SA side in the S14
    Lions- CC Champions, Bulls didnt even make it to the Finals! Read it here first!

Go Cats !!!!!!!

• 36.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu

Yip, HOPE so too!!!

• 37.Zero: Reply to this comment

Sorry Grrr and Bloem Leeu

Methinks u okes r gonna sukkel in the S14 before Petoors gets back, I predict a good CC for the Lions though!

• 38.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

As long as we are above the Cheeties or the Sharkies I don’t really care. O, or Stormies… But Bullies will be best.

• 39.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Some Bloke

The Proteas are getting below average players to make up numbers, just look at whats happening in Aus. Ntini, Langeveld injured, then no quality coloured players left. Then they drop Rudolph top run scorer on the tour to make place for Garneth Kruger, who is not even in the top 30 players in SA. Only they will now whats happening behind closed doors!

• 40.diablo: Reply to this comment

I hope you are right Bloem Leeu

• 41.diablo: Reply to this comment

About the Lions and Cats that is :)

• 42.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

As long as we are the top SA team im happy, Petoors will leave a big gap to fill!

• 43.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

jonothan kaplan is the reason we haven’t been totally dominant. the administrators must keep that weasel out of the rugby this year, because wherever he goes, a Bulls loss follows. a Bulls loss and kaplan are attached at the hip. like siamese twins they stalk the rugby stadiums of the world looking for a Bull to hamstring. If that osama bin cheatin of the rugga world refs a game the Bulls could face relegation.

• 44.Frazer: Reply to this comment

hello everybody. happy new year and all that…

• 45.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ag, kom nou BlueBlood… Get over it….

• 46.Frazer: Reply to this comment

BlueBlood – you keep telling yourself that buddy… Whatever gets you through the night….

• 47.Sinbin: Reply to this comment

Brace yourselves for yet another contradicting statement in the next few days.

So if a player of colour is injured during the game and his direct replacement is not a player of colour, does that mean a double replacement, a white player to replace the injured player of colour and a white player in another position needs to be replace with a player of colour? How else will they have “A minimum of two players of colour must be on the field at all times, but at no time have I or anyone else said that the minimum in the on-field XV is four�?

• 48.Zero: Reply to this comment

Blueblood

Don’t u think that its time to let go! The reason that the Bulls lost the CC was because the Cheetahs had more points on the scoreboard. Blame you injured captain, or Roets and FdP going up for the same ball, or the fact that u guys had played and one the game in your heads before u even ran out on the field. But FFS get over it!

• 49.Some Bloke: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu,

I was making reference to the domestic competition which is well stocked with players of colour.

But looking at the international squad: Langeveldt, Ntini, Gibbs, Prince (okay, I know he’s struggled but still a great player) are four guys that deserve their spots.

• 50.Zero: Reply to this comment

*one should read won
    **you should read your

• 51.YoMama: Reply to this comment

I think that there are really only three SA teams worth following; Bulls, Cheetahs and Stormers. The other two should consign themselves to losing against those three and bliksem whomever else they can. Let there be blood and guts in their clash to see who goes down.

• 52.KWV: Reply to this comment

BlueBlood=SA Tackler

• 53.Zero: Reply to this comment

and as a parting thought to Blueblood, face it you guys were OUTSMARTED and you know it

• 54.hobo: Reply to this comment

I have made my decision about the super 14 and what team’s will do good and bad ….but only have time to tell tomorrow. Sorry have to go!!

• 55.bigg: Reply to this comment

Blueblood, stop talking kuk now man… Take a lose on the chin…

• 56.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

YoMama

Now that’s a cleaver name! My thoughts exactlly…

• 57.wpw: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu
    Garnett Kruger has performed well for the SA’A’ team for the last few seasons, he was selected above Steyn and Zondeki cos at that stage of the season he was the top wicket taker in SA by a long shot. If you want figures or stats i will be happy to provide you with it…

As for Jacques Rudolph, i think he should be in the side in place of either Prince, Gibbs or Dippenaar. I would say Dippenaar as his strike rate is shite even though he has been scoring some runs…

• 58.Some Bloke: Reply to this comment

@ Sinbin,

Maybe if our teams fielded more than just the bare reuqirement we would never have to face such an issue.

Maybe if our teams had fielded more than the bare requirement for the last 11 years we would have an abundance of choice right now. In fact, it’s likely that if quotas had been taken to heart from the beginning they wouldn’t even be in existence any more.

• 59.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

The Lions will start a winning streak this year, it has to happen. The 10 year circle are at an end. To prove this:
    80′s N-Transvaal & Wp top teams
    Early 90′s Lions & Sharks
    Late 90′ Bulls, WP & Cheetahs
    06 Cats/Lions & Sharks

The Bulls wont be able repeat last year (key players gone). Watch the Sharks this year, going to give a couple of teams shocks incl. Bulls, Stormers.
    The Lions got the same players & coach for a wile now, with Wickus – Best captain in SA, by the looks of the team sheet, they have to be the best team.

• 60.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu

You make me all misty eyed when you talk like that!!

• 61.YoMama: Reply to this comment

…with regards to the race issue. No one is really crying foul that the All Blacks are All Islanders and that there should be a quota for whiteys in that team.

No one cares because they are the best. The Bulls are the best SA team (remember, my blood is orange) and yet we carry on about their racial makeup.

If they were perennial lillywhite losers then I would say that there is something wrong and racist in their setup.

Otherwise stand back and applaud, some day in my life time I will see a team of 22 ebony Boks raise the World Cup and I will love it. Because I’m South African.

• 62.wpw: Reply to this comment

Grrr and Bloem Leeu
    Every yr you guys have the best team on paper(paper lions) and you fail to impress. What makes you thin it will be different this yr? I dont think you stand a chance… If i had to choose another SA team to do well after the Stormers it will be the Cats though. Mainly cos you guys are not as windgat as the Bulls and Sharks…

Sorry Cheetahs, but you beat us in the Semi’s 2 yrs running!!!

• 63.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Wpw, Some Bloke Sin

All im trying to say is that if a player of colour gets injured, they will replace him with a coloured player even if ther are better white players.

• 64.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

I am not SA Tackler, I am BlueBlood or if u want BB.

My money is on the Cats to be regulated, simply because they are playing out of their league this year. The Sharks and Stormers are capable of pulling off miraculous wins, even when they have no chance. In order to avoid dropping you have to be able to pull off a shock win. The Cats can’t do that.

Kitties going down…

• 65.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Wpw

It’s called stupidity….

• 66.Simon: Reply to this comment

I find it very sad that we can only have four players of colour in a match 22, twelve years after democracy.

• 67.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Blue Blood

What r u smoking, it’s getting too much for u!
    Sharks & Stormers better than Cats BHahahahaha

• 68.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Blueblood

Wonder who we beat last year…. Shock, Horror!!! The Bulls!!!

• 69.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Stormers will be relegated!!!!

• 70.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Blueblood, I have to agree with you. I think that the Kitty are going to be the team to take the fall.

Last year the Sharks showed that they were willing to blood new young talent. With the return of AJ and Butch along with the maturation of those youngsters, I think that that gives them the edge.

Besides, what will the Cats, without having the Free State players to prop them up, anymore?

• 71.lazeybonez: Reply to this comment

aagggg **** man… this just shows how unwilling the SA rugby is to transform… they will always stick to the minimum requirements… this sux…

maybe we need to do it Bobby (Mugabe) ‘s style… some hard-***, conservative, boring, one-dimensional dutch okes will never change… disgusting!…

• 72.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

If Scalk or de Villiers gets injured, it will be all over for the Stormers, same as Petoors injurie for the Cats. Wont be able to replace them with adequit players.

• 73.KWV: Reply to this comment

BlueBlood,

You must have shite for brains.

The word is relegated, not regulated.

• 74.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Lol kwv

• 75.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Lazeybone

Regtig??? Wanneer laas was jy in Zim jou pampoen?

• 76.wpw: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu
    You must be crazy… Stormers will do better than most of the SA teams…

• 77.lazeybonez: Reply to this comment

Grrrr… i speak no afrikaans… don’t understand what you saying…

• 78.KWV: Reply to this comment

wpw,

place an ad for the vacancy of “Stormer Flyhalf” in ALL newspapers worldwide.

• 79.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

wpw not this year!

• 80.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

KWV LOL!!

• 81.bigg: Reply to this comment

WPW – How you bru? How was your xmas & new year? I know you don’t drink but if the Stormers win the Super 14 this year you have to have a drink on the eve of a great Stormers victory over the bulls at Newlands…????

• 82.Baastard: Reply to this comment

Lazybones you are a plank.Have you seen the human rights atrocities in Zim?Ook maar lekker ****** dom ne?

• 83.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Wpw Im standing by my team and will always!

• 84.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Talk to u guys later @ home, leaving the office now. Cheers

• 85.KWV: Reply to this comment

wpw,
    don’t drink??? r u halaal?

• 86.wpw: Reply to this comment

Howzit bigg? Stormers wont win the S14 this yr. I dont even think we will make the semi’s. i know we wont be relegated tho. As for drinking alcohol, no my man, not on your life. That **** will not see the inside of me… I’ve seen too many ppl be affected by it in a negative way.
    My fiancee’s dad died Dec 04 becos of it. I used to drink but that was like 7 yrs ago and b4 that in my adolescent yrs. Was n suiplap in my dae… lol

Anyway, i think the Cheetahs will be relegated, Sharks maybe. All depends on whether Butch, Davidson and AJ do well. Also, if Butch is back and Percy kicks at goal and has a good season, they will do very well.

• 87.wpw: Reply to this comment

No KWV, i’m not halaal. I need to leave. Cheers, will chat again tomorrow.
    Oh, and one last thing:

Maak al die Stormers Bokke, Maak al die Bulle Rokke!!!

• 88.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Time is running out, what a wonderful start by the beautiful Blue team
    won both against the Cats
    crapped the Stormers
    snotted russia

Just worried about all the injuries
    Matfield
    du Preez
    Wannenberg
    Roets

• 89.bigg: Reply to this comment

Fair enough WPW…

• 90.Stan: Reply to this comment

Bloemleeu,
    What key players are gone. A hooker and a prop.
    The rest are injuries, like all the others are suffering from.

• 91.JUSM: Reply to this comment

cool, i thought it was two on the field. pity we have to discuss quotas all the time. suppose we are all getting a lot less sensitive about it though. think that’s good…

anyway, no way heyneke is all relieved by this. he always knew exactly what the requirements were. just us lot that were confused by some incorrect reports.

lol BB you getting the people more riled up with a CC final remark than this plonker lazeybonez with his ****. why don’t you go live in zim then lazey my man? things there are going great! lmfao

• 92.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Stan

The Bulls haven’t got D. Coetzee, Lensing, A. Leonard and the late Ettiene Botha, it will make huge difference, especially without Leonard’s captaincy!

• 93.Stan: Reply to this comment

Niemand is onvervangbaar nie, en ons het genoeg waardige plaasvervangers vir al 4 die manne.

• 94.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Ek hoops maar so vir jou part, anders gaan dir maar ‘n kak jaar wees vir die Bulls!

• 95.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

To the guy who said we should do it Zim style, why don’t you go and live in Zim you dumb, moronic butt ******!

• 96.Btown: Reply to this comment

Testing

• 97.Btown: Reply to this comment

There has never been real commitment to development. That is the reason why there is a surplus of wings other than white. Identify the talent from U/19 and U/21 and give them preferential treatment. There is nothing to be ashamed of to give talented youngsters other than white preferential treatment. It worked for almost 40 yrs under NP rule, and for a nation still in transition, it could work.

• 98.rimpels: Reply to this comment

At last everyone knows what’s going on!! I dont know where the mix up came in but it sure was frustrating!!

• 99.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Quota confusion will never be resolved. As long as there are quotas, there will be confusion. What exactly is a quota player?

What for example is so black about Bryan Habana – he went to KES, he is a Bloubul liefling, he is brilliant, yet he is filling the spot in the Bulls team that is reserved for a quota player. I will be pissed of if I was him.

• 100.KWV: Reply to this comment

hkgk,
    habana is a CENTRE (never-mind brilliant), yet he’s filling the spot in the Bulls team that is reserved for a quota player. Even I’m pissed. Play him at centre. :-|

• 101.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

KWV,

Yes he is a centre as well!

• 102.twojays: Reply to this comment

New Zealand is finding it increasingly difficult to field four “pakeha” in their super 14 teams. In a year or so the Auckland Blues & Waikato will be 100% polynesian with only Canterbury matching anything like the true demographics of New Zealand. Meanwhile, Fiji, Somoa et al continue to struggle with rugby at grass roots while the NZRFU rub their hands with glee as the cash flows in like a tidal stream

• 103.wls: Reply to this comment

KWV Hanbana is a wing, end of story. Sorry but the guy is the best wing in world rugby at present. So why should he be considered a quota player for the Bulls on Wing?
    And i think the Quota thing is bullshit.and most of the kak people speak here to lol.
    Habana a quota player LMFAO. Here lies the problem, Habana is black, yet the best in his posistion, so now the dooses that make these desicions have let this backfire on them?

• 104.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Personally….I think it is a cop out.

I would have been happier with a target of 4 compared with 2.

I don’t think game by game analysis is correct either.

This would logically suggest 3 as a better number….however, incentives (possibly test match allocations) should be awarded to franchises who excede the target.

We need to try and make this program as incentive based as possible…..money seems to be the only thing we understand, why noy make it the bench mark?

Also, if anyone was to suggest franchises would field only black/colored players(even ones who are not ready for S14 level) so they could get to host all the test matches…..well then they need to be careful of relegation from the S14?

comments?

• 105.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Can ANY SA side ever field an all-white team?

Oh, the answer is no?

That means that a quota system is in place.

• 106.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“We are perhaps the most dominant force in world rugby today…”

Bulls — absolutely NIL; Otago Highlanders 23.

That’s the most recent encounter’s score!

• 107.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Do not feed the ******

• 108.Zinto: Reply to this comment

The Cats and Stormers shouldn’t have a problem meeting these targets. They have Nokwe, Chavanga, Delport/Conradie, Andrews and Shimmangi. So they could have at least for 4 or five players of colour at every given time. For the Cats there’s Janjes, Human, Willemse, Julies, Sephaka and Januarie who should be starting.

• 109.Btown: Reply to this comment

St.P

Good suggestion. Everybody ussually wants to know whats in it for me.

• 110.adoons: Reply to this comment

what a load of bull.

• 111.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Best thing is to have a black team made out of the best black players in the country join the S14 and have the rest of the coaches choose their teams on merit, including or excluding the black players left in the rest of the franchises.
    Maybe call them the Black Mambas;
    The thirty players could include:
    15. Conrad Janjes/Shandre Frolick/JP Pietersen
    14. Tonderia Chavanga/ Jongi Nokwe
    13. Bryan Habana/ Gobani Bobo
    12. Wayne Julies/Dewey Swartbooi
    11. Ashwin Willemse/Cedric Mhize
    10. Earl Rose/Andre Hough
    9. Paul Delport/Ricky Januarie/Bolla Conradie
    8. Sean Plaatjies/Jonathan Makwena
    7. Tim Dlulani/Solly Tybilika
    6. Kabamba Floors/
    5. Wayne van Heerden/Nicholai Blignaut
    4. Quinton Davids/ Devon Raubenheimer
    3. Eddie Andrews/ Laurence Sephaka
    2. Hanyani Shimangi/ Chiliboy Ralepele
    1. Guthro Steenkamp

I recon this squad could give any of the “white/merit” a run for their money. A few youngsters that could make name for themselves? Maybe a bit in the lock position, but other than that, bloody powerful!!!

• 112.adoons: Reply to this comment

Zinto,

It’s a formidable team you have there :-)

• 113.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

This is weird.

It differs from what the SARU website published.

• 114.SiekSnortoffie: Reply to this comment

I’m sorry…But i dont get the whole “transformation” thing…Fucken hell….This country has been transforming since 94….Geezus!!! Shouldnt we be transformed by now…We can talk about this kak topic untill we are blue in the face…But isnt it more democratic and fair if a person is in a position where he DESERVES to be and not just placed there to fill a quota…..Ag anyway…**** it!!!

Go crime and poverty!!!!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.