Ludeke jolted by Jantjes scare

The Cats, already injury depleted, have been rocked by news that recalled Bok Conrad Jantjes may miss the start of the Super 14.

Keo.co.za has learnt that Jantjes, the stand-out Cats performer in last year’s Super 12, is struggling with an Achilles injury that might force him to go under the knife.

“The problem’s more wear and tear,” Jantjes said. “We’re giving it 10 days to see if it recovers, and if it doesn’t then surgery might be the only option. I’m too scared to ask the doctor how long I’d be out for, but let’ s just say at least a couple of weeks.

“I think it’s a case of it not being used to the higher work load of pre-season training. I played a lot of rugby last year and we’ve stepped it up in the lead up to the Super 14, so hopefully a bit of rest is all it needs.”

Jantjes did not perform to his expectations on the end-of-year tour, and admits his frustration at not being able to get stuck in immediately to ensure his Bok credentials are not doubted.

“I am very irritated by this. I had a good run last year but I’m feeling great and ready for the season. Hopefully the setback will prove minimal but at the moment it’s hard to tell.”

Jantjes’ concern is shared by coach Frans Ludeke, who already has his first three flyhalves struck down.

“I’m really worried about Conrad because there’s been no reaction to treatment yet,” Ludeke told keo.co.za. “We’ll make a call on what to do in 10 days, but it’s safe to say that we’re all really hoping that rest is all that is needed. It’s very worrying, he’s one of our key players.”

The recent run of injuries have already underlined the value of acquiring Earl Rose, with the versatile player able to cover both flyhalf and fullback.

Rose starts at 10 on Thursday against the Pumas in Witbank, with Oginga Siwundla standing in as fullback.

77 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.sthvh: Reply to this comment

I cannot believe this. THe season hasnt even started and we are into “wear and tear” inuries. WTF.

• 2.RedCard: Reply to this comment

sthvh,

Remember what Tim Noakes has been saying for the last 24 months..?

• 3.Zero: Reply to this comment

Eish…the paper champs are starting to look at bit thin…

• 4.BMM: Reply to this comment

Is this the year that Jake gets to really test the depth of talent in SA?? It is not going to be ideal in the run up to the WC. History shows that the team with the most consistantly selected team wins the trophy………. ;)

• 5.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Great, juuust great!!!! So, where is Kandas? Need to find a Spears Jersey…

• 6.Ig: Reply to this comment

Feel sorry for conrad – he showed good form last year and this could have been the year he tied himself in to the bok 22 !

• 7.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Ag nee! wat moet nou nog gebeur met my spannetjie. :( Sterkte Conrad, ons almal hoop jy’s gou terug!

• 8.leitz: Reply to this comment

Working, thanks Ig

• 9.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

And who will take Conrad’s place??? Are we drafting ‘Up and Under’???

• 10.parisian: Reply to this comment

These things happen I guess…really frustrating though! Hope it will get better with rest – the Cats need him!

• 11.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Plus, who is our flyhalf at present. Still Rose??? where is Snyman, we are lost without him! ****… I had a little bit of hope this year.

• 12.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Just a suggestion, how about putting all the links to the Provinces websites on here somewhere? Or won’t that work?

• 13.vleis: Reply to this comment

Hope Grrrr…..???!!!!????? :roll:

• 14.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Vleis

Ja, I know… Every year mate, every year…

Can anybody tell me about this Andre Hough caracter. Can he play???

• 15.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

:cry:

• 16.vleis: Reply to this comment

Grrrr….Apparently he is seen as a “wunderkind” in some cicles,but,he has not been tested in the top ranks,so,I dont think any-one can give a real opinion about how good he is!Remember all the hype around Grant from WP?And look what happened……

• 17.Zero: Reply to this comment

Grrr…Isn’t Jorrie a bit of a utility back? :twisted:

• 18.vleis: Reply to this comment

Cry me a river mate…….cry me a river!!!! :twisted:

• 19.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

grrrr,

ask eugene, he has about 6 pages of stats on this guy from his birth up till now

• 20.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Vleis

I know nothing about this oke but apparently the man impressed in trails so let’s see. Grant, well yes… The thing is with our players (like Grant) is that we keep saying they are young, they will mature but look at the Aussies etc. Those youngsters hit the groung running. At least Wp can always bring back ‘Small chips’ if the **** hits…

Zero

Our secret weapon! King Jorrie at flyhalf!! :D

• 21.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

you can have gus, he is also a utility player, **** imagine gus and jorrie in one team……

*shudder*

this is bad for the cats – i mentioned yesterday one more injury to a key backline player and they are screwed.

and their schedule is also not the best in the world.

cats het stront

• 22.Zero: Reply to this comment

:lol: @ Pissant, just imagine those two at centre….

• 23.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Well if this injury trend continues with my beloved kitties then we are indeed starring down the barrel of relegation.

So we’ll do our overseas leg with a depleted squad and in all probablity get snotted, our saving grace being all our injured players are ready to play in the home leg and try winning and catching up then…long shot

• 24.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Could it possibly be that these guys are’nt getting all their vitamins????

Calcuim intake may be low, I mean WTF is it with SA players falling injured at the wee smell of injury…

Keo what are the chances of getting some stats on injuries in the super12 from the last few years with re- to injuries.
    I bet we have 3-1 odds on having more than Auz and NZ combined.

• 25.vleis: Reply to this comment

CSB,on the relegation issue,dont worry too much,there are still the Sharks,Cheetahs and even the Stormers who must first make sure that they does not finish last!

• 26.vleis: Reply to this comment

CSB,I am with you,seems our players are more prone too injuries than the rest,of that I am 90% sure!Are our players enjoying the gravy train too much and getting soft in the process?

• 27.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Howzit Vlies,

Yea I think it could be a case of our boys becoming soft, the reasons for that I could’nt say.I mean it’s not like we’re genetically challenged…well maybe gus and jorrie but the rest have NO EXCUSE :-)

• 28.vleis: Reply to this comment

:lol: @ CSB!!!!!

• 29.vleis: Reply to this comment

Jorrie and Gus,what a pair!Lloyd and Harry??????

Genetically,and certainly mentally disadvantaged!

• 30.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

PissAnt

Please, no more!!! You are the ‘grim reaper’ of the Kitty Katte…

• 31.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

• 32.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Cats draw is only slightly less kak than the Sharks’. With the current injury load in both camps, but with guys like Brown, James, Jacobs, Davidson, etc all back in time for the Sharks tour, you got to fear for the Cats…

• 33.wpw: Reply to this comment

vleis, i have to disagree with you regarding Grant. He had 1 or 2 bad games thru’out the CC and you say look what happened. So how does one rate a player? 8 or so good games and 2 bad, so now he is a bad player? Look at Gaffie, anyone who still rates him needs their heads read.

P.S. Grant’s worst game was 60 min in semi vs FS. Do you blame him? His 1st CC semi and he didnt perform. So what! Maybe he will be better this yr. Well, lets hope he doesnt become another Derrick Hougaard…

• 34.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Vleis

U can call them “Dumb & Dumber” :lol:

• 35.wpw: Reply to this comment

i really hope the Bulls will have one of their normal S12/14 seasons and be relegated.(b4 last yr) Their supporters are too cocky for my liking!!! Sumhow i doubt that this will happen but hey, one can hope cant they?

• 36.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Jeez

I want to cut & paste this comment line and mail it to DavidS

It will surely bump up his mood!

• 37.leitz: Reply to this comment

We should be happy about the new relegation arrangement. At least that gives us lot a little competition within the bigger competion because we sure as hell are no contenders for the S14 title.

• 38.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Its all we can do is hope, no-matter who u support :cry:

• 39.vleis: Reply to this comment

wpw,cool down!!!All I meant regarding Grant was that at the beginning every-one was touting him as the next Bok flyhalf and a must for the tour,but,in his last games it was evident that he was not yet ready for the Big pressure matches and that he still needs some time too mature before he is ready for the next level!

The fact is,we create a massive hype around a young player,who may not be ready for the next stage,and then we throw them into the deep end before he is ready!

• 40.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

grrrr…..

next you will find that january will hurt his shoulder again because he was rushed back too quickly…..

• 41.wpw: Reply to this comment

Cool vleis. I agree. WRT those who were saying he should tour on EOYT, they need serious help. De Waal should have been there as he is a reliable kicker and had a good CC.

All those who said Grant shouldve been made a Bok dont know their rugby…

I think he has potential to be a Bok but he needs more experience, consistency and above all he needs to improve his kicking game…

• 42.KWV: Reply to this comment

wpw,

any progress finding a flyhalf for the Stormers? :roll:

• 43.vleis: Reply to this comment

wpw,same with Bosman or Hough for that matter.They may have the raw talent,but it needs to be refined,look at what happened to Hougaardt and Gaffie,both are extremely talented,but both were not managed correctly,and today they are at the bottom of the heap!

• 44.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ever thought the reasons why our rugby and cricketers get injured so much my be a problem with training methods etc.?

• 45.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Vleis

I also have heaps of talent in a certain event that if not manageded correctly leaves me in a big heap! Dopping!!!

• 46.adoons: Reply to this comment

He didnt do much on the end of year tour.

So, he wont be missed.

• 47.wpw: Reply to this comment

KWV
    I dont think we will get someone this late. We will give Grant, Naas and Sick Note a chance…
    Pity Earl Rose didnt get a run at 10 for WP last yr, he wouldve done well IMO. I get the feeling he and Jody r going to kook for the Lions/Cats eventually…

• 48.RickyRocket: Reply to this comment

Kitty Cats for relegation……..

• 49.bigg: Reply to this comment

Cats are kuk… They look good on paper but they can’t seem to walk the walk… Miow…

• 50.kyer: Reply to this comment

Hey Vleis,
    What do you call a Blue Bulls Supporter with a bottle of Champagne in his hands?

A Waiter!!!

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.