Fourie eyes Bloem return

Bulls scrumhalf Fourie du Preez has made a remarkable recovery and could play against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein next Friday night.

Du Preez injured his knee in training, just days after being named Bulls captain. The Bok No 9 is one of three Bulls skippers to pick up a pre-season injury, along with Victor Matfield and Gary Botha.

“There’s a chance he could be ready for the game, but any decision will only be made next week,” said Bulls coach Heyneke Meyer. If Du Preez is ruled out of the match, Heini Adams will get a rare start.

Meanwhile, Bulls shrink Jannie Putter says the Pretoria franchise is paying no attention to the noises coming out of Bloemfontein ahead of the Currie Cup final rematch.

“The Bulls are not worried about things that are out of their control,” Putter told Beeld. “We must just focus on what we’re doing.”

Putter doesn’t believe the result of last year’s Currie Cup final will have an influence on the game.

“I’ve been involved with the Bulls for a long time and they are a team that believes in themselves,” he said. “We have had big setbacks with injuries, but that’s just part of rugby.”

33 Comments

• 1.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Please Let Jonathan Kaplan ref this game? :-)

• 2.GCC: Reply to this comment

ollie has been very reserved in the article posted yesterday. c’mon keo let ollie write an article; the shrink might just have his work cut out….

• 3.wls: Reply to this comment

This is going to be an awesome game.
    Is it away for the BULLS? Going to be very difficult to beat the Cheetahs at home.

• 4.RedL: Reply to this comment

I just hope we don’t end up with half the Bulls and cheetahs players injured after this one…

• 5.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Realy guys , i don’t think it’s a good idea to get him into a game that everybody know’s is going to be a very hard one. What if he injures the same knee again in that game. Why not keep the guy on ice for now and wait till he’s realy strong enough. They playing with fire again.

• 6.realist: Reply to this comment

KSA Shark
    Please keep Kaplan away. I dont trust him on a class photo of Grade 1. He says he is an artist- I say he is clown, look like one and act like one as well.It will be a close game, but the team that eventually win, will win because the referee in charge has integrity.

• 7.KWV: Reply to this comment

Fourie should be careful not to “overuse his groin” again this year. Tricky injury – can’t play, can’t piss, can’t faak… 8)

• 8.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Sorry, no kaplan to make sure the Cheetahs win.

Cheetahs vs Bulls in Bloemfontein
    Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)
    Touch judges: JC Fortuin, Willie Roos (both South Africa)
    Television match official: Christie du Preez (South Africa)
    Assessor: Frans Muller (South Africa)

No kappies.

But here’s an interesting bit of info.

kaplan is only reffing 1 game in the first five weeks, the match between…wait for it… Sharks and Cheetahs in Durban, 18 Feb. Interesting that when the Cheetahs play away there you will normally find kaplan reffing. But wait,it gets better. Kaplan only reffed 1 game of the warm-ups, the match between…wait for it…Spears and Cheetahs at the EPRFU. What’s that? Kaplan reffing at a Cheetahs away game…again ?

Add this to the fact that the Blue Bulls lost 3 games in 2005 and kaplan reffed all 3.

mmmmm….

(verify my info with pleasure at rugby365.com)

• 9.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Well Hougaard needs a long pass- even if it is slow.

KWV lol- he must change position then

BTW- he might get faak-ed if he plays :smile:

so the term groin over use to be used in tandem with player burnout

maybe Dr eve should consult Tim Noakes then.

• 10.GCC: Reply to this comment

blueblood, the cheetahs have won the currie cup; get over it. the mind of a toddler…

• 11.GCC: Reply to this comment

hoe gaan dit orakel?

• 12.jondood: Reply to this comment

GCC

BlueBlood is giving the facts.

You get over it.

• 13.GCC: Reply to this comment

yeah jondood. the spears should’ve smashed the cheetahs 48-0, all based on form?

• 14.KWV: Reply to this comment

OO,

What is Fourie’s position? Looking for his ball behind the pack? Is that doggy style? Maybe Jondead can come in here. He’s obsessed with ****.

• 15.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Yawn

Big Vic will probably be feeling better next week as well…..and then the Cheetahs are “faak-ed”

No Kaplan hey?
    Bulls will probably walk it then.Maybe we should keep Big Vic in bed for an extra week?

• 16.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Blue Blood

What the bet the Sharks don’t whine about Kaplan when (not if) we lose to the Cheetahs.

AND
    What the bet you whine about MArk Lawrence when (again not if)you lose to the Cheetahs

• 17.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

KSA, I am not whining, I am stating the facts. Feel free to verify them yourself. Don’t take my word for it.

• 18.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Blue Blood.

“Bulls Lost three games in 2005 and Kaplan reffereed all 3″

Seeing as Kaplan is biased he must be having some real mental anguish at the moment.
    You know….We beat you in the CC and the Cheetahs beat you so that must mean Kaplan favours us both. What will the result in Durban be 0-0.

• 19.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Blue Blood

WHAT!!!!! Have you finally stopped whining about the CC Final

**** me George Miracles do happen even in Tswane

• 20.bomskok: Reply to this comment

blueblood,

Let’s put it this way: Kaplan is one of a few TOP international refs. Maybe he just doesnt allow the Bulls to get away with illegal bullying tactics (without which they’re a pretty average team), like a lot of Refs who overlook blatant infringements of the (ex) CC champions…

• 21.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Hi GCC

I good here in Bloem- I see the ARU has made a decision- how is the local news mongers spinning it?

Just enjoying the Bulls Brigade before the game talk

Like last year- OO will be here to dish it out- or maybe take some flak- as it will be a 50/50 game

but some people just do not grasp that concept

• 22.Train: Reply to this comment

Jannie Putter as their new shrink – interesting. I was at Potch University at the same time as him – very good rugby player and led from the front. He wasn’t the biggest of guys but made up for it with awesome fitness and massive dedication (plus some huge props).

Interesting that he became a shrink. My one criticism (and this is being slightly harsh) was that he used to get too emotive about the game. After every big game the guy would be in tears – especiallly if we lost.

I hope he has moved on from those times and adopted something of Ian McGeegan’s mantra – bodies on fire and heads in the freezer!

• 23.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Blou Doos,

Was kaplan not your best buddy when he allowed Ndugane to knock the ball forward, resulting in a try for the Bulls in the 39-3 loss we had last year in the CC knockout stages?

I bet that night you were sucking Kaplan’s balls while singing his praises you twat. Kaplan is consistent. It is sometimes human to make an error.

If you want to critise a ref – critise Shaun Veldsman – he is just plain k@K!

BTW if you need if you are still struggling to put the cork back in the bottle, ask Stan or Jondoos to give you the manual!

• 24.realist: Reply to this comment

Bomskok and Stormsaam
    I agree with Ndungane`s knock of the ball- still 32-3. Do you remember the complaints from international sides against Kaplan ?- short memory. They never complaint about Watson when he was number 1. I cant recalled that the Blue Bulls ever complaint about Kaplan. It`s only our muppits

• 25.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Realist,

Be realistic – the scores were 3-3. A five metre scrum would have been awared to the Stormers who were starting to gain confidence in front of the Loftus crowd. History cannot be changed so I do not stupidly want to predict a score but the Stormers would have been more confident if they had scored a try from that move.

Nobody knows.End of story!

• 26.bomskok: Reply to this comment

Realist,

My response was to a muppit who insinuated that Kaplan has an agenda against the Bulls, not the Bulls themselves.

England complained vehemently about Watson after the WC final against Australia – what’s your point?

• 27.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Blue Blood

Read the few posts above. It seems JK has refereed the Bulls a few times when they won. Damn this ref must be really confused. You know…. letting you win one day and letting you lose the next……

• 28.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Referring to the article above… I have a sneaky suspicion that Fourie’s “miracle recovery” is more a case of let’s push him back into action before he is ready, because we are losing way too many experienced players at the moment.

I hope I’m wrong, for the sake of SA rugby, but I have a nasty feeling that this is the case. When a player is injured in Oz or NZ, they get a huge amount of time to recover properly.

• 29.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

eh, theb bulls have a nasty habit of loosing their first super 12/14 game against local opposition. last 2 years in a row, first sharks then cats.

vetkoek, i agree with you, i hope it is not true though.

• 30.Aldo: Reply to this comment

Finally someone talking sense. Knerses you are right. It is something they’ve allways managed to do. Don’t know why. Bulls allways start slow and end strong. I hope they lose this problem this year, as most of their home games are at the start of the season.

By the way, the Bulls lost, yes, but we will be back, we sucked in the final but that doen’t make us a weaker team, just you province boys wishing it is true.

• 31.cab: Reply to this comment

reckon these okes are going to get a bit silly in the head and moer mekaar, especially if ollie is on the field, should be funny to watch. FdP miss this game, there’s nothing in it.

• 32.JUSM: Reply to this comment

ek skiem fourie isn’t badly injured and never was. he injured the knee catching a high ball in practice. no contact. if he plays, he will be ready to do the job. hopefully that includes a close line or something similar on lard boy.

• 33.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Blou Doos
    HAve you noticed that the reason JK is only reffing one of the S14 games in the 1st 5 weeks is because he is busy refereeing a test match in this time.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.