Spears “don’t expect” to trounce Stormers

Spears coach Peter de Villiers does not believe his side has sufficient quality to beat the Stormers, yet.

Speaking to keo.co.za, a realistic De Villiers stated that he was not expecting to overcome the largely-first choice side named by Stormers coach Kobus van der Merwe for tomorrow’s friendly in Wellington.

“The Stormers have a great support base, have a side packed with Boks and have a lot to prove,” De Villiers said. “It’s short-sighted to think we’re gonna win, but equally short-sighted to think that we will not be desperate to keep the score down.

“I’ve said this before, but people must understand that it will take three years to get this team going. I am not putting pressure on the players. I want them to enjoy their rugby, we are working on a lot of things and will experiment tomorrow. What works we take forward and what doesn’t we abandon,”

De Villiers’ side were much improved last weekend where, despite losing to the Cats, they delivered a far more optimistic display than when on the receiving end of a Cheetahs’ 48-0 caning the week before.

“We did play better last week, but also worse. It was better in the sense that the guys started to gel as a unit, but worse in that we created far more chances and opportunities but just didn’t capitalise.

“It’s not all doom and gloom. We had 35 000 turn out to watch us play the Cheetahs, and whether they’re genuine supporters or just people out to determine if we’re good enough or just a bunch of baboons I don’t know. Having people interested in what we are doing is a blessing and a big privilege, though, and I’m confident we’ll win over supporters by establishing a brand of rugby that is distinctly South African. After all, what greater obligation does any rugby side have than to its supporters?”

The one factor in the Spears’ favour, a lack of expectation, is neglected by De Villiers as having any bearing on tomorrow’s result. Many of the Stormers’ first side will remember the last time they visited Wellington wearing blue and white, but De Villiers is equally dismissive of suggestions that the loss to Boland will have an impact.

“There is nothing in anyone’s past that determines their future. I don’t think the Boland game will have any effect on this game. They are a different team, bolstered by a lot of Boks. We have our work cut out.”

80 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.wpw: Reply to this comment

Of course they dont have enuf quality….

Cant compare the Spears to SA’s best S14 team…

• 2.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

wpw

That’s forsure

• 3.Methos: Reply to this comment

Wpw

verseker so

• 4.Narnia: Reply to this comment

I agree with you, in “Narnia land” Stormers are the best as well.

• 5.Ashes: Reply to this comment

Even the coach thinks it’ll take 3 yrs before these players are ready! What the hell are SA Rugby thinking to think these guys will be ready for 2007???

• 6.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

“or just a bunch of *******.” Imagine the uproar if De Villiers had been “previously advantaged” and said this of the Spears…my jinne!

• 7.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

“does not believe his side has sufficient quality to beat the Stormers yet.”
    Duh!! Go Sherlock Spears…

• 8.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Luckely the spears have this year of CC rugby to develope these unknowns into a competitive team. Maybe buy more players.

• 9.Ollie: Reply to this comment

If you ask me it seems that PdV has a good understanding of the reality of the situation and is going about his work in the correct way.

I wouldn’t be surprised if we see the Spears performing above expectation in the CC and some enterprising players starting successful careers in this team.

Go Spears. Give em hell.

• 10.x-fire: Reply to this comment

Haha, “Spears dont expect to trounce Stormers”, LOL. Can the Spears even expect to beat the Coffiefontein old boys?

• 11.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

A sure sign of the madness that is SARU. Perhaps the promotion/relegation should be delayed, and these guys can have their 2 year exemption starting in 2008. It gives them 2 years of CC to build a team, and be able to sign players from other provinces whose contracts are up.

In the end, a succesful spears team will only benefit SA rugby.

• 12.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

I would be bloody nice if they did beat the Stormers though, wouldn’t it?

Eish

Imagine the chirps I could come up with, with that sort of ammo?

• 13.Ollie: Reply to this comment

lol, StP
    The mountain goats will never live it down.

• 14.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

So if it’s going to take 3 years to develop a team in the Spears franchise, can I just ask why it is that they are playing in the Super 14 in 2 years?

Clowns!

• 15.Ashes: Reply to this comment

Vetkoek,

my thoughts exactly!! They should postpone the promotion/relegation for at least another year…

• 16.lazyshazystormersboy: Reply to this comment

50+ to the Stormers. It’s pathetic having these guys so soon in Super 14 next year. Here in NZ, NOONE except a few of us who follow SA Rugby know that a SA team will be relegated after this years Super 14, nothing has been mentioned about this stupid relegation system.

• 17.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

well not that i agree with the methos they used to do this – it causes more harm than good imo.

but you also have to ask, seeing that every single year a SA team finishes bottom of the log – what makes them have more of a right than the Spears to play S14?

so the Spears in everyone’s views will end up last, how is that different from SA super 12 teams loosing all 11 games, or maybe just winning 1 in the past?

personally if they wanted to do a promotion relegation system they should have used the CC system where the top 4 goes through – we do not have enough quality for 5 team, hell personally i would think 3 is pushing it.

• 18.bluewhiteblackgreen: Reply to this comment

This promotion/relegation idea is a balls up before it begins. We never had 4 competitive super 12 sides, so now we won’t have 5 competitive sides in the super 14. The best idea would be to keep the number of sides to 4! why do we have this silly prom/releg system when the AB’s and Aus don’t. I will tell you why, COS IT IS STUPID- thats why! Thanks Brian!

• 19.bomskok: Reply to this comment

Lets hope St Piepie doesnt get his wish…I can only imagine how original his chirps would be if “75-14″ is anything to go by!

• 20.Ashes: Reply to this comment

pissant,

would the 3 teams be regional or the top3 of the CC??

• 21.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Players Pieter de Villiers should be looking to strengthen there squad imo:
    Chiliboy Ralepele, Leon Karremaker, Jonathan Mokwena, Andre Hough, Sean Plaatjies, Thabang Molefe, MJ Mentz, Jandre Fourie, Tiger Mangweni, Henly du Plessis, Anvor Schooney, Jody Jeneker, Nicholae Blignaut, Steven Sykes, Werner Loftus, Gunder Williamsen. Denzel Manual, Fabian brandt. Maybe some oversees based players like Hottie Louw, Geo Cronje, Tinus Delport, Pat Barnard etc???

• 22.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

ashes,

top 3 finishers in my view, they will host all matches in the Super whatever.

other players not contracted with these unions will form a national pool and together with their union exec’s, the national coach and the unions that qualified, negotiations will determine where they play – taking the players interest at heart and compensation to his home union, what the national coach wants from these players in the interest of Springbok rugby, and the unions where they lack depth.

simple really.

but newscorp deals determines that a longer competition, with more teams = more viewing time = more revenue the fat cats put in their pockets.

• 23.Stan: Reply to this comment

Dont forget Boland boys…..

• 24.Ashes: Reply to this comment

Sounds good & at least the teams would be more competitive!!!

• 25.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

the top 3 CC teams gets just reward for performing in the domestic competition, they make revenue through hosting matches at their home grounds.

domestic competition (CC) improves as well, because it will determine whether they play super whatever rugby – no boks rested bullshit.

while the Super whatever is on, the players not involved strengthens the farce that is vodacom cup and actually improve development of rugby in SA through this competition.

players wont suffer burn-out, we see quality rugby = everyone wins, except the idiots only interested in their own pockets and by how much it swells obviously…

• 26.Stan: Reply to this comment

wpw,
    For once i fully agree with you.
    you cannot compare the Spears to SA’s best S14 side. Hell, i would not even compare them to the Stormers…

• 27.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

hehehe,

jou gat stan

• 28.vleis: Reply to this comment

LOL @ Stan!!!!!!!!:mrgreen:
    :smile: :smile:

• 29.wpw: Reply to this comment

LOL Stan.

Somehow i was expecting that from you.

We will just have to wait and see. How about changing your nick if we finish higher than you on the table? And i’ll change mine if the Bulls finish higher than us?

• 30.RickyRocket: Reply to this comment

Let be honest here, I dont think the Spears could expect to trounce Pretoria Boys High 3rd team

• 31.Stan: Reply to this comment

Hallo ou Vleislyf. Hoe het dit gereen daar by julle?

wpw,
    Dink jy hierdie nick verandering is n goeie idee? Dit het verlede jaar n klomp manne knorrig gemaak!

• 32.vleis: Reply to this comment

“Ja Boet,Onthou Boland!”:oops:

*sug*

“Ja Swaer,Onthou die Bulle…….”:oops:

*snik*

“Ja Boet,Onthou die Cheetahs……..”:oops:

*snik* en snot afvee,

“Ja Swaer,ek onthou,maar help my bietjie onthou,teen wie het die WP of die Stormers NIE verloor NIE??”:cry: :cry:

• 33.Stan: Reply to this comment

wpw,
    Raait, ek aanvaar jou uitdaging. Wat wil jy he moet ek jou noem oor ses maande of is die keuse myne?

• 34.vleis: Reply to this comment

Stan,reen nog aanmekaar,en ek moet my huis klaar geverf kry voor die S14 begin!Dis naelskou op hierdie stadium!

• 35.Stan: Reply to this comment

Dis goeie nuus want die volk moet vreet en dan is daar nog n paar miljoen onwettiges wat ook moet gevoed word.

• 36.vleis: Reply to this comment

Ja,goeie nuus,maar wat gebeur as ek moet verf as die Bulle se openings game aan is????My vrou is al donners moeilik,ek stel hierdie joppie al lank uit,en het nou begin,so ek moet klaar maak!

• 37.mohawkius: Reply to this comment

Is Ross Skeate playin?

He is stormers best lock and he will definitely play for the bokke oneday! Go on Skeate, show us wot u got…

• 38.wpw: Reply to this comment

Stan, ons los dit maar eers. jy gaan te kwaad en mislik wees wanneer jy jou nick moet verander…

• 39.Stan: Reply to this comment

Sny op die welbeleë eik en verskaf werk aan n behoeftige(of n WP ondersteuner, want hulle kyk mos nie regtig rugby nie)

• 40.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Zinto…Can you imagine Geo playing for the team geared at development rugby in RSA…Visa advert stuff. Otherwise Im with you 100%. Chilliboy to spearhead the spears. Watson, Mokuena, Solly, Hendricks, Loberts. A mix of youth and some retrieved overseas boys….Shoshaloza stuff

• 41.Stan: Reply to this comment

wpw,
    Het jy nie vertroue in jou span nie…

• 42.Hooker2: Reply to this comment

I hope that everyone realises that the SPEARS team that plays in the CC will not be the same one that competes in next years S14. The team that gets rlegated will just lose all their players to the spears. They’ll get their @rses whipped in the CC though.

• 43.vleis: Reply to this comment

Smellthis,only one problem with that idea,most of those players you mentioned are from other unions.Was it not the Spears’s ultimate drive to develop new talent from the EC region,kinda like playing with their own,homegrown players?

• 44.Zinto: Reply to this comment

A compatitive team made out of the guys I mentioned could look somthing like this.
    1. Fabian Brandt
    2. Chiliboy Ralepele
    3. Pat Barnard
    4. Geo Cronje
    5. Hottie Louw
    6. Sean Plaatjies
    7. Bul Roubenheimer
    8. Jonathan Mokwena
    9. Warren Malgas
    10. Andre Hough
    11. Luvo Songidashi
    12. Vusumzi Mbulali
    13. Spenser Wakeling
    14. Tinus Delport
    15. Jandre Fourie

This team still has 9 players of colour, but will be strong. Very talented backline and strong forwards.

• 45.vleis: Reply to this comment

Zinto,same thing,most of those players are from other unions,what is the usse of the Spears then?Read my previous post.

• 46.Hooker2: Reply to this comment

In an ideal world they would develop their own talent, but sposorship money talks, and when you lose, you lose sponsors. My money says you’ll see big name players on their player sheets next year, WHICHEVER union hey come from. Most likely the LIONS!!!

• 47.vleis: Reply to this comment

Hooker,but what does it say about the Spears?They created this massive hype that they stand for the developement of the local players and transformation,and they were,and still is lauded for that,but if the start buying and poaching players from other unions,what makes them differant from teams like Stormers,Bulls or Cheetahs?They get slammed every year ‘cuase they “buy” their players of colour,and dont develop local players!

• 48.Hooker2: Reply to this comment

Zinto, do you honestly believe that the team you listed could match up to the Crusaders or Blues or even the lowly Sharks for that matter. No chance!!

• 49.Hooker2: Reply to this comment

Vleis, my point exactly. Whatever those poor boys in the Wcape do they are stuffed. Unfortunately, the richer provinces ‘buy’the best ‘players of colour’ and the smaller unions lose out. If those players stayed with their home unions I don’t doubt that they could be competitive. Money talks in the world of professionalism, and they’ll need to spend some money to be competitive. they have to develop what they have right now, but when the players from the relegated union want to play S14, the easiest thing to do will be to offer their services to the Spears.

• 50.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Die rugby moet nou begin, ‘n mens kan net vir so lank k@k praat…

Hooker2

So, who do you support???

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.