The damning truth about Davids

Lardy Davids left Cape Town last year huffing and puffing that he’d been done a dirty by Western Province and the Stormers.

Sycophantic publications screamed racism, and Davids was quick to seize the opportunity to label Nick Mallett, Kobus van der Merwe and his coaching team as discriminatory. Racism, he said, was alive and well at Newlands.

In Gloucester he found a heavyweight club in the demanding English Premiership. He found a coach and management team that backed him. He spoke about the prestige of the club and his desire to prove his detractors wrong.

“One of the key issues about signing Quinton is that he was prepared to prove himself. There’s a longer-term deal on the table for him if he can show what he’s worth. We want people to be driven by performance, and I’m delighted that he’s got that attitude,â€? Gloucester head coach Dean Ryan gloated soon after Davids’ signing.

The words were backed up by action. Davids was hauled over a month earlier in order to get him fit. The shocking indictment that was a horrendously out of shape rugby player at the peak of South Africa’s domestic season was passed over, a fresh start was promised.

Away from the political turmoil that had shrouded his career, Lardy Davids wanted to be judged as a rugby player. Now he has been. Gloucester have played 13 games this season, Lardy has started two and come off the bench in one.

Gloucester purchased Davids because of a liability at lock. Adam Eustace (13 appearances) and Alex Brown (nine appearances) are not of international quality. They are solid club players, and they are deemed to be better than Davids.

Davids can no longer pull the race card, for to do so reveals the stark truth of his career. The colour of his skin did not deny him opportunity in South African rugby, the reality is it made a club player into a Springbok.

Davids sought to rid the disguise of colour, but all it revealed was a player filled with excuses. There is no accountability in Davids’ mind, and the countless coaches who have embarked to get the player into acceptable physical condition is the damning legacy of potential unfulfilled.

Davids played 37 times for the Stormers, where he felt he was not judged as a rugby player. At Gloucester he has been, and his 23% appearance rate is reflective of a player whose ability and attitude reflect the amateur he always should have been.

102 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ja, ek is so bly die dikgat is weg. Almal het my gekruisig to ek gese het hy is nie eers goed genoeg vir ‘n Vodacom cup span nie. Cheers ‘Lardy’ enjoy Mud Island.

• 2.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

mmmm….. Is it now safe to call old Quinton a quota player?

• 3.KietieCat: Reply to this comment

Lardy the legend :)

Where are all his supporters now? :oops:

• 4.KietieCat: Reply to this comment

Exactly Brick!

• 5.green blood: Reply to this comment

Can we compare Davids record against Geo’s oversees stint. Jip maybe not worth it, because of injuries etc. Unfortunately it will always be thought of in the same breath.

maybe RS can buy him for the sharks? he did afterall wanted to take him to the RWC 03.

it will always be a shame……

• 6.snoop: Reply to this comment

What a sad, lard *** sack of ****.

Im watching him play I can actually count on both hands the number of times I saw him effectively clean out a ruck.

Useless, big but useless.

• 7.KietieCat: Reply to this comment

green blood, I was just about to make mention of his “almost” representation at RWC…

Thank God for small mercies… :roll:

• 8.jannas: Reply to this comment

Lardy Davids….Aptly named Chris. He was and still is a liability on the field. I am surprised that he actually was tollerated for 37 games at the Stormers. Don’t you ever come back Quinton, cheers!

• 9.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

It was just a matter of time before he’d be found out.
    No hiding behind any excuses overseas dear lard.

• 10.green blood: Reply to this comment

question to all of you, is he not good enouhg for the SPEARS?

Kietiecat….. we say no more old chap. me thinks, it was really to close. this must change a point of view of some pitty towards RS.

HMmmmmm. no way not a ****

• 11.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I have an idea if any one of us were given all he chances he got we would have been in the Bok team. Jeez man, it’s not rocket science. You are a athlete, hit the gym, practice and lay off moms ‘koeksusters’!!! You fat *******

• 12.sean: Reply to this comment

good riddance useless f*** !

• 13.vleis: Reply to this comment

ALL TOGETHER NOW………..!!!!!

QUOTA!QUOTA!QUOTA!QUOTTAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!

• 14.snoop: Reply to this comment

Was kak in the line outs too

He was used quite effectively as a battering ram.

Given the ball and told to run into the line, break it, go to ground and set it up.

He did this effectively a few times, but still, useless.

• 15.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Come now guys how can you all honestly believe that Davids was a quota, the man was in inspirational form in 2003 and his form with the stormers was only matched by bakkies.
    A great loss to SA Rugby… :-(

• 16.snoop: Reply to this comment

Coffeeshop,

he he he he he he he ……

• 17.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Davids is a lard *** sack of xyz these days. But he did have quite a few decent games the one year he actually got fit enough to play rugby. It was about 4 years ago.

The problem was he then allowed himself to become an over weight blob again, and lived off the hype created by his one decent season.

• 18.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

ha ha! i wonder if the oke really thought he was in the same league as bakkies, matfield, jack etc etc?

• 19.RedCard: Reply to this comment

If he plays for the Waratahs and gets QD what would it stand for,

Quota Davids?
    Quite Dissapointing?

BTW who ate all the pie?

• 20.Genl. Joubert: Reply to this comment

Rudolf Strontlie should burn in hell for giving lardass a Springbok jersey.

• 21.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

As long as there are QUOTAS, so long will there always be quota players.

Blob Davids isn’t the first.

Blob Davids isn’t the ONLY one.

And Blob Davids isn’t the last!

• 22.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

Send him to the Spears

• 23.RedCard: Reply to this comment

NO Brumby they are battling as it is already!

• 24.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

i think the spears are **** enough as it is, give ‘em someone abit better!

• 25.RedCard: Reply to this comment

RE #21

Change Players to bloggers
    Quotas to Doos
    and Blob Davids to TheTackler.

Makes for some interesting reading.

• 26.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

i’m sure geo cronje also signed for gloucester, i’m almost convinced he did sign fo them!

• 27.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

A splinter-scraper, off-the-bencher, let’s whip the poor sod on when all else bloody well fails playing for a mere club rugby team of the nobody calibre of Gloucester is actually only there because he is an incumbent Springbok” but then only because he has enough melanin!

Isn’t that proof enough that the ONLY way to pick a Bok team which can ever prevail against the likes of the All Blacks is to pick a team purely on merit? To hell with melanin?

Not if the ANC regime and the Stofile brothers have any say!

• 28.Thames Trompie: Reply to this comment

Geo Cronje signed for Harlequins.

• 29.Ig: Reply to this comment

He might not be a great lock but he can sure clear from the 22 better than the other “flyhalves” at newlands

• 30.snoop: Reply to this comment

Quinto Davids is the tacklers mother.

• 31.rednik: Reply to this comment

Davids had more ability than the name ‘Lardy’ would suggest. True, Unfit and overweight.At the same time, Naturally big and strong. Effective and aggressive on the drive too. Let us now see how Gloucester raise his game. He may not be fit now, but these things take time. If he is fit in a seasons time and performs, wont that be solid evidence of the inferior standard of Praawvins coaching.

Tackler, You are a hateful moron with serious issues that need to be expressed to a quack, not on a blog. This is the first and last time I ever respond to any of your posts. Dont they have any New Zealand rugby websites?

• 32.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

my bad

• 33.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

is it just me that finds it interesting that this whole argument is based on the fact that he was only selected to play two games?

but no reason is given for why only two games?

loss of form?

injury?

any quote from the coach why he was not selected?

anyone from the UK know anything?

• 34.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Yeah let’s slag off every player who’s form drops. What Davids said about WP is common knowledge and blantantly obvious. there is no way that De Kok could constently keep Conradie out and Gus Theron could consistently be prefered to Egon Seconds/Nokwe without racial bias. Davids’ remarks about WP were not neccessarily about how HE was treated but about how players of color were treated. Where are the Rose brothers? Honest, seious remarks that are contered by a statement of ” You’re Fat ” echoed by everyone. ” Yeah yeah – he’s fat ”

Missing the point fellas. Changing the topic and attacking his character instead of discussing the issues he raised. Ordered to do so by Mallet perhaps?

• 35.KSA Shark: Reply to this comment

Snoop
    Are you saying the Tackler could be a quota contributer to the site :-)

• 36.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Tackler – you are quite vehement in your criticism of quotas. makes me think you do actually care quite a bit about SA rugby and the green and gold, despite all your pomp and show.

• 37.lazeybonez: Reply to this comment

much agreed with you Stormer… racism is alive and well in the WP rugby union… anyway what do you expect from the union which is mainly fed by Stellenbosch university and the likes… where institutionalised racism was conceived…

good luck to Davids… i hope he gets fit next season and prove wrong those conservative, boring dutch bigots who see him as a useless big quota player…

• 38.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Stormer

The point is: De Kok did not blame racism when he was dropped as captain and 9 last year. He took it like a man. Davids on the other hand…. Need I say more. The previously disadvantage poeple in SA needs to understand that when you get a chance in life you need to work hard to keep it. There is way to many “soustrein ryers” in SA. I have no problem with giving poeple jobs above the previously advantaged as long as they are prepared to work once they got the job.

• 39.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Quinton Davids

You have been weighed!
    You have been measured!
    And you have been found wanting!

As jy dom is moet jy kuk!

• 40.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Stormer,

What a relieve to see that I am not the only one that has that vision about Wp. Racism is rife. But only by 1 Voortrekker – Doos (aka Koos) Basson. With him out, Wp will be on the winning track again. Mark my words.
    UNITY is what makes a winning machine. Without that, the season will be long and hard (and drunk) for us Stormers supporters.

• 41.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Stormsaam

And what about your friends screaming for the other team at newlands? Hipocryt!

• 42.carcass: Reply to this comment

Well,well, Slowly we are getting rid of all the dead weight. Faan Reitenbach was big but just as useless. I rather support two stringy locks than a big prop/lock that are there only for the after dinner function.

• 43.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

storm,

i have mentioned many times before there seems to be a sheep mentality in SA rugby especially from supporters – one guy says fat and all teh others jump on the bandwagon.

look davids in my view was **** from the time he started – but you have to ask why seconds, the wing with the best record in WP rugby was not even included in the stormers squad.

dont even get me started on gus, and in my view de kock and bolla was equally kak and delport should have been given a run.

i will not say i blame it on race – it is a bit over the top for me, but i will say there is something seriously wrong at WP rugby and keo with articles like this and the weekly moaner van der merwe drivel seem to want make people out there believe all is well.

we are still waiting on an answer why the gus question was never asked to mallet and why he is still playing given the answer keo gave us…

• 44.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

Brick,

??????
    Is Basson your father or do you just call him PA?
    He obviously wasted his money in trying to educate you (hipocryt = hypocrite).

• 45.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

When you take away all the excuses Quinton, you are faced with the harsh reality of living in a true democracy where everyone is equal. Being non white in England doesn’t buy you any advantage. In England black, coloured or white you are judged and rewarded upon performance.
    No longer can you rely upon quotas, hidden agendas or racially motivated selections as excuses.
    Perhaps you should sue quikslim or some other faddy diet plan. Lazy people always blame everybody else. Or maybe you should take the advice given to you previously on this site, GET OFF YOUR LAZYARSE AND APPLY YOURSELF

• 46.kyer: Reply to this comment

let the sharks have him.

• 47.BIGBOSS: Reply to this comment

Eish I hope you guys are wrong about this racism in WP,but Stormer makes a good point,Why was Egon and Bolla out all last season?????

• 48.kyer: Reply to this comment

if he played for the Tahs, he woul be known as QD- Quota Deject!

• 49.Stormer: Reply to this comment

It’s not really over the top PissAnt. It’s part of where we live and the lingering mentality. Like what you pointed out about Seconds. Could you offer any counter theory on how Gus got his place ahead of Egon? Let your imagination run wild and see if you come up with a less ridiculous suggestion. Why did the Rose brothers not think that WP was going to be the best place for them to prosper?

• 50.Stormsaam: Reply to this comment

BB,

Only the elite white players are entrusted with key positions in Wp rugby. The scam started with Naas Botha. Unfortunately Percy now has his number but Haas sleeps comfortably everynight knowing that it is a white dude that broke his elite record (but he stills turns in his sleep cause Percy comes from Wp).

Anyway, what happened to Tsimba (brilliant flyhalf, no one invested in his talent, not even in Bulls/Cheetahs setup). Dollie is going to be broken at the Spears but what other choice did he have? Society and racism forced him there because you can only have quota players in certain positions.

BUT, Ricky has proved us all wrong. He holds the key for France 2007 and no matter what people and Bulls supporters say, as long as he is injury free he will be the most important decision maker in the so called “white man’s sport”. Now imagine two people of colour at 9 and 10? Most of the okes will be fainting on this site at that picture!

I cannot believe that in Sa we can publicy support racism with shows like “Oor die kole” and “Supperrugby (Joost’s show)”. They interview all the anti-arparteid players and relish the moments when the ooms called in from De Aar and Parys. At the end of the day money needs to be made and as soon as the sponsors see empty seats in stadiums……watch this space.

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.