Jake opens door for another Jake
28 Mar 2006
Jake White will give Jake Boer a chance to show he can dance on the biggest stage when the Springboks play the World XV in Johannesburg.
But Boer, South African born and consistently one of Gloucester’s stars for the last five years, won’t be playing for the Springboks. He will be in the World XV team.
White explained the selection to Keo.co.za: “His is a name I hear a lot of. Players speak highly of him. Coaches applaud his efforts, but all I have to go on is his Premiership form. There is no doubt he is a quality loose-forward, but is he as good or better than what I have got. Would he make the side ahead of Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, AJ Venter, Joe van Niekerk, Pedrie Wannenburg, Solly Tyibilika … Wikus van Heerden. I can’t give you that answer. The best way is to compare apples with apples and put him against these guys and the World XV game gives me that opportunity.
“I was called to find out whether I had any specific player I wanted to be involved in the World XV and I said I wanted Jake Boer to play against us. It will be an opportunity for him to push for greater recognition when it comes to determining the make-up of the World Cup squad, which will be played in northern hemisphere conditions. It is a chance for him and not a guarantee of anything. But as I have said all along I will explore every avenue to get the right squad for France 2007.”
Boer was initially a target of Rudolf Straeuli prior to the 2003 World Cup but negotiations fell through without Straeuli and Boer ever meeting.
White also confirmed he would consider Breyton Paulse for the 2006 international season.
“I believe he will be signing for Western Province again in June and he will be a part of our plans. He has test experience I won’t overlook and he’s always produced for me. He will feature in the squad, but again it is not a guarantee that he will start.”

54 Comments
28 Mar 2006, 07:19 am
Is the SA side confirmed yet ?
28 Mar 2006, 07:22 am
what are you okes thoughts for bok right wing this season?
28 Mar 2006, 07:24 am
Schalla, whoever plays right wing for the Bulls.
28 Mar 2006, 07:29 am
schalla,bluenlood says that because Steve sang “Maak die bulle almal Bokkke”.Because Steve sang it all of a sudden its gospel to all the bulls supporters.I watched the cc final at Sin Bin.Watching all the people painted blue,even their kids.How gutted must tose poor children have felt after the game.Getting home falling on their beds,blue body paint smudging the duvet wailing out hysterically:Pappa het gejok,Pappe het ese die Bulle gaan wen.
28 Mar 2006, 07:43 am
Pappa het vergeet kaplan was daar om seker te maak die Blou Bulle verloor.
This year the CC means nothing because the Bokke aren’t playing and probably next year as well, so we’ll see what happens in 2008.
28 Mar 2006, 07:44 am
So true bliksem, it’s horriffic, this kind of stuff must be taken to court. How dare they call themselves responsible… oh wait, I’m talking about bulls supporters.
28 Mar 2006, 07:49 am
Suga wena Blueblood! “CC means nothing” Lasterlik!
En as jy nou nog Kaplan blameer viri dent in jou ego en die vullis in jou aura wat die Bulls se ondergang veroorsaak het… ag shame!!!!
28 Mar 2006, 08:26 am
blueblood is johnathan kaplans lovechild
28 Mar 2006, 08:42 am
Blueblood, don’t blame Kaplan, blame Roets and DuPreez…..
28 Mar 2006, 08:55 am
so u okes basicalla reckon akona ndugane is the man for bok 14?? seems to be a thick bulls contingent here
28 Mar 2006, 09:01 am
Yip you’re rite I’m out of here.
28 Mar 2006, 09:03 am
JW clearly has a plan. You got to back him. he seems to be so aware of what is going on and how we need to get there. i MEAN now that the Stormers go into the next Super 14 match as underdogs against the only side ot have scored a point i think JW needs to look at players to replace the Boks int hat side
28 Mar 2006, 09:18 am
i feel our options for right win is either:
1. conrad
2. paulse
3. rayno
4. chavanga(form dependant)
28 Mar 2006, 09:20 am
Loads of experience in NH conditions. Better than what we have already? I doubt it.
28 Mar 2006, 09:33 am
Hows this for a Springbok team for World cup. Jake, take not :
1. Os
2. Smitty
3. CJ
4. Bakies
5. Victor
6. Schalla
7. AJ
8. Jacques
9. FDP
10. Bosman/Houghaard
11. Bananna
12. JDV
13. Jacques Fourie
14. Akona Ndongane and use his brother as a sub
15. Jaco van der Westhuizen
Can’t go wrong here
28 Mar 2006, 09:38 am
Ok, and the subs to be :
Juan Smith
Percy
Ricky
Guthro
Schalk Brits
Marius Joubert
Wynand olivier
28 Mar 2006, 09:40 am
Akona Ndugane, he has been the most consistant SA winger over the last 2 years, Or Tonderai Chavhanga or Henno Mentz.
But I get this nagging feeling that Jake White will select Marius Joubert there….
28 Mar 2006, 09:40 am
so he wants to see what Jake Boer can do but he ignores the form of his springboks week in and week out? What’s this guy smoking? What’s he going to do with all the Sharks guys playing so well? “Oh sorry boys you haven’t been capped and I don’t think I can teach you the structure of our play so sorry, you’re not good enough, I’ll play the guys from the cats and the stormers who can’t really play rugby”
In Jake we trust?
28 Mar 2006, 09:47 am
Pretoria Blue Jay, what are you on about. It’s not about favouritism. It’s about the BEST 15 who are going to bring back the cup. If the guy is way better than anything we have does that mean Jake must not select him because our guys have been playing their socks off, even though they are not at his level. Of course this is all hypothetical. Just think out the box, thats all.
28 Mar 2006, 10:25 am
I am so stoked about this. Jake Boer is a friend of mine and he is so chuffed he has got this opportunity
28 Mar 2006, 10:34 am
a fit and on form Joubert must play for the boks – which makes it a juggle between him and Jaque Fourie for 13/14. The bok backs can only be more potent with both on the field.
Bloubal – I dont rate Jaques Cronje, or FDP for the boks. Also think Pretorius and Jaco are our best 10′s at the moment. I like Bosman – but will he be ready? More likely a bench role me thinks.
I would support the All Blacks before shouting for a bok team with FDP/Hougaard as a halfback pairing. it would be less painful to watch, but I with Jake at the helm I think I am safe.
28 Mar 2006, 10:42 am
Move Jacque Fourie to fullback, we desperately need a fullback that can actually run with the ball and counter attack. JP Pietersen or Jacque Fourie would be suited but with his excellent defence and great line running Fourie should be the no.1 candidate.
28 Mar 2006, 10:54 am
This is absolute brilliant news!!!
Jake Boer is a very good player and he performs week in and week out. He’s experience in the NH will be invaluble to the Bokke.
Well done Jake. Long overdue, but well done. Now he’ll show SA that he deserves a call-up to the Bokke.
He might not be in the starting 15, but if we want to be able to select a winning second team like the AB’s did. Boer will be in the 2nd team every time.
28 Mar 2006, 11:09 am
JustSing, what I mean is, why not have a proper squad, say 50 guys (including the likes of Jake Boer, Andre Snyman and all the guys we keep hearing about), take them on camp for 2 weeks, with just about 2 squads (call them 1st and 2nd). Have Jake coach the second team as much as possible but have your incumbant coach (such as Meyer or ****) taking “control” of the 2nds. At the end of it all you play a public trial match showcasing the talents of EVERYBODY! This way the all supporters who feel that their players are being disregarded because “JW is biased and has favourites” can either shutup or shout more vocally.
Something like this harps back to the “old days” when klippies was cheap and rugby played with skill but that was the ONE thing that I appreciated from dumbass struli. It then gives Jake the opportunity to evaluate ALL the players within HIS structure, brings new fringe players into the “structure” and we will probably get a better game than the Uraguay game…
But wait this also required forward thinking and some planning, and should have been done in 2004 in the beginning of the “4 year WC cycle” we keep hearing about. Don’t think he’ll get that past the CC coaches now…
28 Mar 2006, 11:13 am
1. Os (with NOT MUCH RUGBY playd between now & 2007
Gutro – He’l b back
2. Smitty –
Garry Botha and Shimmie in th mx
3. CJ – Eddie wil probly b shoved in
4. Bakies – Rosuow
5. Victor – Albert Van der berg
6. Schalla – Solly if not Watson is comming back nicely
7. AJ – Russouw is an option
8. Jacques – BIG JOE always steps up for the boks
9. FDP – Nah the other way around Januarie
10. Bosman/Houghaard – Pretorious , Jaco rather but Il take Bosman..hes for 2011 after Jaco goes on
11. Bananna – ? Ok..Habana ryt? What type of **** is that bru..? Anyway..him and Tshavhanga/Snyman, someone..Im not convinced by Tshav yet..
12. JDV – Barry in there, but who knows..Julies in the mix
13. Jacques Fourie – Marius Joub
14. Paulse/Russell/Snyman…list goes on
Akona Ndongane has improved..and his attitude is ryt…lets see what hapens
15. Jaco van der Westhuizen – Couldnt agree with U more here, although we already hav PErcy who kicks for us, hes a leader and we need that esxperince and Jantjies is the man…
28 Mar 2006, 11:15 am
heres my two pennies for 2007:
1. Os
2. smit
3.Cj
4.Bakkies
5.Victor
6.Schalk
7.AJ with juan on the bench, tho both can interchange the starting spot
8.big Joe, with some boer beef like cronje at hand to scare the **** out of the opposition
9.half the country seems to be a pro here so anyone will do. i will say tho FdP please ******* retire!
10.hougaard ( forgive me all those who hate the bully boys)
11.habana
12.JdV with de WET as an impact player
13.marius
14.akona
15. jacque fourie (monty on the bench)
28 Mar 2006, 11:32 am
Absolutely ******* amazing how no-one ever includes Percy in their ideal Bok XV. People, do you have the memory span of goldfish?
28 Mar 2006, 11:40 am
how can all of u leave juan, the stand out bok in the super 14 out ur starting line ups??
1.os
2.smit
3.cj
4.bakkies
5.victorius
6.schalk
7.juan
8.big joe
9.januarie
10.pretorius
11.habana
12.jean
13.marius
14.conrad
15.fourie
subs:
16.gary botha
17.sephaka/guthro
18.aj venter – covering lock and loosies
19.fdp
20.bosman
21.rayno benjamin
22.percy
now thats a list of impact players
28 Mar 2006, 11:42 am
pierre
we have pretorius and bosman as kickers and percy is scoring beautiful tries but…. when in the green and gold he never counter attacks or run well planned lines………..maybe campese has taught him a few and he has learnt…….time will tell
28 Mar 2006, 11:47 am
come on we have far better flankers than Boer, we need a flyhalf, not a flanker.
28 Mar 2006, 12:02 pm
cab,
How much of Boer’s career have you followed?
28 Mar 2006, 12:07 pm
My team for 2007 (only allowed to choose one – because choosing more that ons player now is “covering all basis”)
1. Guthro
2. Smit
3. CJ
4. Bakkies
5. Vic
6. Smit
7. Burger
8. Spies
9. FdP
10. JvdW
11. Habana
12. JdV
13. J Fourie
14. Snyman
15. Roets
This team has got, skill, brute force, lots of speed, can kick but i need a place-kicker???
28 Mar 2006, 12:15 pm
1. Guthro
2. Smit
3. CJ
4. Bakkies
5. Vic
6. Skalla
7. Juan
8. Big Joe
9. Pienaar
10. Bosman
11. Habana
12. Jean Div
13. Jouba
14. Fourie
15. Monty
28 Mar 2006, 12:16 pm
sipes,
in truth not much, but i do watch the HP games occassionally and Boer does not stand out. A consistent performer, but come on a sprinbok? First he falls bettween a specialist fetcher and blinside, which is really not what is required. If he is to be played at blindside, he goes up against AJ, Smith, Rossouw, Cronje, Wannenburg, etc. Not in that league.
28 Mar 2006, 12:18 pm
To all those who have not picked Juan in the starting line-up: Are you out of of your F&^%$ing mind?!? Same goes for anyone who still wishes to pick Jacques Cronje for the Bok squad.
28 Mar 2006, 12:21 pm
Juan Smith is class
28 Mar 2006, 12:26 pm
Also, AJ deserves a shot. Juan, joe and schalk (incumbents) to still start, but he’s not only a helluva supersub at flank but also gives great coverage from 4 to 8.
28 Mar 2006, 12:31 pm
Agreed with Johnny7. because Cronje is super kuk
Even rotating AJ and Smith from match to match
28 Mar 2006, 12:35 pm
Johnny7 I agree with you, Cronje is 1 dimensional and really NOT Bok quality, JOE NEEDS to get fita dn STAY fit…
Juan is AWESOME! and For Right wing, those calling for Benjamin, are you INSANE? 1/2 a season of ordenary rugby and some people want him to play Boks? Even Nokwe is ahead of him in the pecking order not to mention:
Snyman,
Both Ndungane Bros,
Fourie/Joubert,
Chavanga,
So thats 7 (SEVEN!) Players that will be seen on the right wing ahead of Benjamin
Lol… Not to mention the 2 incubents, Pulse and JDV,
So that puts Benjamin 10th in the pecking order and even then Mentz might be favoured.
Bring on the injuries, lol, to see benjamin as a Bok we would need a PLAGUE!
28 Mar 2006, 12:37 pm
Oh and I even forgot Condrad J and Brent Russell. NO chance of Benjamin getting a look in
28 Mar 2006, 12:43 pm
Schalla, regarding post #2 the only right wing consistently showing his mettle is Stan.
28 Mar 2006, 12:46 pm
Habana is still gonna **** up big for SA, creating overlaps trying to intercept. He must wake and play the game properly
28 Mar 2006, 12:55 pm
Guys, we can debate all we want, but I still feel, and not just as being a Bull supporter, that Houghaard is the best place kicker in SA rugby and his line kicks aren’t bad either. The only reason I chose FDP before Ricky is cause FDP plays with Houghaard all year long.
Bananna is Habanna for everyone asking
28 Mar 2006, 13:04 pm
Hougaardt will never play for SA again
28 Mar 2006, 13:09 pm
I’f we’re looking at Tri Nations this year, i think it might be Bosman/Houghaard
Andre has hardly played rugby this year so far, you can’t choose him, I see he is going to play for Vodacom this weekend… who else is left?
Peter Grant? I don’t think so.. not yet
Butch James? no Rugby at all?
Tony Brown? Not unless they change the constitution
Brent Russell? Doubt it.
Earl Rose? No ways, he’s the player who has missed the most tackles in S14 this year
Morne Steyn? Hardly played 10 minutes in total.
Bosman? consistant performer and might just beat Houghaard
Houghaard? I think he is the man
Who else is left?
28 Mar 2006, 13:31 pm
Tony Brown is the beat flyhalf out of the SA Franchises
28 Mar 2006, 13:32 pm
Sorry, the best flyhalf!
28 Mar 2006, 13:37 pm
I do believe mighty lion got it almost spot-on with his team (post no.28):
1.os
2.smit
3.cj
4.bakkies
5.victorius
6.schalk
7.juan
8.big joe
9.januarie
10.pretorius
11.habana
12.jean
13.marius
14.conrad
15.fourie
subs:
16.gary botha
17.sephaka/guthro
18.aj venter – covering lock and loosies
19.fdp
20.bosman
21.rayno benjamin
22.percy
…except Marius doesn’t belong there, Fourie should play at 13 and Percy should be at 15 with JP replacing him on the bench.
Also agree about the subs, except I think Benjamin is not quite there yet. Akona would be a great option on the bench.
28 Mar 2006, 13:59 pm
thank you katman…………actually i agree with u on jp for bench.
if percy maintains the running lines he has with the sharks he is in my starting 15. but if he still just kicks it away………tsk tsk
28 Mar 2006, 14:16 pm
Another thought is to have Akona in the team and Odwa kitted up in an identical no.14 jersey, hiding in the locker room. That way you could have your full compliment on the bench, but still switch to a fresh Ndugane at half time without anyone noticing.
28 Mar 2006, 14:58 pm
Katman your a legend, what an idea!
28 Mar 2006, 15:06 pm
Thanks. I have them all the time.
We must just remember to get the strappings, gumguards, boots etc. identical. They bust twin brothers cheating in the Comrades when they wore their wrist watches on different arms.
28 Mar 2006, 17:00 pm
u legend catman!!!! hehehe
29 Mar 2006, 00:33 am
My wings would be Habana and Ndungane (akona that is). Fourie is a centre, and to be honest, I’s rather Paulse was around to share experience with the squad and maybe play from the bench. I would be reluctant to start him anymore.
I really would love to see Ndungane in the starting lineup. Keep the rest of the team the same as last year, and I reckon we could be in for big things in France.