Filthy five in the dock

Five players will appear before a SARU disciplinary committee in Johannesburg on Monday afternoon because of fighting in the Vodacom Cup match between the Blue Bulls and the Griffons in Welkom.

Springboks Richard Bands and Johan Wasserman (both Blue Bulls) are among the five to appear. Four players – Wasserman, Frikkie Welsh (Bulls), Tienie Goosen and Hein Edwards (Griffons) – were shown red cards after the fighting, and Bands was cited after the match by match commissioner Corrie Strydom of Free State.

Goosen was also cited for an incident that took place earlier in the match.

Beeld reports that the Bulls maintain Griffons’ replacement lock (AC Vosloo) appeared on the field wearing long pants and a jersey with No 38 on the back, and started throwing punches.

SARU’s Christo Ferreira told the paper that the disciplinary committee cannot establish for a fact if it was a Griffons player, but the person wearing the long pants will face action if his identity is established.

Wasserman has been in the dock previously because of fighting in a Super 14 match and it could effect his prospects of playing a further part in the Super 14. Welsh and Bands are also two players who would have been expected to play for the Super 14 Bulls side, but this may be in doubt after the fracas.

The Blue Bulls maintain that Wasserman was the victim of circumstances on Saturday and say the video will show he did not take part in the fighting.

The Bulls completed the match with 12 players because Harry Vermaas was sent to the sin-bin shortly before the fighting started. He and Edwards, allegedly one of the instigators, were involved in a fight.

17 Comments

• 1.wpw: Reply to this comment

Ban the lot, especially those bulls players. i watched the game and i have to say frikkie welsh is a thug. he has a worse attitude than Bolla… Wanted to bliksem everyone who tackled him hard… what a fine example to kids watching the game…

• 2.Lem: Reply to this comment

Maak die BULLE almal BOKKE

LMFAO.

• 3.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Agree WPW, Welsh was totally out of order, lengthy suspensions for all.

• 4.GCC: Reply to this comment

off course the beeld is totally unbiased towards the bulls…

• 5.wpw: Reply to this comment

I can bet you okes that the Bulls fans will either defend these thugs or they will just not comment on this thread… What a big bunch of plonkers they are… I wonder if they will criticize their own players, i seriously doubt it though!

• 6.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Had watched Frikkie Welsh for a few seasons, he is always involved in off the ball incidents… As well as a few of the other Bulls players, especially their forwards…

• 7.sarky: Reply to this comment

Toss them on the sidelines for a season – see if they want to play rugby or enlist as bouncers. You don’t want this lot on tour, they might go to a night club!

• 8.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

wpw

You want a Bulls fan to criticize these players.

Ok. It is bad to fight on the field, boys.

There, they’ve been chastised.

You are in a sad state if your only source of satisfaction after a weekend of rugby is the petty infringements of some Bulls players in an insignificant game watched by almost no one.

But then, considering the Stormers win/loss stats of this season, and the looming threat of relegation hanging over your heads, I can understand that you need every bit of cheering up you can get.

Therefore, for your sake, let’s hope that a fat Bulls fan tackles a ref in the next game, or that a steel plate is found in Matfields arm band, cause I don’t see any other cause for celebration coming your way in the next few weeks.

It’s neck and neck between you and the Cats, and I’m not talking about a spot for the semi’s here…

• 9.wls: Reply to this comment

wpw lol i dident see the fight, im sure they should go punished.
    What about Bolla, and his little attitude he seems to have developed recently? The oak also wants to fight with anyone who tackles him and then wants to kiss anyone who comes near him over the try line.
    its a huge disgrace when Bolla celebrates trys like they have just won the stormers the world cup (considering how kak they are)

• 10.wpw: Reply to this comment

wls, i know bolla has a bad attitude…

tacticus, dont make as if you know me cos you dont… i was just stating the obvious, i dont see other bulls fans being critical thats all.

It doesnt bring me satisfaction, stop making assumptions… oh, and by the way, i know the stormers are ****… fortunately for me rugby isnt everything unlike for so many on this site…

• 11.Spook: Reply to this comment

Saw the fight, but think Frikkie Welsh is going to be in big kak, from what i saw, he hit a guy from behind.

• 12.seamus: Reply to this comment

It was a hellova free-for-all. I don’t mind that, but Welsh deserves a much longer sentence than the rest cause he is a coward who hit someone from behing. What a wanker.

Also amusing that the bulls consider tracksuit pants “long pants.”

• 13.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Lem wrong!

It should rather read:

“MAAK DIE BULLE ALMAL BOKSERS!”

• 14.carcass: Reply to this comment

Some blame has to go at the ref as well.You could see trouble coming and he had to take control.He did not stamp down his authority and hence the free for all.
    Both teams are a bunch of thugs anyway.

• 15.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Did not see the game but historically North-Freestate/Griffons have always been South Africa’s version of Neath and Tucuman. How many matches in Welkom have ended up in brawls? Winning the fight is alway more important there than winning the match!

• 16.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Seamus,

Are wearing short tracks pants?

• 17.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

If Richard Bands was involved, it was probably all just a handbags-at-ten-paces sort of pretence at a skirmish.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.