Good Greeff

Good Greeff

Stormers fans may be spared the sight of Gus Theron running out in jersey 13 against the Cats next Saturday. Innovative thinking by the Stormers coaching staff could see a reworked backline, with Werner Greeff slotting alongside Jean de Villiers in the midfield.

Dependant on the fitness of captain De Wet Barry, at this stage likely to miss the opening encounter of the competition, Keo.co.za has learnt that Greeff is likely to be reborn as outside centre – albeit temporarily.

Barry is expected to make the second clash of the year, the home meeting with the Waratahs, and Marius Joubert should be available after the first three rounds.

The implications of relegation and the importance of making a good start mean that Greeff’s ability to adapt to yet another position is vital. An away win, followed by a run of home matches, could ensure ‘relegation’ becomes a punchline rather than a reason for concern in Cape Town.

If necessitated, the decision by Kobus van der Merwe, Gary Gold and the coaching staff to shift Greeff to 13 has to be applauded both for its innovation and solid reasoning.

Theron does not grasp the defensive requirements of outside centre. His inability to maintain composure and hands that fumble with regularity outweigh his natural pace. Pre-season games have shown that nothing has changed.

The other option is Bolander Piet van Zyl, who was given two starts (the only player in the squad who was given two opportunities) against the Spears and Bulls to allow him to settle into the role.

Ineffective distribution in both fixtures, however, seem set to consign Van Zyl to a season on the sidelines. Simply put, he was overawed and out of his depth.

The decision to move Greeff to 13 exhibits the coaching team’s determination to allow De Villiers to settle at 12, a policy that stands in complete contrast to that of Gert Smal’s last year.

It means that Joe Pietersen is the likely candidate to slot in at fullback. Defensively frail, Pietersen is in the mould of Brent Russell, and counter-attacks effectively.

Cynics will identify Greeff’s lack of pace as a reason for criticism, but ultimately the alternatives of either Theron or Van Zyl are not any more encouraging.

PROBABLE STARTING BACKLINE

9. Bolla Conradie
10. Peter Grant
11. Jongi Nokwe
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Werner Greeff
14. Rayno Benjamin
15. Joe Pietersen

126 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.rod: Reply to this comment

>>Ig

wanna do something about this guy? [wpw]

• 102.wpw: Reply to this comment

That should be boesman!

What i am saying is that all these aapies like zondeki should stay away from a cricket bat and ball. They should be playing an easier game like soccer. Their brains are too small and not developed enough to play a complicated sport like cricket or even rugby for that matter.

• 103.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

wpw

Boesman, yes. But I rate him. He is good enough to be there.

I have no problem with the players. I have a problem with their moffie attitude.

• 104.rod: Reply to this comment

>>Ig

you gotta be quicker on the draw, mate!

can’t you shut him out…
    this is public domain, and **** like that don’t belong here in forum for fans of a sport that is supposed to have brought a nation together…

• 105.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Hey ouens wpw trek julle siele uit. Hy is ons bruinbroer hier op Keo.co.za. Hy kannie boerthugg spel nie.

Ma hey, jy kry dieselfde reaksie wpw, of hoe se ek china?

• 106.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

Mind you

We’ve started playing badly since they let the ******* play with the boere thugs.

• 107.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

heheheh

Damnit brickwall.

wpw and I are trying to liven things up man.

Why do you go and spoil the fun!

• 108.wpw: Reply to this comment

Agree davidS
    these chocolate brownies are not good foe the team. they just causing nonsense wherever they play. for instance, if there were no black players in the proteas team then the aussie crowds would have no reason to shout insults at the team. i reckon they dont need to be involved…

• 109.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Sorry, maak die boer almal bokke!!! O ja en fok hierdie protea kak. Bring terug die bok!!

• 110.rod: Reply to this comment

>>~DavidSp, wpw, Brickwall

serious?

• 111.wpw: Reply to this comment

brickwall, me bruinbroer? i’m sorry but i am as white as my forefather Dr Hendrik Verwoerd. If ever there was a legend of SA i reckon it is him. He did so much for our country and now these clowns want to mess us with our sport. Rugby should be played by whites only and thats it…

• 112.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

Exactly!

The Aussies are the best team in the world and do you see any Chocolates playing for them?

I don’t think so.

We should learn from them before they steal all our white players.

• 113.wpw: Reply to this comment

jislike davidS. i was reading about the FF Plus last night and could only marvel at their stance on Affirmative Action.these ******* need to be replaced in govt, they flippin messing our nasie up…

• 114.Methos: Reply to this comment

Jissie ouens nou maak julle K@k…

• 115.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Ja okes. A boring Friday hey?

• 116.KWV: Reply to this comment

watse naaiery gaan hier aan?

• 117.wpw: Reply to this comment

KWV, if you want to really see action go to the 1st thread. the derbies thread!!!

• 118.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

Sorry okes

wpw and I were having you on to ignite some discussion.

Obviously didn’t work but the two of us had a good time doing it.

• 119.wpw: Reply to this comment

Ja, sorry rod. I am a bruinbroer as brickwall said. As for davidSp, he is a boere thug if ever there was one.

• 120.gecko: Reply to this comment

On the positive, we are sending a team of 3 to the winter olympics.

• 121.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

heheheh

The only ANC boere thug

• 122.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

you guys been drinking at lunchtime?

• 123.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

What about Gio Aplon instead of Joe Peterson? I dont want to see another Russel clone, one was enough thank you. When Brent Russel came sniffing around WP Gert Smal rightfully said “no thanks”. I’d rather have a sturdy fullback who can make big tackles and knows how to join the line on defence rather than one who can attack from deep and knows how to join the line in attack.

• 124.Derek Noble: Reply to this comment

Harlequin: Are you confusing some players here? Gio Aplon is tiny by professional rugby standards. Sturdy is not a word that springs to mind.

• 125.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Harlequin,
    And how many ‘big tackles’ have you seen over the years from Paulse, Egon Second, Erol Rose, or Chavanga?
    Conversly, how many MISSED tackles have you seen those guys performed under Gert Smal over last 5 years?
    FYI: Brent Russell is not smaller than Johnny Wilkinson, he is also faster and has better distributions skills

• 126.Junior: Reply to this comment

We also have to remember that Brent Russel has never been given the chances that Gus or Jorrie have been given (actually De Wet & Marius can be added here) to develop in 1 position. If he was given a chance then he would learn the requirements and we would have a fullback / flyhalf / wing (give him just 1 position) who would be as devastating as Christian Cullen was in his day

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.