Campo rates Ruan
15 Feb 2006
Sharks skills coach David Campese believes Ruan Pienaar is going to become one of the great South African rugby players.
The former Wallaby winger singled out three men after the Sharks’ Vodacom Super 14 win against the Chiefs in Durban.
“Brent Russell is some player and he is going to get better this year as he gets more game time,” Campo told Mercury rugby writer Mike Greenaway. “I thought Henno Mentz had some excellent moments, both on attack and defence, and of course Ruan Pienaar had a fine game. Pienaar is going to be great. I think, though, that it might be advisable for him to lay low a bit because he is going to be singled out by the opposition – he is going to get a lot of heat so it might be in his best interests to move the ball away from himself a bit more, attacking only every so often.”
Campese also believes Tony Brown will make a big impact when he finally arrives from Japan.
“I think Tony will settle the team down a lot,” said Campese. “I played against him a number of times and found him to be an excellent all-round player – very skillful, very physical, a good tackler and he kicks very well. The youngsters in this squad will learn a great deal from playing alongside him.”
The Sharks have gotten their season off to a winning start, but the 101-Test Wallaby is not getting too excited.
“Encouraging but not yet convincing,” was his verdict. “The guys were rusty and hesitant, which explains the high number of mistakes, but in general it was a good start.
“It worries me a little that the unique pressure on the South African teams [to avoid relegation] this year is going to inhibit their play. I would like to see the guys treating the ball like gold when they get it rather than kicking it away.”

48 Comments
15 Feb 2006, 07:23 am
simon 80% of this article you are quating people.try and write some solid investigative sport journalism.just go to and read some of the exellent articles there.O ja waiting to meet you at the next muppit evening.insulting my murdered mom a while ago.gonna show you what I do to people like you.
15 Feb 2006, 07:24 am
Bliksem,
I seriously think you need help.
15 Feb 2006, 07:28 am
Brent Russell’s style of play would please Campo.
15 Feb 2006, 07:29 am
Great article Simon! Nice to hear other’s view on our talent.
15 Feb 2006, 07:31 am
Simon you call yourself a sports journo but writes the biggest load of ****.I need help?Happily employed in a professional careerWhere are your career going.Who in the journo fraternity takes you seriously?Did you get the award for sportsjourno of the year?Some inhouse awaed from keo doesnt count?Maybe you got some awards early in your career buy what you are writing now are kak.very shortsighted careerwise.Whats next?Writing for Die Son?
15 Feb 2006, 07:33 am
“Campo told Mercury writer”.Pasting again Simon?Simon when last have you been invited to boots and all as a studio guest?
15 Feb 2006, 07:39 am
Simon, good article. Campo is spot on, nice to read the truth for a change.
15 Feb 2006, 07:40 am
bliksem, are you jealous of Simon?
15 Feb 2006, 07:40 am
Chill out bliksem
15 Feb 2006, 07:42 am
no brumby.go read again what i said.i am trying to help the kid.maybe you have no ambition as well.hope I am wrong.cheers,gotta go work.
15 Feb 2006, 07:45 am
Bliksem if you don’t like the articles on here go somewhere else. You spend a hell of a lot of time on here so it is obviously filling up a space in your life. No need for personal attacks!
15 Feb 2006, 07:45 am
Maybe he has the dream job that most rugby fans would love to have.
15 Feb 2006, 07:47 am
brumby ek kan beter stories uitkak.bmm I am here to chat to some people who are knowledgable about rugga and also to bigot’s like Stan.Cheers,gotta roll.
15 Feb 2006, 07:56 am
“brumby ek kan beter stories uitkak.”
eh?
15 Feb 2006, 08:00 am
Hehehe BrumbyIV, bliksem apparently have a very rare talent, in his words he can **** better articles than Simon can write!
15 Feb 2006, 08:04 am
i wish i could combine english and afrikaans with gibberish.
15 Feb 2006, 08:15 am
Bliksem,
You’re obviously seriously pissed off with Simon about something, but why don’t you just E-Mail him directly and maybe you two can sort it out. In the mean time the rest of us can just keep on talkin **** as usual.
What Campo says must work for all our teams, that ball must be treated like gold, too often we give away good possesion.
I also take stress when the forwards are on attack, really lookin good, and out of the blue, here comes a drop kick, sure take the points where you can get them, but more often than not it misses and there goes our territory.
I believe a drop kick should always be kept for emergency’s.
15 Feb 2006, 08:29 am
I see something special in this Sharks team too. I hope we get back to the top where we belong. After all the Sharks have been the frontrunners for the SA sides in the Super12…
15 Feb 2006, 08:42 am
I could rise above it and either ignore it or respond as a normal person will, but ill bring myslef to Bliksem’s level
Yes, ill let the 12 yr old school kid out for a play:
Bliksem is a wanker, a wanker a wanker!
15 Feb 2006, 09:11 am
Good article. Nice to hear what campo thinks.
Bliksem isnt campo the rugby expert not simon so it stands to reason that the article should focus on campos comments. Take a chill pill bru.
15 Feb 2006, 09:20 am
strikers
Good one ………………& true!!
15 Feb 2006, 09:39 am
Why Oh Why was it Ettiene Botha behind the wheel that fateful night and not Bliksem? Why Oh Lord, did you punish us so unreasonably, Lord?
15 Feb 2006, 09:39 am
Hell,
this comment page is heading south fast!!!!!
Interesting that he picks out Mentz, I’ve always rated that bloke. A real winger, a little different from the others. Difficult to describe his style of play but I’d have say that he is “Sharp”……and I like sharp objects.
15 Feb 2006, 09:40 am
finally got to watch the game last night, it was great, just need to get john smit back to sort out the line-out.
man AJ was huge, if he carries on like this he will walk straight back into the bok team. he was everywhere all the time.
Ackerman was also great.
15 Feb 2006, 09:41 am
3rrd
why,why oh why……..and he didn’t used to get injured like that donkey DeVilliers either!!!
15 Feb 2006, 09:42 am
AJ Venter is a sicknote like Jean DeVilliers.
Never more than 4 or 5 games in a row before at leat 3 games off are needed.
15 Feb 2006, 09:43 am
Bliksem,
It might interest you to know that I spend about 2% of my time on this site. Otherwise I’m an editor on five sports magazines in Cape Town.
15 Feb 2006, 09:45 am
3rd – dude. You are a twat.
StP – Agreed re Mentz. The oke is a king. I hope you’re proved wrong about AJ this year. Having him fit makes a huge difference to the team.
Kners – I thought Skipper did quite well, actually. The lineouts were at least 80% better than last year. We actually managed to get some good attacking ball from that platform, something we haven’t done in a while.
15 Feb 2006, 09:50 am
You want to get your priorities sorted.
Less time with the magazines and more time on the site!!!
15 Feb 2006, 09:50 am
Simon – not that “*** Sports Weekly” is a particularly prestigious publication, though.
15 Feb 2006, 09:53 am
PS:
If you are the editor…..what the hell is Keohane doing all day?
There appears to be some truth to the belief that he swans around all day doing nothing and talking pish?
15 Feb 2006, 09:56 am
StP – keo keeps a low profile, but that’s more through necessity than intention.
15 Feb 2006, 09:57 am
Keo is the publisher of 21 titles
15 Feb 2006, 09:59 am
simon, stop kissing keos little(tiny) ***. lol
are you up for a salary increase soon?
15 Feb 2006, 10:03 am
yeah robd. 30 min into the first half i was wondering what all the conplaining about line outs was about. but he let it slip and it really did cost us. his play besides his throwing was great though.
man, as a shark that game was one of the best things i have seen in a while. the balance was great man. the tight 5 were working so well together. did you see how coiled the scrum was in the beginning before the subs, they were like a spring when they engaged.
StP i agree, i really hope he can stay uninjured, but the way that he throws himself around, eish.
i hope bobo improves. he put in a few good tackles but the one chiefs try was from him missing his man. he got some kak passes but always seemed to be looking up, a little scared of being hit, i would be too though.
i dont think the cheetahs have much of a chance, maybe if they were playing at home but at kings park, no way man.
15 Feb 2006, 10:04 am
Week2: Blues, Chiefs, Bulls, Hurricanes, Crusaders, Sharks and Waratahs….
15 Feb 2006, 10:16 am
Yeah – I really rate young vd Merwe. Thought he had a great game.
When are they going to bring Allen and Andrews in to sort out the lineouts?
15 Feb 2006, 10:22 am
Please Bliksem – just go home. Your brainless comments are getting boring. Now I are is telling yous to leaf poor Simon allone…
Bliksem
Just succumb to the realisation that you are an arse bandit. All this pent up homosexual tension is making you very aggressive. We all realise you don’t hate Simon you just have”feelings” for him. Feelings that manifest themselves in the form of your agro rantings. Stop the furious bouts of masturbation and just ask Simon out for dinner.
But remember, no glove no love!
robd i reckon they just need to get the throwing right, we didnt loose any on decent throws.
got a day off today, the weather outside is nastier than evita bezuidenhout’s panties, busy downloading the stormers cats game, should be interesting.
this downloading of games is the greatest, if u guys need info about it mail me, knersboy@hotmail.com
15 Feb 2006, 10:36 am
Dee Dah – Go read what i wrote to you in the Ruddock article!!!
I dont care what anyone thinks but Bliksem has entertained me by his Continuous Simon banter…
15 Feb 2006, 10:51 am
kners – mailed you.
I agree that the throwing is the problem. Muller, Ackers, vd Bergh and Venter certainlt have no difficulties taking a ball that’s in the right place. Maybe our hookers just need to spend that much more time actually practicing their throwing each week. They should be able to hit an upright pole from 15m out with 90% accuracy in a variety of conditions. If you can do that, then no problem.
15 Feb 2006, 11:51 am
RobD
Does Tsepo Kokoali have any potential? Who will cover fullback in Russell’s absence?
15 Feb 2006, 11:59 am
I will remind you guys that in the first round of the Super 14 there was not one skew lineout, not one! This of course includes the sharks. I think you guys are being a bit harsh. I was most impressed with the lineout throwing throughout most of the match. They did let it slip once or twice near the end of the game but I thought Skipper did very well. Brent Russell touched the ball twice or three times I think and looked very dangerous on those occasions. Even though Pieterson is an exciting prospect I think Brent should start ahead of him. Henno I agree is also a great player and I am so looking forward to a bit of stability in the team when TOny Brown and Butch James come back. Of course that means Monty would move back to fullback and Brent won’t have a place. What do you guys think of Brent on the right wing in a Robinson(ex-English wing) type of role?
15 Feb 2006, 12:07 pm
i like what i’m hearing from Campo, these are defnitely the 3 sharks players that can spark something. Also, he is right, they need to treat the ball like gold, not kick it away like all the other teams, thankfull this has not really been a big problem with the sharks over the years.
Tony Brown’s arrival should be great. Perhaps Pursy can play at 12, whats his defense like these days?
15 Feb 2006, 12:13 pm
hobbo, re the lineouts, i know it is knit picking but the poor lineouts in the second half are the reason that we werent as effective as in the first half. we let them off too much and didnt have enough ball to attack with so we were always defending.
with the other players coming back in, well, i reckon that is great. i dont think it is a headache as it will give the guys some rest without losing quality, it is a long season.
when does smit return? also, i heard rumblings that butch might not make it back in any super 14 games, anyone know?
if we can get butch, davidson, smit, brown etc back we can not over expose the young guys who, although they performed really well, should still be nurtured a bit in my opinion.
and how is this for a sign of change. i didnt watch any currie cup games but had heard of pietersen and his potential but i had NO IDEA that he was black/coloured. that means that nobody mentioned that, sign of change indeed.
15 Feb 2006, 13:57 pm
Bliksem, maybe are is you could better articles write if you english learnt (dripping with sarcasm).
Good grief, this site really needs an entry exam.
15 Feb 2006, 22:37 pm
Cape Town has five Sport Magazines?
My my, that is good news, if we educate the bunch now, maybe they will be able to talk sense about rugby maybe in a generation or two?
Even get to play it properly in say 50 years?