Hall eyes comeback

Former Bok winger Dean Hall could return to the Sharks starting XV for Saturday’s Vodacom Super 14 match against the Cheetahs.

Henno Mentz has been ruled out for two weeks with a hamstring-related injury and will be replaced by Hall or Odwa Ndungane, while 19-year-old centre Waylon Murray may be given the No 13 jersey ahead of Gcobani Bobo.

Former Bok lock Johan Ackermann, who had a blinder against the Chiefs, is in doubt ahead of the game with a groin problem and will be replaced by Albert van den Berg.

Flank Warren Britz, fullback JP Pietersen (both hamstrings) and prop Heinke van der Merwe (knee) have all been ruled out of the Cheetahs game.

Possible Sharks side to play Cheetahs:

15 Brent Russell, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Gcobani Bobo/Waylon Murray, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Odwa Ndungane/Dean Hall, 10 Percy Montgomery, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Jaques Botes, 7 AJ Venter, 6 Solly Tyibilika, 5 Johan Ackermann/Albert van den Berg, 4 Johann Muller, 3 Brendon Botha, 2 Skipper Badenhorst, 1 Deon Carstens.

32 Comments

• 1.bigg: Reply to this comment

Big,dumb, slow & too white…

• 2.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

poor bugger this must be comeback number 57, I wish him all the best, a real pity that his rugby career has been shortened by injury.

• 3.Ig: Reply to this comment

Agree, we can start a list of players who should retire – Gus, Hall, Jannes Lab, Jorrie…..feel fee to jump in

• 4.Ig: Reply to this comment

CSB – just got word from SuperBru – they have moved you into ML…he did enquire if you were also playing as Powerplant ?

• 5.Spook: Reply to this comment

Bobo?

• 6.bigg: Reply to this comment

Ig – JDV is in my DL team, now what do I do this week? It looks like he wont play maybe maybe not, Can I sell him this week & buy him back next week? Or is it best to keep him and take a chance in case he plays?

• 7.Ig: Reply to this comment

Eish…no idea bigg…he is also in my team , i reckon i am gonna trade him in and buy him back later…..

• 8.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Too many changes for the Sharks… we need some continuity here.

Losing Ackers is a big blow. Albert doesn’t bring the same intensity in the tight.

• 9.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Man, real shame about Dean Hall. Was part of that 2002 super backline during the 3N (when Paulse had gas, Russell burst onto the seen with Pretorius,Greef etc).

His comeback won’t lead to much I’m afraid. I doubt his pace is still with him and his skills don’t excactly make up for it.

• 10.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Cheers Ig playing as PowerPlant72, although my team name appears on ML, it is’nt registering.

• 11.Ig: Reply to this comment

rob – shame to lose Jp as well, i was looking forward to him kicking ***….Hopefully Aj will be feeling as abrasive

• 12.bigbird: Reply to this comment

Cant wait to see dean hall back on the park!
    Just hope he has a blinder.
    Gotta get rid of bobo. Its the only thing the cats have done right in the last few years!
    Why not replace him with brad barrit tho?
    He came on for him last week and did nothing wrong!

• 13.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Just checked it out Ig and it’s been moved, Thank you.
    I’m leading after round 1, should’nt last to long if I keep tipping the cats to win though.

• 14.bigg: Reply to this comment

RobD – good win this weekend, I always knew the Sharks would take it. Sharks should beat the Cheetahs this week too…

• 15.robdylan: Reply to this comment

bigbird – one word. QUOTA

• 16.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Murray in for Bobo should be a no-brainer. Why not bring Mkhize in if we’ve got a spot on the wing, though? Are left wing and right wing really thta different?

• 17.bliksem: Reply to this comment

robd it al depends with what feet the wingers can kick.

• 18.bigg: Reply to this comment

Bliksem – thanks for the entertainment this morning re Simon,,LOL

• 19.rugbyfan100%: Reply to this comment

Dean Hall is like Keanu said in “The Replacements…”

He’s not a even a “has been” he’s a “never was”!!!

• 20.robdylan: Reply to this comment

That so? I guess it makes sense. Never been a great student of wing play, but I guess they do tend to stick to one side or the other.

• 21.cab: Reply to this comment

Could be one helleva strong sharks side with everyone fit. That Botes is good, i’d make room for him at 6 tho.

1. Carstens 2. Smit 3. BJ Botha
    4. Ackerman 5. Muller
    6. Botes 7. AJ 8. Farani

9. Pienaar 10. Brown
    12. Percy 13. Russell
    11. Mentz 14. Hall
    15. Pietersen

terriffic side

• 22.Stan: Reply to this comment

bigg,
    Poor effort there.
    Hall might not play for the Boks again, but he can still be very valuable for the Sperm Whales, if his knee holds.

• 23.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab that is one **** hot looking backline.

The Sharks i reckon can do very well this year if they can maintain the intensity throughpout the comp.

With the worry of relegation gone now it should’nt be a problem.

• 24.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Someone in the backs division needs to do the defensive work, tackling or crash ball carrying, who is your candidate? Bobo?

• 25.cab: Reply to this comment

coffee,

yip but its interesting how kak they can also look with some injuries. The teamsheet espoused by Simon doesn’t look great especially outwide. Also think they can do well tho if stay relatively injury free.

• 26.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab thats what will win the super14 depth or a lucky team with min injuries throughout.

Good squad management will be essential especially if your player pool is thin.

• 27.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

not sure who is more injury prone. Dean Hall or Henno Mentz. Sicknotes both of them.

Whats up with all our speedsters getting hammie injuries? Dont they warm up properly?

• 28.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

real real pity about ackerman, that guy had a huge game on saturday and it works nicely with him on for 60 and then albert.

• 29.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Hi Guys. What is Waylon Murray like? I see on the sharks rugby site the man is 105kg. Pieterson is 95 kg , Odwa is also 95kg, Hall is a wopping 100 kg’s, Butch is 97 kg’s. Sharks should do very well this year.
    I see Percy has had a decent hair cut.

• 30.Mackie: Reply to this comment

Henno must get fixed up quick. He is a far better prospect than Dean I reckon. Not sure Dean has the power he might have had back when.

• 31.GhostShark: Reply to this comment

Good luck Deano, God knows you deserve a bit of luck china.

• 32.Fawlty: Reply to this comment

If he has a good game will everyone be singing a different tune come monday…. Like the tunes being sung this last monday : )

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.