Davidson: Sharks in prime position

Sharks scrumhalf Craig Davidson has cited the widespread belief that the Durbanites will be the South African side relegated from the Super 14 as reason for immense optimism.

Davidson, who impressed after recovering from injury late last year, told keo.co.za that the pressure has been entirely lifted.

“Out of all the South African sides, I think we are in the best position,” Davidson said. “Everyone thinks we’re out already, and that’s fine by us. We’re obviously determined to prove everyone wrong. We had a good start against the Leopards on Friday, and momentum is building.”

Davidson does not deny that the threat of relegation has added an urgency to the preparations.

“No-one speaks about relegation, but I think it’s fair to say that everyone is thinking about it. What we have to do is start off well. We want to beat the Chiefs at home in Durban, and then the Cheetahs before we go on tour. A couple of away wins and we’ll be right in their for a semi-final spot. We are not just going into this competition trying to survive. We want to do well and be in contention for a home sem-final.”

Davidson will miss the Sharks’ warm-up fixtures with the Bulls at Sun City on Saturday, but is in no danger of missing the Super 14 kick-off against the Chiefs.

“I have a bit of a stomach muscle problem at the moment. It’s a Grade 1 tear, just a niggle really, but it’s right on my hip so it’s very irritating. I’m obviously confident I’ll be fit the competition, hopefully I’ll be selected to play some part of the first game.”

81 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.JUSM: Reply to this comment

howzit lennel. wazup?

• 52.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

It won’t be the Cats boys… It just won’t.

• 53.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Harlequin

1) We came last in last years S12, so by that logic we are ready to play in the final! Last season is last season, it is only the Stormers who are carrying last seasons from forward.

2) J Smit will miss 2 games big deal! 11 (+ semi & final) more to go!

3) Lineout will be better with AJ back & in Albert, we have perhaps the 2nd best lineout jumper in the country!

4)Scrum, we handed the Bulls their *** in the curry cuo!

5, 6 & 7) What! stats please!

8) Guilty

9) I think we are good actually, besides the centers we have experience in all the right places & ok cover. E.g. flyhalf we will have access to Butch, Brown, Percy, Russle & Riaan.

Don’t worry about the Sharks, we will be competitive this year, my money is on the fragile Cheeta temprament & soft stormers side fighting it out for short time wages.

• 54.bullboy: Reply to this comment

The Bill, If the Sharks win as many as 2 games this season I will be very surprised, you are risking way to much with a young squad and a coach with an ego as big as Table Mountain, good luck, youre going to need it…

• 55.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Bully, how do you have an issue with ****? The only thing contrevrsial about him is his name!

Come on now, last year we were the geriatrics, this year we are the toddlers, come on ladies a bit of consistency.

You have to be fair, look at our experience, we have more than enough there! Perhapse we have a perfect mix of young & old!

Admin team, you got any stats on squads in terms of number of S12 games played etc?

Come on feed us!

Bully, you not getting a bit nervous to play us in the warm up? Scared we might give you the flu like the stormers gave you the mumps!

• 56.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

Guys, it wasn’t until Butch got injured that the Sharks played badly, and with a bit more cover now (Tony and Percy), hopefully the Sharks will bite a bit harder and for longer. I recall that it was against the Stormers that Butch got hurt, and Sharks were winning until then, so wpw, be careful as I think we will shock a lot of teams. ;-)

• 57.bullboy: Reply to this comment

The Bill, not nervous, just carefull… the dangerous thing about a bunch of young guys are that they are hungry to prove them selves, sometimes a bad thing, mostly a big weapon if used correctly, a bull in salty is a easy target but out in the bosveld you are going down brother, good luck any way…

• 58.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

now I am seeing things – wpw – meant stormersfan and bigg – anyway, let’s hope all the unions do well and give SARU a real headache about the relegation. ;-o

• 59.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Bill

1)I don’t follow your logic for 1.

3) Albert van den Berg is overrated as a lineout lock, but Venter coming back is, I admit, a big plus.

4)First you say what happened last year happened last year, then you say you murdered the bulls in the scrum LAST YEAR. And by the way the only time I remember the Sharks beating the Bulls scrum is when the Bulls rested most of their first team players in the weekend before the semi – they had already secured a home semi and a home final (if they won the semi).

If you need stats to tell you 5,6 and 7, you either weren’t watching last year’s curry cup or you are just not a very good at analysing rugby play.

9) Time will tell.

• 60.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

aaarrrggggghhhhh ;-0 dammit – a list – please!!!!

• 61.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

oh crud!

• 62.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Quin (Medicene Woman)

1) The last time we finnished 12th in the S12, didn’t we make a dazzling comeback & make the final. Fine, not logical, but you cannot judge our form on that of last season!

3) Albert will do for us in the lineout he is GOOD, we will be compettive with every side in lineouts, including the Bulls.

4) Fine about not talking about last year, but we have a decent front row, some real strong props in BJ & co, + Smitty is a big strong lad! I think we will handle ourselves.

Stats) You could say that about any side, unsubstantiated.

9) Look forward to it.

Another point to note, the Sharks have contracted the Springbok fitness & conditioning coach for S14, so we will have players that are going to be in better physical condition than last year & probably better than any SA side in the S14.

• 63.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

another :D

• 64.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

try these
    :(
    :o
    :p
    :artist:
    :bowling:
    :mad:
    :dizzy:
    :nono:
    :eyepatch:
    :sick:
    :cry:
    :uhh:
    :wacko:
    :yinyang:
    :frog:

• 65.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

again (delete the asterisk from the text to give the smilie)

:-) * :-)
    :-( * :-(
    :mad: * :mad:
    :cry: * :cry:

• 66.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

nnn ‘:-p’ :-p
    ‘:mad:’ :mad:

• 67.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

In Denial as always. Stubbornnes won’t work this time round.

• 68.ali.h: Reply to this comment

okes it doesn’t need a rocket scientist to realise that the team that gets relegated has little to do with their squads. what it has got everything to do is that there is always one SA team that ends up unluckiest with crucial injuries. and there will be one.
    take flyhalf for instance. every team with exeption to the bulls would be pretty much f*cked if their first choice no.10 gets moered.
    and when sicknote gets injured for the stormers, and he will, who will they play at fullback? ditto with roets for the bulls. or centre for the cheetahs…. the list is endless.
    still, can’t wait for the derbies this year!
    kak for the players, but good value for the spectators!

• 69.Ian: Reply to this comment

Only a fool would write off the Sharks before the comp has even begun. The Stormers are known for their choking and considering the dismal season they had last year, they may just fight out the relegation spot with the Cats or Cheetah’s.

While the Sharks may seem the most vulnerable, in terms of past performances, they have a new coach, some new players and will pull out a few surprises this year. Out of the SA teams, expect them to finish second or third!

As for the Stormers, who knows. They’re a bit like the French-they blow hot and cold, though more cold lately.

• 70.davevane: Reply to this comment

I hope it’s not the Sharks – they have the best looking girls!

• 71.wls: Reply to this comment

I think the Stomers will go down.
    They started there warmups as kak as they finished the last season

• 72.Catmandu: Reply to this comment

“We had a good start against the Leopards…” Bwaa ha ha ha ha….

Go ahead Davidson, measure yourself against the LEOPARDS of all teams!!!

• 73.Tony: Reply to this comment

OK

• 74.Ig: Reply to this comment

Ahhhh the last time he opened his mouth he blew his chances of bok selection…..

• 75.Tony: Reply to this comment

OK, Imagine this…highly unlikely, but hypothetically speaking…
    ALL FOUR of our teams reach the semi finals…

Then one of them will be relegated to make way for the Spears.

Not sure whats funnier the prospect of all our teams making the semi’s or a semi finalist been relegated to make way for the Spears?

What y’all think?

• 76.BMM: Reply to this comment

I just laugh at all this relegation speculation. Face it chaps this is a new competition with new squads and new players. Last years form in S12 and CC means diddly squat.

As a Sharks fan I love it. The only way for us is up and every win we get will be a surprise for the rest of you. AND I will bet half my expat salary you will get a lot of surprises this year!!

Davidsons attitude is the right one – don’t talk about relegation because if you aim to make the Semis and get there – well then there won’t be any concern about relegation!!;)

• 77.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Tony – there are 5 SA teams, not four.

• 78.RickyRocket: Reply to this comment

Come on sharkies, nobody is expecting anything from you so there is no pressure. Please dont be relegated, leave that for the Kitty Cats…..

• 79.fabio: Reply to this comment

“a couple of away wins and we’ll be right in there for a semi-final spot.”

Yeh right – a little too much of that Durban poison in the off season Craig?

• 80.Tony: Reply to this comment

ok, rob, me forgets, so lets make it top 5 positions then :)

• 81.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Ya boet da stuff from da bluff

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.