Tonderai hangs tough

Despite pulling the same quad muscle that has kept him sidelined for four months, Tonderai Chavhanga believes the Super 14 will reinforce his Springbok claims.

Included in the Stormers starting XV to take on the Bulls at Newlands last Saturday, Chavhanga cruelly pulled the same muscle during the warm-up that had troubled him immensely in the latter part of last season.

Speaking to keo.co.za, Chavhanga re-affirmed his determination to recapture the form that saw him rip open the Blues in Auckland two seasons back.

“This is unfortunate, but I’m feeling strong,” Chavhanga told keo.co.za. “All I want to do is play, but I’ve just got to patient. I went for a scan yesterday, and the doctor is consulting with a specialist professor, but at this stage it doesn’t seem nearly as serious as when I injured it last year.

“I’m probably looking at a few weeks on the sidelines.”

Chavhanga’s 2005 culminated in a debut for the Boks against Uruguay, a mismatch he went to score six tries in. Injury and the good form of Breyton Paulse have prevented him from adding to that total, but 2006 is unlikely to unfold without him getting another opportunity.

“I’m going for more tests next Wednesday, then I’ll know exactly what I’m dealing with. Hopefully I’ll be ready for the Super 14, but it’s important I don’t rush the recovery. It’s frustrating but I’m still young and my body can handle it, and I’m very positive about the Super 14 and the role I can play in it.”

63 Comments

• 1.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Naught Bru

• 2.Stan: Reply to this comment

The most overrated backline player in SA.
    Fast, but so are many others. Spies, Nokwe, Lombaard etc.
    His try record is also one of the biggest farces in SA rugby history, as i compare him to Mordt, Carel and Danie Gerber. Their names should not even appear on the same paper.
    And no, it has nothing to do with his skincolour, before the bergdwerg starts bleating.

• 3.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Jeesh – it would be nice if Chavanga and Nokwe mature into “real deal” wingers during this year.

We need more attack options ala Brian the Great to keep defences worried out wide.

This will create more space for players like Jean to create things on the inside (with defences drifting wide – worried about coping with our pace) and leave more gaps on the side of rucks for our loosies to exploit.

To be the best in the world, you have to have attacking weapons spread across the field.

• 4.Ig: Reply to this comment

Sheeeeesh brew what is it with wingers never getting back into the game ? Ash, Tonderaai, Hall…….

• 5.Mongril: Reply to this comment

He’s still a youngster learning his trade Stan – he might become the real deal with a season or 2 at the top under his belt.

• 6.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

bergdwerg – classic

his game against the blues as mentioned was a ripper though – but it was only one game

• 7.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Stan
    No one is comparing him to any of the greats that you have mentioned. He is the however one of the fastest players in world rugby and shows huge promise.
    The fact that he is black is besides the point
    Is it not correct to grow the potential into reality??

• 8.GOUWS: Reply to this comment

Stan

Don,t agree with you Bru. He’s no BH but he has skill and blistering speed. Only time will tell…

• 9.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Spot on BWBG!

We need to learn to nurture talent in this country, not throw away promising talent, because e.g. a 19 year old prop can’t scrum England into the ground, ro because a seriously quick winger with great ball skills still need to work on the finer areas of hispositional/support/defensive play.

• 10.Stan: Reply to this comment

bluewhite and lots of other colours,
    He is too small and will not last. The days of small wings like Breyten are long gone.

When Chavanga became a bok there were a lot of other better wingers around. Mametsa to name one.Like all the others, let him prove himself at CC and S14 level before we talk about Bok colours.

• 11.wpw: Reply to this comment

I agree guys, he aint no legend yet and cant be compared to okes like Carel, Mordt etc. he does have some serious pace though and even though it was 1 game, any ou that can run around rococoko is class in my book…
    His defence is also great.

• 12.leitz: Reply to this comment

I agree that players should be nurtured and developed. However, I also believe that when wearing the boks jersey one should have reached a certain (high) level of skill. Unfortunately the bok jersey has become a bit cheap lately and I have serious doubts whether the likes of Tonderai should have worn it at the time.

• 13.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Stan
    Reality check. We are’nt talking about Bok colours, we are talking about super 14. How on earth can he prove himself at super 14 level if he does not play?
    Lets use what he has and work on the things he lacks.

• 14.Mongril: Reply to this comment

He’s not that small Stan (around the 90kg mark) – certainly will beat Breyton in most bodybuilding competitions! His lats look like bat wings and his quads are huge (probably overtraining them in gym though – thus the injury).

• 15.Stan: Reply to this comment

Dankie Leitz.

wpw, yes, it was very impressive when he left Rocokoco standing, but lets see when he has to tackle Rocococo or take a high one with Joe and Mccaw bearing down on him…

• 16.Stan: Reply to this comment

bluewhite….
    Exactly. He receided his Bok colours before he proved himself.
    Mongril,
    If he gets any bigger he will lose pace and then…

• 17.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Not necessarily, Stan – when building slowly and in balance he can put on 10kg in a year without sacrificing pace (agility yes – due to the laws of physics a heavier object’s momentum is more difficult to turn in a different direction – just ask Jonah.)

All about finding the balance that works best for him.

• 18.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Stan
    it was a clever intro into Bok rugby vs a lightweight team. No one is calling him the next Carel. We all agree that he needs to prove himself so let him prove himself. Time will tell how great he is. Dont right him off because he played one game for the bokke. Give him his chance he deserves it.

• 19.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Yes Stan, let’s not forget the Springbok blazer in Jorrie’s cupboard. Now that is CHEAP!

• 20.leitz: Reply to this comment

BWBG, thats not the point. Its not a personal thing about giving the guy a chance etc. We have created a system whereby players have become Sprinboks before proving themselves. This is not the fault of Tonderai or whoever else falls into that category. The point is that we now sit with a situation whereby guys have to afterwards prove why they have become boks in the first place. That just adds additional pressure on the guy and lessen their chances of ever becoming a regular bok.

• 21.Redox: Reply to this comment

Stan I think the most overated wing must be spies before he played his first s12 game last year the bulls media hyped him one of the biggest stars of the s12 watched him play for the sa students vs african leopards and he hardly looked like the next lomu. And now they have moved this fantastic winger back to 8thman what a waste of talent :)

• 22.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Stan
    He did and has not failed. If he is a success (and he was) then it should be deemed as a wise decision??

• 23.Mongril: Reply to this comment

And having chosen Spies, Lombard or Nokwe (as per Stan’s initial post) would have been any different to choosing TC, Leitz?

Can’t see the issue with Tonderai. He will still play many games for the boks (bar major injury), probably still at fullback when he matures (booming boot).

Certainly deserves his cap more than at least 20 from the Rudolph era.

• 24.Stan: Reply to this comment

So you all agree that he did not deserve his colours at the time when he received it?
    Thank you!

• 25.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

Stan
    Chatting with you is like banging my head against a brick wall!!!!!!

• 26.Redox: Reply to this comment

Yup Mongril i mean Gus toured with the boks to australia under rudi so he is a springbok excuse while i go and puke. :)

• 27.Stan: Reply to this comment

Redox,
    Like you said, the media hyped Spies, not heyneke or he himself. He is an immensely talented youngster, and has only became a winger at the age of almost 20. Not his choice either. look carefully at how slow Meyer introduces his youngsters into big rugby. SA has a real shortage of classic 8th men like Jannie Breedt or mallet and Spies could become the next one.

• 28.leitz: Reply to this comment

Mongril
    I’m critising the system not the person, read my post. I believe there are numerous players that fall into this category.

• 29.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Stan – you cant compare a guy at the outset of his international career with legends in SA rugby.

Its like saying – when Naas was picked to play for the springboks he hadn’t scored a single point in international rugby. duh!

Its a worthless comparison. I bet you ridiculed Jake when he picked Habana from obscurity. Now he’s a bull and I am sure you love him.

• 30.Stan: Reply to this comment

bwbg,
    Why? Because you agree with me?
    Cmon its not that bad to admit that you were. It has even happened to a long time ago!

• 31.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Yes Munkiboi – and Stan is probably not much of a Percy fan either; and although Johan Roets has not proven himself in over 50 test matches would prefer that option over Percy.

Insanity is in the eyes of beholder…

• 32.Stan: Reply to this comment

No Munki no.
    There are the Cullens, Burgers and Lomuhs of this world who could be picked for their countries at the age of 20, but they are far and in between. They simply have it. Chavanga doesnt.
    Like the rest of the majority, he has to prove himself.
    No, i do not love habana as he also still has a lot to learn.But he is good.

• 33.gaffie: Reply to this comment

The 2 Boland wings, Benjamin and Nokwe is far better than Chavanga! And watch out for Benjamin this Super 14, he is even better than Nokwe!

• 34.Stan: Reply to this comment

Mongril,
    Yes, i am not much of a Percy fan either. After 200 test matches he would still not be able to field a high ball so he was picked as the kicker then. If he would have done that, the 3N cup would have been in SA.
    Roets is not a kicker.But his defence is fearless and rocksolid, and he can take a up and under and retrieve his own U/U better than anyone else in the country. But that doesnt count- highlights does?

• 35.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

I’ll let time be the judge Stan.

Your affiliations and prejudices are well documented on this site. In this instance I have no respect for your opinion.

You say above that Chavangha is too small for international rugby?

According to the bulls website Habana is 179cm tall (180 on the SARU website)

Chavanhga is 184cm tall according to the Stormers website (and 181 according to SARU).

thanks anyways for making a *** of yourself.

• 36.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Fact is guys, that it’s all about getting your chance. Chavanga is a good wing and could be a great wing… same as a whole host of others in SA, but as individuals, they need to step up and show that little thing that makes them more special than the rest.

Habana, when given his chance at S12 and Bok level seized it with both hands. Personally, I think he is not nearly the complete package yet, but he has shown that he has a killer instinct that I have not seen on a wing outside NZ for a looooonnnggg time.

• 37.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Yes Stan – those same highlites that got Tonderai his bok cap. (????)

Which is it now – (1) experienced legends of the game (Danie Gerber, Carel du Plessis, Percy); (2) Up and coming talented youngsters (Bryan Habana, Tonderai, Spies) or (2) Never-good-enough-to-become-a-has-been (Johan Roets, Gus Theron, Gaffie, etc.)

Or maybe, as most good coaches do – a mix of (1) and (2); and as son as you see that someone you thought was a (1) is actually a (3) – get rid of him quickly!!!

Open the other eye – the picture looks better with a bit of depth perception.

• 38.Mongril: Reply to this comment

PS Stan: When refering to tournaments lost through a dropped high ball, you are probably still having nightmares about YOUNG INEXPERIENCED Meyer Bosman taking the ball out of Roetsie’s hands 5 minutes before the cup stayed in Pretoria?

• 39.Stan: Reply to this comment

Mongril,
    Yes, it was a bad mistake from Roets. His first dropped high ball. Only about 129 to go, to catch up with Perc.We lost that game long before that ball. And how did Bosman do when he became a Bok.

Highlights in the hair- not game.

Aapseun, druk jou beledings in jou gat. Praat met my rugby of fokkof.

• 40.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Hmmm… Did we touch a nerve there?

Never mind Stan, just wanted to prove the point of subjectivity in rugby related views.

• 41.Stan: Reply to this comment

Chavanga is 4cm langer as Habana. Befok. Maak dit hom groter/ frisser/ stewiger of maak dit hom langer?
    Salig is die wat arm van gees is….
    Dink voor jy beledings toedig, want jy maak dalk net n kont van jouself…

• 42.Stan: Reply to this comment

Not at all.
    having a good rugby debate is always fun.
    I was referring to Munki( **** me, what an appropriate nick) not to you Mongi the Mongril!

• 43.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Cool, no worries.

Enjoy the wind up of this debate – I’ll probably pop in for a chat on a story or thread that looks interesting tomorrow again.

OK-Bye

• 44.Stan: Reply to this comment

Cheers, have a good one.

• 45.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

stan the fact you’ve reverted to insulting me, rather than arguing the point you so boldly made really says it all.

bulk can be added. height cannot be.

• 46.Stan: Reply to this comment

Aapseun,
    Ek het jou nie beledig nie. Ek wel genoem dat jy nie beledigings moet spaar voordat jyself n gat van jouself maak.
    Praat met my rugby of los dit. So maklik soos dit.

• 47.Reinhardt: Reply to this comment

Gaffie
    I agree re Benjamin. Great talent. Far better than Nokwe, although Nokwe is good. Could even become a legend one day IMHO…

• 48.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Toderai Chavhanga is fast, but is that his only attribute? we have seen many speed merchants before, Jaco Reinach in 1986 was the Boks No.14 and SA 400m record holder too, does anyone still remember him?
    Pieter Hendrick ditto.
    There is a glut of talant coming through in SA Rugby and most will not make it to the Super14 level, now, the question is: has Chavhanga received appearances far more than his Super12 performances merit?!
    We probably won’t get an answer for it though.

• 49.lazyshazystormersboy: Reply to this comment

I personally rate Chavhanga above Benjamin. I’m a Boks/Stormers/WP supporter living in NZ and can say that Chavhanga is rated quite highly here after he made a mockery out of Joe Rokocoko in 04. Jonghi and Tondi together for the Stormers will create alot of trouble for the opposition and I think that Chavhanga should partner Habana on the wing for the Boks. He may have yet to prove himself but we have seen that he is able to become a great winger, glimpses which we saw in the 2004 Super 12. Also, even though Uruguay aren’t the best team going around, if I remember correctly, Tonderai pulled off the 2 best tackles in that game and showed that his defence can be as good as his attack and we all know how good that is. With no more injuries and some time he can become a REALLY good wing and someone who will be remembered in the future.

…….. and there is nothing wrong with his size, except for one of his legs being shorter than the other which is probably causing these injuries.

• 50.wls: Reply to this comment

Where exactly is this pace, hes not as fast as Habana, in the games ive watched hes never done anything remotly “Great” he finishes of what others started from 10 metres away from the try line? Unless i missed something?

• 51.lazyshazystormersboy: Reply to this comment

wls, you’ve missed alot brah

• 52.wls: Reply to this comment

LAZYSHARK Thats why i ask, because i just havent seen it in his game yet?

• 53.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

vetkoek,

probably the best post of the lot, it is about seizing opportunities – chavanga may or may not have it – we can debate the issue until christmas again – but it will be up to him, and only him, to prove to friend a foe alike he has what it takes, and for that, he needs to play.

same way roets proved last year we have more than enough cover at fullback, and i said many times before last season roets should not even play vodacom cup, that is how kak he is….

he came out, played brilliant rugga in 2005, and made me eat my words – like vetkoek said, its about taking your chances and proving your critics wrong – he did it, and chavanga needs to do it too.

• 54.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Stan,

I have to agree with wpw. You are the thickest ******** staying in the city of Tswane. **** you sicken me to my stomach. You would rather have a white Bull wing playing for the Boks (Morne who we all know is completely useless) than Chavanga.

Remember every god has its day but Dutchmen need to realize than in Sa we have 70 million blacks with 5 million whites. So do not be surprised if by the end of the year Loftus changes to TSWANE Soccer Stadium which the Bulls and Sundowns have to share (if my government pals have a say, this WILL HAPPEN)

• 55.wls: Reply to this comment

Stormsaam and with that reply you are quit possibly a bigger prick than Tackler LMFAO.

• 56.Stormer: Reply to this comment

and I have to agree with Stormsaam. Not about ‘dutchmen’ (uncalled for)

but you do have no idea Stan. Your prejudice blinds your judgement and appreciation. Leaving you unable to see a really promising talent. Probably one of those that bitched and moaned when Habana got his first call up to the national team.

Chavanga is a spectacularly fast and elusive runner. The core traits of a good winger that can’t be taught or developed. The rest can. His defence is already solid.

• 57.leitz: Reply to this comment

Stormsaam, funny how your post is probably more racist than any of Stan’s. But I’m sure you don’t get it, idiot.

• 58.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Damn imagine this backline:
    15. Shandre Frolick
    14. Jongi Nokwe
    13. Marius Joubert
    12. Jean de Villiers
    11. Tonderia Chavanga
    10. Jaco van der Westhuizen
    9. Paul Delport

Ok, I know that Barry is captain, Frolick injured and that Conradie and de Kok is ahead of Delport, but that could be the most feared backline in S14. Does anybody know what’s happening with Shandre Frolick. I believe he is the quickest in that backline?

• 59.Stan: Reply to this comment

Stormsaam,
    As jy siek voel, gaan kots en bly daar.Jy en Stormer moet eers die posts mooi lees voor julle my kritiseer. Ek het nie n wit Bulls vleuel se naam genoem nie, maar wel Mametsa.
    Zinto, n baie goeie agterlyn. Dit lyk amper soos die een wat met 75 punte verloor het!

• 60.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Sorry Stan maybe I was jumping to conclusions and I it’s just a coincidence that whenever you comment that a player is overrated that it just happens to be a non white guy. That must be it right? Coincidence

Same thing over and over

• 61.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Stormer,

Stan will also tell you that Kallis, Gibbs, Prince and Smith are all k@k cricket players because they play for Wp. Anyway I do not want to let a tosser spoil my day!

• 62.Stan: Reply to this comment

Ja Broodkop, ek sal sê dat Smith n kak kaptein en nog n kakker speler is.Hy en die afrigter verdien om gejaag te word.

• 63.stormerwayne: Reply to this comment

habana was sort of underestimated…and got to prove himself, now give chavhanga a chance..i think he has some quality, more than enough nitrous and trojan like defense, pretty good hands too.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.