Rustenburg keeps its Test

King’s Park and Free State Stadium will not host a Vodacom Tri-Nations Tests this year, much to the disgust of the Natal and Free State Rugby Unions.

While Rustenburg will welcome the Boks and All Blacks during the Tri-Nations, Durban will host minnows Scotland, while Bloem misses out on a Test altogether.

The controversial Super 14 draw, which has the Sharks playing seven away matches, will also stay as is.

“We can’t change anything that influences the overseas teams without the approval of Sanzar,” said Dolf van Huyssteen, acting chairperson of the Board of SA Rugby, after a meeting with the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union and Free State Rugby Union on Tuesday.

“It was a very constructive meeting, with open channels of communication and we (Tuesday’s board delegation) fully understand where they’re coming from,” said Van Huyssteen. “We discussed the implications of changing what has already been decided, but it’s not a closed shop.”

35 Comments

• 1.rednik: Reply to this comment

Ridiculous.

• 2.Koos: Reply to this comment

Sorry we were stupid and now we can’t go back and you will just have to accept it, bunch of dragons!

• 3.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Bla bla bla. What did he actually just say? ****-all, as usual. Bloody circus.

• 4.bigg: Reply to this comment

No home advantage in Rustenburg – BVR you are the biggest **** ever…

• 5.supersaffa: Reply to this comment

Ig, I know this is off the topic, but regarding the fantasy league at testrugby.com, is it at all possible to give us an article listing all players currently in the squads for the super14?
    Seeing as there are two new teams, with a whackload of new players, this is becoming harder to choose the right combinations. I did quite well last year, but could have done better had I not missed 2 rounds due to having an incomplete squad. Is it possible for you to get all this info before kick off on friday? Its a big ask, I know, but I am sure there are many other guys who would also appreciate it.

• 6.Grune: Reply to this comment

Kak administrators … Fire them all … Rustenburg might help the Boks, cause it must be ****** for any foreign team to play there … but so is Bloem … Unfair … King’s Park is such a cool parrie …

• 7.joulekkading: Reply to this comment

van Rooyen has sold the soul of SA rugby to keep his fat *** in power. What a ****. I know the consultant ou that did the audit into SA rugby a few years back and he said that BvR is a compulsive liar.

The All Blacks in Rustenburg?? What a joke. What a ****. What a naai.

• 8.wpw: Reply to this comment

joulekkading
    i thought u not at work today?

• 9.wpw: Reply to this comment

is it you clayton?

• 10.robdylan: Reply to this comment

wes – of course it’s Clayton. You can tell by the way he says “****”…

• 11.Ballas: Reply to this comment

What’s so controvercial about the Sharks playing 7 away games? So is the Blues, Force, Cats, Highlanders, Hurricanes & Waratahs. Next year it will be the other way around. I see nothing “controvercial”.

• 12.joulekkading: Reply to this comment

Is this Clayton ou the only ou that says ‘****’ in SA?

• 13.joulekkading: Reply to this comment

Does this Clayton ou know the consultant ous that did the audit into SA Rugby?

• 14.joulekkading: Reply to this comment

Is this Clayton ou a **** or what? Or is it just you ous?

• 15.wpw: Reply to this comment

No. sorry, he uses the nick: provincejoulekkading.

• 16.wpw: Reply to this comment

haai sies robD. Clayton is more decent than that. lol. (i need to defend my fellow token thug) lol

• 17.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

All Blacks at Rustenburg? Is this some sort of desperate attempt to buy votes from a small union?

I know he doesn’t have a great relationship with Freestate or Natal – but I would have thought these decisions would be made by a committee, not the megalomaniac running our rugger.

• 18.robdylan: Reply to this comment

munki – you would think so, hey?

• 19.ali.h: Reply to this comment

i’m gonna be lank pissed off if rustensburg don’t pack that stadium out. how bog is their capacity, anyone know?

• 20.ali.h: Reply to this comment

my bad, how big is rustenburg stadium?

• 21.joulekkading: Reply to this comment

what has 800 legs, fifteen teeth and smells like brendie&coke?

the front row of the Rustenburg piepiejol Stafium!

• 22.out wide: Reply to this comment

Worst of all they have SA vs NZ in Rustenburg sandwiched in between SA vs NZ PTA the week before and SA vs AUS in JNB the week after. Are supporters in this favoured 80 x 100 x 40 km triangle of SA going to fill 3 stadiums on 3 consecutive weeks? I think not – after the uproar in SA about Carisbrook not being full for the SA vs NZ game last year I think NZ will be watching to see if Rustenburg is filled. How many thousands can the place take anyway? Does the ground have a name and can anyone outside SA pronounce it?

• 23.out wide: Reply to this comment

Maybe the answer is that SA rugby grootkoppe aren’t so dumb after all? They maximise the playing at altitude thing on 3 consecutive weeks, put the jetlag thing to bed with the Boks never travelling more than 100 km in a week and win 3 games in a row at home! The fact that they piss off every Bok supporter living south of the Vaal is of course a minor!

• 24.ktb: Reply to this comment

Ballas.
    The problem with the sharks playing away 7 times versus 6 at home is the fact that this is the 2nd year we hve this pattern, we have been shafted by none other than BVR,hence, also, the AB game in Rustenberg, the man is cross that HOSKENS supported that BVR stand down last year, so we get paid back.
    That’s how it works in SA RUGBY, you dont make the “boss” mad — simple.

• 25.joulekkading: Reply to this comment

Ous,

What can we do to moer BvR? Does anyone know where this tjop lives?

• 26.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Good to see the Tri-nations match being played in Rustenburg, can’t see whats all the fuss about.
    There has never been a big match like that played there and the bigger unionalways get big matches, time for the small fish to get some of the picking I reckon.

• 27.gecko: Reply to this comment

I’ll write this before StMick does. With the Tri-Nations added a ridiculous three test a year, this watered down format deserves a few waterd down stadiums.

The days of SA-NZ test matches being heaven like are fast coming to an end. Sadly so.

• 28.Cubiczirconia: Reply to this comment

Just remember that Rustenberg will be like an away test for the boks – we all know that they struggle to win the really big games when they play away from major centres. Much better to play Scotland / Wales / a minnow where our guys can win the game without really breaking stride.

• 29.blouskop: Reply to this comment

The Royal Bafokeng Stadium was originally built as a venue for the 1995 Rugby Union World Cup. A capacity of about 40,000 is bandied about.

• 30.Ballas: Reply to this comment

KTB, thanks, now I get it. Bloody ******* BvR. At least it looks like his on his way.

• 31.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

I quiet like the idea. you have to spread the games around the country so that more people have a chance to see the boks play. It was great when the ARU finally moved games outside of Sydney and Brisbane.

• 32.gary owen: Reply to this comment

Ballas,

Keep in mind that one SA team is to be relegated come end of S14. Battling relegation with teams that only have 6 away games hardly seems fair.

• 33.Murph: Reply to this comment

Considering we won the CC we should get a match

The Supporters would be in their best form ever !

and it makes up for us not getting a decent renumeration for a semi and final from the goats and clutch repair chaps

• 34.blouskop: Reply to this comment

ktb, garyowen
    I sympathize with the Shark’s lousy draw for the second time n a row. But how’s the following quote from News24 for real attitude:

“I love going on tour and so do the rest of the Sharks. Five weeks, four weeks, where is the difference? You’ve got to get out there, play the games and play it tough. We’re staying in lovely places, 10 days in Sydney, some nice places in New Zealand, it’s happy days for us, let’s go.” AJ Venter (The Witness)

• 35.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Rustenburg might help the Boks, cause it must be ****** for any foreign team to play there…”

Hey, but they’ll be able to stay at Sun City and play quality golf in their down-time. Far better than being cooped up in boring Bloemfontein!

And the “Royal Bafokeng Stadium” (hahaha) will raise a chuckle. It might even persuade the NZRU to send the Boks down to the sleet and ice of bleak Invercargill in the following year! Won’t the Japies enjoy the peace and quiet and numbing winter cold of the world’s most southerly “city”? That would be even more of a removal from any comfort zone than The House of Pain which is almost sub-tropical by comparison!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.