Willemse’s wait finally over

Ashwin Willemse returns to competitive rugby on Thursday when the Cats take on the Pumas in a Super 14 crank-up.

Willemse starts from the bench as coach Frans Ludeke wisely nurtures SA’s Player of the Year from 2003 to full fitness.

Whilst Witbank may not be the most glamorous venue for his comeback, the low key nature of the fixture is perfect as the emphasis will be on regaining confidence and the pressure to perform less than if the opponents were another high profile region.

Ludeke has named a strong side for the encounter, with the all-Bok midfield of Wayne Julies and Jaque Fourie sure to cause havoc.

Earl Rose gets another run at 10, partnered by Ricky Januarie at halfback,

Willemse is one of five Boks on the bench, alongside Lawrence Sephaka, Jannes Labuschagne, Grant Esterhuizen and emergency import Delarey du Preez.

CATS TEAM TO PLAY PUMAS

15. Oginga Siwundla
14. Wylie Human
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Wayne Julies
11. Jorrie Muller
10. Earl Rose
9. Ricky Januarie
8. Russell Winter
7. Wikus van Heerden (c)
6. Cobus Grobbelaar
5. Willem Stoltz
4. Trevor Hall
3. Daniel Muller
2. Lukas van Biljon
1. Pietman van Niekerk

Subs

16. Delarey du Preez
17. Lawrence Sephaka
18. Bertus Smit
19. KleinJan Tromp
20. Jannes Labuschagne
21. Gerhard Vosloo
22. Jano Vermaak
23. Andre Hough
24. Grant Esterhuizen
25. Doppies la Grange
26. Ashwin Willemse

51 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Ig: Reply to this comment

Glad to see the man back finally !!!!!!

• 2.RedCard: Reply to this comment

I like the look of these dragons!

• 3.Ig: Reply to this comment

I see the Gus of the Cats Jorrie is still about !!!!

• 4.Vundu: Reply to this comment

On paper it looks like a very good squad (barring Rose, he is too small)

The Fullback, Siwundla… Any stats on him?

We have gus, they have jorrie… just imagine if they could mate!

• 5.wpw: Reply to this comment

Fantastic news. I hope he gets back to the form that made him SA Player of the Year in 2003…

I see Eugene’s buddy is on the bench… LMAO

• 6.wpw: Reply to this comment

Vundu, i dont think he is too small… Compare him to Michalak, Giteau and Carter. He has bulked up considerably in the last yr or 2…

WP should neva have let him go.

• 7.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

not only that wpw, he only got 10 minutes against the falcons.

cats are in deep **** if you ask me.

• 8.Ig: Reply to this comment

Agree wpw – its a dam shame the Rose bro’s left WP ……

• 9.wpw: Reply to this comment

BWAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAA
    Jorrie Muller.

• 10.wpw: Reply to this comment

Ig, if you had to choose btwn having Gus or Jorrie in a WP jersey, who would you choose. And you have to choose either

• 11.gecko: Reply to this comment

Correction – 5 Boks on the bench. Delarey du Preez would always be greatful to the Straueli madness for his two caps.

• 12.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

**** i will go with jorrie.

at least he scores tries once in a while

when there is no one in front of him…

• 13.Ig: Reply to this comment

Rough call wpw……i rather give up five log points …than play either :) but if i had to ….i guess Gus becaue at least you know he is always kak…

• 14.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

This is awesome news, lets hope he can slowly regain his form of 2003, for the sake of the Cats and Bok rugby.

• 15.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

Let’s hope we see 2003 from Ash this season again.

It would be a stray light in a senseless tunnel leading to the doldrums of relegation.

So Ludeke sends an sos to Hough and gives him just ten minutes.

That’s just awful.

• 16.Zero: Reply to this comment

Good news! Hope the bugger can still play a bit!
    :lol: @ Ig and Pissant

• 17.wpw: Reply to this comment

DavidSp
    I reckon Eugene is going to give Ludeke a call and really give him a mouthful!!!LOL

• 18.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Good luck Ashwin hope its a brilliant rugby year for you and your boet!

• 19.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

You guys better lay off King Jorrie…!!! :evil:

• 20.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

He is THA man!!!! :D

• 21.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Huh-uh Grrr…

Doos is koning…

I see your point ;-)

• 22.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

• 23.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

LOL@ Red

• 24.Methos: Reply to this comment

Grrr..

You better lay off the crack cocaine.

• 25.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Mmmmm….Crack…. :twisted:

• 26.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Ja say No to crack ( )’( )

• 27.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Give drugs, not hugs. Or something like that…

• 28.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Can we ban PA??? The more he talks about the Cats the more I’m pissing myself….!!! :(

• 29.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ok, let’s see here… :) :( :eek: 8) :mrgreen: :cry:

• 30.wpw: Reply to this comment

Grrr

Where in CT do you work? So that i can come over there and give you a moviese klap? LOL

• 31.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

And… :idea: :arrow: :evil: :twisted: 80 :neutral: ;)

• 32.Ig: Reply to this comment

Nah Grrrrrr…..

LOL @ wpw …somebody had to say it

• 33.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Wpw

So violent… Take deep breaths… It will all go away. It’s not your fault you were born here in this province and have to support WP. It’s your parents, go klap them!!! :)

• 34.Sinbin: Reply to this comment

This years S14 is going to be open Canned Lion hunting season.

• 35.L-LEE: Reply to this comment

Hi Gents,

Have u guys considered that Eugene is Andre Hough.. lol

• 36.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Sharks are going to be relegated this year. Fact. If you haven’t dealt with it yet, now is the time to realise that they’ll need a miracle to save them. The only other franchise that is a relegation candidate is the Cats. They always appear to have an abundance of riches, then they go and lose cliffhangers after all the hard work has been done.

• 37.Offside: Reply to this comment

• 38.Offside: Reply to this comment

Guys, how do you insert a smiley into your text????????????????

• 39.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Quite a bit of noise coming from the Bulls/Stormers supporters , pointing the relegation finger towards the Cats and Sharks…

Thats cool we’ll wait and see (smiley)

• 40.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

hey CSB, long time, all the best for the year and all that

• 41.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

You guys seen the SA under-19 team on rugby365? Looks a very good side. That strong f**k, Hercules Venter is there…

• 42.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Hey PissAnt and to you too, I must thank you and OO and co for all the good reading pleasure during december.

• 43.bullboy: Reply to this comment

Great to see one of our big talents back, best wishes for a injury free season and buckets full of tries, just not against the Blue Machine…

• 44.wespa531: Reply to this comment

Lets hope Ashwin has not lost his speed after that horrendous injury he suffered. I blame Sarfu for rushing him back on the UK tour when he wasn’t ready by a mile. Unfortunately I don’t think he’ll regain his old form. More likely to do a Johnny Wilkinson and spend most of his time on the physios bench. Rugby is a brutal game as we all know..

• 45.RuggaLive: Reply to this comment

Great news for us Cats fans, welcome back Ash

:yinyang:

• 46.RuggaLive: Reply to this comment

damn :cry:

• 47.Catmandu: Reply to this comment

Guys, I really piss myself with these attempts at smileys! Granted I only found out how to use them yesterday, but DAMN it is a sight! :oops:

• 48.Offside: Reply to this comment

Hellooooooooooo :)

• 49.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Hellooooooo :)

• 50.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

a bit quiet this morning! :(

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.