Habana toast of Loftus…again

Bryan Habana was named the Bulls’ player of 2005, probably the most expected award in rugby history.

The South African Player of the Year was always going to receive recognition on the home front after an outstanding Super 12 propelled him into the international season high on confidence and sure of his starting spot in jersey 11.

Bulls CEO Stephan Pretorius spoke to keo.co.za earlier on Thursday, and emphasised Habana’s dedication and his continued humility despite the sometimes overwhelming glare of public attention.

In other awards, Fourie du Preez was named backline player of the year and Victor Matfield forward of the year.

SA U21 vice captain Derick Kuun was U21 player of the year, and if possible, Chilliboy Ralepelle’s recognition as U19 player of the year was perhaps less surprising than Habana’s.