Breyton and Boome back in SA
7 Mar 2006
Leading SA sports agent Craig Livingstone says the combination of Jake White’s open-door policy and consistency in selection is luring players back to South Africa.
Livingstone, who represents White and the majority of SA players, said that indirectly White’s consistency in selection had not been good for business.
Livingstone joked: “It was open season when Rudolf and Harry were at the helm. So many players wanted to leave. Now all the top players want to stay and those who have left want to come back. It may not be good for my business, but it is great news for SA rugby.”
Livingstone said he expected the traditional post World Cup exodus, in which players look to play out their careers in the northern hemisphere, but he said that since White’s arrival as Bok coach there were far fewer approaches from players to go overseas.
“The players want to stay and play for South Africa. He has shown consistency in selection and been open with the players about where they stand in his plans. We have a situation where many overseas-based players want to come back and play out their careers here.
“Among those guys are Selborne and Breyton.”
Paulse, who plays for Clermont, is said to be very keen to finish off in South Africa, while Boome needs a medical clearance on a troublesome achilles before throwing in his lot with Western Province.
“Selborne has done his time overseas and is motivated to play out his career in Cape Town. Breyton’s contract is up in June and the chances are very good we will see him back in South Africa.”

67 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
7 Mar 2006, 12:16 pm
Good news for Stormers , take both of them back into the team please
7 Mar 2006, 12:17 pm
This is seriously scraping the bottom of the barrel. Boome might be worth something for the Stormers, but Breyton has had his day.
7 Mar 2006, 12:18 pm
I hope they both get offered contracts from WP. I think it is too late for them to play for the Strmrs…
Not sure though
7 Mar 2006, 12:19 pm
Great news.
experienced Boome with the youngsters Skeate and Bekker. Much better balance.
7 Mar 2006, 12:21 pm
How’s Boome been playing? Anyone know?
7 Mar 2006, 12:21 pm
Did Selborne leave on a sour note – if I recall the last few games he warmed the bench and made some comment before leaving for Northhampton (not forgetting he first did a season in Franch where Hottie is now playing) saying that SA rugby is still the same and they will never change.
Make no mistake I rate Selborne and would love to see him play again for WP/Stormers but …. there is a saying that don’t burn your bridges or is this also part of Jakes ‘BIG plan’
7 Mar 2006, 12:24 pm
This is great news to have Booma coming back! Mallet must be quick to sign him, and Breyton, maybe his expierence will guys like Nokwe and Benjamin.
7 Mar 2006, 12:25 pm
Selborne has been injuried for last few months – he waived his contract so Northhampton did not have to pay him for the rest of the season as he won’t be fit agiain to play for them – so would expect he is a bit short of match time.
7 Mar 2006, 12:28 pm
Dear Stan and Rooi-Nek Maaitjies,
I’ve just heard that Orania are having a major immigration drive. Yep, they trying to increase the local population in Rooi-Nekville.
So please pack you rooi-nek mentality, klim op jou perdtjies en f*k off!!
Just in case you guys forget, you little racist dinosours are on the decline in our lovely little democracy known as the NEW SOUTH AFRICA.
Well, wishing you and your maaitjies k*k travels and hope you never return.
GROETE OU MAAT!!
PS: Please pass greetings onto old ET (Eugene Terblanche) if you meet him along the way. I remember he was also big into travelling by horse.
7 Mar 2006, 12:29 pm
Mallet picked Boomer for WC 99 – and we could do with a hard man in the second row – it would be a solid choice – besides he has a brain, something lacking in most of the lads playing rugby these days.
7 Mar 2006, 12:30 pm
we are all really quick to criticise jake but the guys in the know, the players, have faith in the guy and throw their lot in with him.
look at the old guys he has brought back so far, percy and os, they made a big difference over the last 2 years.
7 Mar 2006, 12:32 pm
Stan
I have been following your comments with interest. I have the following words of advice for you: (This after your questionable attack on wpw after some distasteful comments by him notwithstanding)
You, like many of the other bigots on this site (black, white and mixed) are too hung up on the colour issue. You have the tendency to dismiss the qualities of any player of colour – whether justified or not. It might have something to do with your upbringing – I dont’t know?
What I am trying to say is that you should base your judgement of players on their ability, not their skin colour. (I have yet to hear you say anything good about any PDI’s)
7 Mar 2006, 12:33 pm
And Boome has captained the Stormers before! So it will ge good to have a good leader in the tight five!
7 Mar 2006, 12:43 pm
who needs greg rawlinson when you’ve got selborne boome? this guy is springbok squad material, no two ways about it, and having him in the squad will only strengthen the bok cause
7 Mar 2006, 12:46 pm
Saffe Guy LOL. Stan **** you
7 Mar 2006, 12:52 pm
Stan – I bet you’ve never rated Paulse – and so your comments on him are meaningless.
He can add great value to the development of youngsters such as Nokwe, Benjamin, and Chavangha. He might not have the pace he used to have, but his knowledge and experience are crucial and I’d bet good money he’d be 1st choice stormers winger if he was available for them right now.
You call Paulse a has been yet you’ll welcome back Frikkie Welsh who is a never was. Your biggotry is astounding.
7 Mar 2006, 12:57 pm
offside – its black players who play for the cape side who have the least chance of meeting his approval.
he’s prepared to sing the praises of any black player in a blue jersey tho. so its not only racist bias, but provincial too. he must have been brought up in a household full of hate.
7 Mar 2006, 13:12 pm
Boome left on a good note. As all_storm mentioned, Boome offered to waive his contract as he was injured and not likely to play again this season. He could have sat and taken the money – honourable fellow.
He has had a poor time this season due to injuries, but had two great years in France, and according to Poutney was asked to help in coaching of the Northampton locks – all young guys at present.
7 Mar 2006, 13:13 pm
Man you could put the ENTIRE BOK Squad in for the stormers (oh wait a second they are there already) and they will still do KAK with that doos Coah who clearly is out of his league in the super 14
7 Mar 2006, 13:42 pm
Funny thing is – I have friends who are exactly the same as Stan. All of them say that they have no problems with “other cultures”, yet curse under their breath if (horror of horror’s) a white girl should hook up with a black guy.
To be perfectly honest, I think that all (or at least most) of us have some sort of bigotry issues – Stan just lets his all hang out.
7 Mar 2006, 13:43 pm
wls Thank God not the entire Bok team are made up of Stormers.
7 Mar 2006, 13:57 pm
Dam whats up today guys whys stan getting so much “love” on the blog from everyone. What has the official Mr Fuckup Stan done now ? LOL!
7 Mar 2006, 13:58 pm
Gecko
Didn’t Boome leave right after Kamp Staaldraad ? Did he play in the 2003 WC ?
7 Mar 2006, 14:10 pm
Aah, i see that i have drawn a lot of attention.
Saffa ***, a Rooinek cannot be an Afrikaner.That was the name given to the English by the Boers when the sun burned their maggot white necks as red as their yellow livers. In the process of getting burned, the Boers shot 60000 of them and the Zulu’s also did their bit.
Speaking of old ET, Jani Allen had no problem with his boerewors.
Munki,
I did rate Paulse at his best, despite his physical handicaps, but he has had his time. The reason why he is returning is that he did not make it Clermont. I also rate players like January, Delport and Guthro.There is no comparison between him and Welsh.It is players like Bobo, Dale Sandton, Owen Nkumane etc that gives players like Habana the stigma of quotas. I would have been over the moon if you told me that we are getting Lote Tuqiri or Rocokoco. But Paulse? Only the desperate Cape would get excited.
Bigg, running out of Valuims there? Still a long season my boy…
7 Mar 2006, 14:12 pm
Redox
Soos jy kan sien is jy al een wat jou gat aflag vir jou eie grappies.
Teen wie verloor julle die naweek?
7 Mar 2006, 14:19 pm
Methos
I believe Danie Roussows left hook ended Boomes world cup ambitions at Staalraad.
Not the “hard lock” that some would love to believe when a bloke 7 years younger knocks you out.
Would rather have Paulse actually.
7 Mar 2006, 14:21 pm
Menthos
I’ve been meaning to ask…..what’s with this “Cheers”,all the time.
You must be so **** faced come lunch:grin::mrgreen:
7 Mar 2006, 14:25 pm
Stan
I think you don’t get it.
You’re a Redneck. Americans have a different meaning for that name and it suits you well.
7 Mar 2006, 14:28 pm
BlackJack
Not much Stan does actually get. He gets his chirps from an internet site – can send you the link if you wish.
7 Mar 2006, 14:30 pm
GREAT !!!!!
When Paulse is back, there will be hope again. Thank You Jake..
7 Mar 2006, 14:32 pm
Still…..you’ve got to wonder why Paulse is leaving after only 1 season?
Jake White can’t be his reason.He signed for the French club when White was already coaching the Boks.
7 Mar 2006, 14:36 pm
Blackjack,
Ek weet presies wat die amerikaanse betekenis vir n redneck is. Hier beteken n rooinek heeltemal iets anders.
Koningsblou, Die chirp oor n Mental Contests is heelwat ouer as die internet…
7 Mar 2006, 14:39 pm
St Pete,
Die harde feite is dat hy dit nie daar gemaak het nie. Hy sou nie teruggekom het as hy in aanvraag was nie, want hy verdien baie meer daar as hier. Hy staan self die kans om so nou en dan te wen…iets wat nie gou by die Stormers sal gebeur nie.
7 Mar 2006, 14:40 pm
St Pete
Hahaha – Actually wouldn’t mind a cold one right about now. The cheers things is something I always type/ After every mail etc.
I think Boome left muttering something about dinosour coaches or something like that.
7 Mar 2006, 14:40 pm
Stan,
I may think you’re a complete racist lunatic however cannot fault you for a lack of wit. Your witty chirps are bloody amusing.
But f*ck, i just did NOT say that!!!
7 Mar 2006, 14:42 pm
Stan
Paulse said quite a while ago that he’s wants to come back. He finds the climate not to his liking and his French isn’t all that good either. In short he is home sick.
He’s scored quite a few tries for his club.
He is definitly cutting the mustard there.
7 Mar 2006, 14:45 pm
Jeeesh
If he doesn’t like Clermont, imagine how he’d hate it in “Hicksville” or Canberra:lol:
7 Mar 2006, 14:49 pm
Can add Tswane to that list
7 Mar 2006, 14:53 pm
Stan
Who tha hell cares what your meaning of rooinek is.
This website is outside you laager so the Bulls country dictionary isn’t the only one being used.
7 Mar 2006, 14:54 pm
Stan is Tackler in drag……
7 Mar 2006, 14:59 pm
Yip, Boome played in WC 2003. Was selected for ’99 WC, got injured before the squad left and was replaced by Fritz van Heerden. Boome played in France before, returned to SA in 2003. Then left pretty soon after to Saints.
7 Mar 2006, 15:01 pm
gretep lol
Stan is a redneck transvestite
7 Mar 2006, 15:02 pm
You know you’re in Blue Bull country when …
* there’s a new law that says when a couple get divorced, they are still legally brother and sister.
* people think a “thesaurus” was a dinosaur
* you’re given rat traps as gifts.
* your neighbours buy a new house and you have to help them take the wheels off.
* people like to brag that they learned to fire a shotgun before they could walk.
* “loading the dishwasher” means getting your wife drunk.
* people honestly believe women are turned on by animal noises and seductive tongue gestures.
* people bring their Klippies to communion
7 Mar 2006, 15:17 pm
StP – why is Frikkie Welsh leaving after just one season at Bath? – Remember that when you start screaming ‘Frikkie for Boks’ once you back at Loftus.
If you dig in you will see Stephen Jones (a better flyhalf than we currently have in SA) is also leaving Clemont-Augverne – as a few other players after the mediocre season. There might be more to goings-on there than meets the eye.
7 Mar 2006, 15:19 pm
Breytie is past it, couldn’t hack it in France and now he’s back to keep other promising youngsters out of the Bok team. Of course we’re not allowed to criticize his lack of pace because if we do, then we’re racist. If I mention that his defence is suspect as well, does that make me a bigger racist? BP is still a good player, but I dont’ believe he should play for the Boks again. Oh, it’s fun being a Bok fan, isn’t it!
7 Mar 2006, 15:33 pm
I don’t see the correlation of Paulse coming home, and Paulse walking back into the Bok team. Just becasue he is coming home, and trying, does not mean he will make the Bok team.
7 Mar 2006, 15:38 pm
Gecko
As I understand, Heyneke Meyer never wanted to lose Frikkie Welsh in the first place, this is well documented so cannot be a proper comparison surely.As for Paulse in France….I only know from what I’ve read from Keo, and from all accounts he was having a pretty decent season….which makes it even a stranger.
Wasn’t aware that Stephen Jones was leaving…..and I also agree that he is a good flyhalf.
So you rekon the coaching setup in Clemont is up to **** and everyone is jumping ship?
7 Mar 2006, 15:48 pm
Stan,
Clearly there is still a place for Breytie if you are playing the Gasman on the wing?
7 Mar 2006, 15:48 pm
StP – the only up to **** coaching set up I know of is at my beloved Newlands.
7 Mar 2006, 16:01 pm
Gecko
Don’t know really,if you can just get rid of Gus and Greef,I kind of like the look of the side.I’d give the coaches until the end of the CC to see what is happening.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All