Snyman offered Bok contract
7 Mar 2006
Jake White will bring back Andre Snyman to boost his backline resources ahead of the 2007 World Cup. White has offered Snyman a contract.
The Bok coach told Keo.co.za that he was constantly monitoring the overseas-based South African players and Snyman’s performances for a struggling Leeds side have been outstanding in the past two seasons.
White added that mapping out the future included established names and that there could not be an obsession with selecting just youngsters.
“I have always said we chase away quality players in their late 20s and then they go overseas and play some of their best rugby. Andre is a case in point. His career seemed to have reached a dead-end in this country. He took on the challenge at Leeds and by all accounts has rejuvenated his career. He has played 36 tests for South Africa. He has played in northern hemisphere conditions for the past two seasons. I know what I would be getting.”
White confirmed that he had offered Snyman the opportunity to be part of the 2007 World Cup campaign.
“His contract comes to an end at the end of May. I have offered him a contract. He will add huge value and you only have to look at his Leeds coach’s assessment to know the impact he has had at the club. Phil Davies (Leeds coach) has gone on record to say that Andre is one of his best investments ever. And Justin Marshall has been equal with the praise, rating him one of the hardest players he has played against or with. The signs are encouraging and having Andre there will definitely add depth to our outside backs.”
White said that Shaun Sowerby’s progress would continue to be monitored.
“He has had 18 very good months in France, playing for Stade de France. He speaks French, he plays in a team that makes up a big part of the French national squad, he understands the culture and he is familiar with their style of rugby. He is in the form of his life. I’d be a fool if I did not explore this avenue. He just needs to keep on playing well.”

180 Comments
7 Mar 2006, 10:00 am
Dragons!
7 Mar 2006, 10:00 am
How Old is Andre now?
7 Mar 2006, 10:01 am
7 Mar 2006, 10:03 am
Not bad by White, hopefully he gets Sowerby on board to!
7 Mar 2006, 10:05 am
This is what I like about Jake. He has got balls as well as brains. Not scared to think out of the box. Many a player appears to be at the end of his career only needing some sort of change to kick start it again. Monty and Dayglo are classics – I have watched Snyman and Sowerby a few times in the last season and both have been very impressive. Sowerby and Paulse may be very valuable for France 2007.
7 Mar 2006, 10:05 am
I saw Snyman play in a couple of matches for Leeds and he impressed very much. He certainly is a better option than Paulse.
7 Mar 2006, 10:06 am
I don’t want to start a culture war here, but why is it that in modern times it has been the English coaches who have had success with the Boks. I say it is coz they are more open minded in their thinking and management style. Jake has once again shown this.
The laager mentality of the Afr coaches has been a hinderence. Am I alone in this thought process?
7 Mar 2006, 10:09 am
Maybe Jake should offer Henry Honiball a contract as well. Everyone will agree he is the the best flyhalf we had in the last decade!
7 Mar 2006, 10:09 am
Jeesh….I always knew he was a good player but after the Strauli debacle,I thought his career for the Boks was over.
Personally,I think South Africans should be allowed to play overseas and for the Boks without this “permission” that is seemingly needed.We can really get ahead of the Kiwis and Ozzies in this regard.And with Eddie Jones advocating that Oz S14 sides should look to recruit from abroad……….weesh.
PS;Please don’t bring back Quinton Davids.
7 Mar 2006, 10:10 am
Is this some kind of sick joke? Snyman is a has been and never was… Honestly..
7 Mar 2006, 10:12 am
Lee, it is quite clear that you have not seen him in action lately. Or do you think we are talking about Tiaan Snyman!
7 Mar 2006, 10:20 am
bok_befok
Must admit i nearly fell off my chair when i saw that headline thought they were talking about Tiaan now that would have been kak
7 Mar 2006, 10:20 am
snyman is a monster and if he really is in good form he certainly is good enough
7 Mar 2006, 10:23 am
Shaun Sowerby would be a strange selection though, granted he has experience in the conditions but SA has a wealth of good looseforwards at the minute.
7 Mar 2006, 10:23 am
Old heads win World Cups.
Agree about Sowerby, Jacques Cronje has been very unconvincing in the NH
7 Mar 2006, 10:24 am
It would be better if Jake found a tighthead somewhere.
7 Mar 2006, 10:25 am
Comon Jake! What about Kobus Visagie as a tight head option, as backup for CJ?
7 Mar 2006, 10:25 am
StP,
Cobus Visagie
7 Mar 2006, 10:28 am
we dont need back up for CJ, we already have Steady Eddie!!!
7 Mar 2006, 10:30 am
markotter
CJ is not even good enough to make Cheetas 1 st 15 , the youngster from fS is much better
Goodness Keo!!! Please choose your headlines more carefully! Almost had a heart attack… The thought of Tiaan Snyman as a bok is the stuff of nightmares!
WPW, how about Brent Russel at tight head?
32, he is wasting his time. the boks have a number of centres all they need is a proper game plan to utilise their abilities rather than have them chasing intercepts and chip and chases.
I guess his lack of pace is less noticeable on the NH fields where the WC will be played.
7 Mar 2006, 10:32 am
Cobus Visagie has been poor – but been struggling with injuries. Bok-befok is right, the way Snyman has been performing you would have to say he is a better option than Paulse. In fact, out of Welsh, Human (last season), Pieters (last season) and Delport he has been the best performing back of all the South Africans in the UK.
7 Mar 2006, 10:33 am
capebull, True!
Jannie Du Plessis is turning into a right monster! Of course he has the right mentors there as well with Rassie, Os and CJ.
Kobus Visagie has the experience that Os has though, and could be of plenty vallue to the boks, as Os was in the last 2 years.
7 Mar 2006, 10:35 am
I would love to see Andre and Shaun run out for the Boks at the world cup.
I think they are class players and we sure as hell need them.
7 Mar 2006, 10:37 am
Wonder wich one of his favourite sons he will drop for Snyman.Joubert?De Villiers?Barry? or Fourie?…..ooops and Julies.He should also speak to Nico Wegner and Hottie Louw maybe Carel du Plessis and Danie Gerber….**** he has got sooo many options.
7 Mar 2006, 10:39 am
Markotter,
Agree that Jannie Dup is the future, but England won the WC because they had experienced guys who’ve done it all and kept the youngsters calm so we need guys like Snyman,Visagie and Sowerby who know thw conditions and opponents.
7 Mar 2006, 10:45 am
Ja kom ons gooi in klip in die dam en sien die golfies kring. rond en rond…….. Etiene Botha was ver better.
7 Mar 2006, 10:46 am
Agree valkie!
I say yebo to Kobus Visagie as well. me thinks that there are plenty of seriously good mungrell tight heads in SA that can replace Eddie Andrews (even Brent Russel) though, as your tight head is the anchor in the scrum. There can’t be a compromise in that position.
7 Mar 2006, 10:47 am
Drunkmonkey,
Yes, but unfortunately he won’t be available for selection.
7 Mar 2006, 10:52 am
Snyman is playing wing for Leeds and I think this is where Jake has him pegged, not at centre.
7 Mar 2006, 10:53 am
In Jake we trust!I rate Snyman and Sowerby. Jakes not stupid he knows what he’s doing.
7 Mar 2006, 10:54 am
As a wing, as a centre, or as a “utility player”? White, like Henry seems to have an obesession with players who can play in many different positions. This is not necessarily a bad thing but some players flatter to deceive, when they play in those secondary positions and can’t rise to test level out of their preferred position. e.g. Leon McDonald at flyhalf against Boks or Percy Montgomery in the flyhalf position.
Personally, I think Snyman is over the hill, ditto for Visagie. If White is thinking about overseas players I agree that he should be looking at Sowerby. If a forward is revered in the French league then you know he is class. I am sick and tired of the lumbering lineout loosies eg. Danie Rossouw, Jacque Cronje, Gerrie Britz that White has been using. We need a dynamic forward pack that can be mobile as well as strong in the set phases, come back Sowerby, all is forgiven.
7 Mar 2006, 10:59 am
Snyman offers the big wing option that we need under high ball, deffense, and powerfull running. Looking at Joe Roccococcoccocccoco, Stirling Mortlock, Tiquiry, they are good and big wings, who can play on centre as well. If a gameplan needs changing perhaps, it gives Jake so many good options.
7 Mar 2006, 11:00 am
Markotter, where were you thinking of putting Russels head — “tighthead”?
7 Mar 2006, 11:03 am
Harlequin,
Ek verstaan wat jy bedoel maar Sowerby is defnitief nie vinnig nie. What about playing Schalk Brits as flanker for WP in Vodacom just to see how he goes? Lots of speed but to small as frontrower?
I actually rate L Watson and if he plays with a pack that goes forward he’ll create havoc. S Burger hasn’t performed constantly for quite a long time (my opinion) and we need more speed!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:04 am
Why not also ask Mannetjies Roux if he doesn’t want to play for the Boks while we are at it?
7 Mar 2006, 11:04 am
Snyman is the best second center we’ve had in a long time
7 Mar 2006, 11:07 am
Or what about Tiaan Snyman Grrr
7 Mar 2006, 11:10 am
Tiaan Snyman… Mmmmm, tell you what. I will personally pay R100 000.00 to the Stormers to take Tiaan. BUT thats not all! I will take Gus off your hands as well! How’s that for a deal??
7 Mar 2006, 11:11 am
Schalk Burger will return to international form when he gets in a Bok jersey. I hate to say it but some players really do save their best for the green and gold. Sowerby might not be the fastest player, but he is strong in the lineout as well as the rucks and he has a high workrate & I guarantee he is faster than those lumbering forwards I mentioned. And he wont knock the ball on every time he has gets the ball like Danie Rossouw.
7 Mar 2006, 11:12 am
tony regarding your earlier post about english coaches getting the best outa our boys. it could be that, or it could be the fact that they are out of their comfort zone, living in a foreign country and HAVE to perform.
7 Mar 2006, 11:13 am
Awesome news. Snyman has being quality for Leeds in the last two seasons. I watched him last year against Bath at the wreck and he was very good.
He is just the kind of wing we need at the moment, big,powerful,good hands and experienced. He also knows and plays well in NH conditions, which a lot of our Bok backline players don’t. Good option for White to have.
7 Mar 2006, 11:13 am
Grrr…. DEAL anything to get rid of Gus!!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:14 am
Imagine having Gus and Jorrie at centre LOL
7 Mar 2006, 11:16 am
Rather have Gus than Tiaan. Jeez, Jorrie and Gus in the Lions! Super14 glory here we come!!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:18 am
dronk aapie, ettiene botha was overrated en hy kon nie tackle nie. Ek is so bly JW het hom nooit n bok gemaak nie.
7 Mar 2006, 11:19 am
Tiaan can catch, gus can’t
7 Mar 2006, 11:21 am
wpw
EB was pivotal in the last 75 – 14 snotting the stomers had in the S12.
Plus he was one of the leading try scorers.
7 Mar 2006, 11:24 am
Snyman’s biggest problem is that everytime he runs out for the boks, he breaks an ankle…
7 Mar 2006, 11:26 am
I am realy happy for Andre Snyman. I saw him play over here and his dynamite. Shame White wasn’t around when Fleck was playing here, Fleck would have done well for the BOKS again.
However this does post he question?
COME ON WHITE GET SKINSTAD BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I have a feeling he is the man to bring us World cup glory in RWC2007. Skinstand is an incredible rugby talent, respected the world over. White must have spoken to him by now!!!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:27 am
I can’t believe JW is bringing back this old bloke. I am begining to wonder if EB were alive if he would be in JW plans?? It would have great to see that guy in the green & gold. He should have been in thebok set up 2 years ago. Imagine JDV & EB midfield WOW lethal
7 Mar 2006, 11:27 am
Pity he will never be a Bok hey jondood. IMO he was overrated… Just like in stan’s opinion that all the black players from WP are quotas…
7 Mar 2006, 11:28 am
Leeanthonyw – Stop talking **** please!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:29 am
Oh and yes, EB was great but unfortunately he is history. He had a few weaknesses, but tackling wasn’t one of them. 2004 CC season – highest percentage first tackles made – 1. AJ Venter, 2. E Botha, 3. MJ, 4. DeWet Barry
For EB’s Name to be in that group, he to be a tackler, sorry WPW.
Plus 18 tries in one season…
7 Mar 2006, 11:33 am
sampioen, if Stroolie didnt rate him then you must know he wasnt that great. Rudolph gave bok caps to okes who wont even make the Stellies 4th team. Guys like Wessel Roux, that scrummie Norman Jordaan, Marco Wentzel, Richard Bands,etc.
7 Mar 2006, 11:36 am
Yes wpw (sigh) He gave caps to useless **** players which meant the good ones were overlooked. Anycase, who knows what went through the warped RS camp staaldraad mind when making selections.
7 Mar 2006, 11:37 am
I think this is evidence again that our players who have been recalled from overseas have really benefitted from the coaching outside this country … they tend to be discarded once their natural talent, creativity and ability to think has been coached out of them! It takes foreign coaches and leagues to round them out more. Can only be good to have players exposed to more situations. Its just like a normal job – the guy with the longer CV has more experience. …Or gets fired often
7 Mar 2006, 11:40 am
Barry is too limited. He doesn’t run good lines at all. Snyman gives the BOKS another option. However Snyman will have to put his body on the line now and not play to ptrotect his ankles!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:41 am
Pick Giscard Pieters – has also played in the UK, is big and strong AND is performing in S14.
7 Mar 2006, 11:41 am
Awesome news!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I was hoping Jake would take a look outside his beloved squad. I always rated Snyman and Sowerby and thought Sowerby was unlucky to get only one Springbuck cap. Snyman would be awesome on the wing, wow this makes me excited. Imagine a backline looking like this:
9. January
10. Pretorius/Jaco
11. Hababa
12. Jean
13. Fourie
14. Snyman
15. Monty
Big powerful runners like Snyman are what South African rugby needs. Take a look at the Sharks for instance being totally outmuscled by their more powerful opponents on the weekend. In the same line of thinking I would like to see Rees, Hall and Hennessey playing for the Sharks.
Go Boks and Sharks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 Mar 2006, 11:46 am
Hobbo
Do you think he use him as a center or wing, or cover for both?
7 Mar 2006, 11:51 am
Jake White loves big players, simple as that.
7 Mar 2006, 11:56 am
Hobo, you are right. Rees, Hall and Henessey should be playing for the sharks.
How about bringing Trevor Halstead back?
7 Mar 2006, 11:57 am
Trevor and Andre should also make a good combination!
7 Mar 2006, 11:59 am
If he is willing to offer Snyman a contract, why not look at Cobus Visagie, with him in the Saracens pack they always go forward, great asset in anchoring the scrum, streets ahead of baby Andrews, and good backup for CJ
7 Mar 2006, 12:01 pm
Sharkgirl, Halstead is injured I think. But he is bloody awesome. Did you see what he did to england when playing for southern hemisphere barbarians!
Hobbo, I like your backline but not the 10′s. Jaco (and I am repeating myself over and over) has nothing going for him apart from his rush defense, which reverts us back to the play-of-the-opponent’s-mistake style rugby. Andre… well somehow he just doesn’t do what Derik or Willem does for a backline.
7 Mar 2006, 12:13 pm
Samp, When you talk of Derik and Willem I hope you’re not talking about Hougaard and De Waal. They’re both only average and Andre is leagues above them. Spook, Snyman is playing on the wing at the moment for Leeds and I think that is the position Jake would play him. After all it is the only position that is a bit thin for the boks. Fourie would play at outside centre.
Sharkgirl, glad someone finally agrees with me on the Hall, Rees and Hennessey issue. Have you read the other story about **** Muir calling the hugest jinx on the sharks. He’s gone out to say the Sharks are definately going to win this weekend. Lets hope he’s not going to be made an absolute ***.
7 Mar 2006, 12:20 pm
How can you contract a 4th centre when your number 1 flyhalf doesn`t even have a Bok contract?
7 Mar 2006, 12:23 pm
Great to see Jake’s lateral thinking and open-mindedness. However, don’t think Snyman will play on the wing. When he was still in SA a couple of years ago, he had already lost quite a bit of his pace.
Very versatile centre though.
7 Mar 2006, 12:25 pm
Boychie – he has been playing wing for Leeds – an area we are sadly lacking in !
7 Mar 2006, 12:29 pm
Ig, agreed. Habana is brilliant on the left wing but on the right we are lacking. Wonder if Willemse would get a look in though once he’s fit.
7 Mar 2006, 12:30 pm
Samp, yes i did. Maybe bvz will offer them a contract as well?
Hobo, i did read it yes, i still think **** is a ****!
7 Mar 2006, 12:35 pm
Cheers! I’m off. Last word Hobbo, Willemse hasn’t seen any play in two years, why would he deserve a spot in the green and gold? Pieterse or Snyman.
7 Mar 2006, 12:38 pm
Sharkgirl, halstead is fine, not injured, spoke to him yesterday.
7 Mar 2006, 12:39 pm
Great news, haven’t been watching Snyman overseas but he played great rugby for the Boks at outside centre.How about moving Fourie to fullback and let Andre/Jaco take over the kicking.Percy won’t make 2007.
9.January/Pienaar
10.Pretorius/Vd Westhuizen
11.Habana
12.De Villiers
13.Snyman
14.Willemse
15-Fourie
7 Mar 2006, 12:43 pm
wazzup, you spoke to andre! Now i’m jealous!!
You don’t maybe speak to Rudi as well????
7 Mar 2006, 12:44 pm
i know them all very well, rudi is well and settling in.
7 Mar 2006, 12:46 pm
Yster, I disagree about Montgomery, he has been outstanding for the sharks so far and is the leading try scorer of all the south african teams in the Super 14. He is brilliant and I think taking Fourie away from outside centre would be a mistake. Gotto agree with Samp, Willemse is great when on form but he isn’t and Snyman would be awesome on the right wing for the Boks. I think Pretorius will take over the goal kicking anyway with Monty in the side, Monty’s kicking has been shocking but still maintain he’s the best fullback we have and doesn’t need to kick for goal to keep his place in the team.
7 Mar 2006, 12:50 pm
I still reckon Giscard Pieters would be ideal – big and brave and a good finisher to boot
Ig, ok on the wing I agree, makes more sense. Still, I have a problem with AP not having a contract.
wazzup, how do you know them?
Do you have any idea how i’m struggling to get hold of that man(rudi)?
I spoke to him over christmas and ja!
7 Mar 2006, 12:54 pm
long relationship with a lot of them from when they were with the sharks.
7 Mar 2006, 12:56 pm
Hobbo,if Monty lasts i would pick him(he has been awesome so far) and hopefully Willemse will be fit and ready soon.Fourie and De villiers have been excellent in the midfield……Geez i’m glad i’m not Jake
7 Mar 2006, 12:59 pm
wazzup – Do you live in SA or England? So you are a sharkie!
7 Mar 2006, 13:02 pm
Gr8 news!!! Hope he takes it. I’ve always rated him!
He used to be the fastest bok just before breaking his leg scoring that try against Aus. (me thinks)
He is quality….just the same as Monty when he came over. Let’s hope he’s keen.
7 Mar 2006, 13:08 pm
dbn, so yes i support the sharks and i am enjoying muirs influence on them and the youngsters he has brought in.
7 Mar 2006, 13:12 pm
good call by JW;
Snyman’s been outstanding. Justin Marshall calls him a brute. He must stay on the wing though. Carel was right in that.
Tony; Snyman’s current coach is Welsh.
I’d rather go for AVos than Sowerby; but any of the two before Daniesaur and Wiesjoupoes Jaques Cronje
7 Mar 2006, 13:12 pm
Monty is good but old. kep him on bench as utility back up for wing/fullback/flyhalf/place kicker.
Fourie at fullback. Jantjes covering wing/fullback.
Jean DeV and Snyman at centre pairing. Centre Backup – Barry and Joubert (also wing).
Alo Julies (f he starts performing)
Also, JW has said that there is no substitute for pace. Habana, Rayno Benjamin, Akona Ndungane and Nokwe for wings. Pity Nokwe didnt come to Pta where he would be coached properly…
Flyhalf: hmmmmm… AP, Meyer Bosman, Hougaard (in the formof his life), and Jaco.
No clear favorites meeting the criteria of big, kick off both feet, fast, plave kicking, etc. Although Hougaard can get there witha bit of sprint training.
7 Mar 2006, 13:13 pm
Do you work for the nru?
What is the chance of em getting hold of Rudi!
7 Mar 2006, 13:14 pm
Snyman has to play no 11 wing. One thing he was never good at was passing.
7 Mar 2006, 13:19 pm
no, dont work for the nru, i just know them personally.
7 Mar 2006, 13:24 pm
Gecko
Have you seen him play for leeds tykes? He passes, he runs, he hardly ever kicks and he tackles like a deamon.
He made Jonah Lomu’s life hell in the Heineken Cup when he tackled him dizzy….Jonah was so rattled after a bit he thought he was surrounded;-) (ols but still funny)
Andre’s bigger than ever and fit as anything.
7 Mar 2006, 13:24 pm
And the anwser to my second question would be?
7 Mar 2006, 13:28 pm
ha ha sharkgirl, i suggest you would have to phone them because i cant give out contact details on an open forum now can i?
7 Mar 2006, 13:31 pm
anybody here interested in using a fully functional, locally hosted rugby forum?
http://www.teamtalk.co.za
see you there
7 Mar 2006, 13:35 pm
who is them?
And i think you might be lying!
7 Mar 2006, 13:39 pm
Snyman is quick and strong and good defender but not much of a ballplayer. We’ve got enough of his kind : Barry,JP Nel and Dries Scholtz
sharkgirl
Far to easy to say that you know the players over a blog.
I also think someone is fibbing.
Sharkgirl, you dont know me and i dont know you if you have an alternative way of talking off the open forum i will be glad to do that.
Sharkgirl
You a groupie of the Shark team ?
7 Mar 2006, 13:42 pm
sharkgirl run ‘n naai en waai op elke haai!
7 Mar 2006, 13:43 pm
Watch out people…here comes NAAS BOTHA…
I mean…we dont have a reliable kicker…now do we???
No seriously…Snymans not a bad option as backup!
7 Mar 2006, 13:44 pm
First thing Sharkgirl says in the morning when she wakes up: Fok, speel al julle ouens vir die Sharks ?
7 Mar 2006, 13:46 pm
Ig,how can u say we are lacking wings ? Three words,although I might spell them wrong, Habana, Ndugane, Mametsa.
7 Mar 2006, 13:48 pm
LOL Rudebud
7 Mar 2006, 13:50 pm
wazzup – sorry just a little irritated that i can’t get hold of him. (PS I’m registered on team talk and ruggaworld).
Rudebud & Jondood
like wazzup said, you don’t know me and i don’t know you. You’ll never know which of the sharks guys i am friends with, so please keep your jealousy to yourself.
she just loves her rugby thats all.
sharkgirl wears the #2 jersey
7 Mar 2006, 13:51 pm
Mametsa can even make the S14 side, he is playing Vodacom Cup rugby. He is not up to international standards.
7 Mar 2006, 13:57 pm
Rube no need to be rude the ladies on site..
7 Mar 2006, 13:58 pm
Valkie & Rube – You both wankers
7 Mar 2006, 13:59 pm
Sharky
Sorry for the joke. It’s just that for a minute there you seemed like a real groupie. You say that you spoke to Rudi Keil over Christmas and since then you are strugling to get hold of him.
Ever wonderd why he didn’t call you back ?
7 Mar 2006, 14:00 pm
sharkgirl
LMAO
“who is them?
And i think you might be lying!”
That is so rich coming from you,
7 Mar 2006, 14:02 pm
We are just joking man, just like the Bulls boyos calling me a *** mountain goat etc.
bigg, pot calling the kettle black? I distinctly remember you tearing int Langes not so long ago.
7 Mar 2006, 14:04 pm
valkie
bigg is a bigot.
7 Mar 2006, 14:10 pm
Aw come on Bigg !
Jeepers, the people are sooooo sensitive today ! One would swear their respective teams are doing poorly in Super 14 !
As for me: Bring Saterdag, die Bulle en….Brandewyn !
LLLIEFLINGGGGGG !!!!!!!!!!!
7 Mar 2006, 14:12 pm
Jondoos – that name says it all…
7 Mar 2006, 14:12 pm
Double cane and coke and my poor Stormers for me.
7 Mar 2006, 14:15 pm
Spook,that shows what incredible depth we have. I hear Paulse is coming back,maybe he will be in the RWC 2007 squad.
7 Mar 2006, 14:15 pm
Valkie
Moet nie sleg voel nie. Die Stormers sal enige ou na Cane & Coke dryf.
7 Mar 2006, 14:19 pm
I am not convinced that Jake is on the right track, Straulli did the same (Delport). I would rather have a team, than 15 briliant individual players.
Jake start to build a team , not 15 names
7 Mar 2006, 14:20 pm
Coz he went to austria to visit him mom over new years and he came back on the 4th and left for england on the 6th.
Bigg, thanks!
7 Mar 2006, 14:23 pm
Rude, Gaan nog ‘n volslae alkoholis word voor die einde van die S14…
7 Mar 2006, 14:28 pm
Sharky
I’m just pulling your leg. Sorry for the inappropriate joke. Was just having fun. Didn’t mean to offend you.
Please forgive me….
7 Mar 2006, 14:38 pm
Rude – don’t worry! I get a bit touchy when it comes to friends.
Don’t worry about it okay!
7 Mar 2006, 14:44 pm
Bwahahhhaahaha ! Hot of News 24….
Sydney – Australians are getting so fat that toilet seats may have to be made stronger to bear their weight, the country’s standards association said on Tuesday.
Standards Australia said it had begun looking into the problem and expected to recommend “an increase in the strength of toilet seats to accommodate the increasing size of humans”.
The percentage of Australians who are overweight or obese has jumped around 10% in the past decade, to 62% of men and 45% of women, the Australian Bureau of Statistics announced recently.
Toilet seats are currently required to meet a rigidity test of 45kg, which supports most people’s weight in a seated position, Standards Australia chairperson Colin Blair told national radio.
A committee including manufacturers and consumers would assess whether that standard was still adequate, he said.
7 Mar 2006, 14:46 pm
RudeBud, did you see this story…
Aussie singer ‘left for dead’
07/03/2006 13:13 – (SA)
Sydney – Australian officials on Tuesday ordered an investigation into an incident in which an eminent Aboriginal woman was ignored for more than five hours after she collapsed at a busy city bus stop.
Delmae Barton, 62, had a suspected stroke or diabetes attack and lay in a pool of her own vomit while surrounded by dozens of commuters at Brisbane bus stop last week before two Japanese men sought medical assistance for her.
Barton said that one man merely moved his briefcase so it was not near her.
She said: “And there were girls and young women who sat on the seat next to me and other seats around, they never came around to help.”
Barton, a respected Queensland indigenous opera singer and elder, said she believed she was left unattended at the bus stop because of her race. She said: “I think it did make a difference.”
Premier Peter Beattie of Queensland apologised in parliament for the incident and urged people to get involved if they witnessed similar incidents.
He said: “We should not leave them lying there. Australians are noted for their giving of a fair go, their commitment and their compassion. We should never lose it.”
7 Mar 2006, 14:47 pm
Who ate all the pie..?
7 Mar 2006, 14:49 pm
Bloody Racists!
7 Mar 2006, 14:50 pm
redcard..
hear, hear!!!!
7 Mar 2006, 14:51 pm
Fat racists in need of bigger toilets to be exact !
7 Mar 2006, 14:52 pm
Ha ha!!!
7 Mar 2006, 14:53 pm
Yeah Rudebud, seems they are full of ****!
7 Mar 2006, 14:53 pm
What would you do if you saw a bergie doing the same thing?? Most people would do nothing
7 Mar 2006, 14:56 pm
Bigg, we dont have bergies in Jo’burg?
7 Mar 2006, 14:59 pm
Snyman not much of a ball player????? Man, you need new glasses and a memory transplant.
7 Mar 2006, 15:12 pm
Redcard – You sure?
7 Mar 2006, 15:14 pm
Bigg
I am going to pull an Australian on you and ignore you for five hours.
Don’t start with your ****. We are poking fun at the Australians and you want to turn it into a local racist thing. Go to the ANC/DA/ACDP/VOLKSFRONT + websites and post your political **** there.
Now run along.
7 Mar 2006, 15:34 pm
Yip Bigg,
The okes up here dont have fancy names, they are just homeless (hobo’s)
7 Mar 2006, 15:35 pm
BTW ANybody remember the story yonks ago when an Aussie took a picture of a homeless guy sleeping in Joubert Park?
I think it made the front page of Newspapers in Oz saying that we just leave the dead people in our parks.
Serves them right!
7 Mar 2006, 15:42 pm
Rube – What the hell are on about? I am not turning into a racist thing. Read my thread properly!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 Mar 2006, 15:51 pm
bigg
Your racist comments are not on.
Please moderate yourself.
7 Mar 2006, 15:55 pm
Jondoos – What racist comments?? Enlighten me!!!
7 Mar 2006, 15:57 pm
bigg
If you carry on I will be forced to log a formal complain to Ig.
Then you will be in big doodoo.
Although you most probably will enjoy that.
Dont make me become nasty.
7 Mar 2006, 15:59 pm
Jondood
LOL !
7 Mar 2006, 16:02 pm
Come lads let’s not upset big Grant now, he is entitled to his (Bigg)ot opinion
7 Mar 2006, 16:10 pm
you okes are weird – well, those saying percy is too old, play snyman instead. ha ha – percy’s younger than snyman you muppets. admittedly only by a month and a half but really…
7 Mar 2006, 16:12 pm
Pieters is better than Snyman.
7 Mar 2006, 16:37 pm
It is great that Jake is trying to get Andre back, then mabey he will be classified as a South African in Rugby 2007 and not an Englishpoes like in 2006. Any other South Africans good enough to play for the boks in Europe??
7 Mar 2006, 16:49 pm
sharkgirl – namedropping is lame, really lame.
7 Mar 2006, 17:22 pm
The young Snyman of 1996-2000 was a world class, since he went through two major injuries and I doubt his current ability is rated a test level.
At any case, JW will have to adhere to the quota code of 4 (or 5?), so I figured Bobo, Julius or even Jacobs will be preferred, so why would Andre’ need this mess?
7 Mar 2006, 17:25 pm
Onlooker, why don’t you just leave, dude? Seriously – just piss off to New Zealand or wherever and don’t come back.
Oh ja – difficult to get a visa when you’re unemployed, failed matric and living in a wendy-house in someone’s back yard in Pretoria, hey?
7 Mar 2006, 17:47 pm
pierre
Is he not entitled to an opinion?
“Oh ja – difficult to get a visa when you’re unemployed, failed matric and living in a wendy-house in someone’s back yard in Pretoria, hey?”
Must of been real rough for you. Looks like the local McDonalds has internet.
7 Mar 2006, 18:08 pm
That’s right jondood – stand up for your racist broederbond pal.
7 Mar 2006, 18:12 pm
pierre,
FYI: I am acomputer systems analyst with a US & UK resident quals. I spent half my time outside the Republic
My observation is strictly rugby, the quota is a fact of life in SA and personally I support it to a point.
That’s why we have to be realistic while assessing Snyman’s feasibilities under a new Boks contract.
Simple enough?
7 Mar 2006, 19:36 pm
Onlooker: I don’t give a **** what you say your qualifications are. Anyone can say anything on a blog, especially when posting under an assumed name. Of much more concern to me is the fact that every single comment you post on this website is unjustifiably derogatory towards black players. Only a dyed-in-the-wool racist could have harped on about Shimange after seeing the far more pitiful performances of white players like Theron, Greeff, Barry etc. on Saturday. Your comment about supporting quotas to a point is dishonest. Why don’t you just admit that you are uncomfortable with seeing blacks play rugby at the highest level? Just admit that you would prefer it if they weren’t there. It’s pretty obvious.
7 Mar 2006, 19:49 pm
the guy was **** when Strooooooyli brought him back.
JAKE you are thicker than I thought.
7 Mar 2006, 20:14 pm
pierre
Ever been laid?
No, I am not asking about your mother.
7 Mar 2006, 20:36 pm
Admitedly Snyman was NOT in best form the last time he was playing for the Boks. But the man is pure class; He has skills, pace, strength and deadly defence. Snyman in form and heading back is bloody good news.
7 Mar 2006, 21:51 pm
we have way too many options in those positions.
even ’3-try against the Kiwis’ Joubert may not even get into the team again. And you want to call back an overrated, old dud like Snyman .We are not that desperate! FFS!
7 Mar 2006, 21:54 pm
Pierre
I think you are a racist. Why is it everytime someone critisize a not white player, than he is a racist in your eyes. I agree that Greeff and Theron is kak, but so is Nokwe. And i’m still waiting for Burger to start playing rugby this season.
7 Mar 2006, 22:49 pm
What a fantastic coach white is, I reckon the best since Christie, thats my honest opinion. Snyman would be a brilliant addition, although he has been playing on the wing in the UK, wheras I would prefer him to be outside Jean de Villiers. But still, I’m a big supporter of the de villiers fourie combination, so lets not forget about fourie.
But Snyman could do alot, and yes get Sowerby in the mix, although, Burger, Smith and Joe are the starters. Sowerby is better than Cronje and Wannenburg.
8 Mar 2006, 01:16 am
I think that Snyman will give the Boks some stability in the backline at wing or centre but I am not too sure about Shaun Sowerby, he aint very old, but he’s only had one test cap back in 2002 coming on as a replacement. So if Jake wants to use Shaun then he has to give him a go in the pre-season Bok tests….BTW I am a rocket scientist working for NASA so don’t tune my opinions…Pierre…lol
8 Mar 2006, 06:22 am
Onlooker your really sound like areal arrogant guy chill guys even if he’s living in a wendy house in the back yard
8 Mar 2006, 06:54 am
snyman this oak was destined for greatness till he broke his leg!!! it really annoyed me that robbie fleck used to start test wen it could have been andre
8 Mar 2006, 06:56 am
kingpaul, so nokwe is a bad player after having one bad game? the rugby ‘experts’ on this site make me sick…
8 Mar 2006, 07:09 am
Piere you sound like a real prick! Are still upset about being turned away by the (insert any country name here) immigration dept?
Maybe they just dont want tossers like you.
8 Mar 2006, 07:27 am
Guys
How is this this for a backline in RWC 2007 ?
9. Ricky
10. Pretorius / Houghaard / Bosman
11. Habana
12. Jean De villiers
13. Andre Snyman
14. Jaque Fourie
15. Percy
And Front eight like this :
1. Os
2. Smitty
3. Richard Bands
4. Bakkies/perhaps that new Province guy with the beard
5. Victor
6. Schalla
7. Jaun
8. Sauerby/Cronje/Big Joe
Sounds like a winning team to me
8 Mar 2006, 07:35 am
bloubal
haven’t seen snyman play recently, therefor can’t comment on that one. i’d prefer fourie at 13, regardless.
after seeing how donut dunning shoved bands’ head up into his own arse in the s14 semi last year, i just can’t see what’s so great about this guy. still have the images of him scoring his amazing try against the all blacks and running over richie mc, but the horror of seeing him going backwards in the scrums, clouds all of that.
8 Mar 2006, 07:43 am
Sowerby is a big *******, he went to my high school. When he was in matric he used to make his standard 6 sit on the toilet in winter before he used it to warm up the seat!
8 Mar 2006, 07:47 am
Stoffel, did you play rugby? I was in Affies when Sowerby was in school, maybe we played against each other.. small world
8 Mar 2006, 08:03 am
Pierre i haven’t called anyone names yet you jackass!
Must be toough not having a mother that loves you!
8 Mar 2006, 08:20 am
Keo
How about a new article, maybe the fact that Jaco v d Weshuisen is practising with the Bulls as we speak. He does say that Jake wants him at the Stormertjies
8 Mar 2006, 09:40 am
Ag please!! Everyone is blowing hot air up Jean’s backside, yet beside the very first test that he and Jacques Fourie played against the French, they have lloked as useless as De Wet Barry and Joubert, and we have scored ONE (I think) try from a first phase set move. Jean can’t tackle and with Pretorius at 10, there is a huge gap between 10 and inside centre channel.
About Snyman, he was such a ‘legend’ he knocked about 5 balls in his last Test match on a dry sunny day! – hopefully it’ll stay his last.
Biggest problem with SA rugby is that the testoterone affects their brains! Everyone wants to ‘intimidate’ with their ‘power’, yet virtually no backline player in SA can step off both feet at pace, kick with both feet, pass the ball equally well to both sides, offload in the tackle etc.!
Years ago Johan Heunis was rated good, but not remarkable, yet today when a fullback catches 50% of up&unders, and kicks 50% of his line kicks out, he’s the “next” Springbok fullback! Most of them are a bunch of pallookas – Dan Retief was right – they are too dim!
8 Mar 2006, 09:56 am
i think jake white has made a wise choice, andre snyman been playing the best rugby of his life but one should not count the likes of willemse on the right wing i belive this should be the team 9.januarie
10.pretorius
11.Habana
12.jean de villers
13.Fourie/jouba
14.willemse/snyman/jantjies
15.percy/jantjies/roots
8 Mar 2006, 12:22 pm
Snyman was an awesome player who would have become a great player, but his injuries derailed him and he was never able to compete at the same level again. I definitely don’t think he is Bok material at the moment, on the strength of the Heineken Cup games I’ve seen on the highlights channel.
sharkgirl – “namedropping” is not the same thing is “name-calling”. Rather, it refers to the lame-*** practice of claiming friendship or acquaintance with famous or well-known people.
10 Mar 2006, 10:55 am
both superb players, the cup will be ours in 2007, oh yes.