Butch back middle of March
25 Jan 2006
Butch James will miss at least the first three games of the Sharks’ Super 14 campaign.
There has been confusion over the comeback date of the former Bok flyhalf, but speaking to keo.co.za, James has clarified the situation.
“Recovery is going well,” James said. “Unfortunately though I won’t be fit for the start of the competition. I’m aiming to be back by the end of February but I think it’s more realistic that I’ll be available for selection halfway through the team’s away leg.”
It means James will miss the Sharks’ opening two fixtures at the Absa Stadium, against the Chiefs and Cheetahs, and probably the two daunting away clashes with the Crusaders and Waratahs.
A return against the Brumbies on March 11 seems the most likely scenario.
“There’s been a bit of confusion about when I’ll be fit. The problem has been my other leg has been playing up a bit now because of compensating for the other one. It’s frustrating but I will ensure I’m 100% before attempting to play again.”
James’ extended absence through injury and Tony Brown’s through club commitments in Japan means Percy Montgomery seems destined to wear 10 for at least the first month of the competition.

100 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
25 Jan 2006, 17:08 pm
got busy sorry.
mongril, your opinion, yet again – thats fine. butch was the form flyhalf in the Super 12 in 2004 and was basically picked by every single newspaper’s rugby panels as the first choice flyhalf in the same year for the boks.
the reason he was never JW’s first choice, is because he got injured BEFORE JW picked the squad – does that make more sense to you now – he CANNOT be first choice if he WAS NOT selected which he could not have been since he got INJURED.
if he folds under pressure or gets provoked too easily, why was he intrumental that same year for an inspirational win over the highlanders (i think) on the away leg on their tour? same for most of his Super 12 that year, he had a great season.
did he receive any cards that year? i dont know but i can easily check up on that.
opinions carry more weight when backed up by fact – try it on sometime.
25 Jan 2006, 17:11 pm
oh yeah, he is also very highly rated by nick mallet, guess he is an idiot too when it comes to coaching.
25 Jan 2006, 17:47 pm
bigg, right on.
PissAnt, why are you getting so bloody emotional about this? Yes, I said that Butch is ****. We can’t afford to have a Bok flyhalf who is afraid to tackle (the shoulder-charging bullsh**t is born out of FEAR, no more and no less), who lacks BMT and who concedes a flood of penalties.
I’ll say it again: ****.
25 Jan 2006, 17:48 pm
sharkgirl, so you spoke to Butch James. My f**king hero. You could have given him a hand job as well, and he would still be a **** player.
25 Jan 2006, 17:50 pm
p.s. sharkgirl – before you get on your high horse as well, that was a joke.
25 Jan 2006, 18:46 pm
pierre who is getting emotional you stupid tank?
you are the one that says, let me quote:
“Yes, I said that Butch is ****. We can’t afford to have a Bok flyhalf who is afraid to tackle (the shoulder-charging bullsh**t is born out of FEAR, no more and no less), who lacks BMT and who concedes a flood of penalties.”
no please explain or prove to me how he was ****, BMT-less and received ONE yellow card for play like that?
study your facts you ****** ****. you are entitled to an opinion, but to blatantly defend it by useless ****** statements like that when he clearly was the BEST flyhalf in SA in 2004 before his injury just shows your absolute stupidity by trying to substantiate an argument on PESONAL EMOTIONAL views.
i like to discuss and debate – you are clearly not capable.
25 Jan 2006, 18:48 pm
it should have read:
“i like to discuss and debate facts – you are clearly not capable.
25 Jan 2006, 18:58 pm
butch’s last S12 season was the sharks most competitive for some time. the moment he got injured their chances of a semi place evaporated. since he has been injured they have failed to make the semi’s of the currie cup.
his play in his early career was plagued with silly stuff. but he has grown up, and he is the best option the boks could hope for at no 10 in the next world cup. imo
25 Jan 2006, 19:05 pm
Thy praise or dispraise is to me alike:
One doth not stroke me, nor the other strike.
25 Jan 2006, 19:14 pm
i rest my case
25 Jan 2006, 19:15 pm
You have no f**king case, moron.
25 Jan 2006, 19:50 pm
nice,
just the type of response i would expect from you if you were to be judged on year earlier posts.
do you try or does it come naturally?
25 Jan 2006, 19:54 pm
btw i am still waiting on some facts to support your statements…but i reckon i have a better chance of getting world peace first.
either way, one is allowed to have dreams.
25 Jan 2006, 22:36 pm
Pierre, nice joke bud! That is a great way to talk to a lady (?) on her 1st post.
I think you have shown us a bit about yourself, you strike me as a low class, low iq, dumbass!
Most important thing to remember, that if all our no 10′s in the country are fit & on top form, Butch is the guy to be wearing the Green & Gold, no questions.
Ig, the guy used to be hotheaded, in the same way you used to be not ***! He is (as of his last season), a level headed player that plays well under pressure.
No one is doubting that he was the form player in 2004 & would have walked the Boks, when he got injured JW had a panic attack & looked abroad for a flyhalf, ’cause only AP could do the job here & he was crocked.
With MB being played as 10 on the tour last year, looks to me like JW will be giving Butch a hand job to play for the Bokke!
25 Jan 2006, 23:20 pm
I think Jake White knows about the same ammount of how to select and coach a rugby backline as I do about the finer points of Afrikaans grammar.
To even consider Butch as a current No.10 would be pure garbage. Butch was only classed as good (no more) when he was the only fella blowing oppos off the ground with his shoulder. And someone said he was a 75% goalkicker – my arse, try 60% and you’d still be doing him proud,
Patrick.
26 Jan 2006, 07:27 am
keo,front and centre.What happened to the Dan Queque fund?Who benfitted?Where is the link you used to have to it?Answers dwarf answers.
26 Jan 2006, 08:59 am
The Bill, thank you!
Pierre, honey, listen, I’m REAL SORRY if you aren’t getting enough or any at home, but please don’t make that our problem. In afrikaans there is a frase that goes: ‘tannie palm en haar 5 dogters’, maybe you should get to know them.
But like the Bill said, your low class.
26 Jan 2006, 09:04 am
Howzit Sharkgirl, long time.
I hope he proves me wrong but I have never really rated old Botch. He just doesn’t give me the feeling that he can produce the goods week in and week out.
26 Jan 2006, 09:12 am
sharkgirl:
It’s “phrase”, not “frase”.
It’s “you’re”, not “your”.
And in response to your childish and irrelevant little jibes, let me just say this: I could get laid every night of the week, or I could be celibate for the rest of my life, and it wouldn’t make one iota of difference to the fact that Butch James is ****.
26 Jan 2006, 09:16 am
As for you, The Bill (whatever the f**k that is supposed to be): you’re obviously the newbie here, falling over yourself to impress the “lady” (can’t get any nookie in real life and have to go trawling rugby sites in the vain hope of some cyber-action? Shame.)
I have been around this site for a while already, posting under my real name (unlike you and sharkgirl/boy/transvestite/whatever). If you had been around, you would be aware that sharkgirl is also a regular, and yesterday’s posting was by no means her “first”, as you seem to think.
You enjoy having these wet-behind-the-ears little puppies fighting your battles for you, sharkgirl?
26 Jan 2006, 09:17 am
Pierre really who gives a ph#ck.
26 Jan 2006, 09:18 am
RedCard: wow, someone actually wants to talk about the topic. Welcome, dude.
26 Jan 2006, 09:18 am
Whoops, spoke too soon.
26 Jan 2006, 09:19 am
Its a joke dude!
26 Jan 2006, 09:21 am
Pierre, I thought that Butch was really awesome in the Cats/Sharks semi-final many moons ago. IMHO he has just never played that sort of rugby again.
26 Jan 2006, 09:22 am
Ja Red, I’m not denying that, but even when Butch was “good” he was plagued by inconsistency – hence my earlier comment about BMT.
26 Jan 2006, 09:25 am
Everybody is saying that his tackling is now above-board and blahdie blah, blah…
Dont know if Schalkie has work on his defensive running lines in the off season, but can you imagine your flyhalf and opensider in the bin for 10 mins? Ouch…
26 Jan 2006, 09:35 am
Red, on what do they base this?
26 Jan 2006, 09:56 am
An on form Butch James would be my preference.
Weather his tackling has genuinely improved…….who gives a toss about what the Kiwis think? Didn’t we see the Kiwi captain spearing an oke last season? It was all hush hush and brushed under the carpet.I can name a couple All Blacks that are far more dangerous…..and quite frankly, bigger cheats in my opinion.
Also,he is 5 year more mature now than he was when he first started. He’s also been through the grinder a few times now with injuries,etc as well and has had plenty of time to gain some perspective.
I think he WANTS it again.
26 Jan 2006, 10:09 am
Good point St Pete
Anyway he will play so he will have a chance to shut up the critics
Pierre- who do you support again?
26 Jan 2006, 10:14 am
Pierre re: no 70
Sorry boet, I have been an infrequent visitor for the last year, but am unable to spend quite as much time as the rest to strike up relationships!
Thanks for the concern about my *** life, but it is fine & healthy, not as great as yours who can if he wants to get laid every night (must cost a lot).
Anyway back to rugby, lets remember this & if Butch finds any type of form, he will make the Bok set up & you will be having to eat humble pie.
Wa%&er! (that doesn’t count as having ***, you know that?)
26 Jan 2006, 10:29 am
Do you mean the defensive lines Pierre?
26 Jan 2006, 10:35 am
Bill,
I agree, I am just so worried about his knee never being right again. I have faith that he can get up to speed soon.
26 Jan 2006, 10:52 am
Oranje: I support the Stormers and WP – embarrassingly.
26 Jan 2006, 10:53 am
But I would keep Jaco as my first-choice Bok flyhalf until someone better comes along. Don’t think it will be Butch, though.
26 Jan 2006, 11:03 am
Pierre
Long before you told us you supported the Stormers……..most of us had you figured.
26 Jan 2006, 12:27 pm
RedCard, it’s been a long-time.
I think we still owe each other a beer, so I guess we are even. I see things are looking a bit bleak with the cats.
Pierre, sorry if i don’t have time to double cross my spelling and grammar.
One Question: Why are you fighting with me?
I just responded to something that pissed me off. If you have been on this site so long, you would know that i always admit when i was wrong and then i apologise.
Anyway, back to Butch and his game.
Butch is going to be his own biggest critic, and that is why i believe he is going to give 110% every time he sets foot on a rugby field, but i may be wrong. Only time will tell.
26 Jan 2006, 14:27 pm
sharkgirl, I made a joke, at which you (and some other self-righteous males who were trying to impress you) took offence. It was never my intention to fight with you or anyone else.
I still think Butch is absolute ****, though.
Given a year or two, Ruan Pienaar may turn out to be the real deal at flyhalf. Until that happens, we must stick with the guy who was there when we won the Tri-Nations title: Jaco. The Pretorius experiment has failed. The dude can’t tackle (although at least he uses his arms when he attempts to tackle).
26 Jan 2006, 14:31 pm
StP, I’m not quite sure what you mean by that. Are you saying it’s only WP fans who think Butch is useless? The whole Cape Cabal thing keeping him out of the Bokke?
26 Jan 2006, 14:51 pm
wow all this hostility and it’s not even a quota thread…whats up wif dat?
26 Jan 2006, 15:35 pm
Apparently Butch James still commands some rather strong feelings from his supporters. I haven’t encountered such hostility since the time I mentioned that I think Star Wars is boring.
26 Jan 2006, 15:36 pm
Pierre, you can say what you want about Butch but don’t diss Star Wars… (the 1st 3 anyway)
26 Jan 2006, 16:26 pm
Pierre, i agree that Ruan is going to turn out a great flyhalf in time.
So no more insult towards each other.
We call it a truce, is it a deal?
And by the way, star wars is boring!
26 Jan 2006, 16:30 pm
Hey sharkgirl, I was just starring to take a liking to you…
26 Jan 2006, 16:47 pm
sharkgirl, peace.
CSB, did I mention that I slept through Lord of the Rings as well?
26 Jan 2006, 17:00 pm
Ha-ha Pierre, thats funny cause I did too.
26 Jan 2006, 22:19 pm
Boys I hear Sharks boss Mr Hoskins is writing a column on http://www.durban365.com about womens rugby players. Should be interesting lads.
27 Jan 2006, 01:42 am
He was strong and fast off the mark and suited the Boks’ play style better than most, but is he the same player he was in 2001 season?
27 Jan 2006, 10:12 am
Agree Onlooker… Does he still have the same intensity? We’ll find out in over month!!
27 Jan 2006, 13:47 pm
1. BJ Botha
2. John Smit
3. Deon Carstens
4. Johan Muller
5. Albert van den Berg
6. Solly Tybilika
7. AJ Venter
8. Daniel Firani
9. Ruan Pienaar
10. Tony Brown
11. Cedric Mhkize
12. Butch James
13. Gobani Bobo
14. Henno Mentz
15. Percy Montgomery
Bloody powerful!!!
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All