Bulls bear brunt of desperate Stormers
24 Jan 2006
Despite eventually being overpowered, the Stormers’ determination to beat the Bulls on Saturday is evident in the Bully Boys’ extensive injury list
Whilst Heyneke Meyer did not reveal any injury concerns to the media after the 44-13 victory at Newlands, it has subsequently emerged that Monday’s practice was called off because of a walking wounded list numbering 11.
The Pretoria News reports that the injury list reads as follows: Derick Hougaard (shoulder), Johan Wasserman (neck strain), Danie Rossouw (neck strain), Gary Botha (lower back muscle spasm), John Mametsa (groin), Dries Scholtz (split lip), Marius Delport (shoulder), Akona Ndungane (rib), Danwell Demas (quadricep injury), Rudi Coetzee (stomach bug) and Heini Adams (sinus infection).
The Stormers. in contrast, have emerged unscathed.
The Bulls face the Sharks this weekend at Sun City in two consecutive warm-ups, and the good news for Bully Boy fans is that all 11 are expected to recover sufficiently to play some part in the fixtures.
“We’ll treat it as another trial game and have a look at some different combinations at the same time,” Meyer said.

25 Comments
24 Jan 2006, 11:59 am
Where do the Stormers fit in with the stomach bug and sinus infection?
24 Jan 2006, 12:02 pm
good question Stan
Me thinks its more liekly to be injuries from last season that have n’t been given the chance to heal properly…
24 Jan 2006, 12:03 pm
Unscathed?
I’m sure those youngsters confidence is running really high
24 Jan 2006, 12:04 pm
Stan we’ll thank/blame the wonderful recycled air of the plane trip for that one…
24 Jan 2006, 12:07 pm
Chris,
Most propably yes. Or Rudi had a bunny chow!
The others are old injuries…
24 Jan 2006, 12:07 pm
stan,
gus imported ‘suzie’ to cpt for the weekend.
and james small provided some of the finest south african herb to a young an impressionable adams
24 Jan 2006, 12:15 pm
Lol
I dont think its a good thing to play “practise matches” against your rivals in the S14. Your asking for injuries, the guys wont stand back for one-another.
If you play against a guy who plays better in the same position than you, then your instinct kicks in and u play as hard as you can against him.
Rassie has the best thinking brain than all the other coatches.
24 Jan 2006, 12:15 pm
PA,
Neewat, as Adams van Small se kruie gesnuif het, sou sy neusvleuels nou nog soos n resiesperd sn gestaan het!
24 Jan 2006, 12:17 pm
We can’t read to much into these matches. Just two more weeks to go.
24 Jan 2006, 12:18 pm
24 Jan 2006, 12:20 pm
Howzit Blueblood, how is Kaplan doing this morning?
24 Jan 2006, 12:22 pm
24 Jan 2006, 12:32 pm
All these injuries look very curable, the real ones are Steenkamp and Bands.
I still think there is merit withregards to being “battle harded” before the tournament starts real.
In contrast, the Stormers 1st 15 play their first game against a fired up Spears already into their 3rd game.
Be carefule Stormers.
The Stormers have nothing to gain and everything to lose in this game.
Eish…imagine a loss and a DeVilliers bust knee cap?
How will that play with the sides confidence going into the S14?
Worring times all round?
24 Jan 2006, 12:58 pm
Love the tone of the article. makes it out as if Bulls came of second best…. Ha ha ha.
Bulls smashed the Province boys. What we should realise is that the Bulls have depth to cover these minor injuries.Runny noses, and two dumps a day hardly constitutes the end of the season for these players.
Prediction is for another NOKIA score when the two teams meet….
24 Jan 2006, 13:17 pm
SA beats sri lanka in a toughie.
hallie got 2 vital wickets in one over, and bowled a brilliant last over.
van der wath also bowled well.
langeveldt was clobbered a bit
24 Jan 2006, 13:17 pm
LMAO Zero…
24 Jan 2006, 13:22 pm
Bloem Leeu,
You are trying too hard to ingratiate yourself with the Vrystaat. Rassie has a fine rugby brain, but if you look back to last weekend’s results you might notice that the Cheetahs did in fact play a practice match against one of their S14 rivals, known as The Western Force (Hint: they’re based in Perth, Western Australia).
24 Jan 2006, 13:59 pm
I don’t know or care about how he’s doing. In my mind he is chained to a chair and forced to listen to “Die BlouBul” song for the rest of eternity.
24 Jan 2006, 14:30 pm
Storm in a tea cup!
xcuse the pun !
24 Jan 2006, 15:27 pm
I see no journa was brave enough to add his name to that article, but I think it may have been written by ***** number one of the WP supporters & swingers club!
Is it supposed to imply that the Bulls have been punnished for beating the Stormers again!?
Too funny that, I can just imagine DWB saying, ‘I hope you have learned your lesson!’
You province supporters should object to making you look silly like this!
To tell you the truth, I wouldn’t mind a split lip for nearly putting 50 past my rivals. In fact would love to show the scar, what stormers got to show for it?
24 Jan 2006, 16:18 pm
Yeah what they don’t know is that Mallet & co. sat licking their lips when they saw the Bulls were playing their big guns in this friendly. The Stormer’s second stringers were told to dish out punishment and winning was a secondary priority.
24 Jan 2006, 16:54 pm
Die Stem, where are you boet, waiting for a comment from you, Harlequin, what is the point of playing warm up games and playing your second team, are they going to be the okes flying the stormer flag? Everybody is having a go at the Bulls, why? Cause they are the BEST! GO DIE BLOU!
24 Jan 2006, 18:18 pm
1) You dont get injuries
2) If someone shines in the worst team you can field, they obviously deserve a position.
25 Jan 2006, 15:10 pm
Like I said.
The Stormers forwards didn’t do a bad job.
The backs sucked though.
27 Jan 2006, 10:17 am
Pity they did not win too. I guess with a little brainpower and alot of brawn , you can only do one thing at a time.