Storm warning for Spears

Keo.co.za has learnt that Kobus van der Merwe will name his strongest possible side to face the Spears in Wellington on Saturday, the final Super 14 warm-up scheduled for the Cape side.

After his 2nd XV contrasted fight and effective forward play in the first half to rank shambles in the second against the Bully Boys, Van der Merwe will be hoping for a far more convincing display from his front-line troops.

With the possible exceptions of Gerrie Britz and Schalk Brits, and injury-casualties Joe van Niekerk, Marius Joubert and De Wet Barry, Van der Merwe cannot play a stronger hand.

The continued absence of captain Barry means Boland centre Piet van Zyl has the opportunity to atone for a shocking display against the Bulls. He’ll wear 13 again, although the quality inside him will differ slightly: Instead of Gus Theron, he’ll have Jean de Villiers as his midfield partner.

Interesting selections concern the back-row, scrumhalf and the wing. After a pre-season that has seen him tip the scales at 104kg, whilst retaining the ability to bench 165kg and run the 40m in 4.95 seconds, Luke Watson has bashed down the door for another opportunity as first choice 6.

Watson’s resurgence in the gym and training grounds after a frustrating Currie Cup means Schalk Burger is shifted to blindside, and unlike Gert Smal last year, Van der Merwe and Technical Director Gary Gold will not play them left and right.

Thus Burger is faced with an entirely different role to the one he is accustomed with at the Boks. Regarded by Jake White as a specialist fetcher, ball carrying will now become a primary concern, and he will provide an option at the back of the line-out.

Bolla Conradie gets the nod at scrumhalf over Neil de Kock, whilst Boland flyer Rayno Benjamin has the literal inside track on Tonderai Chavhanga for jersey 14.

Stormers side to play the Spears on Saturday

15. Werner Greeff
14. Rayno Benjamin
13. Piet van Zyl
12. Jean de Villiers
11. Jongi Nokwe
10. Peter Grant
9. Bolla Conradie
8. Adri Badenhorst
7. Schalk Burger (c)
6. Luke Watson
5. Andries Bekker
4. Ross Skeate
3. Eddie Andrews
2. Hanyani Shimange
1. JD Moller

112 Comments

• 1.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Nice to see Luke back. Looks a good side :)

• 2.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Maybe except for van Zyl :(

• 3.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Hah! So I too have figured out the smileys…

• 4.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

;-)

• 5.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Mmmmm le fou do share please…how?

• 6.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Coffee

Leave a space after what you wrote and then try it.

• 7.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Yes as Grrr said ;)

• 8.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Awesome loosies, KAK tight 5… ‘Steady Eddie’??? Please….

• 9.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Coffee

Don’t think it works when you just try to do them on their own. 8)

• 10.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

And ‘Up and Under’ is still there…

• 11.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

;-0

• 12.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

mmmm :-)

• 13.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Since everybody says the Cats will be relegated who am I supposed to support next year…???

• 14.bullboy: Reply to this comment

Nice to see a couple of Boland boys getting a run out, they have been overlooked for a long time. Nokwe is a great talent and hopefully with the chance he has been given will show us all what he is made of, this team still looks a bit light weight to face the big boys though, need a better 10 and lacks a great deal of exp. in the pack, early days though, lets see what happens…

• 15.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

grrr…. what about trhe sharks???? :-) )

• 16.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Coffee

You have to write something.

• 17.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Shot Grrrrrr, you have been our resident smiley tester and now expert…Excellent! :-)

• 18.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Bristol

Might…

• 19.Ig: Reply to this comment

Where’s Maruis Joubba at 13 ?????

• 20.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Okay, I’ve resisted the temptation long enough :)

• 21.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

HEY!

It worked! ;)

• 22.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Again! :(

• 23.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

That’s a good point. Wish that guy wakes up now and starts to play again. After the Super 14 though, for the Boks not the Stormies…

• 24.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Shotto!!! :( :) ;)

• 25.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Hah! Positive progress guys :) ;)

• 26.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Mmmm, this is getting out of hand… :mrgreen:

• 27.sthvh: Reply to this comment

Its like kids at Christmas :mrgreen:

• 28.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Marius should be in rip roaring form but I’m afraid that I recognise the back symptoms he has;

Lower back pain
    hamstring problem

and it will most likely keep recurring.

• 29.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

HET, STHVH, how do I get green ones!!!

• 30.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Try this :D

• 31.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Try this :C

• 32.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Faaawwkkk yes please tell

• 33.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Try this :O

• 34.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

this “)

• 35.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ras

After his try feast against the Blacks I thought he was going to go nuts in last years Super 12.

• 36.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

mmmm I appear to have hit the wall

• 37.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

• 38.sthvh: Reply to this comment

Ig – prehaps you can help here. When I choose the “home” button at the top of the story, I get sent back to the old typekey blog site. :roll:

• 39.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Try this :K
    try :C
    try :9

• 40.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Type mrgreen in between :******: :twisted:

• 41.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

I’m not playing anymore until you buggas tell me how to do it!!! :(

• 42.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

type :mrgreen:

• 43.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ras

Look up…

• 44.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

the south easter has died out at sea.Go spears

• 45.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Howzit Ras, you have a good holiday?

Hey Grrr whats up with the green smileys??

• 46.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

type :mrsgreen:

• 47.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

mmmmmm :mrgreen:

• 48.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Now twisted in between :******:

• 49.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

mmm:mrred:

• 50.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

testing :K :C :9

• 51.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Yes, thank you, CSB. You? :mrangry:

• 52.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

mmmmm :mryellow:

• 53.sthvh: Reply to this comment

Rasputin: Check out wordpress.org user help under “using smilies” or on wickepedia. It gives you the names such as “:mrgreen:” to type in to get :mrgreen: or “:evil:” to get :evil: . Remember to leave spaces before and after the : and no quotes to get them to show up 8)

• 54.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Hah!!! Gotcha :roll:

• 55.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

nn >-)

• 56.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Or evil in between :****:… :evil:

• 57.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Or STHVH, just hover your pointer over the previous ones ;)

• 58.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ras

You genius!!!

• 59.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

:roll:

• 60.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Je vous Merci Grrrrr

• 61.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Frack, the rugby must start soon…

• 62.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Le Fou, hover your mouse over STHVH’s and it’ll show you exactly what to type but you must say something first

in other words :evil:

• 63.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Le fou

Pleasure! I guess…

• 64.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

yea good thanks, it does seem a fair bit of PT just to get a smiley “)

• 65.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

• 66.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ras

How did you figure that out???

• 67.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

ok I try

• 68.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Smiley’s will last a week and then everybody will get bored… Trust me!

• 69.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Oh, you don’t have to say anything

:blush:

• 70.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

Grrrr, in my spare time I’m a genius

• 71.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Oh behave :blush:

• 72.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Ok guys it’s been lovely enjoy your evenings all round.

%$$# me but it’s freezing here in Holland, Brrrrr

• 73.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

The weather appears to be getting warmer here in Bordeaux Coffee. Hope it keeps. I will be on holiday in 1 and a half weeks

• 74.Stan: Reply to this comment

Fok,
    julle is soos n klomp Louisiana’s in n Wall Mart na die orkaan Katrina!

• 75.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

• 76.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

• 77.sthvh: Reply to this comment

Le fou:

:oops:

• 78.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

:K

• 79.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

:EVIL:

• 80.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

• 81.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

mmmm

• 82.Ig: Reply to this comment

Eish its like and candy

• 83.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

:roll: :mrgreen: 8) :oops: :evil: ;) :) :(

• 84.YoMama: Reply to this comment

All pudding, no bowl.

They should really look at:
    openside Watson
    No. 8 Burger
    Blindside Van Niekerk

That allows Watson to be the fetcher, Burger to be the basher and Van Niekerk to be the flash.

The stompies should really also look to recruit Christo Bezuidenhout and bring back Barnard or some Argie Beef.

Why not do as the other unions are and bring in a ballie who can teach the young’ns. For example, why not import Martin Johnson for a season or two and he might just teach the cape ***** boys some hardegat voorspel.

• 85.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

• 86.Rasputin: Reply to this comment

It’s so good, I had to come back for more.

• 87.lazyshazystormersboy: Reply to this comment

Chavhanga should definately be wearing the number 14 jersey for the Stormers during the Super 14 and also for the Boks I reckon.

• 88.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

• 89.GCC: Reply to this comment

• 90.GCC: Reply to this comment

:blush:

• 91.hobo: Reply to this comment

lazyshasystomerboy

To me i will go for Egon Seconds, he has the experience.

• 92.GCC: Reply to this comment

: eek :

• 93.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Not a bad backline we have here , but we still don’t have that fire power do we ? I realy hope the senior players will stand out this year. Also nice to see Nokwe there , this guy got speed. With him and Chavanga around i am sure we can score some nice tries this year. Lets hope no one gets injured again.

• 94.Some Bloke: Reply to this comment

Stormers to lose by 10

• 95.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

a :idiot:

• 96.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

nope didn’t work

• 97.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

. :)

• 98.L-LEE: Reply to this comment

mmm

• 99.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Luts just say it

Any fuckwit who tried the smilies should keep his yapper shut about “Dragons”

Me – i like the smilies thingy- would like to see emoticons for :thebird:; :vokkierev:; etc and the guys from the Cape would like to see something like :passtheballtogus:

hehhehe

• 100.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Bloem leeu

Please mail me at oranje_orakel@hotmail.com

I want to discuss future Cheetah/Lions-Cats games

• 101.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Sal so maak :)

• 102.Spook: Reply to this comment

Where is Hendrick Gerber?

• 103.Stan: Reply to this comment

n Goeie span op papier maar daai light five lyk nog baie suspect..

• 104.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Is this a rugby site or a site for frustrated **** who cant work the keyboard? C’com girls, lets get back to the rugby!!!!

• 105.joshk: Reply to this comment

test :)

• 106.joshk: Reply to this comment

cant wait for the 10th :mrgreen:

• 107.joshk: Reply to this comment

Hi guys

what do u think the stormers backline will look like without any injuries maybe something like this.my preference in brackets

15. Greef kicker
    14. Nokwe (chavanga)
    13. joubert
    12. barry
    11. jean (Nokwe)
    10. grant (Jean)
    9. neil (bolla)

what do you think

• 108.wpw: Reply to this comment

joshk
    15-Greeff
    14-Benjamin/Chavanga
    13-DWB/MJ
    12-JDV/DWB
    11-Nokwe/Seconds
    10-Grant/Naas/JDV
    9-Bolla/De Kock/Delport

i think that Grant will start at 10 but if we are in trouble, ie. injuries to him or loss of form, Moaner VDM will probably try Naas vs Sa teams and JDV if we are overseas…

• 109.Moaner: Reply to this comment

Not wishing any bad luck anyone in the Stormers team, but I really hope JDV gets a run at pivot this season! Ja, given he wants to play 12 and feels comfortable there, but the prospects. . .

• 110.storm warning: Reply to this comment

Can anyone comment on 1. Whats with jaco vdw and the stormers and 2. How was it possible that Jaco Engels slipped through to the Bulls??? Maybe messrs Gold/VDM or even Mr Mallett can comment( surely above everything and given our hopeless state in the tight 5, this was a “must keep” player for the future????

• 111.Silent Bob: Reply to this comment

um mmm …

• 112.stormerwayne: Reply to this comment

damn I hope chavhanga play’s soon, here my backline

15 – Greeff
    14 – Chavhanga
    13 – De Viliers
    12 – Barry
    11 – Nokwe
    10 – Greeff?/grant
    9 – Bolla/delport

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.