White wants direction; not a national director

Springbok coach Jake White believes the appointment of a national director of rugby will do nothing to improve the situation in South Africa.

While most, including me, are screaming that such an appointment be made, White said he would prefer to operate free of any director as he felt it would only complicate and not simplify any national coaching position.

“People are looking for answers in the wrong place. The answer to our problems is not the appointment of a national director of rugby. The answer is consistency in coaching appointments at a national and regional level and a succession plan for each person, agreed to by the board of the SA Rugby Union,” White told Keo.co.za, adding that he had reservations about a national director of rugby appointment because of all the politics involved in creating such a position.

“The less interference to the Bok side the better,” said White. “And I think a national director of rugby would want the Springboks to fall under his job responsibility. I don’t think this is right. We currently have a general manager of national teams in former Stormers and Welsh international Andy Marinos. He does a fantastic job, but his focus is very much on the administration around the team. He has nothing to do with the rugby side of it and that is the way I, as a national coach, would prefer it. I know others disagree.”

White said that it was outrageous to be calling for the heads of Kobus van der Merwe and Frans Ludeke, to name but two of the country’s five regional coaches.

“Take Frans as an example. He has lost four of his first five matches, but the Cats have lost something like 44 of their last 49 matches in the competition. In this time they used Frans, Tim Lane and a coaching trio of Chester Williams, Rassie Erasmus and Brendan Venter. Getting rid of the coach isn’t the answer.

“Where’s Chester? So much went into his development in 2004 and 2005 and now he hasn’t got a team to coach. Where’s Brendan? He was very good at London Irish but he’s not coaching? What would have happened to Rassie if the Cheetahs were not a new entity in the Super 14? Would he also have been sacked.

“In Cape Town it is the same. What good would it do to be sacking Kobus (van der Merwe) and Gary (Gold) after one season? It is short-term knee-jerk reaction. As I said in an earlier interview, if there was a rugby blueprint that embraced the national coach and the five regional coaches and put in place a three-to-five year plan and succession plan, we wouldn’t have coaches coaching from one week to the next wondering if this week is their last. It is not right.”

White also said it was crucial that the top 140 players were identified between himself and the five regional coaches.

“We don’t have a draft system. We don’t have proper identification. There are some very good players running around in the Vodacom Cup that could be adding value to our Super 14 squads. But no one is talking. No one is acting on what is a crisis situation for us. The first five weeks of the competition have not been good to us. All the coaches and myself need to be discussing how it can be improved, not on a casual basis, but in a constructive way to find solutions.”

White said it distressed him that his All Blacks counterpart Graham Henry (and his fellow national coaches) were spending a day a week with the five New Zealand franchises. At this Henry interacts with the regional coach and those players in the national frame. It also gives him a chance to see first hand players outside of the national framework.

“We simply don’t have that kind of working relationship in our rugby,” said White. “I’ve popped in at the odd union for a casual visit. Earlier in the year I indicated that I would like to play a more active role during the competition, in terms of interacting with the coaches and adding value to their campaigns. Nothing materialised.”

White, after five weeks of Super 14 woe, is frustrated. He believes he could be making a difference. Instead he is far removed from the South African Super 14 scene.

“Now is the time to fix it,” he says. “We can’t keep on plodding along like this.”

265 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 1.jds: Reply to this comment

It must be hard to do a proper job if everybody keeps on ignoring you. I take my hat of for Jake in achieving what he achieved under the circumstances. GO JAKE!

• 2.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

You started it White remember those war of words with the unions about rugby players that should be rested. If there unions played them they wouldnt be considerd for tour …. u still remember that.

Also your selections is mind boggel.
    You a great coach i dont take that away we got lot of respect for you ….. but what you done is wrong.

My blood is blue

• 3.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

It has been said over and over again … get the Spears/relegation **** sorted out and the coaches will be more willing to become part of a system where all regions will help each other out – and help White with his national issues. Currently it is a fight for survival against – not the Crusaders or Brumbies – but against each other in SA. It is more important for Ludeke (example) to end up above other SA teams on the S14 log than to win the S14 – or help White with his Bok issues. No-one will want to help another if the other can be the cause of your downfall/relegation.

• 4.Train: Reply to this comment

It sounds stupid and statement of the obvious but SA Rugby needs to decide what is more important the Boks (where we have achieved success as a rugby nation) or a provincial set-up where in the international context we’ve achieved very little.

They need to get the balance right. It is quite ironic that in all the years of isolation everyone (who was either pro-apartheid or idifferent) cried for international games. Now ten years down the line no-one gives a damn!

Incidentally, I disagree with Jake, he and SA Rugby needs a director of rugby but is needs to be some who he trusts (and has no control over the boks).

• 5.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I don’t see what value White can add to the Bulls. The best thing he can do for them is leave us the hell alone.

So far, his contribution has been to steer Jaco v.d. Westhuizen towards joining his Stormers boys in Cape Town, rather than serving as a much needed back-up to Johan Roets at fullback.

Jake may be a coach of midling ability, but Heyneke is ten times the man he will ever be.

If ever Jake and Heyneke disagree, like they so often do, I will back Heyneke every time. How can you not respect the man? He is a gentleman in every sense of the word – unlike Jake – only-2-Irishmen-will-make-the-Bok-team, The-Wallaby-props-won’t-make-Stellenbosch’s-4th-team White.

White has a not-so-hidden agenda of establishing a Cape-centric view of rugby management in SA.

Every time the Bulls notch up yet another win against Australasian opponents, or against White’s blue eyed boys, the Stormers, it is a direct slap in his face.

Go Bulls, go stuff yourself Jake.

• 6.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Aren’t there too many administrators already? How many people do we need at the top to make SA rugby work? I say make the top lighter and more effecient. First get rid of some dead wood before planting more trees.

• 7.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Jake is scared Andre Varkgraaff becomes National Director of rugby. Dan is hy in sy tjops in.

• 8.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

tacticus

what they must do is play the springboks against Bulls. You leave the Bulls side like it is with victor .. bakkies en pedrie and u leave habana.

Then my friends you shall see that Bulls will outplay the Bokke. Why cos mostly it will be stormer players thats why!!!

So bring it on…..

• 9.louis: Reply to this comment

There is a train of thought on this site that I do not understand. How can the possible relegation at the end of the season be a stumbling block? Surely the best way of insulating yourself from relegation is not to beat the other SA franchises, but to win the S14 trophy, thereby beating all the teams. I saw a very interesting article in Die Burger this morning. It says that Odwa Ndungane is playing better rugby because of the advice and support he has received from David Campese and Tony Brown. Is this another case of black players only being toerated by the coaches and players in SA, and it takes an Ausie and a Kiwi to ignite the talents of a black SA player? Remember the words in Chester’s book. Are we still there and have not moved on?

• 10.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey,

Based on CC 2005 White only need to make the whole Cheetah team Boks to defeat your argument. Now imagine he adds some spice to that Cheetah team from the Stormers, Cats and Sharks … your Bulls will be slaughtered.

• 11.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

They why bother with the Boks – we should then just drop out the Super 14 and go back to play a ‘North / South’ Game and again go more backwards. No matter if you are a Bulls fan or Stormers fan we all want teh best for the Boks – players get selected due to the players skills and game plan. I can’t believe you think that player get selected because they Stormers

• 12.cab: Reply to this comment

Jake’s right, all of this talk of sacking coaches is a bit premature, both teh stromers and cats have had a string of coaches without success, the players need to start taking a collective responsibility for their performances.

• 13.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Louis,

obviously winning the S14 trophy will be the best security against relegation, but how many of our teams do you currently rate as being able to do that? When teams like the Cats, Sharks and Stormers have so many losses on the trot do you think they will now want to help each other out? The train of thought is straight forward.

• 14.Train: Reply to this comment

I’m a big Bulls supporter but to be honest they’ve achieved very little in the s12/14. To be fair the Stormers and the Sharks have achieved more.

Lauding and praising Heyneke and the greatest at the expense of Wis symptomatic

• 15.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

katesnor take that same curriecup check games won and games lost…… hahaha you right there be a slaughter but it wont be the Bulls. White wont make changes he likes his boys to much.

Your curriecup sarcasm
    If this was old times we would have been handed the curriecup based on points alone. Anyway the curriecup will be back with us this year. ;]

all_stormer i dont see the players get selected on skill cos they been playing bad game in and out. Stormers shouldnt even have an excuse for losing cos you got all springboks.

• 16.Train: Reply to this comment

I’m a big Bulls supporter but to be honest they’ve achieved very little in the s12/14. To be fair the Stormers and Sharks have achieved more.

Lauding and praising Heyneke at the expense of White is symptomatic of all that is wrong with SA rugby – no objectivity, no love for the boks, conspiracy theories, new bloke is always better etc.

It makes me sad.

• 17.squirrel: Reply to this comment

What other counties have Directors of Rugby and What have they atchieved????????

• 18.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey

All one can ask for is that the national coach be impartial. I don’t expect him to “Maak al die Bulle Bokke” – although I won’t have a problem with that – but I do expect the dominant team in the country – by a long mile – to dominate the Springbok team in terms of player numbers.

There is no way you can justify selecting as many Cats or Stormers for the national squad as Bulls, when the Bulls are beating the top teams in the competition on a weekly basis, while the Cats are losing by margins of 50 points. No to mention the Stormers losing by margins of 60 points against the Bulls!

Basically, the Bulls should dominate the Bok team, not because White should favour them unfairly, but because they dominate South African rugby and have been for the last 4 seasons.

So, until White drops his Cape bias, why should he get any cooperation from the Bulls coaching staff?

We are doing very well without his “help.”

• 19.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Sigh … the insular, suspicious mentality continues.

Jake White is calling for C-O-L-L-A-B-O-R-A-T-I-V-E relationships and working between the regional coaches and the national coach. There will be MUTUAL BENEFITS for both the regional coaches, the players and the national coach

• 20.surfbok: Reply to this comment

Just a thought after the first few weeks of rugby this year:

Does England’s pasting at the hands of the French last weekend mean that maybe the Boks did quite well to finish within 4 points at the end of a long season last year?

Are England useless away from Twickenham (lost to Scotland at Murrayfield, made a meal of the match in Rome vs. Italy & lost to France by a mile)?

Are SA rugby players just not clever enough to play good rugby?

Why do we always lose the tight ones?

Why can we never murder Australasian sides? Instead, when we win, it’s more a case of we’re lucky they didn’t get it together this weekend.

Has anyone noticed the difference when for example Ma’a Nonu or Rico Gear run vs. one of our South African “flyers”? Why do Gear & Nonu seem to be charging at the line when our backs seem to be juggling a hot potato?

I’m beginning to think SA will only ever win matches by having a dominating pack, a kicking flyhalf and a defensively sound backline. No flair in the backs is required …

Man, the Aussies & New Zealanders play beautiful rugby. Where are James Small, Andre Joubert, Henry Honiball & Danie Gerber when you need them.

• 21.RedCard: Reply to this comment

I agree with Jake, but what has stopped him from picking up the phone and saying, Rassie, Kobus see you in the Newlands Boardroom on Sunday 19 March 2006 at 9am?

Or Frans, Heyneke see you 2 on Saturday morning 18 Feb at 10am at Teazers midrand (Halfway for both coaches) to discuss things.

• 22.cab: Reply to this comment

surfbok,

yes,
    yes,
    no,
    because there’s a shed load of pressure on us to win them,
    we did in the first half of the ellis test but slacked off our intensity in the 2nd,
    they are built like brick shithouses whereas our are lighter than the toilet paper,
    no we have some great backline talent which will start coming right this year but the forwards also need to provide proper attacking ball, retired but yes they were superb.

• 23.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Train, don’t worry Brother, this year The Blue Thunder will lift the S14 Trophy.

The problem in SA and everyone knows this, but seem unable to admit it and do something about it, is that we NEVER put the best 22 into a game. We NEVER have the best players in the country playing in their positions.

Don’t tell me Bobo was better than EB. John Smit is one of Jake’s boys and no matter how **** he is, he will always be there.

Jake is just looking for excuses. Here is the starting point.

Play the best players in the teams.

• 24.Staal: Reply to this comment

Keo you hooked me on this one…

Jw as a brilliant coach must coach the national team – because he’s the coach. Forget about the unions for the same reason that the unions can’t tell JW who to choose. Can’t see why JW must canvas for BvRuin. JW got one major flaw – he talks to much – remember Ireland???????

JW used Gert Smal (Old Stormers forward coach)and A Coetzee (Cats backline coach) terwyl daar manne soos Carel Doep is wat baie beter is. Maar dit is sy keuse – die unies kan nie voorskryf wat hy moet doen nie – en hy gaat hom ook nie aan hulle steur nie.

Arsen Wenger answered critics that he’s the manager of Arsenal – not England. He won’t comment on the Englandteam/style of play/selection of players because its not his job. The Buck stops at him concerning Arsenal.

Exackly the same with Erricson(spelling?) – he wont tell Arsenal/ManU/Chelsey what to do – it’s not his job!!!!

Presies dieselfde vir die S14 afrigters – hulle verantwoordelikheid is nie om JW se werk makliker te maak nie – hulle job is om hulle huidige franchise te laat wen. As hulle nie kan nie sal hulle self die blaam dra – moet nie vir hulle probeer bat nie!!

JW (goeie afrigter) kla altyd oor die skills en kondisie van die S14 spelers as hul by hom aankom – wel as ek reg onthou het die Stormers gekla oor kondisie van spelers toe hule van JW af gekom het. Dus JW hou op kla.

JW kies die spelers – (vergeet daarvan dat die keurkomitee spelers kies) – mensig waar is Nokwe nou?? JW kan nie vinger wys nie want hy doen ook simpel goed.

My raad aan hom : Bly binne die raamwerk van jou verantwoordelikhede. Coach die span en hou op kerm want sodra JW insae en se het oor die S14 franchise se spel, ens… dan het hy deel aan hulle mislukkings… gaan hy dan gefire word as ons sleg doen in die S14???

Dit is vir ons almal duidelik om te sien dat die huidige bestuursdinamiek van die Stormers (NMallett) nie werk nie!!! Die afrigter van ‘n S14 span moet al die mag en gesag vanaf die franchise he. Daarom moet die bestuur vd franchise seker maak hul kies die regte afrigter – ons praat mos hier van ‘n besigheid, of hoe? Hoe kan ‘n MD van n besigheid opdragte vat van ‘n ander besigheid se MD??

Jw kla nou omdat nie een van die s14 afrigetr hom kontak nie – so what? – dis hulle probleem. Mense verskil – en dis nie altyd so dat JW se manier die regte manier is nie.
    Maklik om te verwys na die bestuurdinamiek van die AB’s maar as ons hulle dinamiek gebruik dan moes JW gefire gewees het omdat ons nie die TNations gewen het nie – die AB fire ‘n coach maklik!!!

As JW nie 30 spelers van Sa kan afrig en die Wcup wen nie is my mening dat JW nie goed genoeg is nie – want die spelers is goed genoeg – maar hy sal weer kla oor hulle skills ens.ens.

JW het baie goeie eienskappe maar is ook net mens….hy het ook sy krake en vinnig praat is deel daarvan

my 2 sente.

• 25.rednik: Reply to this comment

Drunkmunkey, Tacitus.

I cannot for the life of me understand your paranoia. Can you not see that a co-ordinated approach allows everybody to win. Currently there is no clear pathway from school rugby up to the Bok Team. This is one of the things that Jake is trying to adress.

Identifying the top 140 players is a first step. This can be done even if the different coaches have different philosophies regarding coaching.

Jake must also realise however that he cannot rule the roost. The input of the S14 coaches is crucial, but they must also remember who the national coach is. Democracy is difficult for boneheads.

• 26.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Build the Bok team around the Bulls, and add the best players from the Sharks, Stormers, Cats and Cheetahs to strengthen the team.

Don’t build it around the Stormers, and add a spattering of Bulls, just to appease the Loftus faithful.

Eddie, Quinton Davids, Bolla Conradie, Joe van Niekerk, Hanyane Shimange, Jongi Nokwe – none of them would have made the Bulls team based on their performances of the last two seasons. Heck, even Schalk Burger would struggle.

He never makes as many yards as Pedrie Wannenburg nor does he get over the advantage line like Jacques Cronje.

All he is these days is a good wrestler, falling around the rucks and mauls. A poor man’s George Smith – just much, much slower.

Johan Roets, Akona Ndungane and Gary Botha are just some of the players that got shafted by White. Even Ettiene Botha, though not as good as De Villiers and Joubert, was streets ahead of Bobo, yet White ignored him.

Enough examples. White’s actions, in terms of selection policy, speak as loud as his words, uttered in public, to demonstrate his antagonism towards the Bulls.

He gets everything from Bulls “cooperation” with his plans, while we just get screwed.

Wake up Jake. The Bulls union will be around a lot longer than you will. You need to make the peace, not us. All we need to do is wait you out. Maybe your successor will show more “cooperation” than you did.

• 27.SloJo: Reply to this comment

You Bulls supporters are all on TIK!!!

We all understand that passion (of passie soos julle dit noem!) will/can only win you a CURRIE CUP and no further!!!

To win a SUPER 14 or WORLD CUP you actually need a brain or a bit more of a tactical approach!

• 28.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Yeah tacitus

spot on … You play your best players and based on form there should be alot players from stormers that shouldnt make it.

i expect alot of sharkies … lets check there games @ home…. cheatahs also.. i expect them to win stormers easy.

• 29.cab: Reply to this comment

tacitus,

thats going too far, Schalk is better than anything the bulls or the rest of SA have had in the last two seasons. First name on Mr. White’s team sheet.

Schalk Burger and Jean De Villiers are head and shoulders better than their bulls counterparts.

• 30.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Tacitus, you mix up the difference between players and a team. Until you drop your blinkers, you will remain paranoid. Cronje ahead of Burger? You have got to be kidding or on drugs.

• 31.cab: Reply to this comment

If the bulls had these two players and an attacking flyhalf only then would you stand a real chance of winning the S14.

As for George Smith, he destroyed your lot at the breakdown, whereas Burger largely neutralises him everytime they play both for the stormers and the boks. Its why we are able to beat the wobblies at test level and the main reason that the stormers drew to the brumbies whereas the bulls lost.

• 32.cab: Reply to this comment

go and watch the bulls game at loftus agains thte brumbies and look how many times Smith turned over the ball at the breakdown or forced a penalty cos he’s the first one there, Schalla competes and doesn’t allow him that freedom.

• 33.SERanger: Reply to this comment

Tacticus
    Yes White is an idiot for not wanting Jaco to warm the bench as backup to Roets…Tacticus for national coach.

• 34.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

tacitus you right man those guys wouldnt been selected the way they play week after week. They to much in comfort zone. White must select the best and then we will be the best. Spies in place of gerber.

My blood is Blue

• 35.SloJo: Reply to this comment

More like tacticless!!!!!!!!!!

• 36.Geelwortel: Reply to this comment

Tacticus and Drunkmonkey

I take it you guys will be the first to say that we don’t need the RWC in 2007 ’cause the bulls won the CC. This is the mentality that Jake wants to change! He doesn’t want to come to the province and come and coach your teams he wants to come and “have a look”. How can he pic your “wonderfull” bulls backline if the only thing he sees every saturday is the forwards a scrumhalf and a kicking flyhalf. Jake wants us to win the RWC he doesn’t really care about the Super 14 or the CC. The RWC is what he is focusing on now. It makes sence to the hole world to give your best players a rest but just not to us.

• 37.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

;] *throws peanuts at province*

it was burger me was talking about and not gerber just correcting me mistake.

• 38.billy: Reply to this comment

Damned if he does damned if he doesnt. He must have one of the most difficult jobs in world rugy and yet he still manages to stay positive. You have to admire his temprament.

• 39.The King: Reply to this comment

White should start helping by removing his Stormers glasses and start looking at other provinces. He should say no to all the ******* offerings and start picking players that performs

• 40.Mike H: Reply to this comment

One of the biggest problems in SA rugby is provincialism. It morons like Tacitus who care more about the Bulls than the greater goal of a winning formulae in SA rugby. Isolation from the international arena has created a situation where the highest level of competitive rugby occured at provincial level,so thats where the patriotism was focused.

Now 10 years down the line and its seems, we still can’t get out of the mindset. I honestly don’t support any province. I want all SA teams to win, I prefer to watch the team that plays with the best structure and composure. I love the super 14 and hate the curry kak. Its such a low standard of rugby it makes be wanna cry when i watch and the problem is that it breed provinciism even more. Thats probably what makes he lothe it so much.

Jake is a brilliant coach. He has an ability of bringing out the best in players. He identifies the player he can work with best, and who play the style of rugby he wants. Thats what all coaches should do. If he doesn’t appreciate Bulls style rugby thats his choice. And frankly the Bulls rugby only works on the highveld where the ball can be punted for miles. So kicking for territory works. Overseas they are gonna be slaughter mark my words. They do have the best team n SA at the moment becuase the players are very tight niche. They play for each other and play a game plan they know how to play better than most. They might win on overseas, because the line-up of opposition aint great an for the reasons I’ve stated above. But that doesn’t mean make all the bulls bokke – go cry in a bucket the idiots who say that.

A coach must choose teh players he feels best suite the style of rugby he wants to play. If he succeeds he can continue if he fails he will be replaced and maybe a coach who like Bulls style rugby will replace him. But while he succeeds shut the $#@& up

• 41.spank me: Reply to this comment

CAB

dont agree, yes Smith did kill the Bulls, however Burger has never realy done anything against the Bulls, as soon as he is out of the game he engages rucks and malls with his back first and shakes his head wildly so every one can see him, but he does not realy have any impact. With Jean I agree, any team would like him in their side. Mr Burger is still a good player make no mistake, however i think luke is better.

• 42.cab: Reply to this comment

spank me,

the bulls pack is awesomely powerful and they normally steamroller WP into submission, Schalla is only able to do so much. But against teams that can match their tight 5 and ball carriers but also have a world-class fetcher, the Bulls are ripe for the picking. It is a weakness and hopefull Spies is the answer but not the competitive wrestler needed.

The boks would get absolutely caned if Burger was dropped, as would the stormers. With respect, Watson is not even on the same planet as Burger, and White know it.

• 43.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Cab

I refer you to the last two times the Bulls played the Stormers and Province respectively. Burger made no impact.

In fact, he was dominated by the men from the north.

Yes, it was partly because of his powderpuff tightfive. And yes, at his best, he is very effective at competing for the ball.

But as a ball carrier he is totally overrated. And his speed leaves a lot to be desired.

In a physical confrontation, Cronje, Bakkies and Danie Rousouw are head and shoulders above Schalk.

As for the Brumbies and George Smith. That was the Bulls worst performance of the year. Meyer admitted afterwards that they utilized the wrong game plan, attacking the outside gap and allowing the ball carrier to become isolated. Hence the reversal against the Warahtahs, where they attacked the inside channel, and always had men ready to support the tackled player.

What’s the Stormers excuse?

• 44.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Mike H

Well said!

The Bulls have been playing the same ‘game plan’ for the last 4 years, they have to know it buy now, which is counting in their favour, & the reason their playing better than the other SA sides.
    The cats, Stormers & Sharks have had new coaches almost every year in the S14, all with different styles of coaching/playing the game, no wonder they all look like a bunch of clowns!

As for Scalla against Cronje- he’s no match for Scalla

• 45.capebull: Reply to this comment

Slojo

What you need is a team that knows each other and play for each other with passion. ( Brumbies/ Auz , England )

Its true that the Bulls have not won the S14 or the world cup, but there’s no argument that they are best we have in S.A

We are not saying pick all 15 Bulls , But pick combinations. e.g 2,4,5 with 8,9,10,or 14 ,15,11

• 46.Murph: Reply to this comment

Cab

I feel smith is getting away the ball so often purely cause of his speed to the breakdown , nobody near the ruck by the time he has stolen the ball.

I would love to have a camera on him all the time just to see how he covers the field.

All our loosies bit sluggish by comparrison except Schalk and Juan , but they end up having to do too much of the tackling and are out of the game as a consequence.

• 47.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

White is a control freak. He wants to tell the other coaches what to do but not listen to anyone.

Mike H
    Jake is not such a brilliant coach. He has not achieved anything significant as yet. Yes the boks moved from 6th to 2nd, but that has more to do with teams like England, Australia playing **** rugby. He won the Tr-Nations last year, but through home games and bonus points. If Australia played at the same levels they did in 2004 the Boks would’ve been last again.

He persists with his continuiaty bullshit when all is clear you pick the players in form and in their specialist posistion. Only public opinion got him to break up Joubert/Barry combo. An inform for instance loosetrio making up players the Cheets, Sharks Cats whoever is much better thatn persisting with Schalk Burger who runs around like a headless chicken half the time and infringing the rest. Yet he acts as if he owes the Stormers players something. Habana had one or two bad games and there was talk of him being dropped before he scored that magnificent try.

The only time provincialism will be sorted out, is when the coach starts picking his team on a fair and meritous basis. No Bulls supporter should moo once if an inform Province player is picked above one of our own. So yeah, lay it on Jake. He’s an arse.

• 48.capebull: Reply to this comment

Cab

Burger is of the boil this year and if you can not see it, we can not have any serious discussion about rugby.

• 49.rednik: Reply to this comment

Tacitus, To name yourself after a wise old Roman is indeed an example of Irony, Seeing as your views and words are those of a narrow minded bonehead who has just completed a rudimentry course in conversational English.

I could be wrong, It could be your parents who named you in such a tastless manner, Unless of course your real name is Shandre.

• 50.Ig: Reply to this comment

capebull – while i agree the Schalla is not on top of his game – i suspect it has to do with the fact that he is playing at 7 and not on the open side so to speak

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.