Put Chilliboy on ice

Chilliboy Ralepelle will be named on the Bully Boys’ bench to play the Cheetahs on Friday, a decision that could hamper and not expedite the SA U19 and U21 star’s push for higher honours.

Only six months ago Heyneke Meyer argued that Ralepelle was not mature enough physically to play in the Currie Cup. Despite his heroics on the international stage, Meyer wisely cautioned that fast-tracking a player whose potential seemed limitless could derail the process.

Those views were echoed by Ralepelle’s mentor, U19 supremo Eugene Eloff, who stated that whilst Ralepelle could handle 30 minutes of Currie Cup rugby at a push, elevation to higher playing fields would be premature.

The arguments are as sound now as they were then, spawning the question of exactly what has changed in a few months?

Ralepelle’s development in the off-season may have resulted in improved conditioning, but tight-forward maturity is bred on the field and not in the gym.

Meyer will argue that his hand has been forced by injury. He will cite the horrendous injury run that claimed first-choice hooker (and stand-in captain) Gary Botha, and the loss of Danie Coetzee at the end of last season to London Irish.

In essence, short-term necessity is worth jeopardising the long-term aim that is ensuring Ralepelle is ready to fulfil his destiny at the 2011 World Cup.

To those who think that is melodramatic consider the following: Ralepelle is not currently in the top five hookers in the country, and there is romance behind the notion that he will be ready for a cameo role at the 2007 World Cup, but no realism.

Ralepelle’s ability and potential to become the country’s first-choice hooker is not disputed, but it is folly to forget that he is only 19. There are examples of players thrown into the cauldron that is the southern hemisphere’s regional showpiece and coping at 19, but none are tight forwards.

Meyer has Kobus van der Walt and fellow SA U21 hooker Adriaan Strauss at his disposal. Van der Walt is the favourite to inherit the No 2 jumper in Botha’s absence (he replaced Botha during last weekend’s encounter with the Sharks) and Strauss has the crucial advantage of two years extra development over Ralepelle. He is 21, and in rugby terms, that much more mature.

Risking the country’s most promising junior talent is tempting, but the curiosity that many have to see if Ralepelle sinks or swims could prove fatal.

South African rugby is littered with stories of schoolboy and junior talent unable to take the step up to higher honours because of inadequate mentoring and patience from those tasked with their career development.

If you asked the player, Ralepelle would welcome the opportunity afforded to him in Bloemfontein on Friday night. That is because he is 19 and, in his mind, bullet-proof. It is a naivety born from youth and is understandable, but Meyer has no such excuse.

Playing Ralepelle is a decision that hindsight will judge the correctness of, but whether it proves a masterstroke or misguided ‘mare cannot camouflage the unnecesarry risk associated with it.

64 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Chris,
    Are you implying that the Bulls have no idea and no vision in how to develope their front row players by not playing Chiliboy?
    Regardless of the motives for this thread, let’s just consider few trivial issues such as 19 years old age, bone structure and possible injuries, why rush him?
    If he is honest, real rugby player them he is not going to last longer than Willemse or Steenkamp if played now, if he is token, then why should the Bulls play him at the first place?

• 52.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Look I agree that Chilli, at 19, is too young for a tight forward to be taking part. However, Heyneke Meyer knows tight forwards better than anyone else in the country and I’d back him to have a plan.For all we know, another union mayhave approached Chilli boy with the promise of immediate S12 competition.That self same “bullet proof” Chilli would move even against Meyers advice.Maybe the Bulls are just dangling the carrot in front of his eyes? There is just so much speculation until gametime.

For me, without having seen the squad numbers……this could be nothing other than straightforward quota number manipulation? Kind of exactly what JW does with the Bok match 22.

All just speculation at the moment.

• 53.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

lol @ Minou Rouge

Blind fanatical belief……and a good stash of weed!!!

• 54.minou-rouge: Reply to this comment

We seem to have a problem of science here. How can we know that a player is pushed through “too early”? Just because Willemse and Steenkamp got injured, does that mean that Chilliboi will? Or that he won’t if we expose him earlier? It is impossible to repeat the experiment; you either expose a player early or you ‘develop’ him. Sometimes players get injured in ‘development’ too.

Furthermore, is it necessarily true that all players peak at 30, when experience and physical toughness culminate in something special? It seems to me that a lot of ‘promising’ young players are simply better as young players, not because they didn’t fulfill their potential but because not all players age well. Even Percy Montgomery was once upon a time physically imposing.

• 55.minou-rouge: Reply to this comment

StP

The stash of Cat-nip does help!

• 56.Klebs: Reply to this comment

Give him a change. Let him come of the bench for the last 30 min of so. It will be quickly apparent if he is ready or not.

• 57.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

of course he should play.

• 58.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Klebs I agree. Fact. If you are good enough you are old enough, and if you aren’t them you just need a little more time.

I rate Chilliboy not only as the next Schalk Burger but as the first Chillyboy, without too much **** and tears this oke can make it BIG!

• 59.Grune: Reply to this comment

Ye … agree … the only Ice I wanna see is in my drink … WTF … This ain’t the USA where we play with NASA helmets, couch cushions and ladies sky-pants … Africa’s a tough country … Deal with it … If the boy thinks his ready then go for it …

• 60.cab: Reply to this comment

yoh there are some exotic names on this site lately, “minou-rouge”, “tacitus”, “cubizirconia”, great stuff.

i’m afraid tacitus may be spot on, however the cats do have ash willemse and labuschagne back, and the new TH as backup to Hurter is very good.

As for ramapele, if they’re zilling to play him let him have the final say; if he’s up for it, let him play; if hesitant, give him another year.

• 61.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

Age should not be an issue – it’s his ability. I think Sheridan is not much older and he is one of the English pack’s foundation. Meyer knows scrumming – at one stage I recall reading a lot about HM training the bok scrum – lets hope that his judgement is sound and that Chilliboy is good for the job!

• 62.Cubiczirconia: Reply to this comment

Sheridan is around the mid twenty’s mark – I think he used to play flank before moving to prop.

• 63.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

75-14

The thing about Chilliboy is not just the fact that he is bloody strong (and not just for his age), but that his work rate is huge! yes you can wait for him to get older, but with age comes loss of speed, laziness etc.

• 64.Ulundi: Reply to this comment

Another kak article, Chris.

1. Chiliboy’s name is spelt with one ‘l’.
    2. Chiliboy’s mentor is Paul Anthony from Boys’ High.
    3. He will not be thrown to the wolves, but will in all probability get little if any game time. He is in the side because of injuries and the four players of colour in the team ruling due to Gurhtro Steenkamp’s continued injuries.
    4. Your site is constantly bitching about the Bulls not doing their bit for development, but when they do, you still complain.

Get your house in order!

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.