Good Greeff
3 Feb 2006
Stormers fans may be spared the sight of Gus Theron running out in jersey 13 against the Cats next Saturday. Innovative thinking by the Stormers coaching staff could see a reworked backline, with Werner Greeff slotting alongside Jean de Villiers in the midfield.
Dependant on the fitness of captain De Wet Barry, at this stage likely to miss the opening encounter of the competition, Keo.co.za has learnt that Greeff is likely to be reborn as outside centre – albeit temporarily.
Barry is expected to make the second clash of the year, the home meeting with the Waratahs, and Marius Joubert should be available after the first three rounds.
The implications of relegation and the importance of making a good start mean that Greeff’s ability to adapt to yet another position is vital. An away win, followed by a run of home matches, could ensure ‘relegation’ becomes a punchline rather than a reason for concern in Cape Town.
If necessitated, the decision by Kobus van der Merwe, Gary Gold and the coaching staff to shift Greeff to 13 has to be applauded both for its innovation and solid reasoning.
Theron does not grasp the defensive requirements of outside centre. His inability to maintain composure and hands that fumble with regularity outweigh his natural pace. Pre-season games have shown that nothing has changed.
The other option is Bolander Piet van Zyl, who was given two starts (the only player in the squad who was given two opportunities) against the Spears and Bulls to allow him to settle into the role.
Ineffective distribution in both fixtures, however, seem set to consign Van Zyl to a season on the sidelines. Simply put, he was overawed and out of his depth.
The decision to move Greeff to 13 exhibits the coaching team’s determination to allow De Villiers to settle at 12, a policy that stands in complete contrast to that of Gert Smal’s last year.
It means that Joe Pietersen is the likely candidate to slot in at fullback. Defensively frail, Pietersen is in the mould of Brent Russell, and counter-attacks effectively.
Cynics will identify Greeff’s lack of pace as a reason for criticism, but ultimately the alternatives of either Theron or Van Zyl are not any more encouraging.
PROBABLE STARTING BACKLINE
9. Bolla Conradie
10. Peter Grant
11. Jongi Nokwe
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Werner Greeff
14. Rayno Benjamin
15. Joe Pietersen

126 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
3 Feb 2006, 11:03 am
Eish…….rough call Gus v Greef…..
3 Feb 2006, 11:04 am
Krokodiltrane vir die stormers
3 Feb 2006, 11:05 am
yes good greef.
what next – but i will pick him anyday over glass theron
how long is this contract he is working out?
3 Feb 2006, 11:09 am
expires end of the year pissant
you got 10 months of the gas man to go
3 Feb 2006, 11:10 am
3 Feb 2006, 11:11 am
Why not Marius Joubert?
Is he still not ready?
3 Feb 2006, 11:12 am
Why the heck not? He’s had a year.
BTW
In case anyone’s interested the Proteas are wilting as usual.
Heheheheh
Shame GLC
no david he’s not. hence the comment in the piece that ‘Marius Joubert should be available after the first three rounds’
3 Feb 2006, 11:13 am
Celebration…10 months to go….Very True PA – i would aslo take Greef without a doubt – just wish we had one of our Boks centers in the mix.
3 Feb 2006, 11:15 am
Where is Chavanga?
3 Feb 2006, 11:16 am
STP- Out for about 4 weeks with similar hammie injury – i think
3 Feb 2006, 11:17 am
also nursing an injury StP – again – quad muscle i think.
3 Feb 2006, 11:17 am
ah ok, hammie
3 Feb 2006, 11:18 am
we are going to see two ver depleted backlines against each other – should make for kak rugby – cant wait.
3 Feb 2006, 11:28 am
lol@PA
Thanks Chris I read that, but I was wondering WHY isn’t he ready….
PA
We’ll be missing a halfback pairing and you’ll be missing a midfield.
It’s going to be wonderful.
Maybe I should just give my tickets back to GLRU.
3 Feb 2006, 11:35 am
Play anybody at 13 rather than Gus. Fark even Eddie “No hands” Andrews will be better.
BTW: I’m am also taking contributions for the erection of a 5 foot clock that will count down the seconds till Gus’s contract expire. I am currenetly in negociations with SA Parks to erect the clock on Table Mountain. If this comes off we will need a lot more money. The clock will need to be at least 25m high. If this fails the clock will be put at the entrance to Newlands.
Contact me for more details.
3 Feb 2006, 11:37 am
erection of a five foot WHAT methos?? o clock…jeez one slip of the finger and you were in trouble there mate!
3 Feb 2006, 11:37 am
DavidS
He hurt his back when he slipped in the shower while Joe was washing his back. Too much wrist action also agreavated Joe’s wrist injury.
3 Feb 2006, 11:39 am
I’d consider, just for this match playing Greef at 12, and JDV at 13. I think its a better use of their respective talents, despite the fact that JDV is the best 12 in the country.
Hasn’t Seconds played a bit of rugby at 13? No lack of pace there.
3 Feb 2006, 11:40 am
Methos
Be careful of using the word ‘erection’ too much, you might just invite jondood, stan and a few others who always seem to have **** and pillowbiters on their minds. lol
3 Feb 2006, 11:42 am
Howzit david?
I see Jorrie will be playing for the Cats next week. Did you select him in your Fantasy League team? lol. What does he go for by the way? Must be the cheapest freakin rugby player of all the Saffas.
3 Feb 2006, 11:45 am
fourie must be laughing his *** off – hey he does not even need to mark him (gus)….
this might just work in our favour – in a tight game gus might just hang on to 1 out of 8 passes and he would have an open tryline cause fourie will play the odds and rather mark jdv…..
3 Feb 2006, 11:48 am
SA need 167 off 118 balls with 6 wickets in hand. Prince and Botha at the crease.
Dippenaar & Rudolph’s strike rates both below 50. Pathetic!!!
3 Feb 2006, 11:49 am
wpw,
believe it or not jorrie costs more than wayne julies – go figure….
3 Feb 2006, 11:53 am
*****,poor Stormers………:lol: NOT!!!!!
3 Feb 2006, 11:55 am
Methos
The clock is a good idea ….. funny **** !
As for Greef playing, guys … imagine all the fantastic skillfull up and unders we will see in the midfield. Damn.
On a more serious note, MUCH rather Greef than Gas.
3 Feb 2006, 11:56 am
Justin Peach may be better at fullback.
3 Feb 2006, 12:01 pm
Agree derek, i forgot about him. A good player. Even more reliable than ‘up & under’ greeff…
3 Feb 2006, 12:02 pm
greef is ok, much better than poor gus.
3 Feb 2006, 12:03 pm
“Up&under”,”Sicknote”,”Chip&chase”,jeez,whats next for good old Greeffie?????
3 Feb 2006, 12:07 pm
Damn , another long week before the games begin. Can’t wait to see how the bulls are going to be beaten ones again by the Cheetha’s
3 Feb 2006, 12:40 pm
You said it Munki. Rather try Seconds at 13. Would be great having him working off Jeans vision.
3 Feb 2006, 12:45 pm
10 more months of the gus man The most anticipated contract expiration in the history of provincial rugga must be. What would really be funny though is if they decide to offer him a new contract LOL
3 Feb 2006, 12:46 pm
AT the start of his carreer the people in CT thought like this:
Greeff, jy’s ‘n Griekse God!
Now its more a question of
God Greef, jy speel soos ‘n Griek!
3 Feb 2006, 12:58 pm
Greeff at 13…mmm. Guess its better than Gus, and also if you played Greeff at 12 and JdV at 13, poor old Jean would never see the ball. Greeff also goes by the nickname BOSTIK…
3 Feb 2006, 13:01 pm
Gus Theron is useless but then again evryone knows that. There must be better centres in CT? Peter Grant not far behind either.. saw him in Wellington and he was farkin pathetic. But of corse he is Mallet’s boykie so hell play all the games. If all fit this should be the line up.
15 Chavanga
14 Benjamin/Seconds
13 Joubert
12 Barry/Greef
11 Nokwe
10 JDV
9 Bolla
3 Feb 2006, 13:04 pm
Yes, Grant signed like a 4 year contract or something, along with a bunch of youngsters on “long-term” deals…its gonna be tough if Grant stays at #10 for 4 years…talk about ‘n lang droogte!
3 Feb 2006, 13:08 pm
heheheh wpw
Cricket was fantastic once again wasn’t it?
Methos
Do I detect a hint of bitterness there?
And Joe then slipped himself?
ps.
wpw
Amazingly, Jorrie’s bladdy expensive on fantasy league. He’s like just under a million. F—ing incredible that. Like GLC said, more than Julies!
No, my fantasy league side has some awesome centres, and they’re not Saffers
3 Feb 2006, 13:09 pm
Who’s in the Stormers squad? Gus or Egon?
3 Feb 2006, 13:10 pm
Now u know why the Roses and Dollie left. Here is some logic for you – Grant cant kick out of hand, or to the posts or kick out for that matter. Earl Rose does all of the above. Grant gets 4 year contract where its stated he will be nr 1 flyhalf. Rose’s contract is not close to that and he told he is not regarded as flyhalf and about 3d best fullback. Meanwhile Gus “the gas” is still in the setup keeping out young eager players. Enuff to make u puke.
3 Feb 2006, 13:14 pm
Earl Rose plays a shocker against boland, gets chastised and dropped.
Grant has about 3 shockers in curriecup, 1 good game and the rest below average……
Sorry gents if im foaming at the mouth .. but @!$@#$… lemme go get some fresh air….
3 Feb 2006, 13:17 pm
i know cpt is the mothercity but surely we have waited 9 f@#kin months to see some positive change…
i have never not looked forward to the S12/14 but this year is different
3 Feb 2006, 13:18 pm
Okes,
Where is the centre from the CC that played for Wp last year? Sarel Potgieter.
He had a couple of good games? Where is Aplon? Why is Wp letting all the talent slip through their fingers?
3 Feb 2006, 13:21 pm
Aplon with the 7′s sqaud. Not sure bout Sarel…didnt he go to the Bulls? I see ther is a Sarel playing flyhalf for Vodacom squad .. dont know his surname – flyhalf.. mite be the same ou
3 Feb 2006, 13:23 pm
Exactly L-LEE. The management should be flogged. You’d probably just get a blank stare from them if you had to ask them about these issues.
I see Seconds is no longer in the Stormers squad too. What’s he done wrong? Scored too many tries?
3 Feb 2006, 13:24 pm
SA needs to fire Jake White.
No matter how k@k the okes at Wp play he is always gonna pick them. So for CC and S12 they play k@k cause they know they will be rolling in the dough.
Stormsaam and PA, as a loyal supporter (and this will never change), I am voting with my feet this season and I will not watch a single game at Newlands until the Stormer play a decent game and/or they change the coach and the management.
If you team loses but they put in a good performance, you still feel proud. What do we as Wp/Stormers support still left in us?
3 Feb 2006, 13:24 pm
I think we’re gonna have riots at Newlands this year.
3 Feb 2006, 13:26 pm
PISS ANT /KEO /Chris
What happens if two SA sides finis last on the same points?? What team will be send packing?
3 Feb 2006, 13:28 pm
hobo it seems as if that is one of details that have not been ironed out yet. No one seems to know. So what will happen is nost likely – court cases – appeals – blah blah blah
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All