Gurthro’s a goner

Bulls prop Gurthro Steenkamp has been ruled out of the Super 14 and probably the rest of the 2006 season.

According to the Pretoria News, Steenkamp had a scan on his injured wrist in Cape Town on Thursday, which revealed that a fractured bone had not knitted and that he may need a second operation.

“The news wasn’t good,” Bulls doctor Tommy Smook said. “The bone doesn’t seem to have reattached and the specialist is now consulting with other specialists to see if there is any other solution. But it may be as bad as Gurthro missing the rest of the year through this injury.”

Steenkamp was shocked by the news.

“It was definitely not the news I wanted, but what can you do?” he said. “It’s really disappointing. I really thought this would be the year I would play for the Bulls, but it doesn’t look like I will make the Super 14 now.”

Since joining the Bulls from the Cheetahs, Steenkamp has played just two Vodacom Cup matches and made one Super 12 appearance as a substitute.

Steenkamp will now have to wait until the 2007 Super 14 for another chance to impress Bok coach Jake White.

50 Comments

• 1.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Damn the Dragon!!

Guthro is becoming a liability to the Bulls with all his injuries.He can hardly survive a match without getting injured and then being out for long periods.

• 2.ktb: Reply to this comment

What a pity, just means that Os will have to cope with extra game time, unless they play “anxious Eddie” @ loose head, definitely NOT tighthead, unless JW wants to throw the game, which is unthinkable.

There are many injuries @ the start of the season, unbelieveable — can you imagine what the walking wounded will be like by NOV, then starts a tour again – eish!

• 3.Ron: Reply to this comment

Bummer!
    The guys got talent.

• 4.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Born in the Cape

Well developed in the Free State

On the Dole in Tswane

When the Bulls kick him out, he should come back “home”

:smile:

Very good prop- pity about the injuries

At least no issue of burnout then

• 5.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Think about it OO,is this the second season in a row where Guthro will neither play an active part in the S12/CC or what ?

Damn and Double Damn it!

• 6.hobo: Reply to this comment

The bulls are looking thin…..

• 7.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

this is bad news – not only for the bulls (having lost kees aswell) but for the boks too, i rate this guy.

plus he is quite a bargain in the fantasy league!

• 8.wls: Reply to this comment

Man and what has JW been saying about injurys for the last two seasons? its all comming to fruition.
    This guy is the Prop for the world cup make no mistake. i Watched him at Ellis park run rampant against the ossies, the could not contain him.
    Its a real pity.

• 9.Genl. Joubert: Reply to this comment

He should never have left the Freestate. Really rate this guy.

• 10.Anvil: Reply to this comment

His injuries have got nothing to do with leaving FS.

• 11.Ig: Reply to this comment

Dam….bad for Boks….Bulls are starting to look thin…there front row decimated. I do suppose Guthro will be fresh come WC 2007

• 12.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

let’s see who is all crocked quickly, players that JW needs:

john smit
    gary botha
    bands
    guthro
    is CJ fit???

matfield

joe

fourie

andre pretoors
    jaco (is he fit yet?)

marius
    dewet

i count 12

did i leave someone out?

• 13.Some Bloke: Reply to this comment

Damn, I just bought him for my fantasy team. That’s the worst 3 quarters of a million I ever spent.

• 14.Oblix: Reply to this comment

Ag Shame Guthro will enjoy the gravy train untill he is sold by the Bulls without playing one proper game.

• 15.GCC: Reply to this comment

bands? you’ve got to be kidding me, pa?

cj has started training again this week.

• 16.Methos: Reply to this comment

Oblix

Do you really think that Gurthro wanted to be injured ? Do you really think he didn’t want to play for the Bulls and for the Boks ?

Do you think at all ?

• 17.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

O dear, there the Bulls just got themselves relegated… See you in 07 boys!!! :) Blueblood, don’t worry. YOu can still play in the CC but not the Super14. Then Kaplan can take your trophy away from you yet again… :D

• 18.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Sorry, that should be 08…

• 19.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

GCC,

you asking that amazed that i rate bands or the fact that you dont know he is injured and will only return midway through the comp????

• 20.GCC: Reply to this comment

amazed that you rate bands

• 21.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

bloody hell i confuse myself, try again:

GCC,

are you asking the question………being amazed that i rate bands and that he is someone i believe JW needs???…………..or asking in the sense that you did not know he was injured???????…….

• 22.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

well i do, a fit (please note fit) bands is one of the best around in my view

• 23.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

****…..just how injured can an oke get?

• 24.JUSM: Reply to this comment

this is a massive disaster. i have no swear words to describe…

and he can’t gym either with a stuffed wrist. maybe some leg work.

fffuuuuuuuuuccckkkkk!!!!!!

• 25.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

This really is a bit of a worry, the Bulls really needed a destructive scrummager….and now they have lost 2,Lensing and Steenkamp.

Our only saving grace is that we have the best forward coach in the country.He’ll need to come up with a few ideas at scrum time because it is not looking good.

• 26.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

hell what will the front row look like now???

engels?
    who is the other hooker seeing coetzee also left?
    rapele is very young

a whole new front row and missing vic in the middle is a massive concern for me.

• 27.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Relax fellas.

Bulls tight 5

1 – Engles
    2 – Van der Walt
    3 – Human
    4 – Pakslae
    5 – Van Shawmburg

Thats leaving out Vic,Bakkies,Botha,Bands and Guthro.

Pretty awesome aint it ? .How much would your franchise pay to get any of these bugger into you line up.Dont forget Pakslae turned down a big offer from the Sharks ( I think) last year.

Plus what do you make of the rumour that Ruan Vermulen ( The Hond) is gonna play prop.Would be awesome as he is one strong Bull who is mobile to boot !.

• 28.Tony: Reply to this comment

A good opportunity for more Springbok game time for Sephaka, and I think JD Moller might give Jake a few things to think about this season.

• 29.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Well PA

The Bulls have Wessel Roux,Jaco Engels,Andries Human and Danie Thiart. I’m not sure if I have this correct but Engels made his CC debut last season…he is quite young and rated as well.Used to play hooker, where he is being considered at again now that the frontrow is looking like such a disaster.

But,like I said, I might not have heard the story correctly….so purely speculation.

• 30.Anvil: Reply to this comment

**** my miserable grammer

• 31.Ig: Reply to this comment

Anvil – better than anything the Stormers have ever had…..i think it was WP/Stormers who made the offer to Pakslae

• 32.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

yeah they did ig.

anvil, it is a pretty decent tight 5, for the domestic scene, are you confident these newbies (inexperienced at S12/14 level) will cut the mustard against the NZ teams???

somehow i am not as confident as you are.

• 33.JUSM: Reply to this comment

anvil, ig, i wish i had your confidence in the second stringers. suppose time will tell…

i for one am getting a bit worried. i’ll have to sort that out with some brandy. lots of brandy!!

• 34.Anvil: Reply to this comment

PA,

Newbies ? Not quite.

Human and Pakslae have considerable S12 experience.Van Schawmbeg did a good job at covering lock in last years S12.

Van der Walt will be looking to rumble now that Botha is temporarily out of the picture.

Only Engles needs a bit of hand holding and I trust HM on that !

Not soo bad.

• 35.Anvil: Reply to this comment

JUSM … its FRIDAY mate.No excuses needed for downing all that Brandy!

• 36.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Anybody, did we ever play so many warm-up games before the Super14?? It seems like a sure fire way of getting injured. Plus, why don’t the frieken Kiwi’s get injured? Why could Dan Carter be spear tackled by Umanga? Ai… it’s going to be a looooong one..

• 37.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

anvil i like the optimism, i just dont share it.

having played S12 and having performed in S12 are two different things, hell gus has S12 experience and he is still ****.

i hoped for a SA side to kick *** this years – the bulls should have been it – now i dont think so anymore.

at least there is fantasy league still – i will kick some *** there.

• 38.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Relax PA, the injured okes should be good to go halfway through the competition.The second,third or whatever stringer must hold their own till then.Thats the job they have to do.Methinks they can pull it off.

Business will pick up when the big boys come back from injury. I can wait till then.

• 39.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

problem is anvil – that is when you tour, and if history is anything to go by, that part of the comp aint looking that rosy for the bulls.

if you loose half your home games, you are in ****.

• 40.Anvil: Reply to this comment

I ‘ll keep that in mind PA :-)

btw you sound like a prophet of doom and gloom!

• 41.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

C’mon bullies, sort your props out. Bands has not been fit for Bok selection since the world cup, and now Gurthro too. This guy is a potential beast, but we need to get him some more experience before the world cup. 2006 was gonna be Gurthro’s year. He’s a phenomenal talent. lets hope he makes it back in time to tour the NH at the end of the year. He’s going to need the experience.

• 42.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

hell you must hear grr…..lion dude **** himself when i start talking about the cats :)

• 43.BloemBull: Reply to this comment

I’m actually not worried about the Bulls’ front row for the compitition as a whole. They should stand up to any prop or hooker that NZ and Aus can put together. I am however worried about our match against the Cheetahs.
    The Cheetahs are formiddable upfront even with our strongest side. With our main front row gone, Heyneke has his work cut out for him. We do have depth, but are they good enough against Os, CJ and co?

• 44.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Hehe

BloemBull, are you going to the game?

• 45.yarpiefetch_boi: Reply to this comment

• 46.BloemBull: Reply to this comment

OO

I wouldn’t miss it for the world. I’ll be there with my Bulls cap and Bulls flag. Are you going?

• 47.cab: Reply to this comment

not good news this

• 48.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

As long as he is fresh and ready to go come WC 2007.

• 49.KWV: Reply to this comment

Al die SA spanne gaan goed opgenaai word in die Super 9 + 5 KAK SA spanne.

Die boere se sondes haal hulle nou in.

• 50.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

I highly rate Steenkamp for both his power,technique and also the work rate and courage, he is no token like Andrews nor Sephaka and earned his place in the Bull’s front row.
    I can’t be surprised though, like I always said, only players I’ve rated among the those guys are Willemse, Steenkamp and Habana, the rest employ the self preservation method of ‘don’t tackle, don’t ruck either’, because if they do honestly tackle then they are goners which consequently turns the whole ‘transformation’ effort on its head!
    Steenkamp latest injury is also vindication that Sephaka, Andrews, Davids and Shimanga never put through the wringer at practicing and training, or they would have been a write-off long ago

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.