The damning truth about Davids

Lardy Davids left Cape Town last year huffing and puffing that he’d been done a dirty by Western Province and the Stormers.

Sycophantic publications screamed racism, and Davids was quick to seize the opportunity to label Nick Mallett, Kobus van der Merwe and his coaching team as discriminatory. Racism, he said, was alive and well at Newlands.

In Gloucester he found a heavyweight club in the demanding English Premiership. He found a coach and management team that backed him. He spoke about the prestige of the club and his desire to prove his detractors wrong.

“One of the key issues about signing Quinton is that he was prepared to prove himself. There’s a longer-term deal on the table for him if he can show what he’s worth. We want people to be driven by performance, and I’m delighted that he’s got that attitude,â€? Gloucester head coach Dean Ryan gloated soon after Davids’ signing.

The words were backed up by action. Davids was hauled over a month earlier in order to get him fit. The shocking indictment that was a horrendously out of shape rugby player at the peak of South Africa’s domestic season was passed over, a fresh start was promised.

Away from the political turmoil that had shrouded his career, Lardy Davids wanted to be judged as a rugby player. Now he has been. Gloucester have played 13 games this season, Lardy has started two and come off the bench in one.

Gloucester purchased Davids because of a liability at lock. Adam Eustace (13 appearances) and Alex Brown (nine appearances) are not of international quality. They are solid club players, and they are deemed to be better than Davids.

Davids can no longer pull the race card, for to do so reveals the stark truth of his career. The colour of his skin did not deny him opportunity in South African rugby, the reality is it made a club player into a Springbok.

Davids sought to rid the disguise of colour, but all it revealed was a player filled with excuses. There is no accountability in Davids’ mind, and the countless coaches who have embarked to get the player into acceptable physical condition is the damning legacy of potential unfulfilled.

Davids played 37 times for the Stormers, where he felt he was not judged as a rugby player. At Gloucester he has been, and his 23% appearance rate is reflective of a player whose ability and attitude reflect the amateur he always should have been.

102 Comments

• 1.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ja, ek is so bly die dikgat is weg. Almal het my gekruisig to ek gese het hy is nie eers goed genoeg vir ‘n Vodacom cup span nie. Cheers ‘Lardy’ enjoy Mud Island.

• 2.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

mmmm….. Is it now safe to call old Quinton a quota player?

• 3.KietieCat: Reply to this comment

Lardy the legend :)

Where are all his supporters now? :oops:

• 4.KietieCat: Reply to this comment

Exactly Brick!

• 5.green blood: Reply to this comment

Can we compare Davids record against Geo’s oversees stint. Jip maybe not worth it, because of injuries etc. Unfortunately it will always be thought of in the same breath.

maybe RS can buy him for the sharks? he did afterall wanted to take him to the RWC 03.

it will always be a shame……

• 6.snoop: Reply to this comment

What a sad, lard *** sack of ****.

Im watching him play I can actually count on both hands the number of times I saw him effectively clean out a ruck.

Useless, big but useless.

• 7.KietieCat: Reply to this comment

green blood, I was just about to make mention of his “almost” representation at RWC…

Thank God for small mercies… :roll:

• 8.jannas: Reply to this comment

Lardy Davids….Aptly named Chris. He was and still is a liability on the field. I am surprised that he actually was tollerated for 37 games at the Stormers. Don’t you ever come back Quinton, cheers!

• 9.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

It was just a matter of time before he’d be found out.
    No hiding behind any excuses overseas dear lard.

• 10.green blood: Reply to this comment

question to all of you, is he not good enouhg for the SPEARS?

Kietiecat….. we say no more old chap. me thinks, it was really to close. this must change a point of view of some pitty towards RS.

HMmmmmm. no way not a ****

• 11.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I have an idea if any one of us were given all he chances he got we would have been in the Bok team. Jeez man, it’s not rocket science. You are a athlete, hit the gym, practice and lay off moms ‘koeksusters’!!! You fat *******

• 12.sean: Reply to this comment

good riddance useless f*** !

• 13.vleis: Reply to this comment

ALL TOGETHER NOW………..!!!!!

QUOTA!QUOTA!QUOTA!QUOTTAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!

• 14.snoop: Reply to this comment

Was kak in the line outs too

He was used quite effectively as a battering ram.

Given the ball and told to run into the line, break it, go to ground and set it up.

He did this effectively a few times, but still, useless.

• 15.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Come now guys how can you all honestly believe that Davids was a quota, the man was in inspirational form in 2003 and his form with the stormers was only matched by bakkies.
    A great loss to SA Rugby… :-(

• 16.snoop: Reply to this comment

Coffeeshop,

he he he he he he he ……

• 17.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Davids is a lard *** sack of xyz these days. But he did have quite a few decent games the one year he actually got fit enough to play rugby. It was about 4 years ago.

The problem was he then allowed himself to become an over weight blob again, and lived off the hype created by his one decent season.

• 18.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

ha ha! i wonder if the oke really thought he was in the same league as bakkies, matfield, jack etc etc?

• 19.RedCard: Reply to this comment

If he plays for the Waratahs and gets QD what would it stand for,

Quota Davids?
    Quite Dissapointing?

BTW who ate all the pie?

• 20.Genl. Joubert: Reply to this comment

Rudolf Strontlie should burn in hell for giving lardass a Springbok jersey.

• 21.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

As long as there are QUOTAS, so long will there always be quota players.

Blob Davids isn’t the first.

Blob Davids isn’t the ONLY one.

And Blob Davids isn’t the last!

• 22.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

Send him to the Spears

• 23.RedCard: Reply to this comment

NO Brumby they are battling as it is already!

• 24.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

i think the spears are **** enough as it is, give ‘em someone abit better!

• 25.RedCard: Reply to this comment

RE #21

Change Players to bloggers
    Quotas to Doos
    and Blob Davids to TheTackler.

Makes for some interesting reading.

• 26.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

i’m sure geo cronje also signed for gloucester, i’m almost convinced he did sign fo them!

• 27.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

A splinter-scraper, off-the-bencher, let’s whip the poor sod on when all else bloody well fails playing for a mere club rugby team of the nobody calibre of Gloucester is actually only there because he is an incumbent Springbok” but then only because he has enough melanin!

Isn’t that proof enough that the ONLY way to pick a Bok team which can ever prevail against the likes of the All Blacks is to pick a team purely on merit? To hell with melanin?

Not if the ANC regime and the Stofile brothers have any say!

• 28.Thames Trompie: Reply to this comment

Geo Cronje signed for Harlequins.

• 29.Ig: Reply to this comment

He might not be a great lock but he can sure clear from the 22 better than the other “flyhalves” at newlands

• 30.snoop: Reply to this comment

Quinto Davids is the tacklers mother.

• 31.rednik: Reply to this comment

Davids had more ability than the name ‘Lardy’ would suggest. True, Unfit and overweight.At the same time, Naturally big and strong. Effective and aggressive on the drive too. Let us now see how Gloucester raise his game. He may not be fit now, but these things take time. If he is fit in a seasons time and performs, wont that be solid evidence of the inferior standard of Praawvins coaching.

Tackler, You are a hateful moron with serious issues that need to be expressed to a quack, not on a blog. This is the first and last time I ever respond to any of your posts. Dont they have any New Zealand rugby websites?

• 32.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

my bad

• 33.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

is it just me that finds it interesting that this whole argument is based on the fact that he was only selected to play two games?

but no reason is given for why only two games?

loss of form?

injury?

any quote from the coach why he was not selected?

anyone from the UK know anything?

• 34.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Yeah let’s slag off every player who’s form drops. What Davids said about WP is common knowledge and blantantly obvious. there is no way that De Kok could constently keep Conradie out and Gus Theron could consistently be prefered to Egon Seconds/Nokwe without racial bias. Davids’ remarks about WP were not neccessarily about how HE was treated but about how players of color were treated. Where are the Rose brothers? Honest, seious remarks that are contered by a statement of ” You’re Fat ” echoed by everyone. ” Yeah yeah – he’s fat ”

Missing the point fellas. Changing the topic and attacking his character instead of discussing the issues he raised. Ordered to do so by Mallet perhaps?

• 35.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Snoop
    Are you saying the Tackler could be a quota contributer to the site :-)

• 36.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Tackler – you are quite vehement in your criticism of quotas. makes me think you do actually care quite a bit about SA rugby and the green and gold, despite all your pomp and show.

• 37.lazeybonez: Reply to this comment

much agreed with you Stormer… racism is alive and well in the WP rugby union… anyway what do you expect from the union which is mainly fed by Stellenbosch university and the likes… where institutionalised racism was conceived…

good luck to Davids… i hope he gets fit next season and prove wrong those conservative, boring dutch bigots who see him as a useless big quota player…

• 38.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Stormer

The point is: De Kok did not blame racism when he was dropped as captain and 9 last year. He took it like a man. Davids on the other hand…. Need I say more. The previously disadvantage poeple in SA needs to understand that when you get a chance in life you need to work hard to keep it. There is way to many “soustrein ryers” in SA. I have no problem with giving poeple jobs above the previously advantaged as long as they are prepared to work once they got the job.

• 39.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Quinton Davids

You have been weighed!
    You have been measured!
    And you have been found wanting!

As jy dom is moet jy kuk!

• 40.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Stormer,

What a relieve to see that I am not the only one that has that vision about Wp. Racism is rife. But only by 1 Voortrekker – Doos (aka Koos) Basson. With him out, Wp will be on the winning track again. Mark my words.
    UNITY is what makes a winning machine. Without that, the season will be long and hard (and drunk) for us Stormers supporters.

• 41.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Stormsaam

And what about your friends screaming for the other team at newlands? Hipocryt!

• 42.carcass: Reply to this comment

Well,well, Slowly we are getting rid of all the dead weight. Faan Reitenbach was big but just as useless. I rather support two stringy locks than a big prop/lock that are there only for the after dinner function.

• 43.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

storm,

i have mentioned many times before there seems to be a sheep mentality in SA rugby especially from supporters – one guy says fat and all teh others jump on the bandwagon.

look davids in my view was **** from the time he started – but you have to ask why seconds, the wing with the best record in WP rugby was not even included in the stormers squad.

dont even get me started on gus, and in my view de kock and bolla was equally kak and delport should have been given a run.

i will not say i blame it on race – it is a bit over the top for me, but i will say there is something seriously wrong at WP rugby and keo with articles like this and the weekly moaner van der merwe drivel seem to want make people out there believe all is well.

we are still waiting on an answer why the gus question was never asked to mallet and why he is still playing given the answer keo gave us…

• 44.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Brick,

??????
    Is Basson your father or do you just call him PA?
    He obviously wasted his money in trying to educate you (hipocryt = hypocrite).

• 45.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

When you take away all the excuses Quinton, you are faced with the harsh reality of living in a true democracy where everyone is equal. Being non white in England doesn’t buy you any advantage. In England black, coloured or white you are judged and rewarded upon performance.
    No longer can you rely upon quotas, hidden agendas or racially motivated selections as excuses.
    Perhaps you should sue quikslim or some other faddy diet plan. Lazy people always blame everybody else. Or maybe you should take the advice given to you previously on this site, GET OFF YOUR LAZYARSE AND APPLY YOURSELF

• 46.kyer: Reply to this comment

let the sharks have him.

• 47.BIGBOSS: Reply to this comment

Eish I hope you guys are wrong about this racism in WP,but Stormer makes a good point,Why was Egon and Bolla out all last season?????

• 48.kyer: Reply to this comment

if he played for the Tahs, he woul be known as QD- Quota Deject!

• 49.Stormer: Reply to this comment

It’s not really over the top PissAnt. It’s part of where we live and the lingering mentality. Like what you pointed out about Seconds. Could you offer any counter theory on how Gus got his place ahead of Egon? Let your imagination run wild and see if you come up with a less ridiculous suggestion. Why did the Rose brothers not think that WP was going to be the best place for them to prosper?

• 50.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

BB,

Only the elite white players are entrusted with key positions in Wp rugby. The scam started with Naas Botha. Unfortunately Percy now has his number but Haas sleeps comfortably everynight knowing that it is a white dude that broke his elite record (but he stills turns in his sleep cause Percy comes from Wp).

Anyway, what happened to Tsimba (brilliant flyhalf, no one invested in his talent, not even in Bulls/Cheetahs setup). Dollie is going to be broken at the Spears but what other choice did he have? Society and racism forced him there because you can only have quota players in certain positions.

BUT, Ricky has proved us all wrong. He holds the key for France 2007 and no matter what people and Bulls supporters say, as long as he is injury free he will be the most important decision maker in the so called “white man’s sport”. Now imagine two people of colour at 9 and 10? Most of the okes will be fainting on this site at that picture!

I cannot believe that in Sa we can publicy support racism with shows like “Oor die kole” and “Supperrugby (Joost’s show)”. They interview all the anti-arparteid players and relish the moments when the ooms called in from De Aar and Parys. At the end of the day money needs to be made and as soon as the sponsors see empty seats in stadiums……watch this space.

• 51.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Alan Solomons left Stuart Abbot on the bench; Jean de Villiers has been benched by being played on the wing, instead of centre. Andre Venter was played at lock to make space for Skinstad. Rassie was dropped by Harry Viljoen, Andre Vos was moved to flank.

What does this all prove? That the players are useless?

Tell us about Lardy’s performance, Chris, not he’s being benched.

Davids has the potential to be a good Springbok lock. But that is entirely up to him.

• 52.cab: Reply to this comment

agree with henri F, not a bad lock, but needs to get his gat in gear. harsh press.

• 53.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Chuckle chuckle

• 54.leitz: Reply to this comment

Stormsaam, racism in WP should be the least of your worries boet, go see someone before its too late.

• 55.Dan: Reply to this comment

Stormer

Re Racism at WP – you’re right, they don’t hire wights anymore in the administration, it is all AA/EE.

Re Rose brothers. Nick and the team did a helluva lot to keep them, but you can blame Rose snr for that. The 2 boys were apparently not too happy to have to move to Guntown.

Re Bolla – massive attitude problem. Did not fulfill his other responsibilities and needed a wake up call. We might see a different Bolla if he decides to be a teamplayer.

• 56.Dan: Reply to this comment

should be whites, eish I need a holiday

• 57.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

Tsimba is not eligible for springbok status and as such why should SA rugby invest in him. The Cheetahs have young upcoming flyhalves who qualify for the boks and they should get preferential treatment over Tsimba. Kees Lensing was the same, he left to play in England and in my opinion should not have played for the bulls because there were other SA qualified props who could have . We should utilise our resources on players who qualify for the springboks. There is however an argument for the inclusion of seasoned pro’s from overseas such as Mendez who’s experience and knowledge is invaluable.

• 58.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

storm & stormsaam,

look i am not going to argue your points about racism no matter how you present them.

call me blind or call me ignorant, but i cannot believe a union of over a hundred years, a union that has done a hell of a lot to bring us stars like breyton, chester, bolla, andrews and the likes who all represented their country with honour will in any way or form associate itself with anything remotely close to racism.

if it turns out to be true i will be the first to condemn it to the highest degree and those individuals responsible should be given the harshest punsihment available.

actually, something like that will shock rugby in SA to its core. but its all conspiracy theory’s at the time – yours just seem to fit in well with the current situation.

what i do put this down to for now is bad coaching, even worse administration, and can someone please tell me whose job it is to scout talent in WP rugby.

dollie, brent, schalk, ashley johnson, gaffie, de waal, the rose’s, shimange – how in the hell could they let them go in the first place?????

henry f,

dont ask for facts when it comes to WP articles my friend, you aint getting ****.

• 59.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

on tsimba,

he is injured again.

• 60.Stormer: Reply to this comment

It wouldn’t be shocking at all PA. It’s the norm.
    Shock Horror. An Afrikaans based management structure is run by individuals with silly racial bias. That ain’t nothing new.

But you’re right coaching, administration and talent scouting are the major problems at the moment. There doesn’t seem to be any scouting except from Maties (the white afrikaans university ; )

• 61.Dan: Reply to this comment

Stormer

Probably didn’t read my first post.

BTW, Aplon (spelling?) is from Maties.

Oh Yes, and Nick is very much English, not Dutch.

Re Gus, there is a bit of a mistery, but hey, he played in that record braking match against the Blues. If Lardy can be there, so can Gus.

• 62.Stormer: Reply to this comment

I did Dan and I think its unfair for the to make de Kok captain thereby giving him little (close to no) chance to perform. This would obviously be upsetting hence the ‘attitude’ problem. Then having the cheek to half only his salary for ‘underperforming’ when he’s not given a chance and many others were not performing. Making an example of him. Soon after the Rose brothers ran off. And yes Nick is English. It’s not a mentality exclusive to Afrikaans speaking people.

I don’t think it’s the biggest problem at WP, but it’s naive to think that the management is completely free of racial bias. Same goes to our society. Strange that they throw their toys and call people fat/useless/lazy when its pointed out.

• 63.Stan: Reply to this comment

A wonderful layout Stormer.
    Now could you share your unique insight with us , on our soccerteam’s abysmal performance?As they are definitely not run by an elite Afrikaans Broederbond clan. It must be the coach then. He looks white and it looks like he would like to learn to speak Afrikaans…..

• 64.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Safa Stan Safa. 4 letter horrible S word like your name and ****. They fire previous successful coaches like Barker cause they were getting too much ‘power’ and offered opposition to them.

I’m not saying that racism is why Stormers/WP are stuggling. But don’t think it crazy to suggest that it exists. I mean people like Stan are probably invloved.

• 65.Gareth: Reply to this comment

they let aashley johnson go!?!? WP rugby just gets better and better.Fcking morons.

• 66.Bongani: Reply to this comment

Big up to Stormer for introducing some classic theories – let’s face facts, institutionalised racism (in SA) will still take another 15 years at the very least to work its way out of the system & that’s only because the system (political) changed fundamentally …. Amandla to QD ‘aka the great big hard man’ and by the bye he will always be a legend to true Province fans …

Chris are you a paid up member of TCC (the chattering class)?

• 67.Stan: Reply to this comment

No Stormer, if i was involved there would have been a bit of pride and discipline. Socccer is being run like the county and the rest of Africa.
    and WP rugby…..

• 68.pierre: Reply to this comment

What a load of rabble-rousing racist **** this article is, keo. Lardy kicks ***. He would be in my all-time great Bok XV, along with Jorrie, Koenie and the Gaff.

• 69.pierre: Reply to this comment

Don’t think Geo’s exactly covered himself in glory in the UK, either.

• 70.pierre: Reply to this comment

I wonder if Lardy and Geo have been to see Brokeback Mountain yet. Maybe then they will want to share a shower after all.

• 71.Stan: Reply to this comment

Pierre,
    You cannot compare Die Dik Kwota with Geo.Geo was injured, useless and overweight.

• 72.Stan: Reply to this comment

Ek sê weer:
    Geo was injured,and the Quota useless and overweight.

• 73.pierre: Reply to this comment

…whereas Lardy is just useless and overweight. Gotcha.

• 74.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Stan dude, I hate to break the news to you but the country is actually doing quite well. A hell of a lot better now than it did under apartheid.

• 75.pierre: Reply to this comment

Stormer, the sad thing is that there are some specimens on this site who would actually consider that to be a controversial statement.

• 76.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Is there any truth to the rumour that the Great Hard Man in fact gave Geo his injury, to teach him a lesson? Or have you heard something different?

• 77.Stan: Reply to this comment

But offcourse the country is doing well.
    21000 murders last year. a New record.

• 78.Stan: Reply to this comment

Die enigste besering wat Die Kwota vir Geo kan gee is n bytmerk of Aids. Fisies niks verder nie.

• 79.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

I think Keo is harsh on Davids now that he is out of favour, but that wasn’t the case 3,4 years ago, some sang Davids praises as a Sormers’ hard man and invaluable Boks’ ‘intimidator’ but it wasn’t me.
    Davids as a forward is no worse than say Shimanga, Sephaka, Dale Santos, Ettien Fynn or Eddie Andrews for that matter, they are all honest players but on merit alone they would never make the bench or their respectively Reserve CC teams
    So why picking on him?

• 80.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

mmmmm, nothing we all didn’t know already.

Wonder how many other club level Boks we have?

• 81.pierre: Reply to this comment

Stan, the time has come for me to call you a racist. You ****** racist.

Onlooker, leave Shimmy out of your list. He’s the real deal.

• 82.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

since 1992 there have been more undeserving white players picked for the boks than there have been undeserving black players. its a simple fact. why is it only the black ones are hotly debated, yet the **** white selections are just laughed off as silly mistakes and forgotten?

food for thought…

• 83.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

well there web site does not even have him in the sqad – see http://www.gloucesterrugby.co.uk/2338_2337.php

• 84.Stan: Reply to this comment

pierre,ek hou nie van die ******* gedeelte nie…

• 85.pierre: Reply to this comment

Stan: OK, fine. I take it back. You’re not a ******* racist. You’re a racist who never gets laid. Better?

• 86.Stan: Reply to this comment

I strongly disagree with the never gets laid part.

• 87.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

The one thing I recalled from couple of years back was that when Selborn Boom and Hottie Lowes left WP for France, it was openly attributed to Davids secured a spot as a lock no matter what in the Stormers/WP line up, could somebody recalled what Keo had to say about Davids THEN?!

• 88.Stan: Reply to this comment

Onlooker,
    This must be the first and hopefully the last, but Keo has always been one of the Vetkadet’s biggest critics.

• 89.Stan: Reply to this comment

Hopefully the last time that i support or defend the Bonzai, i mean!

• 90.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

RED CARD FOR DAVIDS! WHAT A PLONKER

• 91.Glawster ennit: Reply to this comment

“a mere club rugby team of the nobody calibre of Gloucester”

BLOODY CHEEK. HAve you ever been to Kingsholm? Have you ever witnessed LIVE Premiership rugby? Have you ever witnessed LIVE Heineken Cup rugby?

The answer to both is probably no. Over at Gloucester, we have similar opinions of Davids as a lazy squad player, but what are you chatting about claiming my club is of no calibre? I think it’s pathetic considering the only matches Glos have played against SA teams (such as Sharks) we have come away fro your homeland with a victory!?!? And yet you have the cheek to call us non calibre. Long live the shed.

Oh and by the way, your reporter has his facts wrong as Alex Brown is infact in the England Elite player 27 man squad. Tosser.(This comment is not aimed at anyone other than the nob that degrades the most passionate club in England).

• 92.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

stormsaam

You are just like Davids a quota that is why you scream racism all the time.

• 93.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Bloupoes, gaan huis toe, jou ma wil kinders tel.

You need to realize that in Tswane you have 20 million black people living with 1 million white people. When the blacks wake up one day, you okes are gonna k@k. Remember, the wheels turns and one day you dutchmen are gonna have your day…..

• 94.cir mhor: Reply to this comment

Apart from your ridiculous and ill-informed comments about Gloucester, which make one wonder about how much you know about anything outside of your backyard, and the fact that you seem to allow vile racism on your site, you might also like to consider our record with SAs. In Jake Boer we have a diamond of a player – and it speaks volumes about your management that he hasn’t got a host of SA caps – but do the names Christo Bezuidenhout, Riaan van den Bergh and Delary du Preez mean anything to you? What they are to us is more overpaid and under-achieving SA mercenaries. They came, they talked a big story but they couldn’t hack it in the English Premiership – the toughest league in the world, bar none. If Davids has failed over here then it has nothing to do with the rubbish you spout, but more to do with him simply being yet another SA import who wasn’t up to the job.

• 95.Ig: Reply to this comment

Ahhh cir mhor – don’t mistake us all for the idiots posting on this particluar forum, there are many folks who refuse to move on – trust me we all waiting for them to become extinct – the problem is they are allowed to breed. Good luck for the rest of the season and i hope you can improve on your current fourth place…..

• 96.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Pissant. Exactly right! Why the hell does Gus get to play Super 14 when Seconds, who boasts a try a game over 50+ Province appearances is sent to the Vodacom Cup? Something is certainly rotten in the state of Province.

• 97.Frazer: Reply to this comment

cir mhor – Christo Bezuidenhout, Riaan van den Bergh and Delary du Preez couldn’t hack it in South Africa. That’s why they decided to make a quick easy quid and go to your little island. Don’t blame them for cashing in, mate. Your club bought them. We keep our good players. There are a few more crappy players you can have too. I wont bother naming them because knowing your clubs, you’ll soon see them playing over there.

• 98.Stormer: Reply to this comment

You guys are scaring me. I thought this year Seconds was in and Gus was out. Am I wrong?

• 99.cab: Reply to this comment

ha ha frazer well said,

ci mohr,

as for Jake Boer, he is a decent player whom jake white would have looked at, evaluated, and decided we have better, and rightfully so.

toughest league in the world is the S12, stop with all the bluster, we beat the HP teams perenially at the start of our season in warm-up games so i dont know what you are wittering on about.

• 100.cir mhor: Reply to this comment

I think a couple of you (Fraser / cab) are illustrating why so many SAs have such a reputation for unpleasant arrogance and ignorance. On points of fact, don’t you play in the S14 nowadays? What are these HP teams you beat (I don’t think I’ve heard of the competition)? And aren’t you basing your claim on one of your sides seeing off Harlequins 2nd team (they’re in what we call NL1 which is the junior league and well below Guinness Premiership standard). We see your sides play in both S12/S14 and the CC and I don’t think any of them would make the top half of the English league (and that’s from a Scot!). As for your SA players who you so easily dismiss, weren’t at least a couple of them capped for SA (though God knows why!)?

• 101.pierre: Reply to this comment

ci mohr, the lads are referring to the pre-season warm-up friendlies where our lot regularly give yours a real pasting. For example when the Stormers thrashed the Newport Gwent Dragons in Dubai last year. Even the useless Sharks kicked the **** out of the Harlequins.

You surely can’t be saying that English club rugby is better than the Super 14, can you? Give me the number of the dude who sells you your LSD, quick.

• 102.cir mhor: Reply to this comment

I know you’re a long way away from Europe, but surely you’ve realised that the Dragons are WELSH (principality joined onto England but not currently part of it), and Harlequins were relegated from the English Premiership and are part of our second tier of clubs. Yes, I absolutely stick to my view that the GP is the most competitive league around and I think that any of the top half dozen English clubs would fancy most Super 14 teams under English conditions, and they’d certainly have no trouble with the SA ones! The packs would destroy your sides (assuming that we had a Northern hemisphere ref that didn’t see the scrum as simply a way of restarting the game as in RL), and I doubt you’d cope with the defences. Sadly, the different seasons prevent us from ever really knowing, but I’ll enjoy the S14 as I always do. However, I’ll still see it as more akin to 15-a-side 7s – exciting but not the real thing!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.