Stormers press conference LIVE

Keo.co.za took you into the Newlands boardroom for the weekly Stormers presser.

Kobus van der Merwe on his injuries

The update is as follows: De Wet should be back for the first game, Marius two weeks later hopefully. Joe will only be available in mid-March.

Kobus on the Spears

Young guys, only been together since beginning of season. They have a good spirit and we can’t underestimate them. It’s our last contact outing before the Cats so we are not going in to just chuck it around. We want to stick to our structures and play properly. They have a point to prove in terms of their inclusion and they will throw everything at us. We won’t underestimate them.

Jongi Nokwe on returning to the Stormers squad

I’m looking forward to this season. It’s great to be back in the squad, and I have an opportunity on Saturday that I’m determined to take.

Schalk Burger on his attitude

We don’t get a long time off, there wasn’t time to get unfit even. We have a job to do this weekend, and we are very excited. We have a point to prove, and I believe it’s important we start to play to our strengths. There’s a good attitude in the camp and I’m determined that the squad starts well.

Hanyani Shimange on the challenge of Schalk Brits

I did start most of the guys last year, but it’s a fresh start this year. It’s exciting, hopefully we’ll bring the Stormers back to what they were last year.

Shimmie on extra attention on him

I have a job to do on the field. Whether there’s limelight or not, I don’t really care. I just want to see the Stormers do well.

Kobus on Peter Grant

If you look at his season in perspective, my message to him is he’s come a bloody long way. We certainly back him as our No 1 flyhalf, but we are not naive. We know he can’t play every game, so our back-up is important. We will show faith in him, but the other guys must fight for their faces. With Naas here and the rumours of Jaco coming, it’s clear we have to have back-up at flyhalf. Pete will start, and depending on his performance and form, he will be first choice.

Kobus on his back-up flyhalf/fullback options

Joe Pietersen’s down very well, he showed on Saturday he can perform at this level. We have Chumani Booi coming back, he played two seasons for the Cats. Tonderai’s also played at fullback.

Kobus on whether Luke and Schalk will play left and right or open and blind

We’re going to use Luke as a specialist openside, which will allow us to maximise Schalk’s ball-carrying ability. In modern rugby it’s important that your seven and eight are also good fetchers, and Schalk, Joe and Adri all fit into that category. To start though we’re going to keep Luke in jersey 6 and use Schalk to run a bit more, which is a role I think he welcomes. He certainly enjoys it a bit more.

67 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.wpw: Reply to this comment

AndreWP
    I think we can be happy with a mid table finish… As long as we are above the Sharks. Look, i think the Bulls have more depth than us but we can do it. We will be better than last yr…

Remember, we had Gaffie, Gus and Kleintjips and Gert was playing Dixon instead of Shimmie and De Kock was 1st choice and captain. This yr we dont have gaffie, rossouw and gus wont get a look in. Shimmie and Brits will do well and Bolla and Dleport will hoefully do better than De Kock. Also, our backline is much better, JDV will do better cos he aint stuck on the wing…

• 52.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

wpw

I realy hope so , we do have the players but we will realy have to play as a unit. If Peter Grant can play a good game at flyhalf i am sure we will get good ball to the backline. I must say we do have a good backline this year. We have alot of speed. I am also looking forward to a good year. Maybe our pack is not as bad as we all think hey.

• 53.wpw: Reply to this comment

Andre
    We maybe dont have the pack which the Bulls or Cheetahs have but we have good locks in Skeate, Bekker and Britz. Our hookers are good too. We have 3 top class scrummies, 3 world class centres and we have speed on the wings. Our looseforwards are world class too. Our only problems lie at Fullback, flyhalf and at prop… Thats my opinion…

• 54.storm warning: Reply to this comment

What a bunch of pessimists.The Stormers have the best draw of everyone……..easy first game with a bonus point against the Kittens…….then 5 home games in front of 40 000 ” Men/women in Black”(with Will Smith hyping us on)……we should leave for Australia in 3rd spot……we have a by to help aclimatise before our bonus point win against the ” Western Farce”…then another 2 points for losing by less than 7 and we come home in 6th place on the log…….lose to Crusaders….bonus point win vs Sharks and squeak past Bully Boys in front of 48 912 supporters to make the semis!!!! Watch this space…….

• 55.hobo: Reply to this comment

Storm warning

That is the spirit ……:-) sounds very good!!

• 56.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Wpw

Maybe I can help. I have a few things lying around from my Kempton Park days that could help to sproose up that ‘cabbie’ of yours. American bandanna for the rear view maybe?? Some 6by9′s to gooi those lekker teckno beats?? I’m always willing to help an up and coming ‘damduiker’! I also have some silver brake and clutch pedals, unfortunatly lost the ‘go faster one’ but the other two will still look kief!!!

• 57.wpw: Reply to this comment

grrr…
    Howcome it sounds to me as if you wanna make a quick buck outa this ******? lol

I got 6 by9′s already, not one for subwoofers and an AMP really. Also, that extras like pedals etc just dont do it for me…

As for the comment about being a damduiker, i will have you know that i have had my fair share of women and unlike jondood, stan & st.p, i dont have an obsession with ****, nataniels, pillowbiters etc…

As far as i’m concerned, the ouens who are always on about **** & the likes are the ones who cant stop thinking about men… Thats why they always talking about it.

• 58.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Boet

A ‘damduiker’ has nothing to do with being ***!! A ‘damduiker’ is the type of guy that has a ‘kragkroon’ or mullet in english and soops up his Ford Cortina with all kinds of kak.

• 59.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Nice guys , nice to see that there’s still a few guys that stands behind our team. Let the games begin.

• 60.hobo: Reply to this comment

wpw

pillowbites …..classic!!

• 61.wpw: Reply to this comment

Sorry grrrr…. i guess i shouldve asked 1st…

So a damduiker is some1 like donner? OK, now i get it. Brandy & Coke too i suppose?

• 62.hobo: Reply to this comment

wpw

1liter brandy ,2liter coke and 3liter Ford…..

• 63.parisian: Reply to this comment

and most of the time there’s still coke left over…

• 64.JUSM: Reply to this comment

that, parisian, depends on the ice

• 65.stormerwayne: Reply to this comment

go stormers!!!

• 66.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

WPW

Go and read my comments to you on the Blue Bulls thread, tosser.

You guys seem to be able to beat the Cats/Lions for some reason. If they however fire in the forward department they will beat the Stormers.
    It is however a 50/50 game, enjoy that one and the one against the Sharks and the Force, you will get your asses kicked by all the other teams.

WPW
    I am going to enjoy watching us Free State and Bulls Dutchmen kicking your asses.

And don’t pretend that you were only joking, you and I both know you weren’t.

I can’t wait for a 50-0 score come the last game of the regular season, it will be beautifull, your own fans booing you again, priceless!

• 67.SiekSnortoffie: Reply to this comment

@ Storm Warning

Ja ou maat…Wat is `n kind sonder drome?

@ Bloubulsd

Nou praa jy!!

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.