‘Saders cheating sunk Sharks

Dick Muir believes the Crusaders illegally wheeled a scrum to gain the put in which led to Caleb Ralph’s crucial second-half try.

The moment in question came 10 minutes from time when the Sharks stopped a Crusaders charge just short of their tryline and were awarded a 5m scrum. The Crusaders scrum shoved the Sharks back, wheeled the scrum and won a put-in from Aussie referee George Ayoub which led to Ralph’s five-pointer.

“A scrum doesn’t just spin around,” fumed Muir. “It was a scrum where we had scrambled well to get the ball back. The Crusaders were attacking and they turned it over and scored a try from it. It was a huge turning point.’’

Muir said he did not “want to harp on about the wrongs and rights’’ of Ayoub’s decisions and instead praised his young team for pushing the defending champions all the way.

“I thought we took the game to them and we just made a couple of errors,” he said. “However we are a side that’s growing. We’ll take that one bonus point and move on. We’ve got four more games on the road and we are certainly not a side that is going to lie down.”