White wants direction; not a national director

Springbok coach Jake White believes the appointment of a national director of rugby will do nothing to improve the situation in South Africa.

While most, including me, are screaming that such an appointment be made, White said he would prefer to operate free of any director as he felt it would only complicate and not simplify any national coaching position.

“People are looking for answers in the wrong place. The answer to our problems is not the appointment of a national director of rugby. The answer is consistency in coaching appointments at a national and regional level and a succession plan for each person, agreed to by the board of the SA Rugby Union,” White told Keo.co.za, adding that he had reservations about a national director of rugby appointment because of all the politics involved in creating such a position.

“The less interference to the Bok side the better,” said White. “And I think a national director of rugby would want the Springboks to fall under his job responsibility. I don’t think this is right. We currently have a general manager of national teams in former Stormers and Welsh international Andy Marinos. He does a fantastic job, but his focus is very much on the administration around the team. He has nothing to do with the rugby side of it and that is the way I, as a national coach, would prefer it. I know others disagree.”

White said that it was outrageous to be calling for the heads of Kobus van der Merwe and Frans Ludeke, to name but two of the country’s five regional coaches.

“Take Frans as an example. He has lost four of his first five matches, but the Cats have lost something like 44 of their last 49 matches in the competition. In this time they used Frans, Tim Lane and a coaching trio of Chester Williams, Rassie Erasmus and Brendan Venter. Getting rid of the coach isn’t the answer.

“Where’s Chester? So much went into his development in 2004 and 2005 and now he hasn’t got a team to coach. Where’s Brendan? He was very good at London Irish but he’s not coaching? What would have happened to Rassie if the Cheetahs were not a new entity in the Super 14? Would he also have been sacked.

“In Cape Town it is the same. What good would it do to be sacking Kobus (van der Merwe) and Gary (Gold) after one season? It is short-term knee-jerk reaction. As I said in an earlier interview, if there was a rugby blueprint that embraced the national coach and the five regional coaches and put in place a three-to-five year plan and succession plan, we wouldn’t have coaches coaching from one week to the next wondering if this week is their last. It is not right.”

White also said it was crucial that the top 140 players were identified between himself and the five regional coaches.

“We don’t have a draft system. We don’t have proper identification. There are some very good players running around in the Vodacom Cup that could be adding value to our Super 14 squads. But no one is talking. No one is acting on what is a crisis situation for us. The first five weeks of the competition have not been good to us. All the coaches and myself need to be discussing how it can be improved, not on a casual basis, but in a constructive way to find solutions.”

White said it distressed him that his All Blacks counterpart Graham Henry (and his fellow national coaches) were spending a day a week with the five New Zealand franchises. At this Henry interacts with the regional coach and those players in the national frame. It also gives him a chance to see first hand players outside of the national framework.

“We simply don’t have that kind of working relationship in our rugby,” said White. “I’ve popped in at the odd union for a casual visit. Earlier in the year I indicated that I would like to play a more active role during the competition, in terms of interacting with the coaches and adding value to their campaigns. Nothing materialised.”

White, after five weeks of Super 14 woe, is frustrated. He believes he could be making a difference. Instead he is far removed from the South African Super 14 scene.

“Now is the time to fix it,” he says. “We can’t keep on plodding along like this.”

265 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.Murph: Reply to this comment

Watshchout !!!!!!

For The Grizzly Gap Finder Giscard Pieters !!!!

Grinding away while other wings stand idley by !!!

Go Gisca jou Biscuit !!!

• 152.cab: Reply to this comment

JW is in an impossible situation in trying to balance everyone’s favourites for bok selection:

The Bulls want Roedts, Pedrie, Nel, Hogaardt; the sharks want Pienaar, Mentz, Muller, BJ; the cats want Wickus and Baywatch; the Stormers want Watson, and Becker; the cheetahs want Fortuin, Claasens and De Waal. On top of that ppl have their own favourites, for example i think Schalk Brits is an amazing talent.

Then of course Jake White has to select certain players to make it at least look like our rugby has puts its racist past to bed.

Despite all this look what he’s done, well one really does have to wonder, perhaps Keo was right about SA fans being domdrols.

• 153.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Cab

I think it’s ‘domdrolle’ not ‘domdrols’…

• 154.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Maybe Cab was just showing right there into which category he falls,then maybe not.

• 155.cab: Reply to this comment

there you go grr.. just proved my point, we’re all domdrolle.

• 156.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

I see ppl that dont come from the rugby thinking nation that so clever namely the Bulls.

Stormers been to long in comfort zone it time there players start playing the game and proof that they still fit and good enough to make springbok. Yeah stop making excuses..you guys afraid of injury. Rather let someone play that wanna play.

i be shouting for cheatas to WIN cos they better than the stormers and just cos stormers is stupid idiots that cant accept or understand that there team needs a big kick to wake up.

• 157.bliksem: Reply to this comment

cab take the dumb comment from whom it comes.If you are dumb you can always educate yourself and become clever/educated.On the other hand if you are a dwarf,well you are going to stay a dwarf.

• 158.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Katsenoor

Affirmative action selections are one thing…but surely you are not suggesting that if these players underperform they are exempt from being axed from the squad.

Like I said……what more do players like BJ have to do to get a chance to show what they can do on the international stage for their country?

Cab
    Speak for yourselves…..it has already been acknowleged that the Bulls supporters are the smartest!!! :grin:

“The grizzly gap finder:…:lol….let’s hope he doesn’t turn out like “The great hardman: :oops:

• 159.bliksem: Reply to this comment

StP BJ needs to get a darker skin complexion thats all.

• 160.Murph: Reply to this comment

Stp

No chance of that his work rate is seriously impressive !

• 161.The Bill: Reply to this comment

It is a little bit scary how there is so much anti JW & pro Bull on this site.

For petes sake the bulls have not set the rugby world alight! You have won 4 matches 3 of them at home! Granted it is better than the other SA sides but is F all compared to the other sides in the competion.

Like someone said, the Bulls can enjoy their strong position & long may it last, but don’t expect the rest of the SA supporters to be keen on watching a boring side play boring rugby for the Green & Gold.

JW is the man with the pressure. If you think S14 is pressure for the coaches, think again! To compare the Bulls with the Springboks is crazy & if you think JW needs the Bulls more than they need him you are as backward as you sound! The players want the contracts the JW awards.

This is getting to sound like an AWB / put the wagons in laager mentality.

In fact the arrogant Bull supporters epitimise what is so disliked about south africans the world over!

• 162.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Hougard is so far the best flyhalf.

He play every week a consistant game.. not one weeks up and next down.

Hougi for springbok

• 163.cab: Reply to this comment

StP,

he he … knowledegable not smart, when was the last time the bulle produced a truly creative player?

hell the most creative thing thats been seen at loftus for years is that bloubul beer helmet invention.

• 164.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Anyone wanting Hougard as Springbok Flyhalf should rather watch videos of 1980s rugby.

You will be far more excited & won’t have to subject us to noring mindnubing rugby.

The boy has talent, but cannot run or pass – even when he tries to run he is kak.

His only hope is to go & play in Oz or NZ to try to become the complete player – he is still young enough he has time.

Poor Hougard he was just born 25 years to late or he could have been a legend!

• 165.bliksem: Reply to this comment

I hope Jake signs Andre Snyman.Ity will also serve as a wake up call to local players.

• 166.Murph: Reply to this comment

My Left hand can often be found in my pocket …

Does that mean it can play flyhalf for SA too ?

• 167.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Even boring & mindnumbing!

• 168.bliksem: Reply to this comment

The Bill,The Tackler same thing it seems.By the way what makes you so great?

• 169.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Nope u need balls to play flyhalf

sorry murph

• 170.Murph: Reply to this comment

oh

i just thought you had to spend time in the pocket …

unlucky

• 171.DC: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey

Your rugby analysis is blinded by emotions – which is entrenched in the Bulls. You are short sighted in your thinking, and are a typical ‘old school’ afrikaans rugby fan that thinks Die Blou Bulle are so hard that they **** bricks.

South Africa and the boks RWC campaign is Jake’s primary goal. His selections are based on combinations and not necessarily the best performing team of the year. Just because the Bulle have won a few home games in the S14, you think that they should make up the whole Bok side — this has got to be the stupidest thinking I have ever come across.
    Combinations of players based on certain game plans against particular opponents make up a quality side. Jake’s boks have a good mix from all the provinces and have to date done extremely well.
    Drunkmonkey I am sure you have a little shrine with a Bulle flag right next to the old SA flag. Your provincialism makes you sound like a Neanderthal – and your ideas on which direction rugby should go will take us so far back, that we will lose our place as one of the top rugby nations.
    New ideas, new strategies & new dimensions are needed to take SA forward.

The Bulle are going to have a tough time overseas away from Steve Hofmeyer, all the little poppie fans and security of loftus.

Enjoy the sokkie tonight!

• 172.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Bliksem
    I am not beating my chest claiming to be great!
    (Does that make me great?)

Bliksem, what makes the Bulls so great?

Drunkmonkey – hook, line & sinker!

• 173.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

The Bill

From your posts these past few weeks you are obviously “anti-Bulls”. The fact that they are winning just pisses you off even more.Wouldn’t you be far happier if they were losing because then your point would be proved……..unfortunately the boring vs exciting rugby argument holds no place in proffessional sport…..it’s winning and success the fans want most.

Make no mistake….Bok fans would take a 9-6 win over the AB’s anyday over a 50-40 loss.

Where the Boks an exciting side last season?
    How many tries did we construct?

In fact…most of the tries where intercepts from Habana….a Bull….on the wing…..where the Bulls play him and spend time developing his wing play.

In fact, the Boks best victories last season where the ones over the AB’s and Frogs ………both very Bull type games.

International rugby might be harder by means of media scrutiny…but make no mistake, game for game S14 is far more competitive with very few gimmes and more international competition and more away games.

In fact, from my own experience, the thing that foreigners dislike most about South Africans is the amount of **** blokes like yourself speak.

fu

• 174.bliksem: Reply to this comment

The Bill I am a Cheetah and Hurricanes supporter.What makes the Bulls so great?I dont know,you tell me.

• 175.Murph: Reply to this comment

Lads

anyone know of any good haunts in Buenos Aires ?

Im off there tomor … will probably miss all the freakin Rugby !

• 176.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Never been to that pplace before but have encountered a touring ladies hockey side from Argentina at the astro turf hockey field.Was coming right till my pissed mate fucked it all up.

• 177.cab: Reply to this comment

Murph,

the boks are meant to enjoy touring argie, apparantly there’s one place in particular thats an eye-opener. cant remember the name. watch out for the ladies, they look nice but apparantly rival freddy mendez in the chest-hair department.

• 178.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Yes Murph

There is a place called “Cigarrello’s”……a must see for every male on the planet.

and also a place called “Blacks”……..a must see for every male on the planet.

anyway, loads of bars and nightspots down town.

Lucky bugger!!!!

• 179.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Cab

You have been very poorly informed withregards to Argentine females.

• 180.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Dc

pls read and dont be a dumb *** like some stormers that believe there team still the best.

What me and my rest of Bulls friends and other provinces are saying :

PICK YOUR BEST PLAYERS FOR SPRINGBOKS THE PLAYERS THAT PLAY WELL EVERY GAME AND SHOWS FORM.

That why i say make Hougi springbok cos he been playing the best.. not just one game but all his games
    you understand that?

• 181.cab: Reply to this comment

StP,

it was the only one that would go home with me. i shouldn’t generalise.

• 182.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Bliksem – I didn’t say the Bulls were great.

St P – Well that just goes to show doesn’t it. You clearly lack understanding of English. I said long may it last for the Bulls, I would never wish a loss on any SA side.

You harp on about winning at all costs, but I don’t think it that is true. Granted, I want to win all the time, but the manner you play the game is of paramount importance. A perfect e.g. is the cricket last week. All the ausies I have spoken to enjoyed the game, granted not the result, but they saw cricket as the winner. Which is important in the context of growing the game.

You have to run to that defence, because you have no other. The Bulls play boring rugby by choice! Most non bull supporters would rather wacth 2 kiwi or Ozzie sides play because it is exciting, that is the future of the game, because that is the ones the sponsor want to cover in advertising!

No way is S14 more intense or difficult. No way!

Finaly, we have met very different people then, but the people I respect have found Afrikaans speaking SAFFAs to be arrogant – even with no reason.

A good mate of mine is living in London with White Trash Afrikaans people (I am not saying all Afrikaners are white trash, but these two are), no jobs, no ambition etc & they continue to claim lordship over other nationalities & women for what, the Ozzie girl they live with is worth 10 of them.

Like I said, we have obvioulsly met very different people!

• 183.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

ahhhh now its afrikaans speaking ppl and not just Bulls …

• 184.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Drunk – the best what at kicking away possession & not being able to get his backline away?

St P – sorry I forgot to respond to your joke to lighten the mood where you say that the bulls are developing Habanas wing play. Good one.

To me looks like they have told him not to do anything & keep the ball away from him & all your backs to make sure they don’t get hurt.

Good strategy, that way he can do the business for the Bokke & you guys can cash in on the jersey sales.

• 185.Boychie: Reply to this comment

Would LOVE to see LIEFLING behind a losing pack, man that would be great! Then we`ll see how “great” he really is. Not good enough to clean Petoors`s boots…

• 186.cab: Reply to this comment

nope its definitely a bulls thing, i know plenty of afrikaans fellas that dont like beerhats, mudflaps, or liefling.

• 187.Murph: Reply to this comment

Shot Lads

Yoh ! Watshchout Argie dollies !

• 188.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

jealoust makes you nasty keep crying cos he didnt come to play for stormers. Good thing he didnt cos he gonna sink you guys ….. im saying keep watching Hougard. He the best.

Hougi … Hougi … Hougi

• 189.cab: Reply to this comment

actually those horing beerhats look quite practical, StP do you have one?

• 190.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Bill
    Your piece is seemingly well written and full of sound logic………but lacking in the facts.

Which rugby stadium in SA has the best attendence record?
    The Bulls?…….probably because people,when push comes to shove, want to support a winning side over an exciting side.

And you probably missed the bit earlier in the year when the Bulls netted the biggest rugby sponsorship deal ever in SA as well as securing sponsorship from a Cape Town based BEE company.

Also, there is without a doubt enough morons in Pretoria but you will find morons everywhere.Look at this Drunkinmonkey bloke….a bit of an idjit really.But I won’t beat up on him, it would be like beating the **** out of a kid brother…..and I’m just not that sort of bloke.

But to constantly harp on about this “Laarger mentality” (what the hell is that anyway) when the facts support a completely different senario….just gets my goat up.

• 191.Boychie: Reply to this comment

Like I said, would love to see him behind a losing pack. Might just bite his tongue off….

• 192.Boychie: Reply to this comment

StP, that was brilliant, idjit, :-)

• 193.sarky: Reply to this comment

It does not matter whether or not JW started anything with the franchise coaches by calling for Bok players to rest.

It also does not matter whether or not Ludicrous or can der Meer should be ditched.

What does matter is that current coaches, teams and administrators are losing more than they’re winning. Having had one dictator screw up is no excuse for not centralising the administration & coaching authority. Take away the unions power in the game, create a draft system, allow the useles & maimed teams to buy some islanders. Replace the absurd politics of the Spears with a relagation / promotion system where the Vodacom Cup first & second placed teams have a couple of games with the Cats to decide their fate.

It is quite clear that the big five unions will also keep the status quo rather than face the challenges of improving their performances. Hell play the last 2 sides in RSA S14 against the top 2 Vodacom sides & force the issue.

JW is quite wrong when he says that coaches should be given more time to prove themselves than players. Why? If they don’t know the job / players & they’re all local, where the hell have they been. If Chester was such a star why is he not coaching? Simple – he failed the test much the same as some players will never make the grade at Bok level.

The crock of RSA rugby is that provincialism, union interests & coaches carry far too much weight. I have yet to hear where the Cats think their real problems, their future plans or their shopping lists are kept. Losing is one thing & lack of confidence is a terrible thing but the bumbling of the Stormers & Cats permeates from the player upwards.

• 194.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Boychie

Are you also a moron?

When did Pretorius ever play behind a losing pack?

Ahhhh, now I remember, THAT CC final 2002 where Hougie……….
    duh
    twat

• 195.rednik: Reply to this comment

Why should it be that strong provincial allegiance creates an environment of non co-operation? The thinking of some posters, particularly Bulls supporters is inbred. When some of them send their postings, even if they live as far afield as Russia, I imediatly hear the soundtrack of deliverance in my head.

• 196.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

He wont be behind a losing pack cos he be winning the game for them @ boychie.

hey my brother @ st.petersburgbok the real idiot be bill. He doesnt know what hougi can do. Just tell him what happen last time sharks played in curriecup final…. what happen after they lost how long it took them to get ova the shock…. tell him cos clearly he stupid or ignorant maybe to little sun.

• 197.Boychie: Reply to this comment

StP,

Almost every Super 12 game, every CC game against the Bulls, mind you, you did argue that point for me didn`t you…

• 198.Boychie: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey, too little sun in his case, maybe too few chromozomes in your case….

• 199.sarky: Reply to this comment

After years of slagging the Bulls for their test match type play, they are the only consistent S14 & CC performers.

Even the most inept administration would have to concede that they can at least follow the Bulls through to the basics & then develop their own brand. Trouble is, particularly the Cats & Stormers look more like a bunch of converts from soccer each year as they learn the game from scratch!

I don’t think what the Bulls put out is enough to win the S14, but I can at least see they might develop into the kind of team that the Crusaders are. If they can keep blooding the odd newbie, get a decent captain, they could win the S14 in a couple of years. Right now you can only see the Stormers, Cats & Sharks trying to beat the Farts & Rubble Reds!

• 200.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

As for my official stance on Hougaard……

The bloke is probably doing exactly what the coach is asking him to do.Withregards to getting his backline away….don’t know, Fourie keeps giving him such slow ball he has very little options other than to kick for position.

Fourie needs to stop trying to dictate the game himself and let Derrick do it by giving him the ball as quick as possible.

Then we’d really be able to see if he is a flyhalf who can dictate a game of rugby the way would like to see.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.