Hougie’s free at last

Derick Hougaard has put the 2003 World Cup behind him and is enjoying the freedom of the Vodacom Super 14.

In the new 124-page issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale now, Hougaard admits he is a much improved player.

“I’m certainly a lot more mature,” he says. “I realise now that I was very young [in 2003] but now I’ve got more responsibility. I’m able to say more on the field, I understand what to expect and I’ve got more experience to do the right thing at the right time.”

In a ground-breaking initiative, the new issue of SA Rugby magazine has four different covers – one for each region of the country.

fs1.jpggauteng.jpgThis is in response to a number of readers from outside the Western Cape, who enjoyed the last issue but would have preferred a player from inside their Super 14 region to be on the cover.

fs.jpgcape.jpgSo this month, Hougaard is on the cover of the Gauteng edition, while Ruan Pienaar and Brent Russell (KwaZulu-Natal), Schalk Brits (Western Cape) and Juan Smith (Free State) also make an appearance.

- Schalk Brits: “I want to bash down the Bok door”

- Versatility: Why’s it’s ruined Russell, why it’ll save Ruan

- Juan Smith’s Bloem crib

- Super 14: Life to the deal, death to the player

- Scrap the scrum? NEVER

- Academy kids: Can they pass both ways?

- Players agents: Necessity or nuisance?

- Q&A with Wendell Sailor

- Ryk Neethling’s Dream XV

- Reuben Thorne: “I’ve put 2003 behind me”

- Columns from Schalk, Naas and Mallett

- Keo’s Killer Quiz & Crossword

41 Comments

• 1.Koos: Reply to this comment

Where is the one for the DRAGONS!!!

Right of to some training, talk to all later.

• 2.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Nothing for us Cats supporters?! Not very nice of you. Derrick Hougaard (and the Bulls) does not represent the Gauteng region – only Pretoria.

• 3.Shred: Reply to this comment

But I live in Gauteng and I want a Sharks one :(

• 4.billy: Reply to this comment

Looks good, great idea on the cover.

• 5.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Damn! My free subscription expired with the previous issue — with poor old Marryus scowling away on the cover.

I need to make another of my winning predictions in the pre-test predictions to win a new sub again!

The SA postage people must have been trained by the Mafia as the difference between a local SA subscription and an overseas one, caused by postage fees, is equal the difference between a Happy Meal at the Retreat McDonalds and a Michelin graded three-star meal at the V&A Waterfront Arabella Sheraton but with Gordon Ramsey personally flown in from London to be the chef du jour…

• 6.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Simon, the message I get is that the Cats fans in Gauteng are not regarded as important readers/buyers of your magazine. Did you base the decision to leave the Cats out on the Cats’ performances thus far abroad? Should the Stormers then not be treated the same? This stinks.

• 7.Simon: Reply to this comment

The poster for ALL editions is of CATS scrumhalf Ricky Januarie

• 8.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Not the same thing. As you stated the four seperate covers is a “ground-breaking initiative”. The Cats were for some reason left out of this ground-breaking initiative. There is a poster in every edition.

• 9.hobo: Reply to this comment

Here i was thinking the Gas Man from the Cape will be on the cover?? :-)

• 10.bliksem: Reply to this comment

hobo ek sal jou dan woensdag by die touchies sien voor die training.dalk kan jy my sommer ook se wie se gat n ou moet lek by die klub om game tekry want lyk my dis maar baie boetie boetie.

• 11.dalrimps1: Reply to this comment

4 regions of the country!!!!!
    When did SA Rugby sudenly become omnipotent and able to change South Africa’s provincial borders?

Where the fork does mpumalanga fit in?

Please make sure you dont regard us as bulls supporters, since Russel was originally a puma send the one with him through……

• 12.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

dalrimps1,

The Cats represent Johannesburg, Mpumalanga and North-West – but according to SA Rugby magazine this region is now represented by the Bulls and DH.

• 13.keo: Reply to this comment

that’s right … Derick has redefined the borders — and until the Cats actually produce something worthy of a cover, they won’t be on the cover.

Katsesnor, get a trim and chill out.

Your team is KAK and that’s as simple as it is.

Why then do the Stormers get their own cover? Because they have a nicer jersey and we like them more.

• 14.hobo: Reply to this comment

bliksem

Die dink is by die club moet jy van dag een af daar wees vir oefening en as jy twee girls het wat die coach se aandag trek, saam met n paar biere dan sal dit goed gaan met jou….:-) Dit is ook my eerste jaar by die club soo ek het maar gesukkel om friende te maak. Ek gym nou saam met een van die speelers van die club.

• 15.bigg: Reply to this comment

Keo – Good chirp re Stormers. It’s a must to give the local team a bit more…

• 16.sharkgirl: Reply to this comment

I live in Pretoria, but I WANT THE SHARKS ONE!
    SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS!

• 17.hobo: Reply to this comment

shark girl

Isn’t it a bit early for you ????:-)

• 18.dalrimps1: Reply to this comment

Keo since you are reading this thread please make sure the Sharks one gets distributed to Mpumalanga. Actually it looks like just about everyone on this thread wants the sharks one, so why bother making 4 different covers when the sharkies would do just fine?

• 19.Spook: Reply to this comment

Does this new magazine cover have to do with the New Rugby mag thats available in South Africa that they showed on Boots and All last night, it has John Smit on the cover.

SA Rugby mag cant be to happy about that.

• 20.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

“Derick has redefined the borders”? Derick who? That same Derick that can only perform under Heyneke Meyer – playing for a team that hardly ever wins abroad – just like my KAK Cats? No Keo, SA Rugby Mag has no right to write the Cats off based on a very tough overseas tour – considering that the Bulls and your beloved Stormers have not toured yet. Relegation – if enforced – may just keep your Stormers out of SA Rugby magazine for a whole season – or more. But even then something will be invented to keep them in focus and on the covers. Representing a magazine that should also look after the Cats supporters interests you sure make some strong statements.

• 21.sharkgirl: Reply to this comment

Hobo, you’ll never know.
    I’m grumpy this morning ok. I’m at work and won’t be able to watch my boys is action.

• 22.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

so which one will i get in namibia?

• 23.lie_on: Reply to this comment

Give us a Cat cover!! They may be useless but they are all we’ve got – surely the last five supporters deserve some recognition?

• 24.StMichel: Reply to this comment

Overall I was a little disappointed with the last mag – its obviously targeted at the less cerebal fan with a little too much rah-rah everything is fine.

Anyway some constructive comments:

1. The Schalk article was inane to the point of imbecilic. Drop him or get someone else’s Dad who actually has something to say.

2. Player interviews need to have more edge. None of them had a story to tell. Perhaps it reflects the players’ shallow lives or the failure of the journo’s to ask the right questions. If the SA players arent up to it speak to the foreign ones.

3. I would add an international perspective. What do foreign players/ commentators think of SA rugby and its various ills.

4. I would add more content from these forums

Set out to challenge, proke and inspire and you’ll have a great mag. May I suggest that you syndicate Brian Moore’s Monday column in the UK’s telegraph?

• 25.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

lie_on,

the Cats seem to be worse than the other SA S14 teams because they haven’t done well abroad. They played the competition leaders away from home and outside of SA. The other SA teams (except Sharks) haven’t toured yet and when they tour they play the weaker S14 teams. The Stormers have lost ALL their home games. The Bulls have lost two. The only team that DESERVES a cover based on performances to date is the Cheetahs – but that may also change once they cross the Indian Ocean. Yes, we the Cats fans are frustrated as hell with our team’s performances to date (and even more so with the guys managing the franchise) – but we do not deserve to be sidelined like this.

I’m an advocate for the Cats franchise becoming the Lions again – or joining up with the Bulls in the S14 to form a truly competitive S14 team. But that has not happened yet so I support the Cats as they are right now – and I expect SA Rugby Mag to show some respect.

I’m sure supporters from the other unions/franchises will react the same as I do if their team is cast aside like this. Bulls supporters will accept a Cats cover – and rightly so.

Ag wat laat ek nou maar gaan chill en my snorre gaan trim … dis Vrydag after-all.

• 26.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Should have read “Bulls supporters will NOT accept …” Sorry!

• 27.keo: Reply to this comment

St Michel … the mag, however disappointing you found it, could never have been as disappointing as Andy Robinson’s world beaters … that’s 11 from 24 now for England post the World Cup and two from 11 against teams ranked in the top five in world rugby. Ouch!!!

• 28.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Simon, the message I get is that the Cats fans in Gauteng are not regarded as important readers/buyers of your magazine….”

Wow! Do the Cats actually HAVE any fans?

Why?

• 29.StMichel: Reply to this comment

Sorry Keo – no I did enjoy the mag – as I enjoyed your book – read during my recent visit to CT. The mag could just be alot better thats all!

Yes the English results are not impressive. But I would alert you to the Boks performance after 95 before the little run in 97 under Mallett – their win record was also 50%.

Personally I’d introduce a World Title (as in boxing) which passes between teams between world cups – it would add spice to the seeminlgy endless run of largely meaningless internationals.

Right now I just find English club rugby far more engaging than the international game. And I am sure its an attitude shared by the players.

• 30.Predawn: Reply to this comment

English club rugby is pretty good when compared to South African schoolboy rugby, but only just and not nearly as entertaining to watch. I find it pretty useful as a sleeping pill.
    How about those 6 Nations games huh. Even the lethargic subdued Scottish were made to look good against Her Majesty’s finest..I cringed in disbelief.
    Has anybody ever picked up a copy of “World Rugby”? I am at times forced to touch this insipid rag when between connecting flights at one of the various British airports, and have a few hours to kill. Mind numbing is the best word to describe the contents. Next time I’ll purchase a copy of “Maxim”. Far more content and the laughs won’t be at the expense of some dour, colorless Englishman droning on about his wishy-washy life in some morbid town we all care less about.

• 31.cab: Reply to this comment

bryan moore … cripes and cripendorm,

anyone that actually listens to that drivel says all one needs to know, cant understand how the BBC can keep him on, you knows its getting bad and his obvious one-eyed bias is getting way out of control when Eddie Buttler, of all people, has to reel him in on air.

interesting stat Keo, 11 from 24 you say, oh how the mighty have fallen.

• 32.Jak: Reply to this comment

Katsesnor, the Cats has pipped the Bulls last year by being the worst S12 team ever in the 10 year history of the tournament. Cats are the official wooden spoonists of the S12.

As for moulding with us, NO THANKS!!

In all seriousness, Cats has enough good players to be competitive and don’t need to mould with anyone, they just possibly need a good clean out of administrators (Don’t think it is all coaches, three good coaches could make no difference.)

Keo & Co. Thanks for the mag cover, will definitely buy the one with Hougaardt on. I like the way he has started to alternate his play and how he is getting his backs away more effectively.
    Just wishes he would not isolate himself so easily or at least try and stay on his feet, after making a break, he is deceptively fast over the 3 m sprint (Hahaha)

Hopefully you will be able to publish an allcover at the end of the tournament with the Bulls holding the trophy, hehe.

• 33.Jak: Reply to this comment

Dalrimps, have you checked how full Loftus is lately? Believe me the mag will sell with ol’ “Liefling” on the cover.

• 34.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Oi Keo, credit 50c to my subs account for every insult I rake it. After all, each one has to be registered as a “hit” on this site. When I have accumulated enough hits to earn a year’s subs to SA Rugby, enrol me for another year. Your people have my address!

• 35.Ig: Reply to this comment

PA – you will get the Hougaard one – thats the subscribers issue.

• 36.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

ah thanks Ig

• 37.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

No Cats??? That’s it, you won’t be seeing my money again fellas!!! :evil:

• 38.keo: Reply to this comment

And the heavens opened, the angles voiced their concerns and we noted them, telling them they’d mistaken us for someone who cares.

Grrr…we’re so nasty!

• 39.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Yes Keo you don’t care. That’s obvious. Just never get into business where you will have clients to look after. Don’t be surprised if/when your website loose clients – as SA Rugby magazine will be doing – starting with me today.

• 40.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Katsesnor, jy soek alweer kak met almal en net omdat jou span AMPER nie verloor het nie. Amper nie verloor is ongelukkig nog nie wen nie, gaan lek jou wonde in ‘n donker hoekie.

• 41.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Hougie is the best flyhalf in South africa …. nobody come close.

stop moaning and complaining look at what South African team is top of the log. Then i ask again who is the best flyhalf?

easy Hougard.

Hougie … Hougie…Hougie

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.