Cats hope to claw underdone Stormers

The Cats take on the Sharks in two warm-up fixtures this evening, the fifth pre-season encounter of the season for Frans Ludeke’s side.

The talk emerging from the Cats camp througout the last few weeks has focused on refining combinations and ensuring the side starts the competition in full stride.

It has translated into the most intensive pre-season schedule of any South African side, with some players having up to 350 minutes of rugby in the legs already.

“We started off with the Bulls, and felt we were a little bit underdone,” Ludeke explained to keo.co.za. “We were not happy with how we performed against the Spears, our combinations were not settled and there was consensus that additional games against the Pumas and Falcons would be beneficial. Overall I feel everything has worked out nicely. The only way to get a good 50 is between the wickets, so hopefully the fact that we’ve played a lot of games will work for us.”

The Joburg franchise’s first opponents, the Stormers, have pursued a contrasting policy. With the exception of Boland centre Piet van Zyl, every member of the squad has played a maximum of 80 minutes. Coach Kobus van der Merwe and his management team opted to name two almost entirely different sides for warm-ups against the Bulls (44-13 loss) and Spears (75-3 win).

The argument in favour of such a policy centres on burn-out. With arguably the most ardeous competition in world rugby ahead, with 13 matches bordering on Test standard, the more rest available to players such as Jean de Villiers and Schalk Burger the better.

Whether the sacrifice of combinations gelling and match sharpness is worth it can only be determined on February 11.

Ludeke firmly believes his policy of ensuring the side peaks from week one is correct.

“We have depth in our squad and I’m very confident in rotating our players. We will not suffer from burn-out because we will not just name the same team every week. That is unrealistic. The old ‘horses for courses’ saying will certainly apply.”

38 Comments

• 1.emiel: Reply to this comment

Seems as if Ludeke follows the typical South African philosophy of quantity over quality.

• 2.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Ludeke don’t **** this up, if you aid in relegating my beloved Cats you are going to be Jo’burg enemy #1… Capish!

Come mid-way of the comp and if you as so much utter the word player burn-out you are going to be found wanting and a class act bull *******.

Man I have no confidence in this dude, I truely hope he proves me wrong!

• 3.Ig: Reply to this comment

These games are all very well, but come week 8,9, 10,11,12,13 and 14 we should see heaps of injuries and serious fatigue showing through in weak performances…..especially on tour.

• 4.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Ig exactly, it’s not a question of if it will happen but when, thats for sure.

S

• 5.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Well guys , if the cats are at full strenght i am sure they can beat the Stormers. But i think the stormers will be just a litle bit to strong for them

• 6.wls: Reply to this comment

I dont think he stormers will be to strong for anyone except that side they beat last week lol.

• 7.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

CSB,

I would take Ludeke as coach any day over Doos Van Der Merwe – now that is a useless coach

• 8.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

If the Cats/Lions fail this year I hope that Ludeke gets the axe. The Cats have good players but I think Ludeke is the problem. Prove me wrong Fransie. Asseblief man.

• 9.robdylan: Reply to this comment

The cats cannot possibly be at full strength without Andre “DIC” Pretorius. They are a different side with him there.

• 10.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Ludebaker Hawk….

• 11.cab: Reply to this comment

the cats will be beaten by the sharks.

• 12.emiel: Reply to this comment

Agree Hop , this guy has been monkeying around for almost five years with some of the most talented players and has nothing to show for it. Blame must go to the administrators who employ him though.

• 13.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab I’m sorry to say but I tend to agree with you,as always the beginning of the season always brings along with it alot of hope for the Cats to perform but I have to say we’re in for a long season here.

• 14.rednik: Reply to this comment

Coffee shop bok. Agree.Ludeke strikes me as little more than a passionate bonehead. However, Bringing in a guy like Laurie Mains shows a measure of humility. I want to give Frans the benifit of the doubt. I also believe that he has selected an excellent squad. That takes rugby knowledge.

PLEASE DONT SKREW THIS UP FROM HERE.

• 15.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

rednik exactly he has been in this set-up for ages, one would think by now he would have moulded a squad together to atleast be competetive.
    I’ll certainly eat my words if he manages a half decent season and avoids relegation.
    I think we as Cats supporters are going to find out what it’s been like being a Southhampton supporter consistently battling it out to avoid the drop.

• 16.Ig: Reply to this comment

While Ludeke might not be the man – theres always Laurie Mains lurking in the shadows mentoring him – it might turn out to be good foil if they can work together…….

• 17.ali.h: Reply to this comment

stormsaan,
    can’t judge van der merwe on half a season. his position is the same as **** muir, you can only judge him by the end of the s14. personally, i’d rather have him than someone like du plessis, a coach who made it on his playing days alone. just remember that van der merwe was the one who took the inexperienced sharks backline to a s12 final in 2001… unless i’m thinking of some one different, anyone?

• 18.RedCard: Reply to this comment

GO the piss Cats you biscuits!

• 19.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Let’s get Solly back! I think he would love to coach the Lions. Come on Solly, take us back to the glory days like the 90′s!

• 20.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

But I will give Ludeke one more chance. Frack it up and I will turn Blueblood on his *** and camp outside his house!!

• 21.seamus: Reply to this comment

The Cats have real problems at 10. I am very concerned about them getting the chop.

Fransie had better start thinking about a quality short-term solution at stand-off.

• 22.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

seamus depth at 10 is of very big concern, we are going to start the Super14 with a 10 thats hardly up to Currie cup…

We also lack 1 or 2 hard nuts up front to get go forward ball.
    Same **** different year, as Grrrrr says ludeke has this year to proof his worth.

• 23.wpw: Reply to this comment

To all the Cats supporters out there, i really hope your team does well. maybe not as well as my team but it would not be good if they were relegated. I hope the Bulls get relegated but i reckon that aint gonna happen.

CSB, howzit bru? Hows your addiction to WWF going? lol

• 24.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

I agree with Grrr CSB

This is the year for Frans to show what he can do, if not he never will!

Just wish we can go back to the days ’93-2000
    where the Lions could beat any team any day. As a Lions supporter I seem to get very frustrated come game time!
    Go Cats make me proud!!!

• 25.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry CSBok, Southampton fans are already used to Championship football. You’ll get over it quickly enough! Besides, you’ll be back in 2009…

Seriously though, no SA side is safe, Bulls included.

• 26.wpw: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu, i have to say that Eugene Eloff shouldve been made S14 coach. This oke hasnt got what it takes…

• 27.rednik: Reply to this comment

Non Boks who are individualy superb players.
    Baywatch.
    Klein Moaner.
    Doppies. [What the hell does that mean? Small drinks or bullet shells?]
    Lang gat Scholtz.

I would also like to see Jorrie Muller drafted to the Stormers so that he could form an unpredictable and creative duo with that other Charlie , [theron?] who plays for them. Sorry, I’m not fussed to remember the names of the Prawvins girls.
    I disagree that Lions/cats dont have grunt up front.
    Fear of relegation will drive the Joburg boys who understand better than most the cruelty of capitalism.

• 28.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

wooden spoon, nice handle!

wpw hey bro all is good, I’ve been getting into fight club lately, where the dudes actually hit each other ;-)

• 29.emiel: Reply to this comment

Agree wpw, the Lions backs have always performed well under Elof’s guidence. Problem is that he’s regarded as a junior coach by most, so I would be surprised if they ever had enough courage to make hime coach .

• 30.cab: Reply to this comment

agree with rednik

• 31.cab: Reply to this comment

sorry rednik, disagree, i dont think they have the right kind of grunt.

While all those players you mention are superb players, dont see the hard edge for the rucks/mauls. Think alot of empasis is being placed on Labuscagne to do this role, but he’s returning from injury and fighting a lone battle. The Cats need to buy a player like Farani, Spies, AJ, Rossouw, Cronje for their backrow.

• 32.cab: Reply to this comment

coffee, yes it could be a great first XV with& or 2 further buys; but the cats are in for a klap and Jacques Fourie is going to be defending like mad.

• 33.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Man I’m in a well pessimistic mood today :-(

cab another reason for concern is the boks in the cats squad as you say fourie tackling his arse off all season and then we end up at the beginning of the international season with half the bok backline poogaai

• 34.cab: Reply to this comment

coffee,

yeah, probably 7 players in that Cats Squad that are really out of the top draw, but get to look quite plain because of the rest of the team.

I thought the 5th franchise would ultimately strengthen SA rugby, since more players would be exposed to top-flight rugby.

However, in terms of actually being competitive in the S14 itself, SA could field 3 very strong sides if they were to operate on a pool system. Pity they didn’t consider this for the lead-up to to RWC2007.

• 35.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Get Phil Pretorius to coach the Lions, but let’s give Fransie is “final” shot. Maar ek dink Willem Scholtz donner hom, want ek weet nie wat soek daai man op ‘n rugbyveld nie. F0kk3n vuilgat…

• 36.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

I think the Stormers have had the most sensible run up to the Super 14. The other sides have, in typical fashion, broken each other in their pre-season “warm-ups” and are going to be flat on their feet by week 7 of the tournament.

Granted, the Stormers will be a bit rustier, but they can work that rust out against one of the weaker outfits in the Cats and set themselves on the road from their. My humble prediction, for what it’s worth:

1)Bulls
    2)Stormers
    3)Cheetahs
    4)Cats
    5)Sharks

• 37.BIGBOSS: Reply to this comment

I’ll bet the STORMERS give the cats 50 pts come 11 feb.
    any takers?
    Stormers winners of the first S14

• 38.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

I think most of the Stormers games are going to be very margin wins (or margin losses like last year). They are a side that realises on speed and quick thinking in the situation. There pack (tight five) never have been over the top and hold there own. They rely on a quick turn over (or interseption by JDV or Pieter in the old days) to turn the games. They got the best loose forwards (maybe Cronje should be there too) so get to breakdown quick. So they use this to put presure on other teams – however it’s very much like the 10 man game the Buls play – very predictable so the OZ and NZ teams change the game to out play our teams by outsmarting us.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.