Storm brews over Joost’s jibe
15 Feb 2006
Joost van der Westhuizen’s attack on Bolla Conradie has infuriated the Stormers management, particularly coach Kobus van der Merwe.
Former Bok captain and scrumhalf Van der Westhuizen, now an anchor for Superrugby – the Afrikaans weekly magazine show – castigated Conradie for his behaviour during the Stormers’ win over the Cats Ellis Park.
Conradie and Ricky Januarie were extremely confrontational for their duration on the field, but Van der Westhuizen took particular offence to Conradie’s alleged use of foul language and his celebration over scoring his try – when he kissed De Wet Barry on the cheek.
“We are upset about the attack on Bolla. We are not playing bowls. Obviously the players are going to get hot under the collar on occasions, especially because they are vying for the same position in the national side,” coach Van der Merwe told Die Burger.
“Joost claimed that referee Tappe Henning had told him after the match that Bolla had sworn. I did, however, phone Tappe and he denied having said so to Joost.
“According to Tappe he simply told Joost that he had to speak to Bolla and Ricky because they were in one another’s hair all the time.
“I have already requested our CEO, Rob Wagner, to take up the matter with SuperSport.
Van der Westhuizen, however, remains defiant and is refusing to retract his comments.
“Tappe told me he was shocked at the swearing on the field. When you study a video of the game you can clearly see Conradie swearing.
“It is not only my opinion, but Kobus Wiese and Errol Tobias agree. I stand by what I said.”
Van der Westhuizen is sure to endure criticism for what is perceived as anti-Cape bias. Back in 2003 he famously told Quinton Davids – who arrived late for a gym session – not to “bring your Western Province manners here.”
Van der Westhuizen appears to have found backing in the form of Supersport CEO Gert Roets, who indicated he would not take the matter up with is anchor.
“I don’t wish to get involved in a verbal war between unions, but Joost has the fullest right to voice his opinion,” Roets stated.

383 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All
16 Feb 2006, 13:08 pm
Errol always say “Die rugby is kerngesond”, dis ‘n “titaniese stryd” or “die wedstryd sal gaan op ‘n mespunt gebalanseer word”
16 Feb 2006, 13:10 pm
Blackjack,
Jy kan dit deur die internet luister. Ek luister oorsee na skere wedstryde op R Pta as dit nie op Sky is nie.
And something like the CC last year when province played… “En uh hy vaat die bal en sit die tweede faset op. Maar wag daar staan Breyton… Hy lyk reg vir werk… wat ‘n kwaliteit speler
rf100%,
Errol: “Kyk hoe pragtig gebruik hy sy voete.”
16 Feb 2006, 13:11 pm
munkiboi,
thought someone would see the irony in that -’poor’ hansie.
16 Feb 2006, 13:13 pm
TUNE TUNE TUNE LATHAM AHAHHAHHHH He got hammered
16 Feb 2006, 13:14 pm
“en Breyten gee ‘n spiraalpaas daar na die heelagter”
16 Feb 2006, 13:15 pm
tjoen-tjoen, laaitie. who you hooked up with?
16 Feb 2006, 13:17 pm
There’s only ever been one great commentator. Bill McLaren. The rest are biased, useless or just plain outrageous.
Murray Mexted is the closest thing to a decent commentator in the modern game.
Cyclops Simon Poidevin is the most biassed I have ever heard, although Jonathan Davies is pretty close. Ours just lack knowledge, and always seem to have nasal voices, and are afraid to be controversial.
16 Feb 2006, 13:18 pm
brumby, u kidding?
quick crash course on SA rugby politics, when a northener accuses a southerner of something (or vice versa) a shitstorm is inevitable.
16 Feb 2006, 13:18 pm
Stan
As ‘n speler kak aanjaag – glo my hy weet dit. Waarom dan nou heeltemaal vir hom breek deur hom af te kraak voor die hele Suid Afrika? Support hom eerder … hulle kry klaar genoeg k@k in Aus en NZ.
Hierdie freekin kommentators besef nie hoeveel invloed hulle op die publiek het nie. As hulle nie van ‘n speler hou nie kan hulle die publiek heeltemaal teen hom draai – of dit nou ‘n goeie of slegte speler is. As dit eers kom dat die publiek nie hou van ‘n speler nie dan kan hy maar sy tasse pak.
Dit is waarom dit so belangrik is om goeie, onpartydige kommentators te kry vir TV.
16 Feb 2006, 13:19 pm
AHAHHAHHHH! ROCKY ELSOM! ROCKY ELSOM! AHAHHAHHHH! TTRRYYY!!!!!!!! AHAHHAHHHH!
16 Feb 2006, 13:20 pm
apologies KWV – but there are people who honestly think he did no wrong (or have conveniently erased it from their memories)
16 Feb 2006, 13:21 pm
“Murray Mexted is the closest thing to a decent commentator in the modern game.”
Good old Muzza. you could find a list of his quotes on google.
16 Feb 2006, 13:22 pm
GO YOU GOOOOOOOOD THING GO!
16 Feb 2006, 13:23 pm
AHAHHAHHHH! TURINUI’S GOT A DOUBLE!!! HE’S GOT A DOUBLE! AHAHHAHHHH! MORGAN GO-YOU-GOOD-THING-TU-RI-NU-I!!!
16 Feb 2006, 13:28 pm
“Quality bit of facial hair on Cronje’s face”
“Referee falcon”
“Percy of the week”
16 Feb 2006, 13:34 pm
Ig,
Banning IPs is so Red China. Let the fool realdoosader post, he’s a harmless little punk.
16 Feb 2006, 13:36 pm
The best quotes from Sky TVs rugby man, the ubiquitous
Murray Mexted:
“You don’t like to see hookers going down on players like
that.”
“He’s looking for some meaningful penetration into the
backline.”
“Spencer’s running across field calling out, ‘come inside
me, come inside me.’”
“I can tell you it’s a magnificent sensation when the gap
opens up like that and you just burst right through.”
“I don’t like this new law, because your first instinct when
you see a man on the ground is to go down on him.”
“Darryl Gibson has been quite magnificent coming inside
Andrew Mehrtens, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of
the same today.”
“There’s nothing that a tight forward likes more than a
loosie right up his backside”
“Everybody knows that I have been pumping Martin Leslie for
a couple of seasons now.”
16 Feb 2006, 13:41 pm
Some good quotes there BrumbyIV
16 Feb 2006, 13:49 pm
realcrusader,
I checked the pic you display on the planetrugby forum. Are you that nonce’s *****? It’s not surprising that you NZ men shag eachother and rape any sheep that you manage to corner – because your Kiwi women are incredibly ugly with physiques to match. That’s probably why NZ slags are the easiest lay in the world – they’ll take anyone anywhere. I wouldn’t let one of those filthy hos within a couple of metres of my ****.
16 Feb 2006, 13:54 pm
blouskop, he can’t answer that.
16 Feb 2006, 14:06 pm
Even a sad, dumbass Kiwi like him should be able to bypass Ig’s cyberbarriers. Otherwise why don’t you pass it on to your mate for me then Brumby?
16 Feb 2006, 14:23 pm
It was such a beautiful kiss. Just before Vanlentine’s Day nogal.
16 Feb 2006, 14:35 pm
the flowers were in the post
16 Feb 2006, 14:58 pm
yip if they were at loftus they could have had some lekker serenading music in the background. Liefling.
16 Feb 2006, 15:02 pm
LOL cab
16 Feb 2006, 15:51 pm
cab,
wanna talk about the Lions rugby…..
16 Feb 2006, 16:06 pm
right, mums the word.
16 Feb 2006, 16:10 pm
Go with the commentary on RSG – always reasonable. I also enjoy the various NPC / NZ games & shows. I disagree that they don’t call a poor tackle for what it is – they do! SS is right about the inability of most of RSA’s northern based commentators to wipe the **** out of their eyes & provide decent comment.
The professional fence sitting on Boots ‘n All & the other lack lustre programs seem to be as much a condition of their employment than any natural predisposition.
I enjoy John Robbie almost always & sometimes Naas as analysts. My enduring memory of Joost, Kobus & the other idiot is their post match nonsense after the Bok time was anounced following a CC final. It sealed their fate as credible RSA sports journalists in the septic tank.
Joost played with huge pride & passion together with total commitment as a rugby player. It’s a shame he chooses not to bring any of these qualities as a South African commentator.
16 Feb 2006, 16:13 pm
Bokbokbok
You render me speechless.
The only thing that would sort you out is a good PK against the head.
Pathetic.
17 Feb 2006, 22:04 pm
Thabo Mbeki makes more money than joost,
does less work,
smells a lot worse
and is a bigger all round c*unt.
What exactley has that got to do
with januarie and bolla gaaning aan or
dewet and bollas coming out?
17 Feb 2006, 22:07 pm
Brumbyiv,nice one.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All