Davidson: Sharks in prime position
24 Jan 2006
Sharks scrumhalf Craig Davidson has cited the widespread belief that the Durbanites will be the South African side relegated from the Super 14 as reason for immense optimism.
Davidson, who impressed after recovering from injury late last year, told keo.co.za that the pressure has been entirely lifted.
“Out of all the South African sides, I think we are in the best position,” Davidson said. “Everyone thinks we’re out already, and that’s fine by us. We’re obviously determined to prove everyone wrong. We had a good start against the Leopards on Friday, and momentum is building.”
Davidson does not deny that the threat of relegation has added an urgency to the preparations.
“No-one speaks about relegation, but I think it’s fair to say that everyone is thinking about it. What we have to do is start off well. We want to beat the Chiefs at home in Durban, and then the Cheetahs before we go on tour. A couple of away wins and we’ll be right in their for a semi-final spot. We are not just going into this competition trying to survive. We want to do well and be in contention for a home sem-final.”
Davidson will miss the Sharks’ warm-up fixtures with the Bulls at Sun City on Saturday, but is in no danger of missing the Super 14 kick-off against the Chiefs.
“I have a bit of a stomach muscle problem at the moment. It’s a Grade 1 tear, just a niggle really, but it’s right on my hip so it’s very irritating. I’m obviously confident I’ll be fit the competition, hopefully I’ll be selected to play some part of the first game.”

81 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
24 Jan 2006, 16:23 pm
Sharks to be relegated in S14… Definitely!!!
24 Jan 2006, 16:23 pm
ja boet. the semi’s are defnitly in sight.
24 Jan 2006, 16:25 pm
mmmm… This ou is a useless wannabe…
24 Jan 2006, 16:34 pm
Sounds like womens logic to me.
24 Jan 2006, 16:34 pm
wpw – you’re just saying that to get back at me…
24 Jan 2006, 16:35 pm
Ja, Craig the only way the Sharks will be on top of the S14 log is by turning the TV upside down!
24 Jan 2006, 16:35 pm
I tend to agree with him to an extent.
I personally feel that all 5 SA teams could very easily find themselves in the relegation zone.
All it takes is a horrible run of games and it’s game over.
Nobody is safe here inclding the Bulls and Stormers
24 Jan 2006, 16:36 pm
Hey Coffee. Sup, boet?
24 Jan 2006, 16:38 pm
How can the shartks be in the best position? I’d say they are in the worse position.No optimism there.They’re definitely going on holiday in 2007.
24 Jan 2006, 16:39 pm
The Sharks will be the team that gets relegated.
24 Jan 2006, 16:39 pm
sharks always punch above their weight in this competition. last year was an abnormality created by putts leadership.
sharks wont go down. its got to be the cats. or maybe the cheetas.
24 Jan 2006, 16:40 pm
Great Whites don’t survive in captivity: the Sharks as a franchise are no different, when they are boxed in and the pressure is applied they choke. Like in 2004 when they needed a couple of bonus points to reach the semis after touring well, then they came back and lost all their home games.
24 Jan 2006, 16:40 pm
yeah, stormersfan30. Based on what, though? Care to substantiate that? Can you? Do you have a brain?
Stupid twat.
24 Jan 2006, 16:43 pm
Howzit Rob, you have a good break?
24 Jan 2006, 16:44 pm
Just look at the past two years.Did you forget so quick?Stop with the names.
24 Jan 2006, 16:45 pm
Break was good, but had a **** development on the family front earlier this month. Anyway, life goes on. How’s Holland?
24 Jan 2006, 16:45 pm
robdylan anyone who supports a union that is more interested in producing bumper stickers & marketing themselves every F&*%ing week on supersport has no brain… Sharks are so kuk…
Stormersfan 30 is 100% correct… Sharks have the best odds to play Vodacom Cup in 2007
24 Jan 2006, 16:47 pm
Robd.
Oh, and the stormers, in that kak black outfit of theirs are not marketing themselves? Where is your brain?
And they stole their image from a friggin Holywood movie. Grow up son. You should know by now that the movies are not real.
24 Jan 2006, 16:47 pm
sf30 – it’s this bullshit that you guys all pull “Sharks are kak” – not based on any arguements, susbtantiations, or anything. It’s just stated as a fact.
Face it, buddy – once you actually look into it, your team is equally ****. I wouldn’t be complacent about being relegated if I were you. Even your “saviour” Nick Mallett seems worried…
24 Jan 2006, 16:48 pm
Thanks BIGG
Robd… that comment was aimed at bigg.
TS – I gather that was directed at biggmouth? I agree with you.
24 Jan 2006, 16:49 pm
Robd, dont stress boet. We will all know whats what come the end of the comp.
24 Jan 2006, 16:50 pm
I still believe the Cats are going down. We haven’t seen them play without the Cheetahs yet and neither have they.
I’ll put money on the kitties going down. Ooops, I already have.
true. I shouldn’t let these morons get to me.
See y’all around
RobD – losing your temper wont maake the sharks a better team you know. Just relaaaax. They’re all entitled to their opinions just as you are w.r.t the Stormers being relegated.
At the end of the day though, we all know it’ll be the Cats.
However I bet the stormers fans will still be in denial.
24 Jan 2006, 16:51 pm
ROB Everybody is can give his view and that is mine like you got yours.I think the SHARKS is SA’s worst team.
24 Jan 2006, 16:52 pm
I would love to comment but then wpw will accuse me of being arrogant.
24 Jan 2006, 16:52 pm
What has happened in KZN over the last couple of years. First they (through bad man manegement) chase away two of our brightest stars (K.Pietersen and C.Rathbone) and now they are fighting for survival in both cricket and rugby?
I think the administrators took their eyes off the ball, worried more about political agendas and slaughtered the goose that lays the golden eggs.
24 Jan 2006, 16:53 pm
stormersfan
75 – 14 is also maar “KUK”
Eish now I open a can of worms.
Give me the stats boys.
24 Jan 2006, 16:53 pm
Imagine if the Stormers go down?
this site would be deader than a morgue.
all the bullshitters will be hiding for a couple years.
24 Jan 2006, 16:54 pm
who ever gets relegated will be going on Holiday.
So, who ever does get relegated.I say good on them.
24 Jan 2006, 16:55 pm
strange how the bulls with one, yes one, successful season is suddenly excluded from all this…
and their good season was largely thanks to a great run at home.
interesting that.
24 Jan 2006, 16:56 pm
Jondood
75-15 and 39-3 is soooo last season.
This season it is 44-13 again…at Newlands…pak slae again!!!
pain again!!!
these Captonians MUST be into sadomasicsm.
24 Jan 2006, 16:56 pm
PissAnt
Let me be the 1st from the Bulls fans to thank the Stormers for such easy wins.
24 Jan 2006, 16:57 pm
I’ll be the second…
FU Stormer fans!!!
Reasons to suggest why the Sharks will be relegated:
1)They came last last year in the Super 12 and didn’t make the Curry Cup semi’s.
2)One of their lonely 3 current springboks is injured and under a ban, he also happens to be their captain.
3)Mediocre lineout.
4)Mediocre scrum.
5)They give away far too many turnovers.
6)They make too many basic mistakes.
7)Too many holes in the backline’s defence.
8)Rudolf Straueli is their Director of Rugby, which suggests poor decision-making in management.
9)While the sharks have been upbeat about their signings Percy Montgomery, Tony Brown and the Samoan, as well as the return from injury of AJ Venter, Butch James and Craig Davidson one has the feeling that they are a bit thin should injury strike them in key positions.
every SA team, has the potential to fold this year, pressure does strange things to teams.
and the occasional brainfart and arrogance also plays a part.
24 Jan 2006, 16:58 pm
Harlequin
So what you actually trying to say is that they are “KUK”.
No need for all 9 points.
24 Jan 2006, 16:59 pm
I love winding the Sharks fans up, it works every time… I do however think the Sharks are really kuk but their fans are not so bad…
24 Jan 2006, 16:59 pm
hehe,
pleasure jondood. i think ig must re-post that article of Ollie again – where he said, and was vindicated after the game – that arrogance cost the blue bulls last year, and their lack of respect by both players and fans.
after the cricket against the same province effectively, you guys must seriously be really good at getting corks back into champagne bottles.
24 Jan 2006, 17:01 pm
PissAnt
Dont mention Ollie.
It hurts.
24 Jan 2006, 17:03 pm
PissAnt totally agree, I for one think that the guys thinking it’s between the cats and sharks for the drop are in for a suprise or 2.
24 Jan 2006, 17:04 pm
CoffeeshopBok
You are so right.
We both know that the Stormers are capable of being relegated.
24 Jan 2006, 17:04 pm
sorry jondood,
please dont mention gus again and we will have a deal….
24 Jan 2006, 17:07 pm
Lets not bluff ouselves here, the Sharks are in for a riller of a season, it takes balls to push in so many youngsters and they are rather quickly going to sink or swim, as a BIG BULL surporter I wish you all the best, aspecialy with a **** at the helm, and dont even get met started on Kamp Staal Straulie
24 Jan 2006, 17:09 pm
wpw,
Ek sal nie so baie oor die Sperm Whales praat as ek jy is nie. Jou bende Nataniel Nekbyters loop nou nie self oor van selfvertroue nie..
2 Beserings en julle bevind julself in Zuma en Vinnige Vingers se posisie.
24 Jan 2006, 17:11 pm
picture the final game of the s14, featuring 2 SA teams for the drop and it comes down to this final match….Shudder it will get messy regardless on which team it is.
24 Jan 2006, 17:16 pm
Coffeeshop you are so right – it will be worse than the 2003 match Eng vs SA at Twickers… No red cards at all in that match
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All