Barry blasted by Aussies

Australia’s Vodacom Super 14 players have voted De Wet Barry the dirtiest South African player, Pretoria the most boring place to visit and the Cheeatahs the worst team in the competition.

All players in the four Aussie franchises were required to complete a survery, the results of which have been made public by the Players Association.

Pretoria was voted the most boring place to visit, while Loftus is the least liked ground. Bulls lock Bakkies Botha was also voted the second-most dirtiest player polling 12.5% compared to Barry’s 14%.

Barry defended himself upon hearing the results. “I don’t think I’m a dirty player,” he told the Cape Times. “I am aggresive but have worked hard so that I don’t give away penalties. I will stand my ground for my team, but there’s no place in the game for punching.”

SA referee Tappe Henning (17%) was voted the second-worst in the Super 12, behind George Ayoub (21%), while the Cheetahs (26%) are tipped to finish last in the Super 14.

AUSSIE SURVEY RESULTS:

Most respected opponent: Tana Umaga 27%
Least liked ground: Loftus 22%
Favourite ground: Canberra Stadium 24.5%
Most parochial crowd: Loftus:
Biggest hitter or tackler: Jerry Collins 56%
Most competitive team-mate: Ben White 10%
Best referee: Matt Goddard 19%
Worst referee: George Ayoub 21%(2nd: Tappe Henning 17%)
Dirtiest player: De Wet Barry 14% (2nd: Bakkies Botha 12.5%)
Super 14 wooden spoon: Cheetahs 26%
Leading try scorer for 2006: Rico Gear 16% (2nd: Bryan Habana 13%)
Most feared player: Jerry Collins 26%

395 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

• 351.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Brumby please shut up.do you think we come heat to talk about aussie.Cheers manne ek het n dingetjie om tegaan doen.

• 352.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bliksem jy lieg.

If you not a boer wat maak jy elke donnerse dag in die veld.

• 353.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

Bliksem you seem to like talking about it so I will keep on trucking.

• 354.wpw: Reply to this comment

ongesouped karre? is there such a word. well, donner if you are indeed english you damn as well are a stupid one…

• 355.GOUWS: Reply to this comment

Truck off you ********

• 356.Sloth man: Reply to this comment

Canberra, the best stadium!!!! Are they blind! Funny how their four best stadiums are australian!

God I hate Australians. Never met a bunch of more stuck up, biased twats in my life!!!

• 357.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Dawn.n boer gaan uit na die land toe nie na die veld toe nie.Mense soos geoloee,ingenuers,projekbestuurders ens ens gaan veld toe.die veld word dan ontwikkel in townships.n township is die benaming van enige dorp en verwys nie na n plek soos soweto nie.

• 358.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

GOUWS, go have a wank you will feel better afterwards

• 359.bliksem: Reply to this comment

wpw ek is nie n ****** tikster nie so relax.opgesouped karre ok?sorry that n offended your passion.

• 360.Sloth man: Reply to this comment

Pretoria is boring, I’ll give them that. But Canberra gives it a run for their money.

Dirtiest player barry! At least we don’t *** gauge in the scrums!! Dirty **** aussies.

• 361.gecko: Reply to this comment

Wie is doe ou Gouws wat sy geskiedenis by Steve Hofmyer leer? Gouws, it’s called a Glasgow kiss.
    Edinburgh kiss – priceless.

• 362.Methos: Reply to this comment

gecko

According to the commentators on M-Net it is called a Liverpool kiss.

• 363.gecko: Reply to this comment

methos – that’s fine. At least Liverpool and Glasgow are both known to be rough – but Edinburgh?

• 364.Stan: Reply to this comment

Gecko, yes it was good.but we got the message.
    Kom ons gaan praat kak op die ander bulls thread.

• 365.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Sloth it’s a good thing you are not the generalizing type.

• 366.cab: Reply to this comment

actually gecko – i understand certain areas of edinburgh are rough (Ian Rankin’s novels are all set in the seedier parts of the city), but its the first time i’ve heard of an “Edenberough headbud”.

jammer gouwsie, but it was bladdy funny.

• 367.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oppas vir die bloeddruk Bliksem.

You mean you building another location?

Or is the correct term …. RDP development?

• 368.Stan: Reply to this comment

what does RDP stands for?

• 369.Logie: Reply to this comment

Rudementary developement project

• 370.Logie: Reply to this comment

sorry, make that the reconstruction and development program

• 371.Stan: Reply to this comment

Oh,
    I thought it was Revenge of the Dark People…

• 372.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Scot (Murrey) got 3 weeks – bit sad – but rules is rules.

See the wording of reports been very selective non saying ‘intent’ or ‘deliberative’ but rather ‘acidental’ or ‘not on purpose’.

What was more the player who he ‘kicked’ suports him.

• 373.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Ja – the rules have never been perfect. His sending off was punishment enough. Took away any chance of the match being a contest. What a waste.

• 374.steyn: Reply to this comment

come nou dudes don’t let the aussies and the all blacks worry you they not going to do anything in this years super 14 our time is now

• 375.blouskop: Reply to this comment

Ig,
    Howcome it always says that I’ve already voted on your polls when I haven’t? Are you using logins or IPs to identify voters?

• 376.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

who cares what the sports devil’s spawn say!

• 377.Ig: Reply to this comment

Blouskop…we are using IP’s at the moment – i am investigating different polling systems

• 378.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

hey IG, why can’t I print articles on this website? When I do a print preview, it comes up with only the website’s template and the adverts, but no text?

• 379.Ig: Reply to this comment

Couch – works fine this side ? What browser you using ? I will run some test tomorrow and come up with a solid answer for you

• 380.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Ig, I am not sure which browser, it’s at work, Microsoft Internet Explorer. I used to be able to print fine from the previous site though?
    Thanx for looking into it though.

• 381.blouskop: Reply to this comment

Thanks Ig.

• 382.Mackie: Reply to this comment

This survery is all about trying to make the Aussies opposition feel crummy and insecure. Go to hell shackle draggers. Our country rocks, how can they say Pretoria is boring. Vok my! every time ive been up there ive had a good one. They honestly think the Cheetahs will finsih last, ***** ****** somebody slap those idiots, the Farce will kak before we get mid way in this tournament!

• 383.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Almost nothing isn’t true about this article if you think about it. Even as a South African I have to concede that. I only have a few problems.

1) Tappe Henning should have been voted the worst. (With Stuart Dickinson following close behind.)

2) The Reds will be the champions of the wooden spoon this year, not the Cheetahs.

3) I imagine Pretoria would be pretty boring, for an Australian, but now that the Cheetahs are a S14 franchise, Bloemfontein has to be in the running.

4) Best referee is definitely either Mark Lawrence or Paddy O’ Brian. Matt Goddard se voet.

Otherwise I am inclined to agree with the others as fair perspectives of an Australian. As much as I like De Wet and B Botha, DE Wet might not do punches, instead he uses headbutts and high tackles. As for Bakkies Botha he’s better than he used to be, but he’s a long way to go to prove himself blemish-free. Everyone knows Jerry Collins is the most feared man in rugby and that Umaga is the most well respected.

• 384.Mackie: Reply to this comment

Wonder how long it will be in this tournament before the Aussies start their racial **** again. Best they dont try it in SA cause they will get fucked up, this aint cricket pal. Justin Harrison might want to give his once “mates” a word of advice. Playing in cold ****** Ireland is not as pleasant as the warmth of Aus. Watch your mouths you filthy ozzies, you will get big one one in the kisser before the unions deal with you.

• 385.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

eh Mackie? are you trying to incite racial hatred against Aussies?

• 386.RealCrusader: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Dewet, you’ll be the only Springbok to win an award in 2006 so treasure it.

There’s alot *** sledges towards that BIV guy and Australia, what I find amusing though is a few thousand South Africans applied for Aussie citizenship last year and not one Australian applied to become a South African.

I wonder why anyone would want to leave that crime ridden whole that is South Africa,

• 387.RealCrusader: Reply to this comment

“eh Mackie? are you trying to incite racial hatred against Aussies? ”

What are you trying to say BIV? I’ve never seen a Seth Erfrikan try incite Racial hat… Oh, Yes. Never mind, my mistake.

• 388.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

It will be interesting to see what the B-Mac thinks of this.

• 389.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

RealCrusader, you can have your cold wet hole of an isalnd any day. Most boooooooring place on earth. Now go deal with your own racial problems re: your stealing land from the Maoris!

• 390.RealCrusader: Reply to this comment

CouchRugga,

I am Maori, why would I be stealing my own land?

South Africa isn’t boring though you’re right, only because it’s so unsafe. It’s the Iraq of the Southern Hemisphere but marginally better at rugby than their Northen Hemisphere brothers.

• 391.RealCrusader: Reply to this comment

CouchRugga though eh? So you’re an arm chair sportsman? Most likely fat, overweight and losing your hair, Mr VanZyl? is that you?

• 392.DarylH: Reply to this comment

Just ignore realcrysader, he is a teenager from NZ with nothing better to do than to stir **** on the internet.

• 393.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

DarylH, how do you know that he is a teenager

• 394.DarylH: Reply to this comment

Because he stirs **** on other websites too, where his age is known.

• 395.PruneJuice: Reply to this comment

Mackie, you drip. Notice how all the “racial” nastiness was in Afrikaans??

Lemme guess, Aussies went and did a Berlitz course on how to abuse in YOUR language. It’d never be Saffa ex pats would it now…..

And Aussies get the rap for it….What a joke.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.