Butch back middle of March
25 Jan 2006
Butch James will miss at least the first three games of the Sharks’ Super 14 campaign.
There has been confusion over the comeback date of the former Bok flyhalf, but speaking to keo.co.za, James has clarified the situation.
“Recovery is going well,” James said. “Unfortunately though I won’t be fit for the start of the competition. I’m aiming to be back by the end of February but I think it’s more realistic that I’ll be available for selection halfway through the team’s away leg.”
It means James will miss the Sharks’ opening two fixtures at the Absa Stadium, against the Chiefs and Cheetahs, and probably the two daunting away clashes with the Crusaders and Waratahs.
A return against the Brumbies on March 11 seems the most likely scenario.
“There’s been a bit of confusion about when I’ll be fit. The problem has been my other leg has been playing up a bit now because of compensating for the other one. It’s frustrating but I will ensure I’m 100% before attempting to play again.”
James’ extended absence through injury and Tony Brown’s through club commitments in Japan means Percy Montgomery seems destined to wear 10 for at least the first month of the competition.

100 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
25 Jan 2006, 15:04 pm
The Aussies fear this guy when he is on song, which is not alot. Let hope for the best.
25 Jan 2006, 15:07 pm
Would love to see Butch run out for the Boks again! Good luck, hope you make it through the season injury free!!!
25 Jan 2006, 15:13 pm
I really rate this guy. When he’s on song the Sharks really do well. WP shouldve bought him ages ago…
25 Jan 2006, 15:15 pm
Wpw
I have something for you on the Stormers Live tread…
25 Jan 2006, 15:21 pm
I saw grrr…
Go check out my reply!
25 Jan 2006, 15:23 pm
Does this guy still pull a player salary? How long has he been injured now? Geez, talk about injury prone… this guy has been in recovery for about 70% of his career! Maybe he should start looking for a real job…
25 Jan 2006, 15:27 pm
The Priest who could not lie
A distinguished looking young lady is on a flight returning from
Switzerland. She finds herself seated next to a priest and asks” Excuse
me father, may I ask a favor of you?”
“Well of course Miss, what can I do for you?” he replies.
“Here’s the dilemma, I purchased for myself, a superbly sophisticated
electronic hair remover. I paid a lot of money for it. I really went well
over the limits set forth by Customs, and I fear they will confiscate it
from me. Could you perhaps secret it through Customs for me under your
robes?”
“I certainly could my dear, only I must warn you I really am not ever
able to lie…”
“You have such an honest face father, surely they will never ask any
questions of you,” and with that she hands him the hair remover.
After landing they proceed through Customs and it becomes the father’s
turn in line.
“Father, do you have anything to declare?” asks the Custom’s officer.
“From the top of my head to my waist I have nothing to declare my son.”
Finding this answer a little strange the custom’s officer proceeds to
ask, “And from the waist to the floor, what do you have to declare?”
The father replies, “I have a marvelous little instrument destined to be
used on a woman, but which has never yet been used…”
Roaring with laughter the Custom’s officer says, “Go right through
father.
Next!”
25 Jan 2006, 15:28 pm
Hopefully the Sharks can get enough log points to avoid relegation before he gets back, cause when he does its back to the doldrums
25 Jan 2006, 15:32 pm
I would realy like to see him come back into the bok setup. Had a few bad years behind him but i still think he’s a good player on the field. Hope we see him soon.
25 Jan 2006, 15:32 pm
Ig, are you saying that the Sharks are a worse side with Butch in it???
25 Jan 2006, 15:34 pm
James ,james ,james what is up with this guy ? Every year this time he has an injury?
25 Jan 2006, 15:36 pm
Nai man , die man het nou al geleer hoe om te tackle. Hy gaan almal kom suprise die jaar.
25 Jan 2006, 15:36 pm
John Bull….there and there abouts….
25 Jan 2006, 15:38 pm
Ig, there is no way the Sharks could get any worse even with Gus and Jorrie running out for them!
25 Jan 2006, 15:39 pm
But in all honesty, I rate Butch!
25 Jan 2006, 15:45 pm
I am dissapointed to hear that he will miss the first few games. I cant wait to see him back in action, ******* up the aussies. Percy/Russell is just going to have to provide stability until he/Brown gets back.
If he wants a chance to be back in the bok mix, he has to have a good and injury free Super14.
Good luck Butch.
25 Jan 2006, 15:45 pm
Ig, prepared to back up your comment? What is it you don’t like? His awesome tackling (which is now legal), his great running lines in attack, his control of the game with the boot? Maybe his +75% goal kicking average?
Come on Ig, you usually make more sense than this.
25 Jan 2006, 15:54 pm
Geez John Bull, did you watch the guy’s entire career or just the 10 minute highlite package?!
PS: Would Butch James please request his girlfriend to comment under her real name on this site.
25 Jan 2006, 15:57 pm
Butch is absolute ****. The reason people still “rate” him is that 1) he’s always injured, so he never has to prove himself 2) rugby fans have unbelievably short memories and 3) Sharks fans are bloody desperate for a saviour.
25 Jan 2006, 15:58 pm
John – i just don’t rate him, i think he is a hot head who loses his cool when the pressure is on – i don’t dispute he can play the game….
25 Jan 2006, 15:59 pm
What is it that Andrew Merhtens had? Why is it that our #10′s are such softies. We could have had avery good flyhalf by now, either from James, Pretorius or Van, had they just stayed healthy.
I blame at least 10% of of our losses on not having the same pivot week in and week out.
25 Jan 2006, 15:59 pm
I see on Supersport website that Grant will be wearing the no 10 jersey on the opening game of the S14
25 Jan 2006, 16:00 pm
Well said Pierre!
Granted, he’s not a bad provincial player – but it’s not like anyone is queueing up to pay him a Springbok salary for 3-4 average games a year either.
He’s not the next Henry Honniball – live with it.
Keep on looking though, the boks need the genuine thing no matter which province he comes from.
25 Jan 2006, 16:01 pm
1) His first major injury was just as Jake took over and that is what kept him sidelined ever since.
2) Butch was Jake’s first choice as flyhalf when he took over – guess Jake is kak in rating talent then.
3) I do not support the sharks, in fact, they are my most disliked province in SA – but I rate Butch a hell of a lot.
25 Jan 2006, 16:04 pm
PissAnt: Jake has made planty of mistakes with his selections. Gerrie Britz, Jacques Cronje at no.8, Michael Claassens, JdV at inside centre. Jake’s strength is that he usually leanrs from his mistakes, eventually (I’m holding thumbs that at somepoint this year he’ll wake up to the obvious fact that Jean is an outside back). If he were foolish enough to pick Butch, he’d learn pretty quickly what a kak move that would be.
25 Jan 2006, 16:06 pm
your opinion pierre, when butch was playing – apart from his tackling, what in your view made him such a **** player?
25 Jan 2006, 16:08 pm
Agree Pissant, this ou can play. Mongril, i dont support the Sharks and neva will. In fact, i dont like them that much, espec when they playing us. I do however rate Butch cos he is a really good 10. He had 2 good S12 seasons and was SA’s best 10 and most consistent. When the Sharks made the S12 finals in 2001 and 2003 i think, he was the flyhalf. The Nz’ers and Aussies also rate him, that says alot…
P.S. Is it his fault he is injured? It’s easy to sit behind a computer and talk **** about players isnt it.
if you dont like the oke, fine! But to say he never was good is just silly. So Jake White doesnt know anything does he? He rates Butch…
25 Jan 2006, 16:10 pm
pierre
it is obvious you know nothing about rugby… i wish Butch makes a great comeback so that you can have egg on your face.
Cheers PA, i’m outa here!
25 Jan 2006, 16:10 pm
Plus PissAnt – in which section of the You magazine did you receive confirmation that BJ was JW’s first choice?
The only first choices JW let everyone know about in advance were:
1) John Smit (Hooker and Captain)
2 Percy (cause he was negotiating his return)
The rest is speculation.
25 Jan 2006, 16:14 pm
no mongril it is not – jake specifically mentioned he was disappointed about butch getting injured because he was definately in his plans.
i leave you magazines for people that like to think they know rugby
25 Jan 2006, 16:15 pm
Testing from phone
25 Jan 2006, 16:18 pm
Uh-huh – so from “definate first choice” to”in his plans” 10 minutes later.
Better let the doc know the voices are back, PissAnt…
25 Jan 2006, 16:20 pm
Mongril,sounds like you subcribe to You magazine.Maybe jake knows a bit more about rugby that you.I know that PissAnt does.
25 Jan 2006, 16:21 pm
You would Baastard – it’s probably part of the pre-nup you guys signed…
25 Jan 2006, 16:22 pm
OK so Mongril is one of keo and his journo’s new aliases to get the hits up.
Mongril show some respect,I am The Tackler.
25 Jan 2006, 16:23 pm
Actually Mongril,please enligten us on the reason why you think that Butch is ****.
25 Jan 2006, 16:24 pm
That’s nice – mother must be proud.
25 Jan 2006, 16:25 pm
I didn’t say his **** (this is why reading skills are so important), I said he is not that great. Good provincial performer, but no miracle maker.
25 Jan 2006, 16:25 pm
Cat got your tongue mongril?Whats the reasons for butch being **** in your view.
25 Jan 2006, 16:26 pm
So what does he lack mongril to make it to the top in your view.
25 Jan 2006, 16:28 pm
Baastard speaking of alias when you gonna show up in your true colours ?
25 Jan 2006, 16:29 pm
My view agrees with that of IG.
he does not have the temperament to keep his cool in pressure situations, or when provoked by the opposition.
His ego is his greatest enemy of realising the talent he undoubtedly has.
Just my view – not the gospel.
25 Jan 2006, 16:29 pm
Will all his injuries, VOETSTOOTS JAMES is a more appropriate name.
25 Jan 2006, 16:31 pm
Ig i had to change my nick because my decnt email couldnt receive my log in code for the “bliksem” nick so i had to change it.By the way cant you just reserve bliksem for me again and send the login code to my hotmail acount please.
25 Jan 2006, 16:33 pm
Baa – did you not get a pass ? If you registered its reserved i send a password through in 5 or so…..
25 Jan 2006, 16:36 pm
Ig I did registrer it but it was sent to my tiscali acount and it turned it down as spam.So I used baasterd and had that pass sent to my hotmail account.So please sent the bliksem pass to my hotmail account.
25 Jan 2006, 16:37 pm
sent it to tiscali account…..
25 Jan 2006, 16:39 pm
Thanks Ig,I will check it 2morrow and let you know if I came right.
25 Jan 2006, 16:49 pm
What ever anyone says the Sharks need more than Butch James to save them from relegation… Butch this Butch that he wont make a f&*%$ing difference at all. He is a good currie cup and thats about that…
25 Jan 2006, 16:54 pm
Hello all You Lovely Rugby People!
How are you doing?
So Butch, back in the middle of march, FINALLY!
The last time i spoke to him (which was on friday, 20 jan at the leopards game at kings park) he was very positive.
He also said that there is no way anybody will take the sharks flyhalf position away from him, not even tony brown.
So, you guys ready for the sharks bulls clash this saturday?
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All