No smoke and mirrors

Cheetahs coach Rassie Erasmus has dismissed claims by Stormers coach Kobus van der Merwe that he will play Willem de Waal at flyhalf in Saturday’s Vodacom Super 14 match at Newlands.

“I’m definitely not trying to play tricks on the Stormers by naming Meyer [Bosman] at flyhalf and then replacing him with Willem at the last moment,” Erasmus told keo.co.za. “Willem will get a start soon in the competition, but not on Saturday. I’m very happy with Meyer at 10 and the team is gelling nicely, so I don’t want to disrupt things. But we are only a third of the way through the Super 14, and Willem will get a chance to play.”

However, while ruling him out of the starting XV, Erasmus said De Waal could come into the squad if Gaffie du Toit fails a late fitness test.

“Gaffie is 60/40 at the moment, and if he isn’t able to play, Willem will come onto the bench,” he said.

The Cheetahs go into the Newlands game as firm favourites, after beating WP in two consecutive Currie Cup semi-finals in Cape Town.

“Obviously we are confident of winning again, but you can’t read too much into history,” said Erasmus. “A bounce of the ball, a refereeing decision … all those things can turn a game around.”

Erasmus said the Stormers would be tough to beat on their home turf, despite their recent form.

“I’ve felt really sorry for the Stormers. They’ve come close to winning three out of their last four games. There’s a fine line between winning and losing in the Super 14, and they’ve had some bad luck. I thought they gave a quality performance against the Hurricanes, up until the 78th minute. We certainly won’t be underestimating them.”

Saturday’s game against the Stormers is crucial for the Bloem Boys considering their remaining schedule.

The Cheetahs play the Reds at home next weekend, before heading overseas where they’ll meet the Waratahs, Brumbies, Crusaders and Chiefs – three of whom are expected to make the semi-finals.

28 Comments

• 1.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Rassie knows that no smoke and mirrors is needed to beat the Stormers.

And he is right that there is a fine line between winning and losing. Come Saturday and that fine line will become more like a canyon for the Stormers.

Cheetahs to hand out Pakslae Danie Rossouw style…

• 2.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs to beat brokeback dragons

• 3.bigg: Reply to this comment

Rudedud & Blouste – I am a avid Stormers supporter but I do agree with you. Think with my head… Cheetahs to win considering Stormers current form. ****

• 4.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

hmmm, this will be one of those games where the stormers play like their lives depend on it so they can beat a local side.

i hope the cheetahs win, i really do. but it always works like this with sa teams doesn’t it. this is the rule:

when playing a south african side who is higher than you on the log and has a better chance of reaching the play-offs, play your heart out and beat them, even if it is the only game u win.

how many times has this happened. still hope the cheetahs win.

• 5.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Go cheatahs

join the Bulls in semis ……….

• 6.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

No matter who’s playing for the Cheetha’s they still going to win the Stormers on there own field , stomers can’t win any more rugby this year.

• 7.bigg: Reply to this comment

Andre – Stormers will beat the Reds & Force – Then make a comeback and beat the Sharks…

• 8.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

A few quotes from 365 –

“One of the strengths of Rassie [Erasmus] is that he takes a very calculated approach to every game,” Drotské said. “He carefully analyse every team, look at their respective strengths and weaknesses and then plan accordingly.

“His approach to every game differs, depending on the opposition.

“He has certainly had a good look at what the Stormers bring to the game and the whole of last week we worked on our approach to this game,” the team manager added.

And sorry to say I believe that Rassie is a snake and knows how to strike – even Bulls supporters have to agree here (take the CC final). He has always been a thorn in WP/Stormers side and don’t expect anything different.

Stormers need to pull this one out the bag and the options are getting less – like I said injuries are going to start to play a problem from this round with players coming back and others missing. Even cheetahs have a tight head problem (not too sure as they always produce wonderful front rows).

What may in in our favour is the number of changes that are surposed to be happening – Rassie would not have seen all these players yet. However sad to say think Cheetahs may pull this one off – but then they have not got that wonderful home support so ….. think they so far have got the best home support in the Super 14.

• 9.Offside: Reply to this comment

All_Stormers

Good call. Rassie is one of the better tacticians of the game – dare I say the best?
    While I have huge respect for Jake White, I think that he has missed a trick by not enlisting Rassie to the bok cause. If he can perform with a bunch of relative unknowns, imagine what he could do with 22 boks?

• 10.capebull: Reply to this comment

At least Rassie brings something new to Rugby, not moaning and complaining about something all the time. To think all this from a thik dump ******** of hoe WPweee

• 11.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Didn’t DeWaal do pretty well with the Bulls in 2003 at fullback in the S14.

Why doesn’t Rassie try and re-jig the back 3?

Personally, I’d like to see Meyer play the entire competition at 3.

If Jake is intent on fast tracking him he needs to be starting.

• 12.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Man that Gaffie has got one heck of a big punt. I hope he makes the BOKS again this year

• 13.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

I would be too over confident, i’ve seen the stormers pull wins against all odds, but that was with captain coragous Krige.

• 14.sharkgirl: Reply to this comment

bigg you are being a bit over confident, there a month and a half to go to the sharks stormers game. Beside there is noway we’ll loose, not at Kings Park!

• 15.bliksem: Reply to this comment

howzit sharkgirl.Are you going to watch that game at Kingspark?Are the sharks playing the Bulls at loftus in the super 14?

• 16.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Go Cheetahs – why are the teams from the core Afrikaner cities (PTown and Bloem) doing better in the S14 than the teams from Joburg, Durbs and Cape Town?

• 17.koningsblou: Reply to this comment

Van Der Merwe should stop worrying about the opposition. Nothing wrong with having a game plan, but this should be built around your own strengths. This is something that has been lacking from the Stormers games this season.

The 1999 Stormers team was successful because they played around a very mobile pack and capitalised on turnover ball. Throw caution to the wind this weekend. Play two genuine fetchers in Watson and Melck. Nokwe, Benjamin wings and Chavhangha fullback. And with JdV and MJ as centres, this must make for one of the fastest backlines in the S14. Run every single first phase, kicked and turnover ball, what do we have to lose anyway?

• 18.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Its all about team culture I believe.Team culture is easy to change but very complex in defintion.Thats why it has such a big impact.

• 19.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

I am lucky enough not to have seen any of the stormers matches this year. I therefore can blindly say that the stormers will continue with their excellent record against SA opposition and will win this one…

• 20.sharkgirl: Reply to this comment

Bliksem – yes going to kingspark for the stormers game.
    Yes, sharks play bulls at loftus!

• 21.bliksem: Reply to this comment

I am still deciding wheter or not to fly down for the game.Its going to be the battle of the cellardwellers.I just go down for the jol.Sitting in the club box and then partying at One Stop afterwards.Priceless.

• 22.sharkgirl: Reply to this comment

okay! I’m definitaly going. Taking my brother with (he’s a stormer). He’s never been to kingspark!

• 23.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Its a moer of a jol.One Stop is the place to be after a game.

• 24.YoMama: Reply to this comment

It’s a pity. I think that this would be a great time to reintroduce Willem. Not only is he probably champing at the bit to prove his worth again but it would be a psychological blow to the Stompies to see their tormentor in the opposition line-up.

That being said, two ******* and a chimp would scare the Stompies.

• 25.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

Please let De Waal play CC where he belongs. He is way off the pace in Super rugby.

• 26.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

The Stormers can not afford to lose this one. There will be more kak in die Kaap than at the KKNK. It will be fokofvandermerwe and not fokofpoliesiekar.

Lang Giel

• 27.Dieselboys: Reply to this comment

Koningsblou
    They also had a bloody great coach in Alan Solomans, who seems to get the best out of a team. I watched him turn an underperforming UCT 1st Team from getting their asses handed to them by the Maties to returning the favour in the home leg. Van der Merwe, although I believe has great potential, is not ready for this level yet. A coach needs to be nurtured to a point where he takes the reins. Throwing guys in at the deep end is not the way to go.

• 28.GCC: Reply to this comment

all_stormers

the only problem the cheetahs have on tighthead, is who to leave out of the team. jannie du plessis is one of the best (probably 3rd) tightheads in the country at this stage.

st pete

de waal didn’t cut it at fullback. when joubert brought him on into the flyhalf position, he really had some belters. ironically, it was his running game then, that caught the eye.

de waal and lowen are playing a few games for the vodacom side together and i suspect rassie will bring them in at the same time to give bosman and goodes a rest.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.