Learning from Lowen
25 Jan 2006
Former Chiefs and All Black centre Keith Lowen has told his Cheetahs team-mates exactly how Kiwi teams approach their matches against South African opposition.
According to coach Rassie Erasmus, Lowen has given the Cheetahs players a confidence boost ahead of the Super 14.
“Keith explained just how much New Zealanders respect South African rugby,” Erasmus told keo.co.za. “He says that our training methods and gym methods are basically the same as over there. I think people in South Africa sometimes forget how much they respect us and good our methods are.”
Lowen, who played just one Test for the All Blacks against England, was signed by Erasmus for a number of reasons.
“He brings so much experience to the side,” he said. “He’s also helped [assistant coach] Franco Smit a lot with the backs, in terms of tactics and things he’s learnt from his time with the Chiefs. I can’t tell you how much it helps the youngsters in the team to be able to talk to someone who has played for the All Blacks.”
Being in Bloemfontein, Lowen’s team-mates have already started teaching him Afrikaans.
“The guys told him that when a girl walks up to him he must say ‘Hello, nice tieties’ but when a guy walks up to him he must just say ‘Hello’!”

29 Comments
25 Jan 2006, 12:00 pm
Nice Tieties has worked a few times for me……….
25 Jan 2006, 12:04 pm
Van Rooyen banks on the constitution
Tuesday January 24 2006
Enquiry date expected soon
South African Rugby Union (SARU) president Brian van Rooyen is banking on the constitution in a desperate effort to cling onto his position of power.
Van Rooyen, who is facing a double assault on his presidency, has told the Afrikaans daily Beeld that he has acquired the services of one of the country’s legal heavyweights to assist him in the ongoing investigation into his affairs.
Apart from the challenge of KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union (KZNRU) president Oregon Hoskins, who will oppose him in the battle for the SARU presidency at the union’s general meeting on February 24, Van Rooyen is also facing a government driven enquiry into allegations that he is guilty on numerous charges of maladministration and breaches of SARU’s code of conduct.
Appeal Court judge Lex Mpati, charge with driving the investigation, has appointed retired justice Joos Hefer to head the Van Rooyen enquiry. Hefer is a replacement for another retired judge, Edwin King, who last week withdrew from the investigation because of the delay in finalising the “charge sheet”.
And Van Rooyen has now revealed that his legal team will be led by advocate Gilbert Marcus. Like the other members of the Van Rooyen team, he is an expert on constitutional law.
Marcus represented former president Nelson Mandela in the court case against former South African Rugby Football Union (SARFU) president Louis Luyt years ago.
Van Rooyen told Beeld that he “welcomes” the investigation into his affairs.
“But because my integrity and credibility are being questioned, I need experts in the field of constitutional affairs to assist me,” he told the newspaper.
“I want to make sure my constitutional rights are not impaired or violated. Everything hinges on the constitution.”
It has also been reported that the date for the start of the investigation will probably be announced on Wednesday.
What a doos, Brian if you are listening piss off….nobody like you anyway. We need Francois running rugby in this country.
25 Jan 2006, 12:06 pm
Mudguts van Rooyen is trying to muddy the waters
25 Jan 2006, 12:07 pm
Webmasters………are they having specials on Cheetahs stories or are you guys moving offices to Bloem.
25 Jan 2006, 12:10 pm
speaking of nice titties, where’s dawn?
25 Jan 2006, 12:23 pm
KSA
No they are still next to the mountain
Its just that no news on the Stormers is good news and Hendrik Cronje is really doing a swell job in print and electronic at the Volksblad- so it is easy to rip stories from there but hey I am not moaning- gives me a good time to debate
25 Jan 2006, 12:31 pm
Oranje,
I challenge you to find these quotes in the Volksblad
25 Jan 2006, 12:39 pm
OO
Then again the Sharks don’t have any good news at the moment either so I would rather read about my second province.
25 Jan 2006, 12:46 pm
Simon
left too hastily this morning to contest on maybe these comments- but do you want to extend the challenge to the other one’s
remember I am also in the cut & paste rewrite business
BTW please post Rassies Cell number
25 Jan 2006, 12:47 pm
And Simon as an afterthought
very touchy aint we..
25 Jan 2006, 12:52 pm
OO
Ek het vir jou email gestuur
25 Jan 2006, 12:59 pm
Thanks BloemLeeu
Sal terugmail voor einde van die dag
25 Jan 2006, 13:03 pm
Good business the “cut and paste” business, hee-hee,
Howzit OO, best wishes and thanks for the cool reading on OO, Cheers
25 Jan 2006, 13:11 pm
Lowen will make it easy for defences to read the Cheetahs attack.
25 Jan 2006, 13:17 pm
how do you figure that Brumby? Please do share…
25 Jan 2006, 13:25 pm
he was a crash ball player at the Chiefs
25 Jan 2006, 13:43 pm
I see so not much variation to what we’re used to anyway.
25 Jan 2006, 14:13 pm
OO,
As a blog, we bring you stories from everywhere, even the Volksblad. When we take quotes from them, we always credit them. Not everyone here can understand Afrikaans either.
25 Jan 2006, 14:16 pm
so he’s a similar player to mortlock then?
25 Jan 2006, 14:35 pm
Hey, what happened with the president’s meeting?
25 Jan 2006, 15:23 pm
“I can’t tell you how much it helps the youngsters in the team to be able to talk to someone who has played for the All Blacks.”
Rassie, doesn’t it help the youngsters in the team to be able to talk to someone who has played for the Sprinboks
25 Jan 2006, 15:46 pm
Mortlock actually makes line breaks
25 Jan 2006, 15:49 pm
Simon
Dont be so touchy- KSA Shark asked a question and I provided a “maybe unwarranted response”
Relax man – all is said in a good spirit- maybe you should read my first post to KSA again
again – I understand the quotes- like I said, as I read both Keo & Volksblad in the morning- having a full understanding of afrikaans and a so-so understanding of anglo- I can easily spot a pattern
and so what –
remember what KSA’s question was and see my response in context- jeez I dont mind a tiff – but this does not warrant it
have a good day.
25 Jan 2006, 16:27 pm
Intetesting how even Rassie is awestruck by these puny All Blacks, If we train like them and think like them then surely we should be able to plauy against them.
Just look at Cricket in Oz, our boys need to start believing the ozzies are actually also human and not super Gods.
Our players need to start believing in themselves as much as we fans believe in them, on the field it is 15 against 15 and 11 against 11, Go get them
26 Jan 2006, 00:44 am
Yep. An All Black is just a whole lot scarier than a Springbok.
26 Jan 2006, 15:11 pm
are mortlocks line breaks of his own making, or his talented inside backs?
26 Jan 2006, 15:13 pm
TheTackler – naturally they’re scarier. have you seen how ugly those fuckers are?
you really are chasing that – stating the obvious prize, aren’t you.
27 Jan 2006, 03:49 am
Haah! Dan Carter is an underwear model. Doug Howlett gets … well, use your imagination!
The AB’s are so scary because they are so bloody GOOD. They even have the likes of coach Franco Smith saying “I can’t tell you how much it helps the youngsters in the team to be able to talk to someone who has played for the All Blacks.”
Ja boet!
That old black magic is something that the once-feared green and gold simply no longer has.
It’s called fear factor.
27 Jan 2006, 10:15 am
thats it tackler , I think the sooner people respect our team the better , what is the use of not using a man like Lowen for his experience. I hope the locals dont linch the Maori fella …
At any rate , we’ll soon see what he adds to the team