Smit: SA derbies will be ugly
2 Feb 2006
Bok captain John Smit is expecting blood and thunder when South Africa’s franchises meet during the Super 14 this year.
With the threat of relegation hanging over SA’s five franchises like a sword, local derbies will be more fiercely fought than ever before.
Gone are the days when SA sides would support each other against Australian and New Zealand opposition. The national brotherhood is gone, and it’s every franchise for itself.
The Super 14 kicks off with two local derbies next weekend.
First up is a rematch of the Currie Cup final, when the Cheetahs make their tournament debut against the Bulls in Bloem. The decider at Loftus last year was one of the most brutal matches in South African history. The Cheetahs took the fight to the champions (legally or illegally depending on who you support) and the Bully Boys will be hungry for revenge.
In Jo’burg, the Cats will bare their claws for the Stormers at Ellis Park. Frans Ludeke’s side are the early favourites to go down, while Kobus van der Merwe’s boys are feeling the pressure like never before. Neither side can afford to lose and neither side will give an inch.
The one South African team not facing local opposition in round one are the Sharks, who meet the Chiefs in Durban. They will, however, be without inspirational captain John Smit.
Smit will miss the first three weeks of the competition, including the Sharks’ crunch fixture against the Cheetahs in round two, after being banned for dangerous play when he rammed his elbow into the jaw of French captain Jerome Thion in Paris last year.
He was then ruled out for another round, after undergoing an operation to a stomach muscle. With a bit of luck, the Sharks could have their hooker back in training by 5 March and back on the field for the match against the Waratahs in Sydney.
Speaking on Boots & All, Smit acknowledged the challenge facing the Durbanites.
“With the threat of relegation this year, I can only image how ugly the local derbies will be,” he said. “We’ve got a very tough draw, and don’t have much negotiating power because we came last in 2005.”
Smit said the two extra games in the Super 14 would make it a far tougher assignment than the old Super 12.
“Thirteen games is a lot of rugby,” he said. “We’ll probably start feeling like the cricketers [who are walking wounded in Australia] towards the end of the competition.”
Still, Smit remained positive about the season ahead. “Our squad has a lot more depth than last year,” he said. “We have a young squad, who can play. I can only see good things for the Sharks this season.”

111 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
2 Feb 2006, 20:42 pm
the derbies are definitly gonna be fun to watch that’s for sure!
2 Feb 2006, 20:43 pm
Good on you John!
Cant wait to see clown fish get relagated.
2 Feb 2006, 20:57 pm
Come on Simon – he deliberatetly fended Thion off with an elbow that contacted Thions larynx. He did not mean to fracture the larynx I am sure, but he was aiming at Thion above the neck with a leading elbow. Lucky he got off so lightly and I do hope Thion can talk.
“his elbow made contact with the jaw of French captain Jerome Thion” my arse.
2 Feb 2006, 21:06 pm
Point taken, sthvh
2 Feb 2006, 23:50 pm
Save your energy for the Bokke John, The Sharks aren’t worth dying for.
3 Feb 2006, 03:48 am
Smit to head for Spears next year!
3 Feb 2006, 04:10 am
Boks whip Tonga in sevens. Opening game of the Wellington tourney. 38 – 14
3 Feb 2006, 07:35 am
Local South African derbies? I’d rather watch schoolboy rugby
3 Feb 2006, 07:45 am
wow r7, now that’s a big loss to sa rugby. wonder how it will survive without you?
3 Feb 2006, 07:47 am
Richie7,so you are one of keo’s new characters to get hits.As far as schoolboy rugby go,sa schoiolsides beat kiwi school sides most of the time.So where are you living now.Farkin fafafini bungha(phonetically correct)
3 Feb 2006, 08:10 am
GCC
Please mail me at oranje_orakel@hotmail.com
3 Feb 2006, 08:28 am
hehehe,
seems i got a new kiwi idiot to rip into when i am bored.
hey tosser – when last did your schoolboys lift any cup of significance?
4 more years idiot…….
on the local derbies though – should be crackers.
actually i have decided not to give a **** about the super 14 apart from teh local derbies and the fantasy league.
let the games begin
3 Feb 2006, 08:57 am
Guys, he’s not a Kiwi. He is a Saffa. His dad supported the Blacks when apartheid was alive and well and I salute him for the cause BUT, it’s the NEW SA Rich. You better deal with it. Tell me, what did you do in ’95 when we won the WC?? Did you go out in the street and celebrate with ALL the other South Africans, white, black and coloured?? Or did you just sit in your livingroom here in Cape TOwn and ball your eyes out???
3 Feb 2006, 09:01 am
LMFAO!
The highlight of Springbok rugby has been 1995. Since then it’s been an absolute shambles except for one or two lucky victories. Since 1995 you guys have been beaten with record scores, won the tri nations twice, never won a Super 12, disgraced rugby and your country with Kamp Staaldraad, hired and fired coaches, and insulted the world by picking players of colour rather than talent.
Balling my eyes out? Maybe in 1995 mate, but you guys must be absoluted gutted everytime your beloved Springboks take the field.
3 Feb 2006, 09:04 am
Tell me ‘mate’, how many WC have your team won?? You know what, this is my last post to you… Goodbye!
3 Feb 2006, 09:05 am
Ritchie,
Rather watch schoolboy rugby? Firm young thighs, hairy arsed kids, spanking ******! I’m sure there are more appropriate sites to live out your fantasies, try http://www.pullmywire.tosser
3 Feb 2006, 09:06 am
Spring
Just ignore him… He wants a reaction.
3 Feb 2006, 09:07 am
As many as your team has MATE! Only difference is we can consitently win tri nations, go on end of year tours to the northern hemisphere and walk away proudly having given them a whitewash.
And your Boks? Ha! Beaten by the English and Irish, and French.
Much like your Super 12 teams. Everybody going on about how the Bulls beat the Crusaders, but who won the Super 12? Well? The same Bulls demolished everybody on their way to the CC final, and then lost it. Ha!
3 Feb 2006, 09:23 am
You’d rather watch school boy rugby?
Dirty Kiwi child molester!!!!!
Go sniff some bicycle seats and stay off the site.
3 Feb 2006, 09:26 am
STP – you wasting your time Richie is a saffer playing silly buggers….
3 Feb 2006, 09:35 am
hmmmm….
An even bigger tosser then isn’t he?
Got to sympathize with John Smit though.
He’s not a stupid bloke, he knows what the situation looks like…..really bad, and yet he is still obliged to keep his side upbeat.
3 Feb 2006, 09:50 am
It will take more than JS to get the Sharks out of trouble. They should relax though,they’re not the ones getting relegated.
3 Feb 2006, 09:59 am
“The same Bulls demolished everybody on their way to the CC final, and then lost it. Ha!”
sounds alot like the World Cup history of a certain team in black Richy my boy
demolish everyone in the build-up… and then… well, you said it yourself: “HA!!” :p
3 Feb 2006, 10:01 am
Worst thing is, these guys are gonna try to take each other heads of in S14, but after they tried to kill each other, they have to best mates in the bok team again.
3 Feb 2006, 10:10 am
Richie_7 you’re so easy to see through.
Kiwis do not know how to spell Kamp Staaldraad correctly.
They also do not know what “LMFAO” or “balling my eyes out” means (in NZ balling means bonking).
I also haven’t yet met a Kiwi who knows who the current Currie Cup holders are.
So your game is up. You are a Saffer PRETENDING to be a Kiwi, probably to get attention or some reaction. So rather piss off please.
3 Feb 2006, 10:20 am
Sharks to be relegated, bye bye smittie! It’s time for Monty to stand down too, otherwise he will only be remembered as a has been (ala Joost). The Sharks need two elements: Rassie Erasmus as coach, playing real hard enforcing intellegent rugby in stead of hanging around coffeshops and being fashion icons. Sorry booikies, go and learn from your poorer neighbours being cheetahs how to be champs… (stormers can also learn for that matter)
3 Feb 2006, 10:21 am
This is really the last time I even mention this doos. Now listen guys, Richy7 is a Saffa. A very pissed off one. He blames everybody that after 10 years of democracy he is still living with his folks. After ’94, the time when houses and cars were falling from the sky before the elections Rich had a dream of living in Clifton. But he didn’t realize he had to work for it. He was free yes but he still had to get his lazy *** of his mom’s couch and go work for it. He is a bitter young man that carries alot of hatred around for his failures in life. Now fot the last frieken time. HE IS A SAFFA!!! Don’t let him get to you, ignore him!!! Tackler may be irritating but at least he now lives in NZ, this doos lives in the Southern Suburbs in Cape Town…
3 Feb 2006, 11:01 am
Here is a link for live commentary of the cricket if you’re intrested.
http://www.penguinradio.com/search/play.php?id=110630
3 Feb 2006, 11:15 am
Grrrr,
aah is this beginning of a new and wonderful relationship with a sad and sorry individual that is Richy.
Certainly comes across as a class ****!
3 Feb 2006, 11:18 am
Eish CSB
Are you a *********?
The derbies are often the most hardcore games of the season.
Even the Kiwi derbies are more intense than ours.
I for one can’t wait to see the (what I consider) the clash of the S14 between the Crusaders and Blues at Auckland.
I think the Kiwis are even more intense than us about those derbies.
Our derbies ahve also been merciless affairs in the past. Not necessarily good rugby, but they’re the most uncompromising clashes.
With promotion rlegation beckoning this season there’s more than pride at stake. More than just a win/lose or taking the wooden spoon. It’s a LOT more at stake
It’s just going to be war.
3 Feb 2006, 11:25 am
Hey Davidsp only sometimes.
3 Feb 2006, 11:35 am
Ritchie_7 is an *******
3 Feb 2006, 11:35 am
(just thought i better say something)
3 Feb 2006, 11:41 am
Gotta hate thoughs New Zealanders..
NZ rugby is boring, Safricans play with passion and pride.
Also Ritchie_7 if were so disgraceful, I would hate to feel like you , every time the All Blacks walk onto the field..
IMAGINE LOSING TO SUCH A TERRIBLE TEAM LIKE THE BOKS.. well the ALL BLACKS have done that twice in 2 years.. Can you believe it…
Ritchie_7 if u dobt already know this.. You are an Idiot…
3 Feb 2006, 11:43 am
3 Feb 2006, 11:53 am
hee-hee oink, Why not tell him to Vark off!
3 Feb 2006, 11:53 am
not sure we’ve ever had a national brotherhood, for some uknown reason, the SA derbies have always been when SA teams have raised their intensity, rather than against NZ or Oz oppo.
3 Feb 2006, 12:06 pm
I know we give the Aussies a lot of **** but this is just kak news, strongs mate:
From News24
Cancer blow for Mcgrath’s wife
03/02/2006 11:41 – (SA)
Julian Linden
Sydney – Australia fast bowler Glenn McGrath stepped down from the team on Friday after his wife was diagnosed with cancer for a third time.
McGrath released a statement about his wife Jane’s condition after pulling out of Australia’s limited-overs match with South Africa in Melbourne.
He said he intended to resume playing for Australia in the future but would not be available for selection while his wife underwent radiotherapy treatment.
“Jane McGrath today confirmed she has a recurrence of cancer and will undergo radiotherapy treatment early next week,” a statement issued by Cricket Australia said.
“As with her previous episodes, both Jane and Glenn are extremely positive that the treatment will be successful and have requested that during this time, all parties respect their privacy.
“It is Glenn’s intention to continue playing with the Australian cricket team, however, his immediate concern is with his family, and he will discuss his playing schedule with Cricket Australia and team management in due course.”
English-born Jane McGrath was initially diagnosed with breast cancer in 1997, aged 31. She underwent a mastectomy and six months of chemotherapy and radiotherapy before being given a clean bill of health.
In 2003, she was diagnosed with a secondary cancer in her hip bone while her husband was playing cricket in the West Indies.
McGrath rushed home but later rejoined the tour after a specialist said his wife’s condition was not as bad as first thought and after she urged him to return.
She underwent more treatment and made another full recovery. The McGraths have two young children, James and Holly, and have established their own charity foundation to raise money for cancer victims.
McGrath is regarded as one of the greatest fast bowlers in cricketing history and has taken more Test wickets than any other player.
But the 35 year old has been heavily criticised in recent weeks for a dip in form.
3 Feb 2006, 12:12 pm
Yea Red pretty ****** news,recieved similar news this year with a family member.
3 Feb 2006, 12:21 pm
Smith out for a duck again. It actually took 2 balls this time.
AB de villiers should be there….
3 Feb 2006, 12:33 pm
ah ****, smith’s hopeless, all talk.
poor mgrath, puts everything is perspective, ****** disease that.
3 Feb 2006, 12:48 pm
I think old Smiff is running out of time here, still think getting rid of Ray Jennings was a mistake.
3 Feb 2006, 12:52 pm
Jeez, CSB, we are getting klapped by the Ozzies, it doesn’t really feel like our boys wanted to chase the runs today. Terrible display!
3 Feb 2006, 12:52 pm
South Africa innings (target: 282 runs from 50 overs) R B 4 6
*GC Smith lbw b Lee 0 2 0 0
HH Dippenaar c Gilchrist b Clark 9 23 0 0
JA Rudolph run out (Hussey) 19 39 1 0
HH Gibbs b Hopes 33 40 5 0
J Botha c Gilchrist b Lee 46 61 4 0
AG Prince run out (Dorey/Gilchrist) 24 39 2 0
JM Kemp c Hopes b Lee 20 30 1 0
+MV Boucher c Ponting b Lee 0 1 0 0
SM Pollock c Martyn b Symonds 13 17 1 0
AJ Hall not out 14 23 0 0
JJ van der Wath not out 0 7 0 0
Extras (lb 3, w 5, nb 1) 9
Total (9 wickets, 46.5 overs) 187
3 Feb 2006, 13:14 pm
Red,I guess the aussies getting 60 runs off the last 5 overs pretty much sums up our application to playing and winning which was non existent.
3 Feb 2006, 13:21 pm
Tam te tam te tam tam tam …
Play the death match.
two run outs, and the Aussies missing the stumps twice for sure fire runouts.
I stopped listening when Smurf got himself out and Poepa and Jacks started to bat like they were out to save the test match…
3 Feb 2006, 13:24 pm
hee-hee Smurf, I have some juicy details about his girl Minky, don’t think I can say it on this forum, but I will say this, she enjoys eating out alot
3 Feb 2006, 13:26 pm
PISS ANT /KEO /Chris
What happens if two SA sides finis last on the same points?? What team will be send packing?
3 Feb 2006, 13:32 pm
Rudolph and Clarke’s run outs were diabolical.
3 Feb 2006, 13:58 pm
bigg, even if they finish with the same no of points, one of them would in all likelihood have a better points average than the other.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All