White dismisses Brits’ Bok claims
30 Mar 2006
Schalk Brits’s performances for the Stormers may have impressed Cape rugby fans, but they haven’t blown Jake White away.
Speaking to the Argus, the Bok coach said Brits wasn’t the form hooker in South African rugby as many seemed to think.
“He has scored one or two individual tries, but his throw-ins at the line-out have not been great and the Stormers have been pushed off the ball in one or two scrums,” he said.
White also spoke of his plans to have the Boks based in Jo’burg at the end of the year. All 24 contracted Springboks are being withdrawn from the Currie Cup for the next two seasons. Only Danie Rossouw and Andre Pretorius – who aren’t contracted – will be allowed to play for their provinces.
“We’ll all be living in Joburg for two months in September and October, but the players will fly home at weekends to spend time with their families,” said White. “The one thing we’ve lacked is conditioning because up to now we’ve never given the players any time off. Now, working with the Sports Science Institute, we will have the chance to work on individual training programmes, speed and weight training.”

75 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
30 Mar 2006, 11:42 am
Brits couldn’t hit a dragon in a lineout!
30 Mar 2006, 11:42 am
I wonder if Brits will head overseas.
30 Mar 2006, 11:44 am
Awesome idea – although I cant see why AP does not have a bok contract. They’ve given one to Snyman FFS. I think it is clear Jake still does not know who his flyhalf will be at the world cup.
When is Butch gonna be fit?
30 Mar 2006, 11:44 am
you can teach a bloke to throw a ball in straight, you can’t teach flair.
30 Mar 2006, 11:45 am
Hougi!!!
30 Mar 2006, 11:45 am
Arggh ,Jake give the oke a chance,work with him on his weaknesses and bring the best out of him like you have others.
You dont even use Shimmie,he’s a blluff we all know that ,so risk some egg and give this boytjie a chance., Seems like you are writing him off cos he’s not a convenient choice. how about showing some faith in him. Mnay a player has had bad throw in days even seasons. Its fixable and if anything ,you are the man that can fix it. Stop bluffing us ,we arent the dof rugby public we are thought to be.
if you cant see his worth then its you that are blinded by something.
I still support you ,but ‘give it a crack as the Kiwi’s would say.Sorry ,as the dragons would say.
30 Mar 2006, 11:46 am
DEE DAA
Nail on the head boet.Great comment.
30 Mar 2006, 11:47 am
No but seriously Brits is young and needs to get nurtured but he also needs to know if he has a future.
Wait till overseas clubs start showing interest.
Perhaps he also has an Aussie,Kiwi, Enlgish grandmother.
30 Mar 2006, 11:52 am
SB must be patient, injuries will come along(for the incumbents)in time, and then he will get his chance. he has all the talent but still needs a bit of fine tuning! being patient will make the guy appreciate it more. he is still learning his trade.
30 Mar 2006, 11:53 am
Jake is letting all the chances go by to groom younger players into the Bok setup. It’s going to come back and bite him in the arse!
30 Mar 2006, 11:53 am
1stly – Britz has played for SA A – so can’t play for any other country
2ndly – and more importantly – he needs to do the basic hooker job well – so if he works on that during the next year or two – you get a good hooker with the added bonus of flair. But no use Britz running around the field like Brent Russell, but the Boks loose all their own line out.
Personally I’d give him a go at 8th man.
30 Mar 2006, 11:55 am
The KEO article about moving him to center is great. IF He can convince the backward, conservative coaching staff at WP to move him into the centers (Yes, Jean would then need to move to flyhalf or outside center) then he could have a look in by the 07 WC. Who Knows, but that move will need to be made very soon to get estabilshed there.
Then Play Nass Oliver at fullback so we have someone who can run from deep and also a kicker, Jean getting his outside backs going from no. 10 (lol, outside backs, Britz and MJ… Sounds Funny) and then the pace on the wings (Chavanaga and Nokwe) suddenly the Stormers might win a few, even on the road!
30 Mar 2006, 11:55 am
Where can I find a list of the 24 contracted players ?
30 Mar 2006, 11:57 am
george
ja, but he will get his injuries too. We arent even sure if he is 4th on Jake’s list after the other 3. By the time he gets his chance he could be all fucked up like the rest of them . Form also doesnt last forever,unless you are a legend….(unlike Fleck and MJ,form one in 5 or 10 games )I like the SA A side idea where the guys who shine usually get a call up when an injury happens,its like being in the backup team so its not like ‘drafting someone in who doesn’t know the calls’ – **** excuse if ever there was one attitude.
30 Mar 2006, 11:58 am
Brilliant with ball in hand but does it really come as a suprise that white doesnt rate him the oke has been pretty poor at the basics-lineouts ,rucks, scrums etc and he spends most of the game at outside centre.
30 Mar 2006, 11:59 am
gecko
3rdly – He has a captain and a quota player to compete with. Tough luck. Maybe the move to 6, 7 or 8 would not be such a bad idea.
30 Mar 2006, 12:00 pm
as long as jake’s side wins, i dont give a hoot who plays. it just gives us stuff to talk( well actually speculate) about when we are cruising frosties after the test match.
30 Mar 2006, 12:01 pm
BlackJ – whether Schimange is quota or not, he is a stronger scrummager and more accurate in the line-outs as Britz.
I maintain play Britz at 8.
30 Mar 2006, 12:02 pm
gecko
Thanks for the SA – A part.
I did not know/remember.
30 Mar 2006, 12:02 pm
Needs some good coaching from Jake himself. Yes, the opportunity to get him involved sooner than later is NOW. he is young,uninjured,motivated,skilled and you cannot coach flair,but his shortcomings,oh yes jake surely can.
I fear his mind is made up and like EB ,he wont get a look in ,almost come what may. Never mind a thing,Shimmie and GB will bebhis other 2 hookers ,not SB even if he single handedly wins the rest of the Stormers games for them….unless its done by flawless set phase basic play.
30 Mar 2006, 12:04 pm
Gecko, don’t agree on playing brits at 8, he is to small and you take away a very good lineout optin in Big Joe.
Won’t fit there
30 Mar 2006, 12:06 pm
stinkvinger
“Gecko, don’t agree on playing brits at 8, he is to small and you take away a very good lineout optin in Big Joe.”
He is almost as bad as sick note.
He must at least be playing to be an option.
30 Mar 2006, 12:06 pm
dont agree with JW on this, Brits is too talented to let go to waste. Have you seen some of his indivudual tries, there is no forward in the game, anywhere that has those skills with ball in hand. As for scrumming, well the stormers scrum has been under pressure for years, more so before Brits arrived.
Gecko’s idea of playing him at 8th man seems a good one. Surely he’s got to come into the squad, he can change a match that one.
30 Mar 2006, 12:07 pm
Does anyone have stats to compare Shimmi’s and Britz’s lineout throws. I recall a couple of games where Shimmi had shockers with the lineouts.
30 Mar 2006, 12:10 pm
Jondood,
True on being injury prone, but when fit and playing 100%, Joe is always the best option at 8.
JC isn’t cutting it at the moment and in any case, Joe is playing this weekend against the farce.
30 Mar 2006, 12:13 pm
If he is supposesivly strong enough for hooker, he is strong enough for 8th man.
Joe doesn’t seem to play nowadays.
30 Mar 2006, 12:16 pm
He is this weekend
30 Mar 2006, 12:20 pm
Schalk Brits is the cause for Andries Bekker to be dropped. vd Merwe is quoted in the Beeld that Bekker cannot even win his own line outs. Just another player Fester takes out in the media.
Back to the point, if it was not for SB’s site step, he will most probably be on the stormers bench and rated 5/6 hooker in the country.
By moving SB to centre is not going to work either, the defense lines can be worked out against backline/structured play. The only time SB is really effective is in loose play, and there wont be loose play if he plays at centre.
I agree with Jake White on this one.
30 Mar 2006, 12:22 pm
Come on dudes Brits can mecome the next Uli bullie with a bit of help…….but it looks like we are going to loose a greate player again
30 Mar 2006, 12:23 pm
This bloke is like Uli Schmidt – except Uli could throw, and scrum, and fight.
30 Mar 2006, 12:23 pm
i dont think s.brits fits in JW gameplan.remember last year JW said if s.brits wants to go play overseas he can phone his PA and she will help him book his flight.the stormers tight5 have impressed this year with s.brits standing on centre or wing!they did well in scrums but the lineout throughs have been pour! s.brits makes the lineout calls,he never through’s to the back because he is not accurate!how can you miss through a 7ft lock?(bekker) we’ve got playmakers in jean,MJ,tondie,benjamen we dont need hookers to stand around we need hookers who can do the basics,everything else (his flair) is a BONUS
30 Mar 2006, 12:28 pm
jds
I agree 110%!! and with JW.bekker dropped because of s.brits.he is fantastic in the tight and great on kick offs!! he is the only stormer player who can CLEAN out a ruck succesfully!! you never see ross cleaning a ruck and he missed 5tackles in hurricanes game!?
30 Mar 2006, 12:30 pm
As usual, of prime concern is how Jake White Lies’s plans will impact on my Bulls team. And after consideration, I concede that this is one instance where Jake’s anti-Bulls bias is to our advantage.
Since he will no doubt have excluded most Bulls players from his contracted group, the Bulls would still be left with the following squad to kick off their next 5 in a row Currie Cup attempt.
Johan Roets
Akona Ndungane
John Mametsa
JP Nel/Frikkie Welsch
Wynand Oliver/Dries Scholtz
Derick Hougaard/Morne Steyn
Heinie Adams
Pierre Spies
Johan Wasserman
Pedrie Wannenburg
Tim Dlulane
Danie Rousouw
Francois v Showenburg
Adries Human
Gary Botha/Kobus v.d. Walt
Jaco Engels/Richard Bands
I see the good times continuing to roll at Loftus, while Jake goes his merry way in Hillbrow, sorry, Ellis Park.
Here is a probable Bok 24, who will not take part in the Currie Cup. Give or take a few.
Percy Montgomery
Jean De Villiers
Bryan Habana
Jacque Foure
Ashwin Willemse
Marius Joubert
De Wet Barry
Wayne Julies
Andre Snyman
Jaco v.d. Westhuizen
Fourie du Preez
Enrico January
Joe v Niekerk
Jacques Cronje
Schalk Burger
AJ Venter
Juan Smith
Bakkie Botha
Victor Matfield
Os du Randt
CJ v.d. Linde
Eddie Andrews
John Smit
Hanyani Shimange
30 Mar 2006, 12:31 pm
Ja boeja, i think Skeate is nr 2 in the line out, hence easier to find than nr 4 jumper in Bekker. that the reason why Skeate is still in the team and Bekker dropped. It is a joke
30 Mar 2006, 12:33 pm
well there’s certainly no anti-bulls bias here, JW is not selecting Brits who many foreign commentators have also identified as one of SA’s few standouts in the S14.
30 Mar 2006, 12:34 pm
Tacticus, dont you want to keep J Cronje also for your CC campaign. I do not think he is needed at the boks
30 Mar 2006, 12:35 pm
Tacitus, G botha is also contracted!
Have to ask yourself the question if S Brits would have been shunned if he was black????
Anyway, i remember not so long ago Smit could also not through into a line out for ****!
30 Mar 2006, 12:43 pm
I agree about Cronje. He just doesn’t seems to be a match winner. I’d rather see Wannenburg at 8.
30 Mar 2006, 12:43 pm
Pedrie is the business.
30 Mar 2006, 12:47 pm
Ashwin and Andre Snyman will have to play to show form. Ditto Andre Pretorius.
30 Mar 2006, 12:47 pm
Ya, but Cronje brings a power game, which is hard to ignore, wannenburg is not that powerful or that creative, in no man’s land.
30 Mar 2006, 12:48 pm
Roll them bones Keo…
30 Mar 2006, 12:54 pm
I think Schalk must up his bench press from 130kg to 140kg. Then JW will consider him.
30 Mar 2006, 12:55 pm
The scrum has more than one player in it, just immagine how potent brits would be if he was the hooker in the bulls team … his weakness is his lineout throws … that can be fixed with training and practice.
Brits is the number one hooker in SA .. John Smit is about no 4.
What the boks need is some magic … game breakers … and brits has that.
30 Mar 2006, 12:58 pm
One of JW strong points is his loyalty to player .. allas .. it is also his biggest weakness, because he will sometimes stick longer with a player than he sould.
30 Mar 2006, 12:58 pm
I think Schalk met run die 60m in 6.01 rather than 6.02. Then JW will consider him.
It’s all about stats, I tell you.
30 Mar 2006, 12:59 pm
Cab – in principal I agree – but Cronje never showed up in the Northern Hemisphere EOYT games – when the power game was needed.
I’d even be prepared to give AJ another go at 8.
30 Mar 2006, 13:03 pm
I think Schalk must hold his breath for 3:00 min under water not his his personal best of 2:50 min then JW will consider him.
Ek is nou kla…
30 Mar 2006, 13:09 pm
gecko,
yeah he goes to sleep at times, not optimal, perhaps AJ at 8, probably going to happen with both he and Juan Smit in such good form.
30 Mar 2006, 13:32 pm
Hi guys
First of all i would like to say that JW is a very good coach. But I have to ask myself one thing…..
Why would he select someone like Nokwe to tour, and say he’s there to get experience of the Bok setup, & to work with him to get his skills up.
Why can’t he select Brits then work on his short commings. Scalk has got the talent & flair, but only needs to fine tune his scrumming & lineout skills.
Now you have to ask yourself… WHY would JW select a (Nokwe) and not a (S. Brits)???…. Politics?!?!?!
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All