Dlulane pays for Hurricanes howler
23 Mar 2006
Tim Dlulane’s calamitous cameo against the Hurricanes in the Vodacom Super 14 has cost him a spot in the Bully Boys match 22 to face the Force. Jaco Engels is the only change to the starting line-up.
Engels replaces Danie Thiart, who drops to the bench. Coach Heyneke Meyer has otherwise resisted wholesale change, and after two home losses, has not been afforded the luxury of resting or rotating any players against the only winless side in the competition.
Derick Hougaard’s fine form continues to see Morne Steyn gather rust on the bench, and the axing of Dlulane in favour of Francois van Schouwenburg has necessitated the inclusion of Danwel Demas in jersey 22 to ensure Saru ‘targets’ are met.
It will be Demas’ first experience of Vodacom Super 14 rugby should he be afforded game time, as Riaan van der Bergh or Dries Scholtz have been backline cover in previous games.
As predicted on keo.co.za, Meyer has resisted the pressure from Saru to give more players of colour starting game time.
BULLS SIDE TO PLAY THE FORCE
15. Johan Roets
14. Akona Ndungane
13. JP Nel
12. Wynand Olivier
11. Bryan Habana
10. Derick Hougaard
9. Fourie du Preez
8. Jacques Cronje
7. Pedrie Wannenburg
6. Pierre Spies
5. Victor Matfield (c)
4. Bakkies Botha
3. Andries Human
2. Gary Botha
1. Jaco Engels
Subs
16. Adriaan Strauss
17. Danie Thiart
18. Danie Rossouw
19. Francois van Schouwenburg
20. Heinie Adams
21. Morne Steyn
22. Danwel Demas

37 Comments
23 Mar 2006, 11:11 am
Nou is hulle in groot kakkies! hopeloos te min *******.
23 Mar 2006, 11:11 am
Bulls, you better not f**k this one up ! 5 points please.
23 Mar 2006, 11:13 am
Lets hope we don’t dish up the same **** .
We need to start scoring 4 tries a game again.
Fourie has to start delivering quick ball and Hougaard needs to start getting his outside backs involved.
And Cronje looks knackered.He should be having a rest.
In fact….everyone needs to pull finger.
23 Mar 2006, 11:15 am
Force to get their first win of the season – I didn’t want to say it, but we all know how good the bulls are at traveling.
23 Mar 2006, 11:25 am
Is dit net ek of sukkel die Bulls as se forwards as hulle Bakkies afhaal, dryf, skrum en haal hulle hom nie te vroeg af nie??
23 Mar 2006, 11:26 am
St P
Agree with you on Cronje. It’s time he comes to the party.
I hope they give Tim the rule book to study while he’s not playing
23 Mar 2006, 11:27 am
Bulls MOET die game wen, dit is nie onderhandelbaar nie, dit nog met die gekleurde speler issue op hul skouers! As hulle nie wen nie gaan dit die pressure net meer maak van SARU se kant.
I feel DH is kicking well and all, but there is no attacking abilities with him in the backline. MS can get them away, bar that Wynand stop running those stupid predicable inside runs that brings him nowhere.
Our wings need to get the ball if we are to get anywhere respectable in this competition. Look at the Cheetahs, they are strong upfront, but can run the ball in the backs. I do not for once believe that the Bulls don’t have the same capabilities. They just need the flyhalf to set it in motion.
23 Mar 2006, 11:30 am
Christo
Dit is een van die mees bisarre replacements wat die Bulls doen. Bakkies moet nie so gou veravng word nie. Ek sal voorstel dat HM dan eerder vir JC afhaal en Danie opsit. Danie speel van die beste rugby in sy loopbaan en hy en bakkies saam sal goed wees.
Bakkies is ook ‘n baie sterk scrummer en daar kan Danie nie saam praat nie.
23 Mar 2006, 11:36 am
Blou Bull
Op hierdie staduim JC glad nie vir my op standaard nie ek sal hom ook eerder afhaal, Spies 8steman toe skyf en Danie vir die laaste 30min op flank speel.
23 Mar 2006, 11:37 am
Spoed Bloubul spoed.
23 Mar 2006, 11:40 am
A good team.
A few comments:
Cronje is a shadow of his top form from last year’s super 12. He needs to raise his game.
Hougaard is a limited player and will never be the complete flyhalf. Steyn is a better option.
Fourie du Preez seems to have lost a bit of pace -both on his feet and in terms of clearing the ball from the ruck.
Hopefully these are all little issues that can be sorted out with some good coaching from Heyneke.
I am slightly concerned about Heyneke’s judgement lately, as far as his blind faith in Hougaard is concerned. In fact, I think part of the reason for the disastrous “expansive” gameplan employed against the Hurricanes, was Heyneke’s wish to prove to everyone that Hougaard can be a good “running’ flyhalf as well.
Heyneke needs to realize that Hougaard can never be an expansive player. He is too slow, and too small (to take big hits).
With Hougaard there, only 1 game plan can work. Kick for touch and maul it up from the line out.
Scoring 20 tries against the Force will prove nothing. In big games, Hougaard can only succeed with one type of game plan.
If it works, great, stick to it, but don’t try to make him adapt to a running game which he clearly cannot execute properly. That way lies disaster.
23 Mar 2006, 11:43 am
The usual double standards from our coaches
The hypocrisy is unbelievable after hougaard performed terribly at the start of last seasons s12 after each hougie howler heyneke kept on saying u dont drop a player after a few bad games in the end hougaard had to get injured for steyn to get a lookin , now its a different set of rules for tim its seems like u can drop a player after a bad 10 minutes. Double standards again same as Fester and Werner “Up & Under” Greef.
23 Mar 2006, 11:51 am
redox the difference is that hougie had allready won a few currie cups when he lost form. heyneke only recently bought dlulane and the first two oppertunities he gave him he was abysmal. so sorry but you are comparing apples with bananas boet. if dlulane had shown good form previously, then dipped and got axed immediately, you would have a point.
i for one am very sorry that dlulane is not shaping, as i rated him on perfomances for the pumas.
23 Mar 2006, 11:52 am
Redox
You don’t know what you’re talking about.
It’s all about a coach’s vision. Heyeneke, rightly or wrongly, (wrongly in my opinion), has incredible faith in Hougaard. He has stuck with him through thick and thin. It is not at the expense of a player of colour, but at the expense of the talented Morne Steyn.
Clearly, he does not have the same faith in Tim Dlulane. In this case, I agree with him, but even if I didn’t, he is in a better position to make that judgement than you or me.
You cannot decide for a coach who he should rate as a promising player. Dlulane is not a youngster with a promising future. He is an average player, who was pulled from relative obscurity at the Pumas by a selection process that has nothing to do with merit.
His few appearances in the Bulls team have only emphasized that fact.
Danwell Demas, on the other hand, shows much more promise. He is very dangerous on attack, with great pace, and has composure in pressure situations.
The fact that he is also an outside back should be irrelevant. Maybe it should make the political twats realise that players of colour are simply more likely to be talented wings than talented loose forwards.
Everyone in the real world knows this already, the clowns at the top just have to open their eyes.
23 Mar 2006, 11:58 am
tacitus i have to disagree on the reason why dlulane was bought by the bulls / meyer. he was a shining light for the pumas and i for one was very dissapointed when i didn’t see him playing earlier in the s14. he is fast and strong. good ball carrier, competes well on the deck.
23 Mar 2006, 12:06 pm
Stan, die probleem met Hougaard verder is dat dit LYK of hy “bang” is vir kontak. Teen die Canes het hy elke keer bly le na ‘n tackle op hom. Dit pla my, want as hy “bang” is sal hy nooit vir die gat gaan nie.
Christo
JC gaan te maklik grond toe,en die F*K alleen weer hoekom. Hy het krag om oor die voordeellyn te kom maar is “skugter”. Danie dra die bal soveel beter en ek stem met jou saam dat Spies 8 moet speel. Ek weet dan net nie wie om in JC se plek te kies op 7 nie. Dlulane lyk of hy met match fixing besig is soos wat hy strafskoppe afstaan. Dalk is Derrick Kuun se insluiting nie so ver as wat dink dit behoort te wees nie?
23 Mar 2006, 12:11 pm
Redox,
Fully agree with you on the double standards. I firmly believe in karma. Think karma will dish out due justice and the Bulls will get “moord” overseas.
23 Mar 2006, 12:19 pm
lol saffa_guy that post really takes the cake! the bulls have bad karma??? ROFLMFAO!!!
pass it on hippy-boy
23 Mar 2006, 12:25 pm
I saw him play for the Pumas.
If colour was not an issue, he is an average player. But out of the meagre pool of black forwards, he is a shining light, I agree.
If you selected a black Bok side, Dlulane would be in it, no question, but if you add the vast pool of white loose forwards, Dlulane is no more than average.
No one is free of political pressure today. Meyer’s decision to buy Dlulane was no doubt influence by the prospect of adding a “good” player of colour to the Bulls pack along with Guthro.
23 Mar 2006, 12:27 pm
Saffa_guy
Stop being a doos. You are worse than wpw. Stay overseas and please don’t come back you fat prick.
23 Mar 2006, 12:39 pm
I love to see these fake SA fans like Saffa guy (and Redox) coming to post their laughable opinions. You my friend are acting like a typical racist and are not worthy to place Saffa in front of your name.
Tim, unlike Hougaardt, has to still prove himself in the Bulls setup! Has Tim won a CC final by himself? Has he been the match winner Hougaardt has been when on form?
No, he has now received two chances to show his worth and has cost us about a penalty for every 5 minutes on the field, by making really stupid mistakes.
Though I would like to see him play well and even ahead of Van Schouwenburg, he does not deserve it on current form.
(Thus Meyer was right in allowing Hougaardt time to pick up form in more than just two games, but when he did not do so, he was demoted behind Steyn for the whole season, or did you have a memory failure.)
For the real fans: I can’t wait to see Danwell play. I have been checking him since the Pumas and been following his move to Fullback in the Vodacom Cup where he has fared well. He might be a very good back up to Roets and he has a lot of speed, can’t wait to see him coming out to play.
23 Mar 2006, 12:49 pm
Rudebud,
Ease up buddy
Should not take every stupid post so seeerrious (said with me best kwaito accent). Karma in rugby??? Would make for some strange spirituality …
23 Mar 2006, 12:52 pm
Bulls to loose by 10.
23 Mar 2006, 12:53 pm
Bulls will be out smarted…AGAIN
23 Mar 2006, 12:54 pm
Bulls will be run off their feet
23 Mar 2006, 12:59 pm
On a serious note. Bulls to win 2 out of 4.
Bulls will beat Western Force & the Reds – by close scorelines.
Bulls not the greatest travellers so Chiefs and Blues will prove to intelligent …
23 Mar 2006, 12:59 pm
If heyneke was serious about transformation habana would have played 13,demas 11.transformation is about giving oppitunities.dlulane has not been givin that.10 min is not enough.the point has been made a couple of times before that even players of colour can make mistakes,especially if they have not settled in the team as yet.
23 Mar 2006, 13:00 pm
Jak,
He wasnt demoted he got injured and it was after about 4 games.
23 Mar 2006, 13:00 pm
And oh yes, don’t forget the Karma factor …. Bulle will mos die speelers van kleur so k*k treat
23 Mar 2006, 14:25 pm
You guys moaning and groaning about the transformation should just remember that winning still means a lot to the Bulls WITHOUT bending or breaking the rules. The people at SARU has nothing to do from 8-5 so they said lets give this union a little bit of **** etc. Wonder what union will be next for whatever **** they can think of.
If a player deserves his place in the Bulls team he will get it no matter what colour his skin is.
23 Mar 2006, 16:20 pm
Dulane has not been given a fair chance, if he dropped Dulane for 2 mistakes in the 10 minutes against the Hurricanes, then Steyn should be dropped for knocking on a pass and missing 2 important tackles in the last 10 minutes!
I think Meyer is using Dulane just like the Sharkies use Solly …
23 Mar 2006, 17:08 pm
It’s an unenviable task for a SA rugby coaches today: they have both to win and satisfy the quota numbers, difficult to survive this way.
The Bulls were not short of loose forwards with Super12 and CC experience before they added Dulane.
23 Mar 2006, 17:36 pm
But the Bulls bought him none the less and they basically set themselves up for the politicians to start ‘chirping’ by not ‘starting’ him …
23 Mar 2006, 18:18 pm
To what I heard from Pretoria, Meyer got a Cell phone call at half time to field Dulani or else,,
The Cheetahs are fortunate to have Kabamba Floors who is more than just an adequate loosie, Guthro Steenkam ditto
Otherwise they are all token
23 Mar 2006, 19:08 pm
Meyer bought Dulane, he has made his bed and now he must lie in it …
23 Mar 2006, 21:48 pm
Jakesfourie , Heynecke is serious about winning , get it in your thick head , winning ,winning , winning.
we lost a crucial game last week because of some idiot , we now need all our force to win, this game has become cricial.
Why dont someone blame the TMO for the lack of transformation because he cost both Dlulane and Adams a place in the starting line up.
24 Mar 2006, 01:08 am
i would like to pose this qustion on how messed sa administrators in sport are:
chavanga and habanna probably the top 10 finishers in the game….
in the south african super 14 what percentage of wings are white?
stormers- benjimen, chavanga
bulls-akona and habanna
cats-wylie human,
sharks-akona(brother)
cheetahs-fredericks,
7 out 10 …very interesting….
what position is super 14 is not represented by a non white player? lock and fly half..food for thought…
if quota’s are just a big deal in rugby, how no ******* about the bafana bafana…reverse racism ..how white players do they have?
what about swimming….how come no one ***** about no non-whites being in the 4x100m men’s swimming relay team…..why is rugby always being picked….