Pretorius: I’ve been framed

In a Keo.co.za exclusive, Andre Pretorius has revealed that he was not even behind the wheel when arrested for drunken driving in the early hours of Saturday.

Pretorius was arrested in Bryanston after a collision with another vehicle, with police suspecting both the Bok flyhalf and the driver of the other car of being under the influence.

“This is an outrage,” Pretorius told keo.co.za, viciously denying the charge. “First of all, I wasn’t even driving the car. My girlfriend was. Secondly he hit us, we were hit from behind. I heard on the news that I had smashed into another car, giving the impression I was out on this drunken rampage. It’s just totally incorrect, scarily so.”

Pretorius described the events leading to his eventual arrest.

“My girlfriend and I were having dinner with friends in Bryanston. We left, my girlfriend driving and I was in the passenger seat. We weren’t going fast, about 60km an hour, when we were hit from behind. We immediately stopped, and were in the process of exchanging details with the driver of the car that had hit us when the police arrived.

“No angry comments were made, no threats from anyone. Yet unbelievably the cops on the scene called for back-up. I couldn’t understand this, we were standing on the side of the road exchanging details after a relatively minor accident, and now it was like we’re these fugitives.

“Anyway,well the back up arrived, and obviously one of the guys recognised me because he said threatingly, ‘Just because you’re a Springbok doesn’t mean you can get away with stuff like this.’ I tried, in vain, to explain that my girlfriend – perfectly sober – was driving but he would have none of it.

“He asked me for my driver’s license, so I handed him my girlfriend’s because she was the driver. How can he deduce who was driving when we were standing on the side of the road? Yet still he insisted it was me, eventually arresting me and the other driver.

“I was taken to the Randburg police station, where I spent the night in a cell. It was surreal. I was accused of racism, it was like this nightmare – a practical joke gone wrong. I am anything but a racist, and I wasn’t even driving!”

Pretorius has taken legal counsel, and will appear in the Randburg Magistrate’s Court on Monday. He is confident that his innocence will be proven.

“Right now, I’ve got to ask the public not to judge me before the court has. I am 100% innocent of any wrongdoing, and the judicial process will show that. This is a setup, and my name will be cleared.”

Both Cats CEO Andy Turner and coach Frans Ludeke support Pretorius’ version of events, and no disciplinary action is being considered.

79 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Cop must have been a Bulls fan, not surprising considering how **** the Cats have been these past few seasons in the super 12.

• 2.NJ Bok: Reply to this comment

Welcome to the New SA :-)

• 3.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

nz bok, you get arsehole self-importaint-i-love-the-little-authorithy-i-have-everywhere-and-will-enforce-it, dudes everywhere in the world, not only in the new sa.

a lesson in only learnt once i left the country to study.

sorry andre, i judged u on the first media report. something that all sa dudes my age should know better then, considering even othelo was banned in the old days, thanks to the state controlled media.

• 4.jondood: Reply to this comment

Kners

I also judged.

My apologies, Andre.

• 5.Zhak: Reply to this comment

“…eventually arresting me and the OTHER driver.”

The modifier “other” implies that the noun describes not only the object itself, but also the object that is used in conjunction with it. In other words, Pretorius implicitly confessed that he WAS a driver as well. We’re on to you, Andre.

• 6.GhostShark: Reply to this comment

I hear the”other” person was in fact Andre Nel, out on a “drunken rampage”

or perhaps Andre Nel is Andre Pretoruis’ girlfriend.

• 7.oink12: Reply to this comment

oh. We believe you andre

• 8.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Is there a “drinking culture” among top SA rugby players then? So Australia and New Zealand are not alone in this?

• 9.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

yes tackler, we are onto you sheepshaggers – soon we will be better than you in everything.

will wait for the courts to decide then – if he is innocent i will slap that police guy with so many law suits he will wish he was tackler.

• 10.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Zhak
    So is the salary you get as a grammar teacher good? :-)

• 11.GCC: Reply to this comment

no zhak. he could’ve said “the other person driving the other car involved in the accident”. the other driver simply means exactly that. his girlfriend was the one driver and the other person was the “other driver”. simple. how would’ve you said it?

• 12.wls: Reply to this comment

Pissant i guess if going to dinner in upmarket Bryanston to a friends house is considered a drinking problem or better yet compared to going into the outback to a local shabeen and drinking with sheep. then our rugby does have a problem LMFAO.

• 13.Stan: Reply to this comment

We were joking about this yesterday, but i believe Andre. This has happened to a few people i know, including myself. If you do not want to pay a bribe, they become threatening. We all know that Spietkops has always been dubious characters, but this is taking on typical African proportions. Welcome to the new SA.

• 14.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“….if he is innocent i will slap that police guy with so many law suits he will wish he was tackler…”

Is it POSSIBLE to successfully sue a SA cop simply for doing his job? Has anyone ever tried and succeeded in doing so?

Or is it all just another empty threat from South Africa? You know, like every year’s new empty threat that finally a South African team would win the Super 12 (now the Super 14)

South African “threats” appear to be consistently toothless affairs! By now it’s become part of the “national character”, one suspects!

Lots of fizz and sizzle, but absolutely bugger-all steak.

• 15.Stan: Reply to this comment

This is where we are heading:

Zim plunges into darkness
    28/01/2006 17:18 – (SA)
    Harare – The Zimbabwe Electricity Supply Authority plunged the cities of Harare and Bulawayo into darkness for about four hours on Friday evening, saying it has been forced to make power cuts because of a ‘power shortage’.

Zesa spokesperson, Obert Nyatanga, said : “We introduced load shedding in some parts of Harare and this also affected other parts of Bulawayo suburbs.

“Eskom was experiencing problems with its own generators, so we ended up having a shortfall of 400 mega watts which resulted in power shortages.”

He added that the problems should be solved by the end of next week: “We have taken one of our generators… for repairs in preparation for the winter peak electricity demands.

“But the situation was made worse because of problems at Eskom which resulted in our imports being reduced by 80%.”

About 60% of Zimbabwe’s power requirements are met through internal generation, and 40% through imports from South Africa, the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Mozambique.

• 16.wls: Reply to this comment

Stan we may be heading that way, but its a fuckside better than living on the arse end of the world in a stinkpit where the sheep are more atratcive than the women and Summer is a boinus when you have three sunny days above 12 degrees lol.

• 17.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

“…..South African “threatsâ€? appear to be consistently toothless affairs! By now it’s become part of the “national characterâ€?, one suspects!”

yes like out threats that never again will coward son’s of ******* ever again impose something like apartheid which is why you ran away….

or like, never again will the AB’s come to SA and simply walk over the boks…

or never again will the AB’s win the WC (which they actually never one seeing the first one was no proper WC anycase)….

4 more years …………

• 18.bliksem: Reply to this comment

PissAnt the oke is missing SA thats all.Why would he spend time on a SA website if he doesnt miss SA.I wonder what he misses the most.Biltong,decent meat…He is in all prob also a member of some Saffer club over there who has all those cultural events when they get veryu homesick.Diont get me wrong,beautifull country nice people and amazingly ugly women.

• 19.wls: Reply to this comment

Its actually quite sad old Tackler, mind you im tackler so wah :)
    And i guess the biggest DOOS comment yet to come out of Tacklers mouth has to be “South Africas Threats are consistently toothless affairs” considering your South African LMFAO, you have ot be stupid lol.

• 20.citizenc: Reply to this comment

I have NEVER encountered petty officialdom so rampant anywhere as Australia, which I’ve probably visited at least 15 times from 1980 to date.

Our lot have a long way to go before they possibly can be that nit-picky.

Even so, our Jozi metro police are a growing problem. They are woefully ineffective and corruption appears to be endemic.

I wonder what really happened that night?

• 21.Murph: Reply to this comment

SAP friend of me !

• 22.GhostShark: Reply to this comment

Citizenc

Could not agree more! I’ve entered Aus 3 times, and 3 times I’ve been singled out. I realise that they are only doing their job but they’re a pretty anal bunch.

In 2004 I actually flew form JHB to Sydney with the boks (while, on the same plane at least). Upon arrival I was pulled out and told to empty my bags. They then swabbed all my luggage, my wallet and get this, my glasses. Unfortunately they found tiny traces of weed. This meant they started asking some rather searching questions right around the time the rest of the plane had started filtering through. Then they gave a pat down. By this stage I was preparing myself for the enivitable cavity search. I told them the truth, that yes, I smoke a’lil flower, but no I have none on me. I was then taken to a room and questioned! Eventually, when I convinced them that I had been to Holland and that I was no Chappelle Corby, they let me go. I had however missed my connectiong flight.

I have also been thrown out of a club for daring to walk around the edge of a dance floor carrying drinks, have had to resit my learners and licence 8 years after passing it back home, and been warned by police for telling some teenage drunken goths to “get f***ked” after they spat at me at a bus stop. I was stone cold sober, they were drunk and underage.

Police state!

• 23.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“…never again will the AB’s come to SA and simply walk over the boks…”

Really?

The AB’s did a whopping 50 pointer walkover on the Boks in their Tshwane back yard as recently as 2003!

The Boks biggest EVER win over the AB’s — in all of recorded history —- was a mere 17 pointer and that was in Durban way back in 1928…

Some talk the talk. Others actually walk the walk. And, in the world of real-live true-blue rugby, those walkers always seem to be wearing a jet-black jersey with a silver fern on the left breast.

• 24.bliksem: Reply to this comment

So tackler what ex pat clubs do you belong to.I reckon you are a Jaffer.Jaffers are a very sad lot.Seriously dont you think NZ has the shittiest meat and wine.Thwe woman are also ugly,but then again you are a Jaffer so i reckon girls dont interest you much.

• 25.aus shark: Reply to this comment

Tackler you are an idiot, I have been reading this site for a long time and never posted – but you warrant a post reminding you of what an idiot you are. Now I will go back to ignoring you as it gives you less to write about and will in turn irritate me less not having to read you dribble.

However I look forward to having some sensible posts with the rest of you this season.

• 26.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Julle lozers wat nou se sorry nadat julle voorheen gejudge het. Gaan sit in n hoeekie en dink eers mooi oor hoe ****** pateties julle is om alles te glo wat julle lees. (Vir al wat julle weet praat keeo ook kak) Die media fok nie n goeie storie op met die waarheid nie. Wanneer gaan julle dit leer?

• 27.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

What a bullshit story , don’t think Andre’s like that.

• 28.leitz: Reply to this comment

Typical SA story, drunk driving, corrupt police, all thats missing is a fight/shooting.

• 29.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

Why on earth do you punters even dignify Tacklers posts with replies? You guys really have to learn tha if he gets ignored, he will go away.

hmmm… if I had to choose between a ruby player with a lot to lose if he gets convicted, or a Metro Police Cop, its a no brainer. The Cop IS corrupt/talking ****/ on a power trip/full of it.

I am afraid nobody trusts them any more. Their name is arse already. I a surprised that they even stopped at the scene of an accident for a start, and didn’t drive on by to go and extort a prostitute…

• 30.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Even if he is innocent I have this to say:

GO THE PISS CATS give ‘em hell!

• 31.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

How can a cop arriving on the scene after the fact create facts to suit his own conclusions? Easy SAP are trained to do this it is part of their organisational culture examples from the past:-
    1. Steve Biko
    2. Boipatong
    3. Brett Kebble
    A short list that could be an awful lot longer but I regard listing anymore indiscretions pointless as the point is proved.
    If the driver of the other vehicle (and his passengers if there were any) support AP’s claim that his SOBER girlfriend was indeed driving, then these policemen should be sacked immediately because they were obviously looking for a bribe from a high profile rugby player who would do anything to prevent a scandal.
    Andre I applaud you for refusing to take the soft option that so many of us have in the past, hopefully your wrongful arrest will spark the authorities into action and rid our public services of these scum.
    The only thing more corrupt than SA rugby is the SA police.

• 32.wls: Reply to this comment

WWW ha ha to true , why we all fall for takclpoes posts is beyond me.

The cops are so full of it here its a joke.
    I have literally watched them in front of me when there was an accident on the opposite side of the road, it happned in front of us, they dident even bother to stop, carried on in front of me.

• 33.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

AP should have noticed that the cop was not wearing his name tag when the guy approached him. This was the dead give away when I got stopped and paid the “fine” on the spot.

Tackler.
    Please don’t bother coming back for any holidays

• 34.leitz: Reply to this comment

And why was he accussed of racism?? So f*cking typical, the moment they (black officials in SA) are exposed it is the first thing they always claim.

• 35.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

tackler,

2003 is a long time ago buddy. but surely you remember the most defining moment of that year? it is not loftus…..

any guesses…….

wait let me help you:

gregan standing over kelleher as the semi-final whistle blows and then calmly whispers into his ear: “4 more years slappy…….4 more years…….”

then of course there was 2004 – where the boks, under a new coach, and with a bunch of youngsters, humbled a star studded NZ team….

hell even more recently, we beat an AB team, being hailed as probably the greatest yet by their own people, at newlands last year……

our age gourp boys whips all in their way and lifts both the U19 and U21 WC’s……..

hell at least your woman won a cup, guess they must be the ones with balls in the country……

4 more years you chop, 4 more years…………

• 36.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Was Stan Collymore the other driver?

In future we need to wait a couple days before judjing these situations and hear reports from both sides.

If Pretorius is vindicated the police would appear to be woefully inept.

The fact that a sportsman was involved in a drink-driving accident is of little value anyway.

Who can honestly say that they never got in a car without having had a drink?

Hell….didn’t that Patrick Kluivert oke actually kill someone before in a driving accident?

• 37.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

No worries Andre. We will back you, plus, I don’t think anybody should point fingers. Can anybody honestly say they have NEVER had a beer or two and then drove??? Don’t think there are many…

• 38.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

you just say that cause you are a cats supporter grrr……

• 39.snoop: Reply to this comment

Tackler is a ex pat who left SA during the CHICKEN RUN.

Now he has no real home.

Shame, what a sad sack of ****.

• 40.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

I think AP should get at least 60 Days jail for this indiscretion on condition that he serves it on the weekends when the Lions are playing. He can be let out to train during the week and also to Play for the Boks.

The Policeman should be given Hard duty by cleaning Andre’s boots and kit after each training session for his shear stupidity in not managing to negotiate a decent bribe :-)

• 41.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

The Policeman should be sent to Staalraad!!

• 42.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

PissAnt

I know you like him too, come on, just say it. I also know you really are a Lion, deep down you really like red and white! Come now, admit it, it can’t be worse than when you came out of the closet..

• 43.sthvh: Reply to this comment

Don’t feed the *******.

• 44.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

tackler is my comic relief on this site – i love his ****!

grrr….

you are right about andre at least – this guy should have been as good as carter is n ow – he has all teh talent and ability.

but since you had sannie breedt playing for you – i never could get myself to have any compassion whatsoever for the kaaitjies

• 45.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

PissAnt

You have a point with Breedt, that was just wrong… He was in my school and after that day I never could look at his photo in the school’s office in quite the same way.

• 46.pierre: Reply to this comment

Sounds to me like just another example of the arrogance and ignorance of so many members of the SAPS.

I recently successfully sued the Minister of Safety and Security on behalf of a client who was unlawfully arrested. We got R50k plus costs. However, you can expect that Andre will get a lot more than that, because a person’s fame and standing in the community are taken into account by the courts when determining the value of the damage which the unlawful arrest caused to the person’s reputation and dignity.

• 47.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

I too read this site often and don’t post but let me just tell you as a South African living in New Zealand, I have yet to come across a South African that is like Tackler. He isn’t representative of the Saffers over here, we know where we come from and are glad for the opportunities we’ve had living in both countries.

I don’t know why all the bad press about the women over here, they’re not too bad! Mind, the best ones are often ex-SA chicks!

• 48.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

stoffel,

take it with a pinch of salt – it is aimed at tackler not NZ’s in general….

• 49.Silent Bob: Reply to this comment

mmm … glug glug glug … clink … vroom-vroom … wee-woo, wee-woo … bruhaha ….

• 50.Cycloid: Reply to this comment

I reckon there is probably not one poster in on this page that has never driven whilst under the influence and (waayyyy) over the legal limit!

DUI convictions are usually just ppl that are unlucky enough to be caught. You do get cowboys driving on the Pavement in Hatfield, or on the wrong side of the Highway… but that is another matter altogether!

I hope this the AP version is the true one (even though I am a bulls man myself)!

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.