Willemse unscathed from Pumas return
27 Jan 2006
Ashwin Willemse has returned to competitive rugby, playing the final 30 minutes of the Cats’ 41-13 win over the Pumas in Witbank.
Coach Frans Ludeke has been determined that the latest comeback by the former SA Player of the Year will not be aborted, and thus his reintroduction has been cautious.
“Ashwin is right on schedule to be fit for our first game,” a relieved Ludeke told keo.co.za. “He came through nicely last night and I will look to start him against the Sharks in our final game before the Super 14 begins. If he can get through 60 minutes there, he should have shaken off the cobwebs sufficiently to start against the Stormers.”
Despite again not impressing some observers, the Cats emerged from Witbank with the solace that there were no additions to the injury list.
They outscored the hosts five tries to one, with perennial favourite Jorrie Muller dotting down twice, and Jaque Fourie, Daniel Muller and Ernst Joubert all grabbing one each.

90 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
27 Jan 2006, 11:32 am
Who wrote this? Very nice use of the word perennial. It realy sums up old Jorrie very well.
27 Jan 2006, 11:38 am
PissAnt
Fines meetings are wicked.
We always had fines meetings after rugby games at my previous club. Even if you didn’t play because of injury you still end up pissed.
Have you ever had proper court session after games where the guys accuse each other ? We once had a coach who wasn’t the biggest drinker around down 2 beers. He passed ou behind the bar 15 minutes later.
27 Jan 2006, 11:43 am
hehehe,
methos,
i am still trying to figure out which fines meetings were worse – the court sessions seems to be a CPT thing, no club in the north did that.
if i had to list the worse fines meeting according to the sport it would be:
3. action cricket
2. rugby (club)
1. cricket (club)
somehow the club cricket fines meetings were always the worse, man some of these guys could pack it away…….
had one or two baseball ones as well – those okes are just plain bloody loonatics
27 Jan 2006, 11:52 am
PissAnt
The court sessions gets done like this. The select a judge and 2 helpers (Accessors) ?Sp or something like that. They then sit a the table and the rest of the squad sit around them. They then start from the left to the right. Each guy has to nominate someone for something they did during that game. If you have a crappy accusation they make you drink. If the charge is upheld they decide on a suitable punishment for the offender.
(number of drinks.) Lots of fun. The worst one I had was when I accidently broke our 8′th man’s nose during a game. He was vice captain as well.
You also have to adress the judge as “Edelagbare” etc. If you screw up it’s bottoms up.
I’ve always wanted to try baseball. Where did you play ?
27 Jan 2006, 11:54 am
Hey PA,
Old casper has saved the Bulle on a many an occasion with his reliable boot.More than Percy can say in last 3n game…
27 Jan 2006, 11:55 am
ja robd thought you would say that. suppose if we could hide him at fullback that would be ok
PA, i also really enjoyed my action cricket. played in pta though. played for two teams at one stage. got pissed all the time. these days can’t get drunk on a school night any more. all professional and stuff. rediculous.
grrr… details please.
27 Jan 2006, 11:57 am
JUSM
Details??? Hell, I have pictures!!!
27 Jan 2006, 11:58 am
Grrr…
Attaboy!!!!!!!
27 Jan 2006, 11:59 am
methos, broke the vice cappies nose?? geez… that’ll cost ya. big time.
27 Jan 2006, 12:00 pm
ag pleeez, JUSM. He only appears to hide from the opposition – that is because he’s so fast they can’t tackle him.
(Really scraping the bottom of the barrell here)
27 Jan 2006, 12:00 pm
Zinto,
Spies is a unbelievable talent but still very young. Thats why Meyer is saving him and will slowly introduce him into big rugby to avoid another gaffie or Hougaard. he has played 8th man for most of his life and has only been converted into a winger the last 3 years. Dont expect too much from his this year, but watch him next year.
27 Jan 2006, 12:04 pm
lekker grrr!!!
hope you not joking about the pics!! any movies?
27 Jan 2006, 12:06 pm
But are they going to use him as a wing, or as a number 8? Surely they need to decide pretty damn fast, or he’ll end up being another Brent Russell, although far worse of.
27 Jan 2006, 12:10 pm
Very true Robd.
Fortunately he is still young.When he was younger, he was much bigger than the other wingers. Now he is in big league. Maybe he should stay at eigth, as we have a severe shortage of real no 8′s, but a lot of promising wings.
27 Jan 2006, 12:10 pm
Sorry to say but Paulse is out of the picture. Last Friday during Clemont-Auvergne vs Leicester his opposite wing scored four tries, one directly due to a bad Paulse miss-tackle, one due to Paulse not being able to stop the fullback from passing out the tackle and a third to a gap he left. Add two dropped balls to that.
It was sorry to see, painful to watch.
27 Jan 2006, 12:14 pm
RobD
They decided to convert him into a wing 2 or 3 years ago but now they seem to have changed their mind. My personal feeling is that they should use him at No 8. He’s big enough and speed will always be a bonus there. He’s also got a lot of ball skills and will spark some interesting attacks. Also tall enough for a lineout option.
We have lot of wings in SA with pace to burn. We have a desperate shortage of 8′th men with ball skills and speed. Big Joe has speed and skills but he’s not hard enoug for my liking. Jacques Cronje has the grunt but not the speed and skills.
27 Jan 2006, 12:15 pm
lol robd
Methos is right – we are in dire need of a skillfull, yet hard, number 8
But he would still make the Stormers with ease…
27 Jan 2006, 12:20 pm
Stan
Gaan K*k in die mielies
27 Jan 2006, 12:20 pm
Methos,
Krip jy, of do great minds think alike?
27 Jan 2006, 12:21 pm
Stan
Krip wat ?
27 Jan 2006, 12:22 pm
Methos,
Ek het verwys na Paulse, nie Spies nie.
Spies sal nooit die Stormers maak nie, hy is heeltemal te talentvol daarvoor!
27 Jan 2006, 12:22 pm
Stan – yesterday I read you rate Mametsa higher than (I can’t recall which wingers you mentioned). The guy puts in the effort, but his lack of pace is dead cert to block his higher honours.
Paulse though is at the end of his career – can look back with joy having achieved a lot. Internationally he is gone, provioncial (Currie Cup) he’ll still do OK.
27 Jan 2006, 12:23 pm
Ek verwys na ons 2 se post oor Spies wat amper dieselfde was!
27 Jan 2006, 12:26 pm
Methos,
I played club rugby in CPT, know all to well about that, but never experienced it up north, maybe the PTA boys can let us know if they have it up there????
27 Jan 2006, 12:26 pm
Stan
Sorry. I see your previous post now. Nope. Not kripping. I was busy typing an Email half of the time while also busy replying here. Didn’t see you comments until now. I saw the Bulls squad the other day and was struck with how many wings they have. Also Anton Leonard have retired so the will need a backup No 8.
The time he spent in the wing won’t be wasted since it would have taught him new lines of running that would be usefull in broken play. A 8′th man that runs like a wing. There is a match winner.
27 Jan 2006, 12:31 pm
Methos- Gecko
We have such a 8 – only problem is – he is not tall enough for Mr White
His mom called/calls him Ryno- in the Free State he is called yster
, but then he is often confused with a couple of other guys yet to get a green blazer, like Barend etc
27 Jan 2006, 12:35 pm
gecko,
I was referring to Mametsa as a winger that has proved himself at CC and S12 level, compared to Chavanga, who became a Bok before proving himself. At this moment i rate Ndugane higher than Chavanga as he he proved himself and scored some spectacular tries against decent international opposition.
27 Jan 2006, 12:40 pm
OO,
Ek stem. Met 2 goeie slotte en Burger het ons nie werklik n lang 8 nodig nie. Ryno sal nooit die Bokspan in die steek laat nie.
Methos,
onthou jy toe John Williams in n S12/10 wedstryd vir joost op vleuel gekies het en toe hardloop hy die kak uit hulle uit?
27 Jan 2006, 12:45 pm
Stan
Nope. Onthou nie daai een nie. Op daai stadium nig in die Noord Kaap gebly. Net enjins gehad wat krag opwek. Hulle is eers aangesit as dit donker is.
Ek en my broer het maar elke Saterdag middag op die gras rugby of krieket gespeel pleks daarvan om dit te kyk.
27 Jan 2006, 13:06 pm
stan – I remember the incident, but I can’t say i recall it being a success…
27 Jan 2006, 13:09 pm
I do recall Joost replacing Chester (when concussed) against England in’94 at Newlands and having a run down the townline in the move that lead to Andre Joubert’s try.
27 Jan 2006, 13:10 pm
Robd,
That was out of desperation and need…
27 Jan 2006, 13:56 pm
I remember that Gecko, that was in his younger days, when he still had a bit of speed.
27 Jan 2006, 13:57 pm
I am glad Ashwin got through a game [or part thereof] unscathed. He was definately the SA player of the 2003 World Cup, only hope these injuries havent slowed him down.
27 Jan 2006, 15:26 pm
Craig – to be honest I thought Big Joe was our best player in that tournament. The moment we lost him for the quarter final, I knew any faint hope we had of winning had evaporated!
27 Jan 2006, 15:49 pm
Zinto – That backline is too light. Nokwe, Frolick will get destroyed by England and the likes.
And Jaque Fourie is the most creative player in the BOK backline. I would rather this backline
15. Fourie
14. Willemse/Paulse
13. Joubert
12. JDV
11. Habana
10. Bosman(Couple of years experience)
27 Jan 2006, 19:02 pm
And I thought the brave comeback attempt of Willemese was the thread’s topic?
End of last year I read that his future hanged in the balance according to the surgeon but no further news, so if we ignor the latest mumble jumble, question is: is Willemse is fully match fit? did he make a full recovery/
28 Jan 2006, 06:32 am
leeanthonyw- you say nokwe is too light? his bigger than paulse…
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All