Stormers press conference LIVE

Keo.co.za took you inside the Newlands boardroom and brought you the Stormers press conference as it happened.

Coach Kobus van der Merwe confirmed his side to play the Cats at Ellis Park on Saturday.

15 Werner Greeff
14 Rayno Benjamin
13 De Wet Barry (c)
12 Jean de Villiers
11 Jongi Nokwe
10 Peter Grant
9 Bolla Conradie
8 Adri Badenhorst
7 Schalk Burger
6 Luke Watson
5 Andries Bekker
4 Ross Skeate
3 Eddie Andrews
2 Hanyani Shimange
1 JD Moller

Subs

16 Schalk Brits
17 Attie Winter
18 Henk Eksteen
19 Dawid Hendricks
20 Neil de Kock
21 Naas Olivier
22 Justin Peach

Kobus on his bench selection

We have enough utility in Naas and Justin Peach. Jean can shift to the wing, Peter Grant can shift to centre, I think we’re covered. I think it’s important that we have two specialist halfbacks on the bench.

Kobus on state of the squad

We’re very happy with the preparation up until now, in terms of what we wanted pre-season. We didn’t want drawn out training camps, or trips overseas. I think our players are well prepared for the competition, mentally and physically. A lot of players are coming back from injury at the right stage. With regard to selection, we have a fair system in place where the guys who started towards the end of the Currie Cup and against the Spears have been given the benefit of the doubt. They’ve got to be forced out the saddle.

Kobus on rotational policy

We will look at rotating the players. It’s important to keep players fresh through 16 weeks. We will monitor it intensively.

De Wet Barry on physical preparations

A lot of work has gone in the gym, and I’m sure the guys are physically prepared to go.

De Wet on his condition

I’m well rested. I had the opportunity to gym my upper body a bit harder. I had a bit of contact yesterday and have some more tomorrow. It’ll be a little bit more sore than usual, but that’s how it is, and I’m ready to go.

De Wet on the lack of expectation around the Stormers

Sometimes it’s better to be the underdog, cos then you can surprise people. We ourselves are setting high expectations. We would like to do well again. We want to win every game.

Bolla Conradie on whether he’s under pressure

I’m up against Ricky, but I don’t think I have a point to prove. All I’m interested in is performing to the best of my ability. I’m focused on the Stormers and not the Boks.

De Wet on derbies

We put too much empahasis on local derbies. It’s not that these aren’t important, but we need to shift our focus to our games with overseas opposition. That’s where we have to perform

Kobus on the midfield battle

It’s going to be very interesting. They’ve got great centres, but so do we. Jean and De Wet have great strengths we can utilise to the benefit of the team. We can play them equally well, we’ll switch them around for certain plays. I’m very pleased De Wet is on duty, I’m sure Jaque isn’t quite as pleased.

Kobus on the decision not to play more than two warm-up fixtures

It is a concern. We’ve had to do a bit of longterm planning, and consider the whole competition. In hindsight maybe it’s working, you’ve got Conrad Jantjes and Ashwin Willemse who’ve had to pull out because of injuries in preseason games. I spoke to Rassie and he has a few problems, the Bulls are in a situation. What I’ve said to the players is it’s nothing much more than a Currie Cup game, we know the opposition and they know us. I think after Saturday we’ll see if it was the right decision

JD Moller on the tight five

We know each other very well. A lot of us have come through together and we’ve started playing nicely now. I’m confident we can stand up to the Cats.

Kobus on the debutant wingers, Jongi Nokwe and Rayno Benjamin

A guy like Werner plays a very important role in settling them. They’re eager to do well, and both have the ability. They must focus on that and not the outcome of the game, and this will be a good test for them. We know they’re very talented, and they must focus on what they can control in a match. They fit in very well to the way we play, they both have lightning pace and guys like Werner and De Wet give a lot of confidence to them. The game against the Spears showed that when they’re given pace, they can be lethal.

Kobus on Wylie Human

I haven’t seen his stats, but he’s a very good player. I don’t think Jongi will be thinking of the Currie Cup [when he ran around Human to score]. They’ve got pace out wide, Jaque is extremely quick as well. It’s a solid backline, but we’re backing Jongi.

Kobus on weather forecast

They’ve predicted a bit of rain, hopefully it stays away. We’ll take out the buckets today to get the balls wet.

Kobus on Peter Grant
I’ve always said I think he’s a quality player, and sometimes it is how you handle the setbacks that separates you from the pack. Pete is a quality player, he has BMT, and we have given him a vote of confidence. I’ve spoken to him during the week and told him to forget about the criticism. He had a great game last time he was at Ellis Park, against the Lions, so he doesn’t have to go into this game worried.

Kobus on Naas Olivier

Naas has made a big step up. He’s shown some fantastic touches of class in our warm up matches. We’re very pleased having him in the squad. He kicks out of hand beautifully, and is a good goalkicker. We’re very pleased with both our 10s, and it’s important for the team’s benefit that they challenge each other.

Kobus on his state of mind

I haven’t been sleeping much to be honest. The competition is here now, and I’ll be talking nonsense if I said you don’t get nervous. All the players and management just want the competition to start now, and we’ll see where we are after Saturday.

Kobus on the importance of winning

It’s important that we start well, to get the confidence for the home leg. We musn’t lose sight of the fact that it is an away game. It’s great to say the local derbies will have a huge impact, but if you win the four derbies and lose the rest you probably will be relegated. The local derbies will be intense because of the relegation factor, but how we play the overseas sides is more important

Kobus on goalkickers

We’ll start with Pete, and Werner will take the longer kicks. I know Pete fluffed a bit against the Spears, but he has big BMT.

Kobus on Earl Rose

He can expect a bit more than a few up and unders, but we are not focusing on one individual. Earl will be a bit nervous, but he will feel the welcome.

De Wet on whether he’ll get stuck in to Rose

We’ll see how it goes hey!

De Wet on Cats

I think the Cheetahs benefit more from the split than the Lions, cos their players had to be based in Johannesburg for six months.

Kobus on tight five

We have enough quality to get enough ball. It’s important the backs realise that they have to utilise that ball, and keep the forwards in the game.

Kobus on last season

It was a very difficult season for the players, having to adapt to a new coaching staff and methods. It was disappointing to lose in the semi-final, but we played some decent rugby after making the Top 8. The only real disappointment was the Bulls game at Loftus, but we are building from then, and improving on what we put in place in the Currie Cup. Also, hopefully rectify what we haven’t done well.

149 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.bigg: Reply to this comment

3rd day – good come back, impressive… LOL

• 102.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Jeez! I feel so good after saying all those nice things about the Sharks. Now I don’t have to say another nice thing for a couple of years.
    And you Paws, are dreamin, Cat’s…..ja maybe, Cheatah’s… gom.. NO CHANCE!! Go BULLS!!! Vat hulle hoog.. met die elemboog.

• 103.carcass: Reply to this comment

wpw
    Easy buddy, were on the same team.
    Your right , i dont know them personally but i can spot a gold digger a mile away.
    Maybe Earl should wait to see if he can last with the big boys before he buys himself big toys.

• 104.3rdday: Reply to this comment

wpw,

You are like that nice guy next door that always remembers half the neighbourhood’s birthdays, but has no idea the other half is ******** your wife.

• 105.Paws: Reply to this comment

The Cheetas and Cats (Lions) are the only two teams in SA who do not allow the bulls to intimidate them … if anything .. the cheetas have the edge on the bulls, and on home ground I have to give it to them .. but it’s going to be very hard and tight … hope it’s clean, unlike the cc final ..

• 106.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Her Names not Cindy is it?

• 107.DavidSp: Reply to this comment

Murph

I’m enjoying the banter here

It’s ggetting a bit tense.

3rd

The Lions put more cash on the table than the WP. Nic Mallet said so himself. Last year after Earl left he said that the WP had put a sum they thought was the value of the players on the table and the Lions put down more.

PUNT klaar.

That’s all there was to it.

Just for that, I hope he has a f—-ing belter on Saturday and makes his former ‘teammates’ look like poepholle!

GO EARL THE CAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 108.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Unfortunately Paws,
    I don’t think it will be clean, they’re all saying the cc final is passed, but don’t believe it, It’s gonna be war. Just hope there aren’t too many injuries, on both sides. cause although I want my team to nail the s14, I also want the Cheatah’s to do well. But not at the expence of the Blue Bulls of course.

• 109.Paws: Reply to this comment

Lets hope for the Boks sake that all our players in all our teams have belters … we could do with some much needed depth in many possitions …

• 110.3rdday: Reply to this comment

DavidSp,

Mallet said the difference was marginal and he said to Rose that had he told him he had a counter offer that was better than WP, he would have matched it. Verbally they had an agreement; the details of which needed to be put to paper. As a courtesy to all the hard work and effort WP had put in to nurture Rose from his prepubescent school days to where he was and considering he expressed implicitly that he wished to stay at WP, he was one rude, ungrateful, foolish muthafukka not to play open cards with WP.

• 111.carcass: Reply to this comment

The Lions put more money on the table cause they cant count.

• 112.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Nee kyk. Ek sien die bekke is weer lekka groot vandag ja… Die Cats het gewoonlik een groot game in hulle, en die res?? Wel, ons verloor net-net maar vanjaar is dit anders. Al julle Stormie supporters in die Southern Suburbs pas-op!!! Daar gaan ‘n wilde Kat los wees Saterdag… Hoop nie julle verloor teen die kietjies nie… :twisted:

• 113.Paws: Reply to this comment

Yep Bluecap .. unfortunatly I have to agree .. fist punch to land within the fist min of game … the best ‘player’ on the day is going to have to be the ref, he needs to have a very stong handel on this game .. expect a few cards very early in the match .. pity really …

• 114.hobo: Reply to this comment

Grrr

Kan jy onthou die laste keer toe Cats die Stomers ge wen het?? Ek kan nie??

• 115.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Hobo

Daar is altyd ‘n eerste keer.

• 116.carcass: Reply to this comment

Grr
    Julle gaan maar sukkel sonder n 1st choice losskakel.
    Stoooooooooooorrrrrrrrmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrssssssssssssss!

• 117.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ja, ek stem maar laas toe ek gekyk het was julle sin ook nou nie iets om oor huis toe te skryf nie.

• 118.carcass: Reply to this comment

Grr, jy is reg, kom ons bid maar vir n goeie game.
    Kan jy skop? want as jy kan speel jy dalk eerste span!

• 119.Paws: Reply to this comment

as long as we don’t give the ball away by stupid needless kicking, the cats forwards will win the day for us in the wet …

• 120.hobo: Reply to this comment

Grrr

En na die game gaan jy seker se dit gaan nie oor wen nie???? :-)

• 121.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Carcass

Stem ou maat. Ja, ek het maar weg gebly van Ellis die week. As hulle jou gevang het buite met ‘n sportsak in jou hanne het hulle jou sommer gedraft in die flyhalf posiesie. Ek is ‘n biedjie onfiks jy sien… :)

• 122.3rdday: Reply to this comment

Ever seen the graffiti on Roses’ bandaged fore arm? I think he scribbles all the moves there – like crib notes in an exam. How else will he remember all the calls? Like Gibbs, the Lions would be best to give him a licence to do whatever he likes – it’s the most astute way to get the best out of him. Thinking will always get the better him.

• 123.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Hobo

Soos ek vroeer gese het jy kannie die Cats wen nie, NOOIT! Jy kan net meer punte as hulle aan teken.

• 124.carcass: Reply to this comment

Grr
    Ek was genader vir losskakel , slot, skrumskakel en dancing boy.

• 125.hobo: Reply to this comment

Good one carcass….lol..lol

• 126.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Any of you guys know of a site where one can download the games on the weekend?

• 127.RedCard: Reply to this comment

If Mallett didn’t have it on paper he is a poepol. Did nobody watch Jerry Macquire? Has TV taught us nothing!

• 128.3rdday: Reply to this comment

Redcard,

For real? **** Simpson is my father figure.

• 129.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Cheers 3rd

• 130.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

3rd you are a class noodle :-) don’t think I’ll be getting any rugby downloads from that site.lol

• 131.bomskok: Reply to this comment

Famous Bulls supporter catchphrase:

Haai, da Boels will be good for some taaim, for Haaineke put for straktjirs in plys!

Then you ask them: What structures?

Response: Straktjirs OK!

• 132.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Heh, Heh, Bangbus indeed.

• 133.carcass: Reply to this comment

Bomskok
    Is that structures or stretchers?

• 134.bomskok: Reply to this comment

carcass – alass…could be both!

Heyneke Meyer can start a new religion at the rate the Tshwane bunch use his catchphrases all the time – the 2 most overused:

1. We put structures in place…
    2. Rugby is not a contact sport, its a collision sport…

• 135.4Kleur: Reply to this comment

Weet enige van julle waar ek ou rugby videos of dvd kan kry. Jare 80′s.

• 136.Murph: Reply to this comment

Geez Mountain Goats …

A New 70 000 capacity stadium …

You must be so excited , now you’s can hold The 3N Final …

The Cape Carnival …

and the *** Pride march on the same day in the same venue …

Moerse lekker vir julle !

• 137.Murph: Reply to this comment

3rd

have you got a password by chance ?

• 138.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

hee-hee Murph

• 139.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Dan Carter, Wilkinson, et al. were allowed to *develop*. Those citing Wilkinson tend to forget how abysmal he was in the 1998 tour and the 1999 World Cup. If he had been playing in SA, the coaches and supporters would have dumped him.

PS: Murph you wanker, I don’t hide behind pseudonames.

• 140.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

PA: as someone who is merely starting to learn his trade at a higher level – and obviously needed more training than a Kiwi or english counterpart (due to lack of exposure and basic skills training earlier on) – I hardly call mistakes in a semi-final the make or break of his career and a reason to shoot him down in flames.

For anyone too thick to comprehend, these comments go for all the provinces.

Maybe some people here need all this to be spelt out in ABC *sighs*

• 141.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Re: new stadium. Don’t worry northerners, we’ll enjoy it while Vaalies have to phone for advise on how to read a national road map:-)

• 142.Murph: Reply to this comment

Mikey

Dont be be so sensitief , at no point were pseudo’s mentioned , just a play on an angle to remind the folks where the CC is !

re the roads

Who the **** has onramps into the fastlane ?

Yoh ! yOH ! YOH !

• 143.BlouBloed: Reply to this comment

Grant will lose his cool. He has no BMT. Cats to win by 10 or more. Kobus is a piece of work, he talks the talk, but doesn’t walk the walk.

• 144.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Coffeeshop and 3rd get a room.

• 145.Skim: Reply to this comment

The stormers will win the cats.
    The stormers will not be relagated.
    The stormers will do well.
    I know, cause I am THE MAN.
    I AM THE MASTER!
    THE BUS IS MINE!

• 146.Grune: Reply to this comment

Skim, dude … What BUS? …

Please don’t refer to your girlfriend like that. … Ok, so she’s a bit BIG, but dude …. still …. this is a public site and if your into the BIG ladies, we do not want to know about it …

• 147.KWV: Reply to this comment

Grune,
    Skim has left the building

• 148.Grune: Reply to this comment

To visit the BUS no doubt

• 149.Lem: Reply to this comment

Anybody interested in downloading the games? Email – ozzymozzy@gmail.com

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.