Boks take on the world

The Springboks will play three successive matches at Twickenham this year, twice against England and once against a World XV. The last test will have official status.

The Boks will also start their year on June 3 against a World XV at Ellis Park and former World Cup-winning coach Bob Dwyer will coach the team.

It is understood former Bok captain Andre Vos will play against the Springboks in the first leg of the two-test deal. Other players to be involved include former All Black flyhalf Carlos Spencer (now with Northampton), former All Black scrumhalf Justin Marshall (Leeds), French utility back Thomas Castignede, and former All Black winger Bruce Reihana. Andrew Mehrtens has also been mentioned.

The last time a World XV team played in South Africa was in 1989. The Boks won the first Test 20-19 in Cape Town and the second 22-16 in Jo’burg.

The World XV will stay in Johannesburg in the week leading up to the Ellis Park game and together with Dwyer will conduct several clinics for schools and coaches.

The visitors will also play a Western Province XV on 10 June.

The Boks end of year tour will include four tests against Ireland (Dublin), England (Twickenham), England (Twickenham) and World XV (Twickenham).

161 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

that’s it let play our boys to the piont of ‘burn-out’

what is the use of these test – that all ‘has been’s’ anyway

• 2.vleis: Reply to this comment

Ja,more tests.What about “burnout”?F*ck me blind and call me stupid!

• 3.vleis: Reply to this comment

Oh,BTW,Dragons!!!!

• 4.valkie: Reply to this comment

Hopefully Jake will throw in a lot of the youngsters on the fringes of the Bok squad in this game too see how they fare against these experienced campaigners.

• 5.Lebroy: Reply to this comment

Once again, the dollar rules…..

• 6.?: Reply to this comment

OK, that’s enough!
    What tha heck is meant with DRAGONS / Drake?

• 7.Stan: Reply to this comment

Is this 2006 or 2007?
    We are playing Scotland on the 10th of June.

June 2006
    10 South Africa v Scotland The ABSA Stadium Vodacom Incoming Tours
    17 South Africa v Scotland EPRFU Stadium Vodacom Incoming Tours
    24 South Africa v France Newlands Stadium Vodacom Incoming Tours
    July 2006
    15 Australia v South Africa Brisbane Vodacom Tri-Nations
    22 New Zealand v South Africa Wellington Vodacom Tri-Nations
    August 2006
    5 Australia v South Africa Sydney Vodacom Tri-Nations
    26 South Africa v New Zealand Loftus Versfeld Stadium Vodacom Tri-Nations
    September 2006
    2 South Africa v New Zealand Royal Bafokeng Stadium Vodacom Tri-Nations
    9 South Africa v Australia Ellis Park Stadium Vodacom Tri-Nations
    November 2006
    11 Ireland v South Africa Vodacom Outgoing Tours
    18 England v South Africa Vodacom Outgoing Tours
    25 England v South Africa Vodacom Outgoing

• 8.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Bruce Rayhana or Bruce Reihana, Simon?

• 9.Ig: Reply to this comment

Well hopefully Jake will play the equivalent of a junior / A side.

• 10.Stan: Reply to this comment

Simon,
    This year or next year?

• 11.Ig: Reply to this comment

2006 Stan as the date indicates !

• 12.RedCard: Reply to this comment

?,

On the previous site (hosted elsewhere) a link to the first story posted after the log-in system was implemented always appeared until the first post was made.

Just a bit on traditional dragon slaying.

• 13.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Lebroy

Yep and the dollars can’t even keep our own player in the country. It seems to me that Super 14 is profitable (else the issue of who takes part would not be an issue) and they players not getting any benefit from these games bar giving them burnout. I think a limit on the number of ‘first class games’ players can play should be made by the IRB – this way talent on the frindges gets a shot and depth of squads increase.

• 14.vleis: Reply to this comment

Ig,so we are playing World XV and Ireland on the same day?

Who’s goining to play?And,who is going to watch?

I sure as well will rather watch the Irish instead off a bunch of has-beens and never-beens!

• 15.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Stan perhaps Brian the Lion is really making sure Durban does not get a test this year.

• 16.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Ho hum….

• 17.Bokpiel: Reply to this comment

Simon have you lost the pot???
    We playing Scoltland on 10 June..
    Next year i doubt they will add in extra games as its world cup year and Jeake is going on about how they need a break and ****???

• 18.Ollie: Reply to this comment

Um, ‘scuse, but what happens to the Scotland game on the same day. Or are the powers that be so money hungry that the Boks must play 2 games in 1 day?

• 19.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

If I recall the Scotland tests were only ‘pencil in’ and not confirmed

• 20.valkie: Reply to this comment

A “hungry” comment from a bloke called Ollie LMFAO

• 21.Ollie: Reply to this comment

Valkie,
    The way things are going I wouldn’t put it past them ;-)

• 22.Spook: Reply to this comment

On http://www.sarugby.net it looks like the Scotland game has been confirmed.

• 23.LoveJoy: Reply to this comment

how is this different than a barbarians game?

>> ?
    the dragons thing — its a bit of an inside joke the long-time members have going. there was a bug, back in the day, where the link to the next article – at the top there – would always be a link to a arti about the Welsh Dragons…. this would dissapear after the first post.

became a bit of a challenge to get the first post in and currently it seems as if you earn bonus points for using the word “dragon” in some creative way — dare I say, many have failed in this last endeavor.

yet.. it seems harmless enough and adds a little personality to the boards, I suppose.

• 24.valkie: Reply to this comment

Simon, where did you get this info from or have you been hitting the bottle so early in the day?

• 25.Ig: Reply to this comment

Stan – i take it back – i these fixtures are in 2007

• 26.Stan: Reply to this comment

Boktril,
    Dis presies wat ek ook gevra het. Volgens supersportzone, speel ons Skotland op die 10e.
    Ig, slim vang sy baas. Die oorspronlike posting het NIE gesê NEXT year!

• 27.lissaawood: Reply to this comment

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME IF I CAN GET THE SUPER 14 COVERAGE ON THE RADIO OVER THE INTERNET. PLEASE PLEASE HELP. I LIVE IN THE UK AND GET HARDLY ANY LIVE COVERAGE OF THE GAMES. PLEASE MY FELLOW SOUTH AFRICANS HELP

• 28.valkie: Reply to this comment

Ollie, sorry bugger but if you read the Crusaders thread from earlier today you’ll understand.

• 29.Stan: Reply to this comment

Mooi Ig,
    Jy is so eerlik, jy behoort vir die Bulle te skree!

• 30.Bokpiel: Reply to this comment

Wat die fok bru… Die mense maak sulke kak…

• 31.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

lissawoods – http://www.rsg.com

• 32.Spook: Reply to this comment

lissaawood

try http://www.kuduclub.com

• 33.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Lisaawood

you can also download the games after the fact – it takes some time but if you got broadband then it is ok – I tend to download them on a monday and then see them when I get home form work.

• 34.valkie: Reply to this comment

Anyway hope Jake then plays the youngsters against Scotland.

“Brian the Lion” has f*cked Durban once again regarding tests in 2006.

• 35.lissaawood: Reply to this comment

SPOOK, MUST YOU REGISTER AND PAY KUDUCLUB TO LISTEN TO TO THE GAMES. ARE THEY ALSO LIVE.

• 36.Stan: Reply to this comment

lissaawoods,
    send me a pic and your stats.
    otherwise, there are a lot of the games on Sky.
    http://home.skysports.com/list.asp?hlid=309311

• 37.Simon: Reply to this comment

Correction from the GLRU: The World XV will play WP on the 10th and not the Boks.

• 38.Spook: Reply to this comment

lissaawood

I think you have to pay, but the games are live. Not sure how much you pay though. Hope you come right.

• 39.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

http://www.kuduclub.com does not broadcast in UK – Sky has rights but Sky does not show all games.

• 40.Ollie: Reply to this comment

all_stormers,
    Where do you download them from.

Valkie, cool, I will have a look at the thread later

• 41.Stan: Reply to this comment

lissaa,
    Kudu costs money but RSG and Radio pretoria are live and for free.

• 42.Stan: Reply to this comment

Simon,
    Ook maar lekker traag om te erken dat julle n fout gemaak het….

• 43.Spook: Reply to this comment

Simon, that game against WP, where is it being played, Ellis Park or Newslands?

• 44.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

download them from http://www.aussietorrents.com – need to sign up and download some software (torrent) if you like i’ll email you details when I get home with all the things you got to do.

You can only download games that someone has uploaded and your PC acts as a server so while you downloading it uploads to someone else. works really well. If you pay for data upload/download then this is not a way to access the games.

• 45.Derek Noble: Reply to this comment

Simon & Ig,

Please sort out the dates. The article says the games are going to be played NEXT YEAR (2007)on the 3rd and 10th June. Those are both Sundays. That seems unlikely. It’s also pretty odd to name the players 16 months in advance. I thought England were coming to play 2 games in South Africa in 2007.

If the games are actually in 2006, (when 3rd June and 10th June are Saturdays), then they must be cancelling one of the previously announced games against Scotland. If so, that should be part of the story.

IMHO we don’t need these World XV or NH v SH games anymore, there is enough trouble fitting in all the proper internationals.

• 46.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

I’ll setup a ‘hotmail a/c quick and post on this board – so if anyone wants to know how can mail this and I’ll send details on how to download games.

• 47.Ig: Reply to this comment

Derek – Not sure wheer simon got dates – these games are scheduled for 2007 !

• 48.Murph: Reply to this comment

Ou’s no chance of Burnout playing the WP xv !

Unless they recall TGHM QD !!!

• 49.lissaawood: Reply to this comment

has one signed up to kuduclub.com are they good. can someone advise. i need desperately to see, or at the worst listne to super 14 games live. best advise gets a free ******* from me. i promise.

• 50.valkie: Reply to this comment

And Gus’s contract would still not be sorted out by then so he’ll probably play too.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.