Hoskins hits campaign trail
1 Feb 2006
Oregan Hoskins has revealed to keo.co.za that he met with a few northern-based Presidents in Johannesburg earlier today as he kicks off his campaign to oust Brian van Rooyen as Saru president. He denied any involvement from either Andre Markgraaff or Louis Luyt, as has been alleged.
“Andre phoned me on Sunday to wish me well,” Hoskins admitted. “But that was the first time I’ve spoken to him since he was deputy president of Saru. As for Louis Luyt, well I have no idea where that link comes from. I’ve greeted him on the odd occasion when he’s visited Absa Stadium, but have never actually spoken to him.”
Hoskins was speaking as both candidates for the Saru presidency begin to campaign in earnest for support.
“I have just had a meeting with some of the presidents in Johannesburg, just some of the guys who were in the vicinity. There were no special invitations. I reiterated to them that all I offer is honesty, integrity and a clean administration. That will be my message throughout this campaign.”
Despite the renowned bitterness and shady nature of rugby politics in South Africa, Hoskins is adamant he will not deal with presidents in exchange for votes.
“If I don’t win this election, I won’t be that upset. I will not sacrifice everything to win. I base my campaign on simple ethics, and if that’s what the rugby administrators in this country want, then I’m up for it.
“I only decided to stand for the presidency in the last couple of weeks. I was approached by various stakeholders in the game that got me thinking seriously about this. I have spoken to a number of unions, and when I saw that I do enjoy popular support, I decided to take this seriously.”
Hoskins’ campaign received a boost earlier today when Golden Lions CEO Andy Turner announced that his union would not support Van Rooyen in the election.
“I was pleasantly surprised by that decision. I take the vote of confidence in me very seriously, and I would like to repay that with honesty and integrity.”
Van Rooyen’s stint as president has been notable for the large amount of power returned to the president’s office, a situation Hoskins believes is not fully viable.
“A good way to illustrate this is to look back at when Rian [Oberholzer] and Silas [Nkanunu] were in power. There you had a very powerful CEO and a weaker president. The current situation is reversed. Brian is a very powerful president and Johan [Prinsloo] is not even in the picture. What we need is balance, as rugby guys we need to learn from our mistakes.”

94 Comments
31 Jan 2006, 14:45 pm
Oreo the Dragon Slayer!
31 Jan 2006, 14:50 pm
Keo.co.za, so biased towards Brian van Rooyen!!! O hang on….o ****. There goes that argument
31 Jan 2006, 14:52 pm
There are two contenders and this site will reflect the views of Brian the Lion and Oregan the Shark tamer
Let the games begin!
31 Jan 2006, 14:52 pm
chris sucks keo’s titties!!! lol
31 Jan 2006, 14:53 pm
Excuse me, not the shark tamer, the shark slayer
31 Jan 2006, 14:53 pm
Keo licks chris ***…..Lol
31 Jan 2006, 14:55 pm
Ah hobo I see that in a year you have failed to advance your vocab. Still can’t get beyond asses.
You should try lifting your head once in a while. It could prove theraputic.
31 Jan 2006, 14:56 pm
Looks more like Keo & kie have realised that Brian the Heyena is on his way out…
31 Jan 2006, 14:58 pm
Geez Leitz
How astute of you. Do you charge for such wisdom.
31 Jan 2006, 15:04 pm
Leitz
Wat het jou besiel om die Bonzai wakker te maak?
31 Jan 2006, 15:04 pm
Whats with the sarcasm keo? lol
31 Jan 2006, 15:07 pm
Ah Stan
You just can’t stay away. I think I am going to name my loyalty rewards program after you.
31 Jan 2006, 15:08 pm
No Keo I don’t. But hell, you should start charging for our one-liners, real class coming from an oke who writes for a living.
31 Jan 2006, 15:08 pm
We do need to start a loyalty programme.
Normal Members attain the rank of Stu
Siliver Members, Simon
Gold Members (get it?), Keo
and Platinum Members, Chris
think its a great idea!!
31 Jan 2006, 15:10 pm
Go & win Oregan you sound like a nice sincere guy I wish you well.Bring some respectability back into our rugby.
At present we are the laughing stock of the world & our players must have suffered much emotionally. It is time for “TRANSFORMATION” — HOW APPROPRIATE
31 Jan 2006, 15:11 pm
ahahaha
I think someone needs to put Keo up for nomination as SARU president?
Can you imagine the amount of **** he’d cause, a **** storm of dramatic proportions. I’d vote Keo just to see the reaction of the old guard. yessus man yessus.
31 Jan 2006, 15:17 pm
Chris, dear boy, a short history of the pecking order.
To get to platinum you have to first get a membership card and you have to be 21 to do that …
Oops, I see you’ve just qualified. So start on the silver and we’ll monitor progress.
Leitz … a great one liner. Geez, I think you suffer from the Pat Howard syndrome, which is when you’re okay but you actually think you’re a genius.
And to one of the originals on this site CAB … I would have put up for a nomination, but where I am now I don’t have to book a business class ticket under the counter, I don’t have to make promises to 14 unions and I certainly don’t have to rely on the goodwill of Markies and company to succeed.
31 Jan 2006, 15:18 pm
Keo
When you lift your game i will lift mine….:-)
31 Jan 2006, 15:20 pm
When you lift your head out of my arse I may just be tempted to lift my game.
31 Jan 2006, 15:21 pm
Completely off the point but did I miss something. The voting poll states Dries SCholts as a hooker. Is this a joke?
31 Jan 2006, 15:21 pm
Ahhhh
Finally some feedback from the writers.
Keo and Chris. Visit us muppits some more. Always nice to get feedback from you guys when we comment on an article. And you might also learn something.
31 Jan 2006, 15:22 pm
“lift your head out of my arse”
jissis
easy boys, almost gave me a lift there..
31 Jan 2006, 15:23 pm
Methos we learn from the Muppits every day. But it would be bloody boring giving you a pat on the back every time we learned something.
How is life at the club?
31 Jan 2006, 15:24 pm
The one at the end of the street?
31 Jan 2006, 15:24 pm
And while you at it keo, tell that lame-brained blind anti Bulls hall of famer kaplan to emigrate to antartica and ref whale blubber eating competitions.
31 Jan 2006, 15:25 pm
BlueBlood one last time:
Kaplan does not have the Currie Cup!
31 Jan 2006, 15:26 pm
Imagine a Rugby administration based on integrity.
Imagine beer flowing from taps.
Imagine swedish air hostess’ with sexual urges.
Imagine tax cuts.
Anuy of those four would be a great step forward!
31 Jan 2006, 15:27 pm
looking for trouble RedCard…
and just when the noot vir noot **** storm finally blew over
31 Jan 2006, 15:28 pm
Gadzooks! Who cannot be effected by the sporting debacle (both on and off field) that is the SA rugby, cricket, football and athletics?
I have long since advocated a form of neo-colonialism where our sporting administration should be handed over to the English. But now I think something more radical is required.
Why not just throw our entire lot in with the English? Become a self-standing, satelite state of the UK. SA could become another Guernsey (albeit with the abject poverty thrown in) with our own political identity and institutions. We can continue to raise and spend our own taxes and have complete discretion over our economic mismanagement.
Our representative sporting teams could then be disbanded with players of promise seeking selection from England. As the first step we could enter a our current national teams into the Guiness Premiership, a team in the football league, and the cricket county championship.
Nascent talent can be exported to the UK (like a Pieterson or a Stevens) where techique, discipline and character can be quickly imbibed so to speak. If national selection follows for the English we can then take great pride in their achievements as we route for ‘our boys’.
Whilst it is already too late for the likes of Burger and Joubert – just think what they could have made of their careers? Maybe there is still time for De Villiers (although I doubt it).
This way one day Saffas might be able to route for a team of World Champions in cricket, football and rugby. And how about all at the same time?
Well Ron,
I know that 3 of the 4 have been known to happen, just a pity its not the first one.
all this talk of arses, presidents, and above board dealings makes it hard to say no to drugs
Keo
Playing for another club. Higher League. Reason for moving on – Better coaching, tired of broken promisses, tired of drunken oafs next to the field etc.
31 Jan 2006, 15:29 pm
Dries Scholts a hooker?
31 Jan 2006, 15:30 pm
Say no to Crack PA!
31 Jan 2006, 15:30 pm
St Michel, dear boy
Good to see you back and contributing.
Balderdash and piffle still have their place
31 Jan 2006, 15:31 pm
STM
Dream on poepol.
31 Jan 2006, 15:31 pm
Ig,
No doubt you’ve beavered away on all kinds of background things in your ‘break’ but the smiley’s win hands down.
31 Jan 2006, 15:32 pm
Interesting comments on corporate governance but what is he offering in terms of taking our rugby forward?
Also his comments about not being too upset if he doesn’t win – that just upsets me.
I want someone who is passionate about fixing SA Rugby – not some bloke who thinks it’s a good way to pass the time and is only doing it as a favour.
Van Rooyen is a disaster but this guy is little or no better.
He can’t even make a success of the Sharks and now he wants to run SA Rugby
31 Jan 2006, 15:33 pm
just the thread for StM to put the boot in.
Intergrity and leadership british style; the words: Daglaglio – cocaine – Douglas Jardin -bodyline, quickly spring to mind.
31 Jan 2006, 15:34 pm
Keo
Did you wake on the wrong side of the bed? Or are you just pissed that Brain the Lion is going to get sacked?
You are right Train except for one thing. The difference between the Sharks and SA rugby is that the Bokke still play a decent game from time to time.
Stan Collymore, the paragon of English virtue.
In a previous age he’d have been ‘exported’ to Australia.
integrity you say cab…
one word: prince charles (okay two)
31 Jan 2006, 15:35 pm
Ras – the smilies, i ummmh forgot to turn off
My biggest thing for the break was the login – i can’t think how many pearls of wisdom we lost to typekak – i have a few more things up my sleeve…….
31 Jan 2006, 15:35 pm
Ja Cab and jonny Wilkinson = cross dresser.
31 Jan 2006, 15:36 pm
PissAnt
Los vir Charlie hier uit!!
The login is an absolute breeze now and PA’s ‘War and Peace’ efforts are never lost now.
Most unfortunate….
LMAO cab – excellent summation of the virtues of being english
31 Jan 2006, 15:37 pm
IG
Moet net nie die kat uit die mou laat nie.
31 Jan 2006, 15:38 pm
Hobo, hobo, hobo … you leave me speechless. Such powerful insights into the human psyche
St M
We in SA wouldn’t feel comfortable associating with you bunch of yobs from the Mud Island. We have higher aspirations in life than staning at bus stops mollesting old ladies.
I see your Goverment has no come forward with a plan to build special, bigger bus stops where you lot can congregate. Also the walls are paint resistant so that the spray paint\graffitti can be scrubbed from easier from it.
We have higher aspirations than living on the Dole. You see we actually want to make something of ourselves. We want to own more than one Reebok sweater. We don’t want to be parents at 15 and grandparents at 30. We still want our original teeth by age 35.
Naah ol chap thanks for the offer but you lot would be an embrasemnt.
Ps. If you are in CPT during the S14 drop me a mail and we’ll go for a beer.
Brickwall en as hy uit die mou kom moet hom nie in die donker knyp nie.
31 Jan 2006, 15:39 pm
Ek voel soos toe ek nohg klein was. Ek moet eers in my broek kak voor ek aandag kry.
Dries Scholts, Haker????? Did I miss the joke of the year or is someone serious?
31 Jan 2006, 15:40 pm
Thanks Keo
Glad you realize that you are not the supreme mind on this site!!!
31 Jan 2006, 15:41 pm
Redcard
…..en dan dink jy is die kat se snor daarna na nie….
31 Jan 2006, 15:41 pm
Brick
Classic …..
31 Jan 2006, 15:43 pm
Methos, who did u lay for and where are you now?
hehe, meant play
Hobo, with you hovering, any such thought (on my part) would have been an illusion
31 Jan 2006, 15:44 pm
Hobo
Soos hulle se…. Afrikaans loop so mooi soos n haai op n ou houtkatrol.
31 Jan 2006, 15:44 pm
My problem is that people talk of an England of which I am wholly unfamiliar.
Perhaps my background and education means that I just move in other circles. Perhaps the Saffas in London should seek to make the most of the opportunity and raise their station above the level they refer to.
Methos – In CT for most of March – plan to see all of Stormers home games. My email address is blink18_8 [at] yahoo dot co dot uk. Let me know if you going to any games.
31 Jan 2006, 15:45 pm
STM
In London we have no time to raise anything. We are do busy doing your (lazy Poms) work.
31 Jan 2006, 15:46 pm
Keo
Nou begin ek jou mos like , i give up for today but will be back to make sure you lift your game…
31 Jan 2006, 15:46 pm
O Ya and bringing back your money.
31 Jan 2006, 15:49 pm
Brickwall,
But your cleaning and other menial travails are much appreciated. For me the Saffas and the Poles are most industrious we have at the moment. Thank you. I trust the minimum wage is sufficient?
31 Jan 2006, 15:49 pm
Diablo
Quins in Cpt and now for GWD.
31 Jan 2006, 15:53 pm
Oy St Mick.
Colonial days are oooovvveeeerrrr!!!!
There is no more Empire !!!!!!!!
31 Jan 2006, 15:55 pm
Methos
Don’t you dare go to any games with that turncoat.
31 Jan 2006, 15:56 pm
Turncoat? How?
I am a bok fan. Just happen to have been born English.
31 Jan 2006, 15:56 pm
StM,
i was watching highlights of that funny little roundball game last night, it was a replay of your lot and the krauts; it went to penalties and i dont think i have ever seen a captain of a national sporting team lose his bottle the way a bloke called Stuart Pierce did.
Not only would his penalty have knocked down the 747 in the sky over Ellis, but there was no attempt at maintaining a stiff upper lip thereafter. As south africans, we’d find that a bit of an unecessary display of emotion, its hard to respect grown blokes that carry on like that. Oh well, it is a new millenium and i am learning to respect cultural differences; i know for example that the french enjoy a good cry.
31 Jan 2006, 15:58 pm
St M isn’t a turncoat. Tackler is. St M is a English man with a overinflated estimate of the English culture but he sometimes makes a good point even if it is couched in such a way that we don’t like it.
Besides it would be fun to find out in which sport he aceived this high honours.
31 Jan 2006, 16:04 pm
methos,
It will be obvious when you meet me.
Cab,
Stuart Pearce is simply drawn from a social class with which I am not familiar. That said my memory of the event was that he behaved with great stoicism? I dont remember tears?
The memories of H*nsie Cr*nje crying on national tv begging for forgiveness is a different matter.
31 Jan 2006, 16:05 pm
Come on Chris, one piece and you think you fooled us??? You are Wp’s ***** and Keo.co.za is Brian’s.
31 Jan 2006, 16:13 pm
StM,
goodness i had no idea you were drawn from a different social class, sounds very impressive.
as for Hansie, its probably difficult for you to appreciate because unlike england, buggery is not revered in SA, and i can assure you that the thought of doing hard time in an SA jail would bring a tear to even the most hardened eye.
31 Jan 2006, 16:16 pm
Methos who cares. He’s still a turncoat!
31 Jan 2006, 16:20 pm
Besides. I can’t believe you’d rather go to a game with a pasty-faced plum-in-my-mouth fancy shmancy namby pamby spotty Englishman instead of a true Souf Effrikan cullart like me.
31 Jan 2006, 16:23 pm
Dawn,
I’ll be down your way Shell, House Van Riebeek Street if you fancy lunch?
31 Jan 2006, 16:24 pm
No way in hell.
31 Jan 2006, 16:26 pm
sherbert herbert StM thats a bit low, even for you, i mean trawling for dates on the internet, remember you still need to meet the ladies in person, which means your enhanced online photo portfolio is not going to work.
31 Jan 2006, 16:27 pm
St M
Dropped you a mail. Give the dates and we shall setup a meeting.
31 Jan 2006, 16:27 pm
Cab,
Ever thought I might be a woman?
31 Jan 2006, 16:30 pm
Well Methos if StM is a chick I suggest you run!!! Remember those Pommy girls?? They kinda like Kiwi girls only whiter…
31 Jan 2006, 16:31 pm
St. M
Gadzooks! Hahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahaha
bwaaaaaaaabwaaaaaghbwaggggggggghahahahahahaha
ROTFLMAO
Jolly good old chap!
Tally ho!
Crikey!
For the life of me I can’t imagine why you remind me of the lyrics to that Offspring song “Pretty fly for a white guy”
“Well he’s getting a tattoo, yeah he’s getting it done.
He asked for a 13, but they drew a 31.
Friends say he’s trying too hard and he’s not quite hip.
But in his mind he’s the toughest trick”
You phoney, faker idiot you. – Hve a nice day now – poepol.
31 Jan 2006, 16:36 pm
Ahhhh
St.M….a woman?
That explains the hatred of South Africans.
I can only speak for myself, but am willing to bet that you’ve been had by so many South African boys….literally, and yet, still lust after them, hoping that just one of the good looking, genorous and humorous guys would possibly consider taking you on a date before ******** you.
All you ever get off of us is an invite to the rugby at Twickers and a quickie in the bog at the tube station on the way home.
31 Jan 2006, 16:37 pm
NO ‘getting ink done” if I remember correctly
31 Jan 2006, 16:38 pm
what a terrible thought… out of my head you demon.
31 Jan 2006, 16:39 pm
Grrr…
I’m a happily married man for a month and a half now.
Anycase I doubt it if St M is a chick. Seems to well versed in the things that go on in Public Schools
31 Jan 2006, 16:39 pm
LOL StPete!!
31 Jan 2006, 16:40 pm
St.M
Your real name isn’t Shazza or Babs is it?
31 Jan 2006, 16:42 pm
StPB,
This imagery is killing me.
31 Jan 2006, 17:04 pm
Andre markgraaf is somewhere in the mix, trust mark to dig him out…. I am waiting for that bit.
Oregon seems a nice enough bloke, thank god its not the 80′s anymore though because then the nice guys would have gotten stuffed….. the 21st century will be the century of the nice people.
31 Jan 2006, 17:14 pm
What. You scared of a little ink?
Even I had ink done, you marshmallow.
1 Feb 2006, 08:13 am
Hoskins for President!!
1 Feb 2006, 08:46 am
Here comes **** again , Markgraaff wants to come back into rugby