Let the ball decide Spears’ fate
2 Feb 2006
No court ruling or political ruling should decide the fate of the Spears in the 2007 Super 14. The issue must be settled on the field through a promotion/relegation play-off.
The Spears are a political pawn being abused by everyone, but they remain a laugh a minute on the playing field. To avoid further embarrassment should these hapless souls be sent on the road for five long weeks in Australia and New Zealand, the obvious solution is to pit them against the South African franchise that claims the wooden spoon in this year’s competition.
Expensive court cases, which would involve every region and the South African Rugby Union, will only benefit the legal fraternity’s wealth. Rugby would suffer financially and morally. For once, let sanity triumph and let rugby actually do the talking. Play the Spears against the duffers of this year’s competition at a neutral venue in a one-off promotion/relegation. If the Spears win it then they deserve to play in the competition. If they can’t beat South Africa’s worst performing franchise, then it would be farcical to ask them to play against New Zealand’s best in Auckland or Christchurch.
As it stands the Spears don’t have the playing numbers to justify inclusion in the Super 14, let alone the Currie Cup. They may wear a rampant red outfit, talk a fantastic game and make a grand entrance, as was the case in Wellington. But the huff and puff are a disguise because this is a franchise built with the sands of political promise and not the brick of rugby tradition.
The game, according to the ever roving Grave Danger, will be plunged into crisis because of the Spears’ pending Super 14 entry. It should never be allowed to happen because the Spears should never have been allowed to happen under these circumstances.
You don’t need the wisdom of Solomon to find the solution to this one. Promotion/relegation is the oldest system in sport and it works. It comes down to performance and who is better. The scoreboard doesn’t lie; unlike the politicians within the game.

127 Comments
2 Feb 2006, 11:21 am
Keo – great article, I scour this site every day sifting through mountains of WP propaganda and Shark bashing to discover the odd gem of rugby journalism like this!
In my opinion I think the Spears are AWESOME! I am not from the SEC but I would agree that young players in the region need something to aspire to, and not just young players from the traditional rugby/wealthy schools in the region.
I think it is fantastic that SA should always have 6 potential S14 teams with the last 2 vying for a berth EVERY YEAR!
However this has to be done on the basis of rugby and NOT politics. The last placed S14 franchise must battle it out in 2 games, home-and-away based on aggregate to decide whether relegation occurs or not.
In the interim, the only scope for politics to enter the game is for SARU, SASSOC or whoever wants to interfere, to put their money where there mouth is and financially back the team that is fighting for promotion.
Who knows, maybe the team fighting for promotion can play in this “Rainbow Cup” ?!
2 Feb 2006, 11:21 am
Keo
Best suggestion yet! No excuses for anyone then.
2 Feb 2006, 11:22 am
ig,
i have stated many times SARU yet again managed to stuff up what could have been brilliant for SA rugby in doing what they did with the relegation system.
i do not agree with the relegation system and it should have been done differently.
what i do have a problem with is the fact that people are still questioning the importance of this franchise and how or if it is important.
also, because of administrators lacking in this area of our game, we have fallen very far behind, all lipservice and nothing has been done to positively contribute towards representation of rugby in our country.
and we ask why the government is impatient? it is blatantly bloody obvious.
the reason why we need to support this franchise and do it as soon as possible is because simple facts point out that the majority of our coloured and black players come from this area – more focus should be to improve this franchise and not to use it as a political weapon – either by SARU or the government.
why does none of the big rich unions offer any form of support for the spears? through clinics, camps, loaning of players not involved with their S14 squads to improve the situation in the region?
there are certain realities in SA we cannot ignore. i do not believe the ‘fast tracking’ quota system is the right way to go as we see it now, i do believe however that if selfserving individuals in rugby wake up to the fact that the sooner EVRYONE starts supporting initiatives like this and positvely contribute – the sooner government and the stupid *** policies that they are forcing in place will disappear.
can you imagine if all 5 major unions give their unconditional support to this region in the form of various ‘products’ as mentioned above, not necessarily financial, and promotes this region to the rest of the country as important and encourage sponsors to help them what we can end up with?????
the success of the spears or the region is of extreme importance to everyone and every person supporting the game of rugby in SA – lets rather look at ways to get them where they need to be as quickly as possible for the sake of rugby in SA, than ridicule them as an embarrassment for SA.
the embarrassment for SA rugby is the way the game has been administered in the last 10 years.
2 Feb 2006, 11:22 am
Hey GLC
How come defending the Spears?
Anyway, I’m with you PA.
Yes this is a professional set-up situation and yes players foloow the cash.
But here’s the kicker.
The SEC didn’t have the bladdy cash yet do they? They couldn’t keep players like Rassie in the 90′s, and what about Garth Wright and Danie Gerber who emigrated to the cash.
Now they’re just saying give us the cash so we can offer players like Kabamba Floors, Solly T etc a chance to play for us.
At the moment they don’t even have a chance because the money unions just snap the players up. With a competitive well supported and financially viable team, why would the players want to leave home?
The same argument doesn’t always work. Players prefer to play near home. Danie Rossouw has refused lucrative offers from elsewhere because he wants to stay in P-town.
The same with SEC players. Give them a union that has cash and muscle and the players would sdtay home. At the moment they don’t have that. There is no stay at home option.
2 Feb 2006, 11:25 am
PA
transformation,blahblahblah……
We need the Spears to be successful, they should pick who they like.Majority non-white…brilliant! I still don’t see it as the basis of any leeway in a very demanding and proffessional competition.
Being pro-transformation doesn’t mean I should also become pro-mediocrity.
You cannot honestly say the Spears will be ready to compete in next seasons S14 on the recent evidence. ****…..the Stormers pummelled them and the Stormers are a side that regularly get pummelled. I know that this is no way to make comparisons but surely it is a worry nontheless.
I also always have to laugh when people critize the Cheetahs transformation record and the fact that they continuelly recruit black players, normally from the SEC,granted…..probably because they are value for money.It’s Bloemfontein for heavens sake…..it’s white Afrikaaner central.If there are no black players there…there are non there.Quite frankly, the Cheetahs should be applauded for doing their bit to reruit some decent black rugby players to at least generate some interest.And lets not forget how many quality white rugby players the Cheetahs have lost over the years with a simple shrug of the shoulders….and yet are still able to put a quality rugby sid on the field year after year.You don’t hear any “it’ll take 3 years to compete” speaches coming out of Rassies mouth. No….they are ready, right now, anytime,any place.
Also, it is well known that Mark Keohane is a liberal if not far left transformation supporter.Should he publish an article such as this, you can be sure that all is not rosy in SEC country and these are troubling times for our rugby.
Nothing to do with the”beware die swaart gevaar”…more to do with “beware onse rugby gevaar”.
2 Feb 2006, 11:26 am
Vleis
Agree with u if they end up picking a prmarily white side then i dont really think it would be a success but a few experienced players (white/black) wouldnt hurt even if the team was 50% white that would be a huge improvement on the other 4 s14 teams.
2 Feb 2006, 11:29 am
It is utterly rediculous that a play-off can decide promotion or relegation. That means all a side has to do is produce one good performance a year to be promoted or relegated.
The top five sides for the Super 14 should qualify via the Curry Cup. The sides that perform best in the Curry Cup should be rewarded with the most favourable draws in the super 14 e.g. the most home games etc. Its only fair that New Zealand and Australia allow that since their own draws don’t put them at a disadvantage and they don’t have long tours like us.
The only thing SARU have to ensure is that the Unions don’t drive their Springboks into the ground trying to get into the Super 14.
2 Feb 2006, 11:30 am
leitz,
i do not expect you to drive down, hell i am not even in SA but i always try and make an effort to get both sides of the story before i judge or form an opinion.
again i say they are not asking for ‘special treatment’ when i listen to interviews coming from within the franchise, they are asking for a level playing field though.
on transformation i will stick to what i said. it is reality in SA – whether we like it or not. rather than ***** and moan about quotas and government involvement in our rugby, lets find ways to get these idiots out of rugby.
as mentioned before the majority of black and coloured players comes from this region – this is fact.
lets get them up to a standard of a bryan habana, or a lorrie sephaka – it will benefit all and everyone in rugby.
this region should be priority for all south africans and rugby administrators including unions.
we are not NZ, Aus, Eng, or whoever – they dont have quotas and good on them – we do – we need to accept it and help kids that love the game like habana to develop into top world class performers. one day we will reach a balance and this whole quota bullshit can go away.
the fact that as south africans we still do jack **** to get there is irritating me.
2 Feb 2006, 11:30 am
vleis,
development is a process … so if we can have 50% experienced players and the other 50% are the new Habanas, Januaries and Wynand Oliviers then I would say the process is a success
I mean if you wanted to bring a woman into formula one, would you say she had to have an entire female pit crew and management team.
Saying the entire team must be from the SEC is a little narrow minded.
2 Feb 2006, 11:31 am
PA,sport is about competing,no-hand outs!Why would any off the franchises help the Spears when they know that they could be replaced by the Spears,and then the Spears get a two year free ride????It’s like Asking Bush too donate to the Al-Qaida relief fund or Saddams legal aide!
The SEC wanted their own franchise,it is their responsibility,it is up too them too make their own success!
2 Feb 2006, 11:33 am
What difference will it make when they get spanked by 200 to nil by the Auckland Blues?
2 Feb 2006, 11:34 am
PA,what would constitute as a level playing field for the Spears?
KevinW,I agree with you,but,they used that line in their bidding process!Skynheiligheid is the correct word!
2 Feb 2006, 11:35 am
StP,
i mentioned i am totally against this relegation system as it stands now.
i know you support transformation and back the spears to hopefully succeed – so i guess we are on the same page.
i just believe a conscious effort should be made – something positive, **** when last did we have that in south african rugby – something positive…..
2 Feb 2006, 11:35 am
Also
It should be noted, that for the Perth side being the better option to grow the game in Oz.
Most of the playing personnel and coaching staff come from outside of the Perth region.Growing the game will take 10-15 years.
SA doesn’t have that exact option.With the S14 rotating amongst the worst perfomers, growing the game will be that much harder in the SEC.
Can someone please clarify….
Should the SEC be deomoted in 2-3 years.Do they keep CC status? Or are the players out of work and drift back to the Leopards,etc.?
2 Feb 2006, 11:37 am
Please Tackler,
this is the page for serious discussion.
Comedy….
Please go to the Saru comment page.
2 Feb 2006, 11:38 am
TO ANYONE WHO IS NOT PROTRANSFORMATION – Assuming South Africa has a population of 40 million, and 10% are white (4 million), by excluding the other 36 million we are shooting ourselves in the foot. Whcih surely MUST be a lesson learnt from our jaded past!?
NZ has a population of 4 million, Aus has a population of 15 million. Imagine the might of a FULLY inified South Africa! ! ! Imagine rugby was our national sport (like NZ or Wales) and ALL South Africans could present a UNIFIED front to the rest of the world! ! ! We would be unstoppable.
I say bring it on!
2 Feb 2006, 11:40 am
StP.interesting point!
If the Spears are relegated after two years,what then?
and
Will it be a situation where they will be playing only every two years in S14?
wHAT ABOUT THE LONGTERM?
We all know that contInuity is the key too success.Will this debacle be repeated every two years?Then they play in the S14 and next year they dont?What about players and coaches?Will they stay with the Spears in such a scenario?
2 Feb 2006, 11:43 am
A promotion/relegation play-off would undermine the whole system. It means a side could have a shocking season, only to redeem themselves in a single game. In other words they would only have to win one game in a season to be promoted or to stay in the league. It doesn’t make sense. The five sides for the super 14 should be chosen from Curry Cup form.
2 Feb 2006, 11:47 am
Wolverine,using your assumptions,who says the 36 odd million cares more about rugby,than soccer?
You cannot use that assumption,for the simple fact that the diverse population have diverse tastes,some preferr rugby,others soccer.
Off the whole “non-white” population in SA,what do you think is their favourite sport?Lets take a guess:
36+miilion:
Soccer 75+%
cricket ?????%
Boxing ????%
Athletics ????%
Rugby ????%
So,maybe you end up with maybe 5-10% are rugby fans,that leaves you with about 1.5-3 milj. “non-whites”.Have you thought about it that way?
2 Feb 2006, 11:48 am
Oh yes,and off that 36 mil,how many are illegal okes?
2 Feb 2006, 11:49 am
my hope is that in 3 years time, IF the Spears get relegated, they will have built a team that will be able to compete in the CC with a feeder system of youngsters coming through the ranks.
If not, I will be the first to put up my hand and admit that it has been a failure.
2 Feb 2006, 11:50 am
“Ask yourself this what have the force done to deserve an s14 franchise in oz they are situated in a league strong hold and don’t have any good aussie rugby sides.”
I don’t know where you base that argument about there being no good aussie sides on. Plus only two states follow league seriously there rest of the country is AFL.
In Oz there was a fair bidding process and the Gold Coast and Central Coast were eliminated in the early rounds as the ARU decided on having state sides rather than have a second team in NSW or Qld.
WA slugged it out with Victoria. both sides had support from their state governments but WA’s bid was more rugby and community oriented. WA had more dollars from the corporate sector than Victoria did. The Force have already out grown the stadium that they are relocating to full time next year by selling more memberships than the capacity of the ground.
2 Feb 2006, 11:51 am
vleis,
unfortunately i dont believe idealistic views – or even a professional approach to find the logic in this will work.
it is a sensitive and complicated issue in SA as is affirmative action, BEE compliance etc etc etc. in business – it is more difficult for us to accept it in sport because of the emotional link we have with sport – we work because we have to, thus the ‘transformation policies’ in business is something that we take with a pinch of salt most of the time – we watch rugby because we love it – transformation thus hits a lot closer to home and heart.
you cannot compare the spears to 50 to 100 year old strong unions. you will have the black activists jumping up and down and point out that for 100 years quotas was imposed on rugby in SA – just differently from what we see it now.
level playing fields, simple – give them the same budget as a stormers or bulls union – to buy and keep players in the region to develop and to build a formidable squad. for that they will need sponsors – for sponsors to come onboard you need a postive vibe about the franchise – for that you will need everyone in SA giving the union or franchise their support in whatever way or form.
2 Feb 2006, 11:55 am
Keo,
Agree and to make it more fair, let the two sides play the best out of three games. In such a case the chances are smaller that one team drop out because of a bad game on the day.
2 Feb 2006, 11:55 am
KevinW
It would be a good idea nontheless for the SEC to at least maintain CC status should they end up relegated.This would ensure developement, transformation and player retention continuety in the region.
I’m heading out guys.
It has been a healthy debate.
St.P
2 Feb 2006, 12:01 pm
what is the point of playing a ‘play-off’ game against the bottom S14 team?
every single person knows that short of a miracle or some serious cash being pumped into the spears a vodacom cup side is likely to give them trouble let a alone a full fledged S14 side.
government will just put more pressure on SARU and SARU will be foreced to up the quota system, hell they might actually just force JW to select at least 15 black guys of the 28 guys going to the WC.
the **** will simply never stop.
2 Feb 2006, 12:06 pm
PA,but if the $$$$$$ is the biggest problem,should the pressure not be on the big companies to help out!Where is the big BEE Companies off Ramaphosa,Sexwale and the likes?Why are they not pumping the money?
And too be honest,m0oney wont solve ALL their problems,it may help a bit though!
2 Feb 2006, 12:13 pm
“every single person knows that short of a miracle or some serious cash being pumped into the spears a vodacom cup side is likely to give them trouble,let alone a full fledged s14 side.”
PA,if that is the case,what is the use of them playing in the S14?
2 Feb 2006, 12:14 pm
Vleis
LSM studies indicate that 43% rugby fans are black. It’s a growing figure too.
Guys this is a stupid debate.
Guys like StP are going to look real f—ing stupid if the Spears win the CC this year and by the same token PA’s gonna look like GLC (Oh, I forgot …he is) if the Spears are bottom feeders.
I reckon if in their 1st year of CC they end above any one of the S14 name unions they deserve the S14 spot.
Let’s see what happens then.
And Tackler
I want a photo and physical address and anything so I can send you a throwaway camera and a pile of dofshit to eat if the Spears beat any one of your Kiwi teams. The camera to take photos.
Not the big name ones like the Blues and Crusaders
ANY ONE
Groot bek.
2 Feb 2006, 12:18 pm
Vleis – if you read my post I made the comparison of NZ and Wales as having rugby as their national sports. I feel that this is what SARU should endeavour for. I agree it is unlikely that all 40 million will be rugby fanatics, and mainatining diversity in one of the most diverse (but also secular and exclusive) nations in the world is critical. However, there is nothing wrong with endeavouring for an unattainable goal if it has positive spin offs that benefit ALL South Africans and not just those who were fortunate/spoiled enough to go to a traditional rugby/wealthy school.
2 Feb 2006, 12:23 pm
ACTUALLY correct me if I am wrong,but,that 43% was the number of the players of colour that plays in the SEC region out off the total number off registered players in SA.Something like that,but it was certainly used to illustrate why the SEC needed to get the nod,it concerned the number of players,and not fans!
2 Feb 2006, 12:32 pm
Agree with Keo in principle in that the spears should have to be involved in a relegation game.
However, if the spears are used as a transformation vehicle, i personally would be happy to see this sort of team. However, it should be a development team for non-white players from all around the country, not an excuse for merely selecting white players from that region. The only whites should be a handful of experienced boks winding down their careers and interested in trying to develop and impart their S12 experience to the young guys.
As for the side that gets relegated, perhaps its not so bad, since their top-class players will move to the other unions and strengthen them and increqse depth making the other SA sides more competitive. Imagine Januarie and AP as halfbacks for the stormers or Jacques Fourie at 13 for the sharks or a cats pack with BJ, AJ, Ackers, Smit and Muller, they’d win the thing.
2 Feb 2006, 12:40 pm
vleis,
i find it hard to understand where you come from.
so let me just in short say again what i believe.
the relegation system sucks, i do not agree with it and it should have been handled better.
i support the region for there mere fact that the majority of our black and coloured players comes from this region and given the situation in our country, i would love for the majority of focus by administration to shift to this region because we need to develop guys the calibre of habana.
through the bullshit form unions and administrators in the last 10 years we have seen absolutely NO development of the game when it comes to transformation – a reality that will always be part of SA and SA rugby.
the region offers the perfect opportunity to correct this and do it in less than 10 i can assure you – but then we need everyone to support the region.
i want to see quotas out of rugby as much as the next guy – but we have been fooled by self serving idiots in rugby for the past ten years thus the government continues to interfere.
everyone seems to have an opinion that transformation sucks, quotas suck, etc. without offering one single solution, and transformations is reality. now we have an opportunity to set the record straight but nobody wants to support it?
in my view SARU and the unions should go out of their way to support them – it would be better for everyone involved with the game – surely we can agree on that?
2 Feb 2006, 12:46 pm
Vleis if 43% of the registered rugby players in sa are black then it is obviously logical to assume that the supporter bases of is of a similar quantity even if it is half tha much it is still pretty big.
2 Feb 2006, 12:47 pm
Okay okay,i agree,but only too a certain degree.
2 Feb 2006, 12:48 pm
Who gives a **** about transformation here really? WE all give a **** about teh quality of rugby, and if enough black people want to play, they will (if they can earn a decent living in the game and get some glory to boot, they will come). The main idea is that RELEGATION will light a rocket under some asses!! All of a sudden the boards will have to report to their shareholders that all that lovely tv lolly is no more. The big guys are crapping themselves for a change, and it is about time.
KEO yor idea stinks – a one game relegation plyoff will mean that all a bad team has to do is focus on one game the whole season, instead of focussing on being better than all the others for the rest of the season. STUPID IDEA!! This is why relegation works- exactly because there is a lot to lose.
Yes, Spears are kak currently, yes they are going to get their asses handed to them on a plate. So did/were the Bulls. But watch them kick up a gear when they are also up for relegation.
SWEAT, you fuckng useless wastes-of-oxygen who have been hanging around in the halls of power with no accountability or responsibility or consequence for so long now. Justify your ******* miserable existence for a change!!
2 Feb 2006, 13:15 pm
Why even bother arguing the toss on this one, it’s a **** up it will remain a **** up it will always be a **** up. When the Spears finish stone last in the currie cup this year. No doubt they will start chaffing that the experience was good for them and has put them in good stead for the Super 14 next season. The sad thing is they actually believe it.
Unfortunately we can’t over rule SA Rugby’s decision but sure as **** stinks the aussie and kiwi side of SANZAR will have grave misgivings over us sending a club side to the super 14.
Why not start a debate does anyone think that the Spears could win the National Club Champs?
2 Feb 2006, 13:17 pm
Possibly the craziest/most humourous aspect of this debate is that it all derives itself from a decision made by “Brian the Lion” in one of his desperate attempts to cling to his autocracy. Which incidentally is the manner in which SA as a whole is currently governed. So maybe part of being a South African is to take nonsensical and ill-considered decisions on the chin and proactively seek out the positives that could possibly result and support those?
2 Feb 2006, 13:27 pm
we have to wolverine dont we.
we are constantly dealt the same hand and somehow we have to find ways to be positive about it – which is why i believe south africans is far more superior than any other nation in a lot of ways.
we are probably the most pessimistic bunch of people out there – or the biggest idiots in the world for taking it on the chin all the time.
either way, we are at least unique
2 Feb 2006, 13:34 pm
Stick with unique PissAnt, as South Africans who consider themselves superior merely comes across as arrogant and get up peoples noses. Then Saffers just introvert and stick to themselves (London is the perfect example). Be proud to be unique, and be confident in one’s own ability.
P.S. How many Aussies do you know that take the hand they are dealt?!
2 Feb 2006, 13:35 pm
howdy Dudes Vleis, PA, STP, Red
First time speaking so compliments to all for 06. ye ye but to late, but i have manners ok!!
it the Western Force are so kuk, why don’t they play the Spears Quickly and we know where they are ito a competing standard for S14. that would be interesting.
2 Feb 2006, 13:39 pm
i think that (hopefully) the relegation system will
be aborted after the spears get thumped 60 – 0 in the majority of their games.
2 Feb 2006, 13:41 pm
hey GB,
compliments to you as well.
yeah the farce got smacked, but against a team i believe will win the competition.
expect more of those i guess.
2 Feb 2006, 14:01 pm
What an unworkable and frankly chidish idea. Why dont the CEO’s of the two franchises just meet behind the bike sheds and moer each other. That would be ‘FAIR’ would it not? An idea Obviously intended to create mouth foaming over-reaction.
The spears do not have the finances to contract players that the s14 team would have. That Idea will merely make it impossible for the team outside of the comp to get in.
Once in the s14 of course, the spears, or any other franchise that is entitled to enter, will have the resources and finance to draw the players they need.
WE NEED TO RELEGATE TEAMS TO KEEP PLAYERS, COACHES AND ALL INVOLVED ON THEIR TOES. SPORT IS ABOUT COMPETITION. The unlucky team will get 2 seasons to lick its wounds and take a good hard look at itself.
Imagine how much good that would do the Stormers for example.
Stormers to be relegated this season.
2 Feb 2006, 14:07 pm
Still a HUGE misconception though. The team relegated this year is only out for one season. After next season they are back in the competition replacing the team that comes last of the SA Teams (except the Spears). I.o.w. if the Stormers are relegated this year and the Cats come last next year (of the SA Teams, irrespective of where the Spears finish) the Stormers will replace the Cats for the 2008 competition. Thereafter it is the 5 best teams playing and the Spears will have to prove themselves better than one of the other SA Teams.
2 Feb 2006, 14:09 pm
If the Melbourne side AND one extra SA side join in a few years, there would be 16 teams, making it possible to have 4 pools of 4 teams much like the Heineken cup.
Why not, Aus could sustain one extra team, indeed would want to, and so would we. In the long term this would suit everybody, Provided the greedy Kiwi’s dont sulk and insist on an extra team.
2 Feb 2006, 14:10 pm
Exactly rednik, Exactly. So it can only do our rugby good.
2 Feb 2006, 14:12 pm
Amen Keo!
Keo 4 President!
2 Feb 2006, 14:22 pm
Kandas,
your last posting puts a lot of the other arguments into some perspective.
In the long run the relegation system is not a bad option. What it comes down to is that the last SA team gets replaced with another SA Team, full stop.
I can understand both sides of the argument that is raging above. But at the end of the day the team that gets relegated will only be out for 1 year max. In 2007 another team that has not been relegated will get a chance to take a break. After that it is “May the best team win.”
2 Feb 2006, 14:36 pm
Exactly Ollie and by 2009 we will surely be in the position, as rednik is advocating, where 16 teams will play with 6 from SA and they will probably play in a system of 4 teams in a pool.
So, do you want our 6th team (Spears) only to start in 2009 or would you want them to go into 2009 with 3 years experience???!!! Real simple isn’t it!?
The team that is out for one year can then also arrange games, like the Spears are doing for this year, against other teams like Canada, Namibia, Kenya, Japan, Heineken Cup Teams, etc. to give their players somewhat of a (much needed) rest and different exposure.
In the end, if you accept what I am saying here, all these guys’ objections really come down to one thing and that is that they do not want to expand the game in SA. Simple.