Poms in free fall

France’s 31-6 thrashing of England has seen the world champions slip even further behind in the world rankings.

England now lie less than one rating point ahead of Ireland, their opponents in the last round of Six Nations matches.

An Irish victory in the last-ever Six Nations game at Lansdowne Road, over Scotland, doesn’t see them move up the rankings, but it leaves them and France as the only realistic winners of this year’s competition.

Italy’s dramatic draw against Wales in Cardiff edges them above Fiji into 11th.

IRB RANKINGS:

1 (1) New Zealand 93.32
2 (2) South Africa 88.76
3 (3) France 85.24
4 (4) Australia 83.93
5 (5) England 81.95
6 (6) Ireland 81.38
7 (7) Wales 79.35
8 (8) Scotland 76.74
9 (9) Argentina 75.16
10 (10) Samoa 73.97
11 (12) Italy 73.28
12 (11) Fiji 73.11
13 (13) USA 68.31
14 (14) Canada 67.42
15 (15) Romania 67.18
16 (16) Uruguay 66.27
17 (17) Japan 65.93
18 (19) Georgia 64.78
19 (18) Portugal 63.67
20 (20) Tonga 62.04

65 Comments

• 1.bigg: Reply to this comment

Simon – Where is your good mate Bliksem???

• 2.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Bigg

Bliksem is gedonner.

• 3.bigg: Reply to this comment

Rude – What do you mean?

• 4.bliksem: Reply to this comment

bigg ek is die afgelope ruk net moer besig by die werk dis al.Maar hey Rudebud gaan voort met jou storie waarmee jy besig was.

• 5.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Bliksem & Bigg

Nee man, net gebruik van vrye alliterasie / digterlike vryheid!

Bly om te sien jy is nie regtig gebliksem nie !

• 6.carcass: Reply to this comment

***** ze Engleesh! I speet on ze ********!

• 7.bigg: Reply to this comment

Blikesem Welcome back… Where have you been?

• 8.bliksem: Reply to this comment

bigg just very busy at work and have also started practising rugga again.Hopefully I will make my comeback on Sat with 20 minutes from the bench.

• 9.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Argentina will take the Poms to the cleaners at the moment. But the erudite St Mick still consider these wankers to be the most superior team on the face of this earth.

• 10.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Lets stop worrying about the Poms.The Bokke wont shape in the wc if their backline doesnt start scoring creative tries.When last have we had a creative 10?

• 11.bigg: Reply to this comment

Bliksem – Henri Honiball

• 12.carcass: Reply to this comment

bliksem
    Who do you rate better: Naas or Honnibal?
    I know they are from different times .

• 13.3rdday: Reply to this comment

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

New topic please, Bliksem.

• 14.bliksem: Reply to this comment

bigg nee en ja.Henry was n moer goeie verdediger en hy was solid in sy ball verspreding.Hy het briljante spelers ook langs hom gehad.As jy vir Carlos Spencer in die Stormers span moet sit sal tot hy kak lyk.n 10 hoef nie noodwendig moerse te step nie al wat nodig is soms is n pass in spasie in of n gap slaan en pass.

• 15.carcass: Reply to this comment

Bring terug Gavin Lawless!

• 16.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass I would go with Henry.Personally i like his pattern of play more than Naas.I think Naas was way ahead in his time BUT if in that time they had all the video analysis etc they could have worked him out.A team cant go into a game with one gameplan these days.

• 17.carcass: Reply to this comment

Bliksem
    I agree, Henry was solid. Do you think Hougaard might cut it if he bulks up a bit and mature?

• 18.bliksem: Reply to this comment

I reckon Morne Steyn is a better option.A big reason why our players get burnout is because they take contact every time.NZ players dont.They will rather avoid contact and look for a pass.Sure Lauaki and Collins arent going to to that but they just bash to suck in players and to create a fast next phase.They take alot of their sevens skills into the 15man game.The contact situation i am refering to is in the attacking situation.

• 19.carcass: Reply to this comment

The problem i feel is that our guys lack composure.When the overseas guys break our line we know there is ****.
    But when we do it its like we just have to wait for a knock on etc.
    It must be a mental thing.

• 20.bigg: Reply to this comment

Bliksem – You right, Dan Carter hardly ever makes contact and Stephen Larkam too. Look at Peter Grant on Saturday he was playing DE Wet – Crash teh ball up!!!

• 21.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcas lack of compuse is called panic.Guys panic because they dont know what their roles are.You get SA sides who will field the same side week in and week out and have different gameplans.Doesnt work that way.Choose your gameplan and then the team to suit that gameplan.In a game you can have a variation on a gameplan but not a change in gameplan at halftime due to this factor.

• 22.Simon: Reply to this comment

I have no idea why Bliksem hates me so much. Maybe he could enlighten us all.

• 23.bliksem: Reply to this comment

bigg if you mae contact on the opponents term there is not much options.If you make contact with the opponent on your terms for eg posture and timing then you have control over things like the ball protection you are going to receive from your team mates etc.Gotta think on step ahead the whole time.

• 24.carcass: Reply to this comment

Gameplan or not, there are fundamental basics that must be executed. 50/50 passes, lost line outs, slipped tackles.If you do those cardinal sins you can have the gameplan personally constructed by Bernard Laporte and you will still see your gat.

• 25.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass exactly we dont have the basics in pace and we are trying to build from there.You can never overcoach a player in the basics.

• 26.bigg: Reply to this comment

Go Bliksem nows your chance

• 27.Stan: Reply to this comment

Die Engelse is so dat dat self die Stormers hulle behoort te wen…

• 28.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Also carcass,our sides backlines are always very flat.Nz sides likes to attack from deth and with pace.One missed tackle and the defensive side is backpedalling and scrambling.Thats why a box kick works for them and not for us.We have a flat defence and they have a umbrlella defence where the backline players form a secondar defence and the looosies and 9 are shifting to form a first line of defence.

• 29.carcass: Reply to this comment

Intersting, but surely we must have a system that must be more effective, and which is not copied from elsewhere.
    Could it come down to individuals summing up a situation and act accordingly?

• 30.bigg: Reply to this comment

Stan – **** off you loser!!

• 31.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass it starts with our coaching systems in this country.You arent allowed to coach at ANY level in NZ if you havent done any course.

• 32.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Spears sal die Stormers se gatte skop op current form.

• 33.carcass: Reply to this comment

So we have been relying on our raw talent.But the question remains whats the difference in coaching structures? How much more can you analyze a game without everyone coming to the same conclusion?
    Rugby is a simple game, or at least it should be.

• 34.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass we are amateurs compared to NZ.I will give some facts tomorrow.Gotta go and do something quickly.

• 35.carcass: Reply to this comment

Cheers.

• 36.bigg: Reply to this comment

Yes look at Wynberg Boys High. The teachers who thought they were **** hot used to coach the first team. Mean while they were not even a coaches arse..

• 37.FoxAche: Reply to this comment

Bliksem,

Who do you play for?

• 38.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Ok carcass to start of.At the begging of each season EVERY coach has to attend a injury prevention seminar where all the latest findings are discussed.A registrar has to be signed.If you as a coach dont attend you dont get a coaching ticket for the year.a quarterly is given out during the hear containing new training methods.If you are a coach with a new idea ot method that you devised then you put it on paper and post it to the NZRU.You aslo post a copy to your own adress which seves as a “copyright”In each quarterly released the name of the coach is also added with his new training method.So you dont have the scenario of a coach going for a job interview,not getting the job but all his methods being used.Mexted is not respected in NZ coaching circles any more nor in Buck Shelford.Meads has a good academy because of his excellent coaching staff.This is just a few reasons why we are far behind in coaching.

• 39.carcass: Reply to this comment

Bliksem
    I wasnt aware they are that thorough.Professional definetley.
    So when are we gonna wake up.
    I believe it must be mental because were strong,fast, yet finesse is missing.

• 40.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass this is just the tip of the iceberg.Because rugby is so big its a mission for a coach to reach the top there and they work very hard with their sides at all levels.only if you have been to nz will you realize how big rugby is there.

• 41.carcass: Reply to this comment

bliksem
    Its hard to imagine.I come from a rugby mad enviroment and to think how the NZ guys go on astounds me.
    Do you think we need help from abroad? I know we have tried some but someone maybe on a high position.There might be a uproar though.
    At least they haD a clinic in Stellenbosch.

• 42.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcas whe need someone from nz to implement their system here.to copy them isnt going to help because a follower will never be a leader.We dont even have a Rugby Channel here.They have a rugby channel with non stop 24 hrs of rugby and panel discussions and also past great games.They have a huge respect for the Bokke.carcass in Christchurch you will find 3 rugby memrobilia shops next to each other and all of them are doing a roaring trade and not just off tourists.

• 43.carcass: Reply to this comment

Man , that warms my heart. Rugby imitating life, Life imitating rugby.
    On the question of resources, NZ have been tapping into the Polenysian (spelling?) playing market, we could do a lot of tapping into ours.
    There must be a lot of (forgive me) black/coloured
    undiscovered players in our ranks that can boost the quality of our teams. Providing they get the proper training.

• 44.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass its not a matter of tapping into talent.Work is scarce on the islands.Islanders come over to NZ and within a couple of months they are eligable for the dole.Its a lot of money aand they even send money back home.Lots of them are lazy and live of the dole and dont work at all.All they do is play krieketie in the local park the wole day long.Not all of them but a lot.Thats the reason for their influx,purely financial.

• 45.carcass: Reply to this comment

OK , with your argument cant we do the same?
    Like soccer, provide rugby as a means to get ahead
    in life and off the streets. Or you reckon its too much a cultural difference?

• 46.bliksem: Reply to this comment

carcass SaRugby doesnt put enough money into grassroots and clubrugby.Lets cut the Boks salaries and use that money for grassroots and clubs.I mean the Bokke was paid R1 mill each as a bonus by van Rooyen.How far can 22 mil go if give to grassroots and club rugby.Clubs cant afford to pay R30 000 p/m for a good overseas coach.They simply havent got the money.What will a coach from NZ bring to a club?A shitload.Coaching structeres and a academy will be put in place.

• 47.carcass: Reply to this comment

I bet you we will see results. This brother/brother scenario must change, get academies up and running ,with good facilities, create a positive,healthy enviroment and we all will benefit.
    I know rugby went pro, but that kind of money on top of salaries and endorsements is frightening.
    Then again if you get injured your carreer might be over.

Thanks for your time and insights.
    Gotta go to a meeting.
    Cheers mate.

• 48.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Amen.

• 49.DubShark: Reply to this comment

But cut the players salaries and how many will we lose to the clubs in europe?
    how about streamlining the admin side of things where we seem to have alot of staff doing nothing or worse wrecking things.

• 50.Ollie: Reply to this comment

“Poms in free fall”
    Uuummm, let me get this straight, the Poms are currently in 5 th position! Okay, everything is still fine.

Last week the Poms were in….. 5th position! Ok, I see a pattern here.

A few weeks ago the Poms were in …. 5th position !?

Free fall??????? What free fall??????

• 51.Ollie: Reply to this comment

On the 06 Feb they moved from 5th to 3rd and have just moved back again over a 3 week period.

• 52.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Down a pom, feel satisfied!

• 53.Duiwel: Reply to this comment

Love it,crash and burn.
    Arrogant ****.

• 54.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Islanders come over to NZ and within a couple of months they are eligable for the dole.Its a lot of money aand they even send money back home.Lots of them are lazy and live of the dole and dont work at all.”

Not one of these bone-idle layabouts has even the smallest chance of making it into the All Black team, do they? So what’s your point?

• 55.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Tackler on grounds of what do you say they dont have a chance.Lots of good sportsman are lazy to work but not to train.Moet jy nie anyway jou vrou wat till slaan by die Pak n Save gaan optel na haar skof nie?Doos.

• 56.kiwi: Reply to this comment

Ollie

I think by “free fall” they’re referring as much England’s decreasing points as their ranking.

• 57.Dingman: Reply to this comment

So Bliksem you consider it to be degrading to “slaan till”? And YOU call Tackler a d**s?! Unbelievable

• 58.wls: Reply to this comment

And yet STM is still missing LMFAO.
    Hes a bigger tospot than Tacklballs.

best quote i have ever read “once and EMPIRE now an ISLAND” ha ha

• 59.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Dingman I would “slaan till” in NZ.They make good monet.So its not degrading.Have you ever met a till slaner in NZ?I have.

• 60.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Bliksem, with an unemployment rate of 3.2%in NZ, the lowest in the developed world and you call Islanders lazy, thats a very big call coming from u mate. get the facts and then comment.

• 61.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Tackler on grounds of what do you say they dont have a chance.”

To be a professional rugby player at All Black level you have to work VERY VERY hard on top of being very very good. There’s simply no space for a lazy layabout anywhere in NZ first class pro rugby, no matter how good they may be, because there will be 100 equally good players but who work hard. They will get the job ahead of the lazy man.

And they simply can’t sneak into the team on the back of some or other “race quota” as you may be able to do in South Africa. Merit is the ONLY criterion.

• 62.bliksem: Reply to this comment

CSI rugby I am just telling you what I experienced firsthand and also had verified by lots of kiwis from all walks of life.I am not your mate.Tackler ek is Desember vir n paar dae in Auckland.Gaan ons n paar biere drink?

• 63.hootz: Reply to this comment

danny carter is freakin’ god

• 64.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

You got that right bliksem, and u are not mine either

• 65.chch: Reply to this comment

Bliksem, I was enjoying your comments before you Winston Peters impersonation. If people have the opportunity to be better off somewhere else and they can bare to leave their homeland then people will move. Why do the same thing for less return when you can move and get more (or the same for less effort). This is human nature. You must be very careful about passing racial judgement on such action. Many people on this site have moved (at least in part) for financial reasons (including me…country number 5).

It is easy for a simple slir to become a predudicial norm. I know (for example) from living in Sydney that the sterio type of Kiwi’s is that they don’t work and instead just hang out in Bondi. In fact Kiwi’s moving to Australia pay more tax per person than any other foriegn group in the country. The dole has not even been available to new Kiwi’s in Australia since 2001.
    These things start as simple jokes or slires but ultimately end up in people being treated differently becasue of their ethnic group.

Many Islanders are in NZ and they are a part of our culture. Numbers of Maori and other polynesian groups are almost even. It is a hard transition from much more family orientated cultures. I think on average they probably earn less but are no lazier than multiple generation Kiwi’s (in fact I think that South East Asian immigrants earn the best work ethic award).

Bliksem, I believe you that you have heard Kiwi’s pass this opinion and for that I am truely ashamed. Please do not consider either to be true or the general opinion of the people.

So before we all end up as racially bitter as Duiwel (post 53) or feel the need to elect a government that puts 8 year old refugees behind razer wire lets please stop and think

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.