Spies cooks in Sun City heat
28 Jan 2006
A last-minute penalty from flyhalf Scott Spedding gave the Sharks a morale-boosting 13-10 victory against the Bulls in the battle of the second-stringers at Sun City.
A try from replacement lock Steven Sykes 20 minutes into the second half gave the Sharks a deserved 10-3 lead, before former Griquas scrumhalf Neil Powell darted over to draw the teams level. Then, with time up on the clock, Spedding stepped up to the plate and sent the ball sailing through the uprights.
While the result of the match doesn’t really matter, the performance of Bulls No 8 Pierre Spies certainly does. This time last year, Spies was billed as the next Jonah Lomu. Now he’s quite rightly being called the next Bobby Skinstad.
The No 8-turned-winger-turned No 8 cooked for the Bulls in the 33 degree heat. His driving runs from the back of the scrum gained his team valuable metres, with the Sharks needing two or three defenders to bring the Bully Boy down.
Spies was well supported by flank Pedrie Wannenburg, who also put his hand up for selection against the Cheetahs on 10 February.
Before the game, Bulls technical advisor John McFarland told keo.co.za to watch the Sharks forwards and his words proved to be prophetic. The Sharks dominated possesion and territory in the first half, but failed to take the opportunties that came their way. With captain Johan Muller dominating the line-outs and Solly Tyibilika having a blinder at flank, the Sharks pack troubled the Bulls for large periods, only for the team to lose posession on three occassions when inside the opposition 22m area. The teams were all square (3-3) at the break.
The Sharks backline, with an average age of 22, weren’t as impressive as the men up front but showed why they are considered to be the future of Natal rugby. While Spedding won the game for his team, he made a number of wrong decisions, including a grubber through the Bulls defence when he had men on his outside. Grant Rees was impressive in the midfield, Craig Burden had a few good runs on the left wing, while Greg Goosen showed promise at fullback.
For the Bulls, Powell’s superb tactical kicking kept the Sharks pinned in their own half, while winger Danwell Demas ran right around Odwa Ndungane early in the game. Flyhalf Morne Steyn had a solid game, but missed an easy penalty chance from 20m out, which would have given his side a 6-0 lead in the first half. The rest of the Bulls backs were quiet. Dries Scholtz bashed the ball up as usual, but also dropped a sitter.
Scorers:
Sharks – Try: Steven Sykes. Conversion: Scott Spedding. Penalty: Spedding.
Bulls – Try: Neil Powell. Conversion: Morne Styen. Penalty: Steyn
Teams:
Sharks:
15 Greg Goosen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Grant Rees, 12 Bradley Barritt, 11 Craig Burden, 10 Scott Spedding, 9 Scott Mathie, 8 Jaco Gouws, 7 Braam Immelman, 6 Solly Tyibilika, 5 Johann Muller (c), 4 Johan Ackermann, 3 Danie Saayman, 2 Skipper Badenhorst, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Bulls:
15 Marius Delport, 14 John Mametsa,13 Rudi Coetzee, 12 Dries Scholtz, 11 Danwel Demas, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Neil Powell, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Tim Dlulane, 6 Pedrie Wannenburg, 5 Cliffie Milton, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Danie Thiart, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Wessel Roux

125 Comments
28 Jan 2006, 16:43 pm
Ja Kners,
We’re all here, but most of us are just sittin here with a smile readin how excited you guys are getting.
All misplaced of course. The end is ni. no more deny.
28 Jan 2006, 16:44 pm
verseker stan, ek se nie n man moet homself nie geniet nie, maar fokkit, dronk bestuur?!?!?!?!?!
28 Jan 2006, 16:46 pm
En as jy getrek wil raak, kry n drywer. Jorrie of so iemand. Hy verdien genoeg.
28 Jan 2006, 16:46 pm
yeah bluecap, i am like a teenager seeing porn for the first time, getting real excited real quick, but will be asleep soon.
28 Jan 2006, 16:47 pm
I never drink and drive, I always pull over, finish my dop and then carry on driving.
28 Jan 2006, 16:47 pm
ja want hy kannie n fok rugby speel nie!!!!
28 Jan 2006, 16:48 pm
miskien moet jorrie en gus begin dop, fok hulle kannie kakker raak nie
28 Jan 2006, 16:48 pm
Dis baie verantwoordelik van jou Bluecap.
28 Jan 2006, 16:49 pm
someone on this site, cant remember who, said the other day “imagine if jorrie and gus could mate” heh heh, classic.
28 Jan 2006, 16:49 pm
Pretorius het seker die Cats se oorwinning oor die Pumas gevier. Dalk hul laaste wen vir die seisoen!
28 Jan 2006, 16:50 pm
kners,
then you get chris rossouw
28 Jan 2006, 16:50 pm
Maybe Jorrie will play better with a broken foot,
28 Jan 2006, 16:51 pm
at least we know there are two players that never comes onto this site
28 Jan 2006, 16:52 pm
Hey Kners,
Who say’s they don’t?
28 Jan 2006, 16:52 pm
Laas nag – Andre Pretorius aan Jorrie :”Hou my dop vas en check die move!”
28 Jan 2006, 16:53 pm
hah PA, nice one. maybe gaffie can be godfather.
28 Jan 2006, 16:53 pm
of kop.
28 Jan 2006, 16:54 pm
The Sharks have just dotted down a try 10 -3
GO SHARKS !!!
28 Jan 2006, 16:55 pm
Og no.
boys, even my girlfriend, who has no clue who jorrie and gus are, is laughing at these comments.
Ken nie sharks rugby nie, maar is dit nie hul beste pak wat nou teen die bulle speel in game 1 nie?
anyone know who scored?
28 Jan 2006, 16:56 pm
Yeah Kners,
Normally we just laugh at Jorrie.
28 Jan 2006, 16:57 pm
10 all after 63 min.Powell has pulled back a try.
28 Jan 2006, 16:58 pm
eh DubShark, how do u know this?
Bluecap you will be pleased to know the Bulls have also just scored a try, the scores are now level at 10 all.
Not to worry the SHARKS are gonna cull some bullies today.
POWELL MY BOY1111. HICK!!!!
28 Jan 2006, 16:59 pm
Go to the Sharks webiste, they seem to have arranged power in their journo booth. Updates are fairly frequent.
28 Jan 2006, 17:00 pm
seems like this powell dude has the stuff, havent seen him play though. any info?
28 Jan 2006, 17:01 pm
thanks mackie
Ja Mackie I was just a tad stressed there for a mo.
But then I remembered we got another game at 5. Phew.
score updates at:
http://www.sharksrugby.co.za
THE SHARKS HAVE WON!!!
13 – 10
GO SHARKS!!!!
28 Jan 2006, 17:02 pm
Where is Jonnydead?
Bulls to be relegated!
28 Jan 2006, 17:03 pm
Sharks rule!!
woo hoo
Sharks win 13-10!!!
28 Jan 2006, 17:04 pm
maak al die sharks bokke?
cheers boys, girl needs the machine for a while.
not so kak anymore eh.
28 Jan 2006, 17:04 pm
oh ****
everyone is coming out of the woodwork this week!!!
28 Jan 2006, 17:06 pm
Heh,Heh, Went to http://www.sharks.co.za and learned all about diving and fishing and scuba and killer sharks
etc. but no rugby. What would be their site then.
28 Jan 2006, 17:08 pm
The next game is gonna be even better now!
Sharks to take it.
Relegate the bullies!
28 Jan 2006, 17:10 pm
“The Bulls are to lose this match, an unexpected prediction, when Scott Spedding calmly steps up and slots a 35m penalty on the stroke of fulltime. The Sharks win 13-10″
Sheesh, someone forgot to tell the Sharks they are meant to lose!
Go Sharks
Hammer the neanderthal men.
Groan!!! but now the real Bulls are gonna play.
Where are St Pete and Jondood when you need them??
28 Jan 2006, 17:12 pm
Aah, die maltees is terug. Na die game sien ek.
28 Jan 2006, 17:13 pm
Ras,
No fear, i am here.
28 Jan 2006, 17:23 pm
Ras
I am here.
28 Jan 2006, 17:24 pm
Urgh!! that Sharks site’s gotta lot O black. Jeez my eyes went squint after readin just a few posts.